We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

A&O Berlin Hauptbahnhof

Hotel website
Lehrter Strasse 12-15, 10557 Berlin, Germany
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
A&O Berlin Hauptbahnhof
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
A&O Berlin Hauptbahnhof
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    82
    34
    26
    24
See reviews for
29
53
30
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (190)
  • Mar-May only
    (40)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (43)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (51)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (56)
All months
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The train station is close by. The rooms are clean and tidy. I actually stayed here twice on my way to Poland and on my way back. I would stay here again. Most of the staff were nice so thats always good :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
AO_Support, Guest Relations Manager at A&O Berlin Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review

Dear Patrick, thank you for your kind review! We are happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay in our hotel at Hauptbahnhof, of course we will forward your experience to the manager and his team. We would be glad to welcome you again at the A&O Berlin Hauptbahnhof or a different A&O. Kind regards, Your A&O Support Team More 

Schattdorf, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

One of the best parts of the A&O hostel is how easy it is to find from the train station. When I arrived at the train station it was storming in Berlin so I went to catch a taxi to get to the hostel, and he laughed at me and pointed in the direction. Quick walk from the train station,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AO_Support, Leiter Gästebetreuung at A&O Berlin Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review

Dear Kenna, we are glad to read that you were satisfied with your stay in our hostel and its location! Of course we will forward your comments to the local manager and his team- They will surely be happy to receive your positive feedback. Thank you very much for your review, we hope to welcome you again as our guest.... More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2015

Very disappointed in the service received as the employees are rude and do not care about the customers. I complained about my shower being blocked and it backed up making the the shower absolutely filthy. The employee said there's nothing she can do!!!! Absolutely outrageous!!! They also have a ridiculous policy of not cleaning the rooms!!! I wish I could... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
AO_Support, Leiter Gästebetreuung at A&O Berlin Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review

Dear Tamanna, thank you very much for your feedback! We are very sorry that you were not satisfied with your stay at the A&O Berlin Hauptbahnhof. We have no policy about not cleaning the rooms, they are cleaned before every new arrival. During the stay they get cleaned if the guests request it, if not there will be a refill... More 

Kerry, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2015

This hotel is part hostel,part hotel right in the heart of the city centre. The rooms are clean and good value for money. On the minus side the check in staff are young and clearly inexperienced. I requested a quiet room but was given one next to the stairway. I used the online booking which pays prior to arrival. When... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2015

we were stuck for an extra night over christmas in berlin & booked to stay at this combination hotel/ hostel; a two bedded room was small but super clean with a nice ensuite bathroom; they served a breakfast buffet for an extra charge but well worth it; wi fi is free: there is a large open area in the lobby... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AO_Support, Leiter Gästebetreuung at A&O Berlin Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you so much for your review! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the A&O Berlin Hauptbahnhof. As we constantly try to offer our guests comfortable, tidy rooms and good service we are always happy to receive comments like yours which show us our efforts pay off. Hopefully we can welcome you again... More 

Cancun
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2014

The beds were uncomfortable, the room was never cleaned during our three-night stay, and the hotel hallways smelled bad. You could probably accept this from a cheap hotel, but this one is really over priced. The only good thing is it's close to the train station.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AO_Support, Leiter Gästebetreuung at A&O Berlin Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review

Hello, thank you very much for your comments! We are very sorry that you encountered problems during your stay at the A&O Berlin Hauptbahnhof. We regret the unsatisfactory cleaning you experienced in your room during your stay. The irregular cleaning was reported to our external cleaning company and we will continue to monitor this issue, to ensure that it will... More 

2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

The rooms and bathrooms were clean, the sheets and towels were fresh, it's really close to the main train station and there are signs showing you how to get there. The wifi was good in the lobby but it was really bad in the room. Also the washing machines were in german so it was hard to use them. Besides... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toulouse, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2014

We stayed 2 nights in a private double room in this hotel/hostel and were happily surprised. We had a room on the ground floor which seemed to be the place where couples and families were staying so that we didn't have any problem with noisy neighbors. The staff was friendly, the room very clean and towels were provided. Breakfast was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

We stayed in a private double room. It was clean and had all the appropriate amenities for this style of hotel/hostel. Staff were friendly enough. We had 2 problems - one small one was that the shower drain was blocked - the next, and this was an absolute deal breaker - so noisy. I expect that in a hotel/hostel environment... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014 via mobile

The hostel is a five minute walk - 10 minutes with a rucksack - from the main train station in Berlin. Signs directing you to the hostel begin in the train station making it extremely easy to find. Staff were very friendly and helpful. I stayed in a two bed private room which was very spacious and clean. Towels were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

48 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Staying in Moabit

Neighborhood Profile
Moabit
You may not realize Moabit is one of the city’s most central neighborhoods when you arrive at Hauptbahnhof (central station). Surrounded by waterways, Moabit is a quiet island protected from the hustle and bustle of Berlin. The crowds that do gather prefer spending their evenings in cozy restaurants over the party venues offered by other districts. With its beautiful parks, old housing and romantic industrial areas, life has traditionally been relaxed and a bit slower here. But the tone may soon be changing. Reasonable housing costs and proximity to city center are attracting more young Berliners and international visitors. This interest is encouraging new bars, cafés and nightclubs, making Moabit a candidate for most up-and-coming neighborhood in the city.
Explore this neighborhood

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question