We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

A&O Berlin Hauptbahnhof

Hotel website
Lehrter Strasse 12-15, 10557 Berlin, Germany
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
A&O Berlin Hauptbahnhof
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
A&O Berlin Hauptbahnhof
Add Photo

213 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    24
    90
    43
    28
    28
See reviews for
33
57
32
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (213)
  • Mar-May only
    (53)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (53)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (51)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (56)
All months
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My partner and I stayed for two nights in a private hostel room for a bit of privacy and relaxation - not so. Customer service at the front desk was cursory. The room was very basic, towels provided but not much else. The room was incredibly noisy, you could hear everything happening in the hallway and busses/delivery trucks/luggage bags on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Belo Horizonte, MG
Level Contributor
92 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed at this hostel with my family and friends and we were all very happy with our choice. They offer a very nice breakfast, rooms were spotless clean and the atmosphere was very nice. Location is great as its name already says (main train station). I would most certainly recommend this place for those on a budget or looking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bad Homburg, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

The good thing is: You can book a real hotel room here - which you should do - cause bedrooms with 8 oder 9 beds are cheaper, but you would not want to sleep in one room with total strangers. So book a regular double bedroom and enjoy the price. They do not switch towels every day - you would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bangalore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2015

In general, we had a good experience staying the Hotel. Stayed with family (2 Adults & 2 Kids). Room provided to us was nice and large. Breakfast Buffet spread was good. Located in nice & calm locality. Walking distance from Berlin Train Station.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2015 via mobile

We were in a room with 9, we went out for dinner when we came back we found our door open. We checked our stuff and found laptops tablets and camaras missing. The hotel said very rude and without any care that it was our fault. When the security checked our electronic door it became clear it was the lock... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AO_Support, Leiter Gästebetreuung at A&O Berlin Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review

Dear Jasper, thank you for your review! I am shocked to hear what happened to you and your friends while you stayed in the A&O Berlin Hauptbahnhof and I am really sorry for the incident. I am sure the door is repaired already but if you still remember the room number please send it to feedback@aohostels.com to double check. Thank... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2015

Okay, so yes the price is cheap and you get what you paid for but is a good night sleep really too much to ask for? We were given a room with 8 beds. Some looked slep in and some didn't so we chose a bed each and made it look 'taken'. After a night spent at the Hard rock... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AO_Support, Leiter Gästebetreuung at A&O Berlin Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you very much for your feedback! We are very sorry that you had so much trouble during your stay at the A&O Berlin Hauptbahnhof. It is regrettable that the overbooking caused such a displeasing situation for you and the other people in your room. Of course I will forward your experience to the local manager, he will... More 

Paris, France
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2015

Overall I had I good experience there. The customer service was really helpful; when I accidentally booked a room online for the wrong city they changed it for me. When I got there a staff member helped me find my room. The Hotel is only a short walk from the Hbf. The room was really clean and the breakfast was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AO_Support, Leiter Gästebetreuung at A&O Berlin Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review

Dear Sam, we'd like to thank you for your kind review! We are glad to read that you liked our hotel near Berlin Hauptbahnhof- Of course your comments will be forwarded to the local manager and his team. It would be nice to welcome you again at A&O in the future. All the best Your A&O Support Team More 

Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2015

The train station is close by. The rooms are clean and tidy. I actually stayed here twice on my way to Poland and on my way back. I would stay here again. Most of the staff were nice so thats always good :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
AO_Support, Guest Relations Manager at A&O Berlin Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review

Dear Patrick, thank you for your kind review! We are happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay in our hotel at Hauptbahnhof, of course we will forward your experience to the manager and his team. We would be glad to welcome you again at the A&O Berlin Hauptbahnhof or a different A&O. Kind regards, Your A&O Support Team More 

Schattdorf, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2015

One of the best parts of the A&O hostel is how easy it is to find from the train station. When I arrived at the train station it was storming in Berlin so I went to catch a taxi to get to the hostel, and he laughed at me and pointed in the direction. Quick walk from the train station,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AO_Support, Leiter Gästebetreuung at A&O Berlin Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review

Dear Kenna, we are glad to read that you were satisfied with your stay in our hostel and its location! Of course we will forward your comments to the local manager and his team- They will surely be happy to receive your positive feedback. Thank you very much for your review, we hope to welcome you again as our guest.... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2015

Very disappointed in the service received as the employees are rude and do not care about the customers. I complained about my shower being blocked and it backed up making the the shower absolutely filthy. The employee said there's nothing she can do!!!! Absolutely outrageous!!! They also have a ridiculous policy of not cleaning the rooms!!! I wish I could... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
AO_Support, Leiter Gästebetreuung at A&O Berlin Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review

Dear Tamanna, thank you very much for your feedback! We are very sorry that you were not satisfied with your stay at the A&O Berlin Hauptbahnhof. We have no policy about not cleaning the rooms, they are cleaned before every new arrival. During the stay they get cleaned if the guests request it, if not there will be a refill... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

48 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (34)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...

Staying in Moabit

Neighborhood Profile
Moabit
You may not realize Moabit is one of the city’s most central neighborhoods when you arrive at Hauptbahnhof (central station). Surrounded by waterways, Moabit is a quiet island protected from the hustle and bustle of Berlin. The crowds that do gather prefer spending their evenings in cozy restaurants over the party venues offered by other districts. With its beautiful parks, old housing and romantic industrial areas, life has traditionally been relaxed and a bit slower here. But the tone may soon be changing. Reasonable housing costs and proximity to city center are attracting more young Berliners and international visitors. This interest is encouraging new bars, cafés and nightclubs, making Moabit a candidate for most up-and-coming neighborhood in the city.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay