We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

MEININGER Hotel Berlin Hauptbahnhof

3.0 of 5 Ella-Trebe-Strasse 9, 10557 Berlin, Germany
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
MEININGER Hotel Berlin Hauptbahnhof
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
MEININGER Hotel Berlin Hauptbahnhof
MEININGER Hotel Berlin Hauptbahnhof
MEININGER Hotel Berlin Hauptbahnhof
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    292
    154
    60
    59
See reviews for
112
126
120
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (725)
  • Mar-May only
    (143)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (212)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (238)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (132)
All months
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Fantastic location right next to Berlin's central station. Loads of taxis outside as well. Decent kitchen available for making meals in. The bar downstairs is convenient too. Fairly oriented towards German-speaking customers and the staff weren't the most helpful bunch, but at least they all speak English. Definitely not a hostel though even though we found it on hostelworld. Small,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
dalyellup wa
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
15 hotel reviews
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hostel is like is cattle station, it is only for a overnight stay between stops on the train . It is located next to main train station and there are no shops or things to do. This is not for families with kids it is just a back backers hostel. We stayed in a for bed room which is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MEININGERHotels, Guest Relations Manager at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review

Dear guest, we are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. MEININGER focus on rooms in very central position for great prices and also with high standard facilities. We look forward to welcome you again some day in one of our hotels in Europe. All the best Your M-Team More 

Stavanger, Norway
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hostel is placed perfectly to the main station and all the attractions are just a short walking distance. It's easy to get a taxi and the busses drive next to the hostel. The hostel has good equipment for young travellers and backpackers. Own guest kitchen and other facilities. The breakfast is cheap and tasty. We asked kindly for help... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MEININGERHotels, Guest Relations Manager at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to rate us! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciate that you point out our very central location. We also apologize for our staff - usally we all try give our best to make the guest feeling comfortable as much as it is possible. We hope to welcome you again... More 

Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Right next to the Main Train Station. Perfect when you arrive in Berlin by train. Easy access to public transport. Small room but spotlessly clean. Only spent a few hours there since we were out on the town day and night. Lovely friendly attentive staff. The rooms have WiFi. There is a large lounge but it is very busy and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MEININGERHotels, Guest Relations Manager at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you very much for your good and honest feedback. You are always welcome at MEININGER Hotels. Best wishes your M-Team More 

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed in here for 3days. Consequently? I couldn't sleep for whole day! There are lots of bedburgs small and big things. Heater doesn't work well and it was cold in the room. Wifi is almost like snail. There are more better hostel or hotel in the city !!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel was literally at the doorstep of berlin main station. Staying at the main station is really accessible and the main station has 2 to 3 huge supermarkets. The hotel staff were really friendly and since we arrived too early for check in that day we were allowed to store our bags in their storeroom. My boyfriend and I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MEININGERHotels, Guest Relations Manager at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you so much for your honest and detailed review! We are glad that you enjoyed Berlin and your stay at our MEININGER Hotel. We look forward to welcome you again. All the best your M-Team More 

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I had a terrible experience when I stay at the Meininger Hotel for 5 days in October. I arrived early and the room wasn't ready , so they offered to put my luggage on the storage room. A group of tourist leaving that day had their luggage in the same room and they took mine by mistake. I spent a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
MEININGERHotels, Guest Relations Manager at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review

Dear guest, thanks for your feedback. We are sorry that you were not satisfied with your stay and that there was a problem with your luggage. My colleagues at the hotel tried their best to help you and to get in touch with the group that took your luggage. We do not take over any liability for the luggage rooms,... More 

London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Absolute ideal for a 1 night stop-over for our group. Right by the HBF, the room was clean, the bed was comfy and the shower was piping hot. Quick check-in without any issues. Would absolutely recommend as a great value option in the centre of town

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Novi Sad, Serbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We decided on this hotel mainly because it was literally on a train station. That wasn't actually of a big use, since we arrived by plane :) First thing we noticed is that this hotel mostly accommodates large groups of young people. They were all well behaved, so other guests didn't have any trouble with youngsters. Check-in time is 3pm.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MEININGERHotels, Guest Relations Manager at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you so much for your honest and detailed review! We are glad you enjoyed Berlin and your stay at our MEININGER Hotel. We look forward to welcome you again some day in one of our hotels in Europe. All the best your M-Team More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014

I enjoyed my stay at the Meininger - Low prices, good space and comfortable bed - very very clean and well maintained. The location is superb too! Some minor annoyances include very poor Wifi and night times can be very warm during summer.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MEININGERHotels, Guest Relations Manager at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank your for taking the time to rate us! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciate that you point out our very central location :) We hope to welcome you again in the future. Best regards your MEININGER Team More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to MEININGER Hotel Berlin Hauptbahnhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel Berlin Hauptbahnhof

Address: Ella-Trebe-Strasse 9, 10557 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — MEININGER Hotel Berlin Hauptbahnhof 3*
Number of rooms: 296
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, HostelBookers, Agoda, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your MEININGER Hotel Berlin Hauptbahnhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

154 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (139)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (40)
Viewed
View from room (23)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Staying in Moabit

Neighborhood Profile
Moabit
You may not realize Moabit is one of the city’s most central neighborhoods when you arrive at Hauptbahnhof (central station). Surrounded by waterways, Moabit is a quiet island protected from the hustle and bustle of Berlin. The crowds that do gather prefer spending their evenings in cozy restaurants over the party venues offered by other districts. With its beautiful parks, old housing and romantic industrial areas, life has traditionally been relaxed and a bit slower here. But the tone may soon be changing. Reasonable housing costs and proximity to city center are attracting more young Berliners and international visitors. This interest is encouraging new bars, cafés and nightclubs, making Moabit a candidate for most up-and-coming neighborhood in the city.