We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Arcotel John F

#59 of 667 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Werderscher Markt 11, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Arcotel John F
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

1,096 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed here 2 nights, booked through booking.com - arrived swiped the credit card for €248?? The room, no tea/coffee facilities, tv didn't work just fuzzy, aircon didn't work. Mentioned to receptionist, kettle was put in the room. So then checking out - my room rate through booking.com was £150 for the 2 nights, well my bill worked out at £100... More 

Helpful?
Thank Emma T
sebastian-oemer, Manager at Arcotel John F, responded to this review

Dear Emma, we appreciate that you took the time to leave a comment about your recent stay because your comments are a valuable to us in order to continuously improve our service and standards. We want to apologize, that you have made such experiences. Please be sure, that this does not belong to our standard, to take no care of... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This was a fantastic hotel - modern, cool, fun - with a great location for the Christmas markets and for exploring what Berlin has to offer. It was only a block away from one of the largest Christmas markets in Gendarmenmarkt and also a short walk to at least another 4-5 markets. The hotel bar was a nice place to... More 

Helpful?
Thank SNB42
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here after 2 days in Citizenm Amsterdam. The hotel had great reviews and the price was too good to miss. Set on a beautiful street on the door step of museum island. The hotel is sophisticated and smart with elegant classy furnishing. We were delighted to hear we had been upgraded free of charge to a superior room on... More 

Helpful?
Thank Junior G
Sarpsborg, Norway
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

ARCOTEL John F is located in Werderscher Markt, a street prallel to Berlin's main street Unter den Linden and with the Foreign Ministry as its neighbour. The area is very quiet, and numerous sights, museums and restaurants are within walking distance from the hotel. There is a bus from Hauptbahnhof stopping right outside the hotel entrance; the nearest U-bahn is... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Lasse1747
sebastian-oemer, General Manager at Arcotel John F, responded to this review

Dear guests, Thank you so much for your very good review. It is fantastic to hear that you keep coming back to the ARCOTEL John F. Please be assured that we will pass on your great feedback to the entire team. We are already looking forward to welcoming you back very soon. Warm regards, The team of the ARCOTEL John... More 

Phnom Penh, Phnum Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed at the Arcotel John F during a business trip and was very satisfied. Arrived before check-in time, but they offered me to store the luggage until the room was available so I could attend the first conference day without carrying the luggage with me. The room was great, quiet and I really liked the comfortable bed and the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Isabell_PP
sebastian-oemer, General Manager at Arcotel John F, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for staying with us and for your brilliant feedback. It makes us very proud, that you enjoyed your stay so much. Please come back very soon. Kind regards, The team of the ARCOTEL John F More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Friendly staff were very helpful with our limited German. The basic room was very nicely kitted out and comfortable. It was dark and quiet for sleeping, despite construction work just over the road :-) The only space for clothes was hanging, but there was a large couch and chair (no shelves or drawers for clothes, or spaces for suitcases). The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Claire J
sebastian-oemer, General Manager at Arcotel John F, responded to this review

Dear Claire, Thank you for leaving your feedback regarding your recent stay at the ARCOTEL John F. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that you consider revisiting us. For the problems with the thermostat we would like to apologize. It would be fantastic if we would be able to welcoming you back very... More 

Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Arcotel John F, the JFK-nostalgia hotel situated next to Germany's foreign ministry (Auswärtiges Amt) headquarters, is a respectable, no frills, 4-star establishment offering you the standard amenities of this sprawling hotel chain. Price for overnight stay in low season (mid-January) seemed a bit high, particularly as it came without breakfast, which is offered separately at a pricey 22 Euros. What... More 

Helpful?
Thank Leo K
sebastian-oemer, General Manager at Arcotel John F, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the ARCOTEL John F. We are very sorry to hear that you were such at unease about leaving your birthday. It is a legal requirement that by law guests have to fill in the registration form. Required by law are names, first names, addresses, passport numbers, arrival and... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Hotel is lovely and clean and the staff are friendly and polite and will answer all questions. The room was standard on paper but it was like staying in an apartment, it was a corner room so massive windows on 2 sides of the room. Spa and gym were small but great and they had 2 sauna rooms with different... More 

Helpful?
Thank Charlotte M
Putrajaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Being my first visit to Berlin, I found the hotel to be strategically located within reasonable walking distance to major attractions and retail outlets. The service was good and responsive, whilst the breakfast spread was just right with a good diverse items of choice. If there's one thing that I had to complain, it was the soft mattress which wasn't... More 

Helpful?
Thank faris144
frankfurt am main
Level Contributor
78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

i am happy to have stayed at the arcotel john f. the email correspondence was prompt and staff was friendly. one bus ride from the train station (bus 47) that stops right in front. 5 minute walk to the museum island (to the right of the hotel) and a 5min. walk to the gendarmen market/friedrichstrasse (to the left of the... More 

Helpful?
Thank supaclass
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

436 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (411)
Viewed
Room/suite (133)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
View from room (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (60)
Viewed
Bathroom (42)
Viewed
Other (146)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (25)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#4 of 667 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 stars 862 reviews
Mitte
Melia Berlin
Melia Berlin
#22 of 667 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 stars 3,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Radisson Blu Hotel, Berlin
Mitte
COSMO Hotel Berlin Mitte
COSMO Hotel Berlin Mitte
#49 of 667 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 stars 773 reviews
Mitte
Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Mitte

Neighborhood Profile
Mitte
The center of Berlin, Mitte is most famous for sights like the Brandenburg Gate, Alexanderplatz, and Museum Island. The central location makes this one of the city's most expensive places to live. It is here the oldest traces of the city can be found, and evidence of some significant transformations, as well. The gangsters that once ruled the impoverished streets between Alexanderplatz and Hackescher Markt have given way to an international crowd pursuing fashionable designer clothes, the newest food trends and frequenting the many craft shops. Graphic designers have taken up residence in what used to be backyard barns and stables. There are still vestiges of the old days, however. The occasional housing complex is a reminder of the neighborhood’s past. And if you look carefully, an old 1920s ball house nestled amongst the art galleries and exhibitions of Auguststrasse can still teach you how to dance the old fashioned way.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay