We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Arcotel John F

#55 of 665 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Werderscher Markt 11, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Arcotel John F
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Arcotel John F
Write a Review

903 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    465
    361
    58
    8
    11
See reviews for
102
436
44
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (903)
  • Mar-May only
    (228)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (231)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (235)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (209)
All months
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Great overnight stay, room very clean, comfortable and well equipped. Very convenient for most of Berlins great attractions. Only one minor issue was that young man behind bar could not mix cocktails! Nice hotel in a cool city.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lancaster, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Really nice clean hotel, friendly staff, more for business probably but we were on a mini break and were perfectly happy there. A bit disappointment that Wifi signal in bedroom didn't really work well and had to stand by the door for good coverage. Breakfast was nice and we had one evening meal in the bar which was also good.

Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
sebastian-oemer, General Manager at Arcotel John F, responded to this review

Dear guest. we would like to thank you for rating your stay at the ARCOTEL John F. It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed staying with us and that you had a good time. Thank you for your comment regarding the WIFI signal, the issue will be brought to the attention of our IT department. It would be... More 

Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We chose this hotel because we thought it was in a good location. It did not disappoint , close to the river sights and garden market. The rooms were ok, for us who have been away for 8 weeks we found the bathroom was a little small and why you would have a rocking chair in a room that small... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
sebastian-oemer, General Manager at Arcotel John F, responded to this review

Dear guests, Thank you so much for your very detailed feedback on your recent stay at the ARCOTEL John F. We are glad to hear that you had a good time in Berlin. We would like to apolgise for the technical problem you had to experience with your DVD player. Meanwhile it was replaced. The rocking chairs in the entire... More 

Joshua
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
33 hotel reviews
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The John F is located in former East Berlin between Museum Island and the Brandenburg Gate. It is easy walking distance to mass transit and mass transit is easy to navigate in Berlin, as well as to and from the airport. The breakfast cost 18 Euros each morning and they provided gluten free Muesli, muffins and bread. They also provided... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
sebastian-oemer, General Manager at Arcotel John F, responded to this review

Dear guests, we would like to thank you for your very detailed feedback. Please be assured that we are going to share your positive comments with our entire team. Your points regarding the GF parts of the breakfast were past on to our chef, currently we are are looking for an alternative. It would be an extreme pleasure to be... More 

Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2015

I stayed here on a business trip, so I cant comment on this as a base for exploring Berlin except to say that it seemed central with a few bars and restaurants nearby but nonetheless enjoyed a fairly quiet location. The staff were very friendly and accommodating, and spoke excellent English, which as a non-German speaker was a big plus.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
sebastian-oemer, General Manager at Arcotel John F, responded to this review

Dear guest, we would to thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the ARCOTEL John F. It is nice to hear that overall you liked our service and the breakfast. We are sad to hear that you did not like the design of our rooms, which usually gets a lot of positive feedback. Please accept our apologies... More 

Chicago
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2015

I arrived a few minutes before check in and was told my room wasn't ready. Before I could say anything, they said they had upgraded me to the Presidential Suite. Not THE presidential suite, mind you, but a very nice JFK presidential suite, nevertheless. It had a huge board-room style table with eight chairs that were perfect for spreading out... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
10 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2015

We arrived to a warm welcome from the receptionist which was replicated throughout by all other members of staff. They were very pleasant and helpful should you have any questions. An example of this was when we asked the bartender for our bill to pay for a drink, he accidentally gave us another persons bill. The next night he jokingly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
sebastian-oemer, General Manager at Arcotel John F, responded to this review

Dear guests, Thank you so much for your very positive feedback. It was with great pleasure to hear how much you enjoyed your stay at the ARCOTEL John F. We are really looking forward to welcoming you back very soon. Warmest regards, Your team of the ARCOTEL John F More 

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2015

The hotel is very modern, clean and in an excellent location. Having read the reviews, I was expecting good things. On arrival first impressions were good. We arrived fairly early at around 11:00am so I wasn't expecting to be able to check in straight away, which was fine. We was asked if we wanted to pay extra to check in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
sebastian-oemer, General Manager at Arcotel John F, responded to this review

Dear guests, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your feedback regarding your recent stay at the ARCOTEL John F. We are very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your visit. Our guaranteed check in time is 3 pm. The surcharge you are mentioning was no charge for an earlier check in, but for an... More 

Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2015

I chose this hotel for my first visit to Berlin and was very pleased. The location is good, very quiet, but a bit "isolated" from bars and restaurants if one wants them in immediate walking distance. Perfect breakfast and the wellness facilities with saunas on 6th floor great after a day of much walking. Very clean, clean bedsheets every day,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2015

I was considering changing hotels in the last minute but im glad I didnt. Upon arrival we were upgraded to one of the 3 Suites available free of charge. The room was brilliant. And was the icing to the cake. The service was excellent throughout and the bar was well priced with great food and drink available. Excellent location, walking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

353 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (327)
Viewed
Bathroom (39)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (121)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (45)
Viewed
View from room (19)
Viewed
Other (96)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...

Staying in Mitte

Neighborhood Profile
Mitte
The center of Berlin, Mitte is most famous for sights like the Brandenburg Gate, Alexanderplatz, and Museum Island. The central location makes this one of the city's most expensive places to live. It is here the oldest traces of the city can be found, and evidence of some significant transformations, as well. The gangsters that once ruled the impoverished streets between Alexanderplatz and Hackescher Markt have given way to an international crowd pursuing fashionable designer clothes, the newest food trends and frequenting the many craft shops. Graphic designers have taken up residence in what used to be backyard barns and stables. There are still vestiges of the old days, however. The occasional housing complex is a reminder of the neighborhood’s past. And if you look carefully, an old 1920s ball house nestled amongst the art galleries and exhibitions of Auguststrasse can still teach you how to dance the old fashioned way.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities