We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 46 Rothenburg hotels

Prinzhotel Rothenburg

3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   An der Hofstatt 3, 91541 Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Hotel amenities
Prinzhotel Rothenburg
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Prinzhotel Rothenburg to your Saves list
Ranked #35 of 46 Hotels in Rothenburg
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014
RRGEG Whitby, United Kingdom
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    56
    35
    17
    4
See reviews for
23
77
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (141)
  • Mar-May only
    (33)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (42)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (38)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (28)
All months
Goose Creek, South Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014

We were on a tour with 46 other people and stayed at the Prinzhotel in Rothenburg. The accommodations were adequate but the food/service was not very good. We arrived as a group and were served a fish dinner. There were no other options. The fish was very strong tasting and did not suit us. The next morning for breakfast we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ernest_Kraft, Inhaber at Prinzhotel Rothenburg, responded to this review

Dear Mar, Thank you for your comment. Actually, you should address this issue to your tour operator Trafalgar Tours and not to us. You booked at an economic group rate a package deal. This is clearly defined, and has been negotiated sharply, what is included and also what is excluded. Therefore, no "thrills" or add-ons, beyond the budget are possible... More

Whitby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for one night as we toured with friends. Located within the medieval wall the hotel in centrally located.Lovely friendly staff and very nice rooms. a short stroll into a beautiful town, Once i managed to get the wife out of the christmas shops we enjoyed a lovely meal.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ernest_Kraft, Inhaber at Prinzhotel Rothenburg, responded to this review

Dear RRGEG, Thank you for this super rating of the Prinzhotel Rothenburg and also staying with us. I can understand your Christmas shop experience - it is very enticing and some people don’t find the way out anymore :-) Try to visit us in the wintertime - then your wife has to drag you away from the nice booths on... More

Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 1 night in this hotel at the end of July. The hotel is well situated at the wall surrounding the town and very convenient to walk into the town. The hotel is modern with large airy rooms. The staff were very friendly. We had dinner in the hotel restaurant - the service was excellent. We only thought... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hauptquartier, Inhaber at Prinzhotel Rothenburg, responded to this review

Dear Aika, Thank you for your very positive comment and your visit to our Hotel. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay so well including dinner in the restaurant topinambur. I love this fantastic subject! Breakfast is a global topic and is endlessly discussed since many decades pro and contra. On one side you have the “breakfast-includers” on the... More

Walnut Creek, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

The outside of the building matches the medieval feeling of the old town. How when we entered we found it ultra modern not in keeping with the exterior. The staff were great and the resturant was outstanding but we were turned by the ultra modern feeling inside.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hauptquartier, Inhaber at Prinzhotel Rothenburg, responded to this review

Dear dickrainey, Here we meet again! So nice that we could welcome you in Rothenburg also and not only in Heidelberg in the Le Gourmet. Yes, the new modern design was a welcome breakout of the mediaeval embracement with all its towers, mighty walls and gates, cobbles and all. In Rothenburg more than in Heidelberg we have a concentration of... More

Clarksville, Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

You could ask for a better location to see the Medieval city to Rothenburg, Had a great breakfast buffet. The rooms where simple and functional. I would say the only draw back was no free WIFI, but your on vacation in Europe who needs it.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ernest_Kraft, Inhaber at Prinzhotel Rothenburg, responded to this review

Dear Wandering Soldier, Thank you very much for your positive comment. We appreciate it, that you enjoyed the breakfast buffet so much. Did you try our freshly baked waffles? We just bought a new kitchen aid super waffle baker and are happy to top them with chocolate or fresh fruit compote - If you give us the looks then we... More

Suffolk, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
50 hotel reviews
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

I've been coming to Rothenburg for 22 years and find the general tourism offering average to occasionally downright hostile. For a town that lives in large part from tourism they don't put a lot into customer service in their restaurants, hotels and cafés. They seem to take it for granted that the town sells itself and we are just a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ernest_Kraft, Inhaber at Prinzhotel Rothenburg, responded to this review

Dear Peter, At last, after 22 years you have found us - we are glad that it happened and it was a Rothenburg connoisseur :-) We must admit the last 7 years have been one of the very important years in the life of the Prinzhotel - a lot of big renovations - step by step - have been carried... More

Bucharest, Romania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

One night in Rothenburg. Great, lovely town.... Regarding the hotel, I must say I'm disappointed by the hotel rating in Germany... Prinzhotel is my argument. The location is great (inside the city walls). The exterior looks very good. Probabily we've stayed in a room different from the others, because: - the furniture was scratched and dirty - unpleaseant smell in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ernest_Kraft, Inhaber at Prinzhotel Rothenburg, responded to this review

Dear Mihai M, Thank you for your comment - which leaves us puzzled. You were shown a superior room which was only 10 EUR more than the standard room which you have chosen actually. It was your own decision to take that other room, which is well liked especially by families with up to 4 persons - they are very... More

Singapore
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We stayed for 1 night at the Superior room. We would recommend you to stay in the superior room as it is newly renovated. The size of the room is reasonably spacious. They even have inter-connecting rooms in the hotel. We are impressed with the interior designs of the hotel, especially the hotel lobby and its restaurant. It is tastefully... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ernest_Kraft, Inhaber at Prinzhotel Rothenburg, responded to this review

Dear Traveller, Thank you for your nice comment. Yes, interconnecting rooms, that is a very nice feature which is quite comfortable and bookable over our own official website of the Prinzhotel. Thank you for loving our interour design - we have put a lot of effort in it to make it stand out of the crowd. Parking is normally no... More

Remagen, Germany
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Location in the middle of the "Altstadt", can't be beat, however, that comes with the difficulty of dealing with limited parking near the hotel. The hotel was undergoing some moderate renovation during our stay, so it wouldn't be fair to comment about appearances. Staff was very friendly and accommodating, to include speaking excellent English. Overall a good place to stay,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ernest_Kraft, Inhaber at Prinzhotel Rothenburg, responded to this review
Google Translation

Lieber K E, ja unsere Lage ist schon herausragend. In der Altstadt direkt an der Stadtmauer - dem Wahrzeichen von... More

Nuremberg, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Stayed at the Prinzhotel in March, 2014. They were undergoing renovations on all floors. We booked a 'Newly Renovated, Superior Double Room' which was clean and had a nice view of the courtyard, but the walls were scuffed and curtains were torn (newly renovated?)... The staff was very friendly. Felt that we overpaid and would not stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hauptquartier, Inhaber at Prinzhotel Rothenburg, responded to this review

Dear John and Kate, As we say in German "the tone makes the music" If one reads your over exaggerated lines, it seems that fragments of curtains were left over only dangling in the wind. That was not at all the case. All to often guests themselves open windows and ignore curtains which are cought in between the sharp window... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Prinzhotel Rothenburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prinzhotel Rothenburg

Address: An der Hofstatt 3, 91541 Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Prinzhotel Rothenburg 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Otel, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Prinzhotel Rothenburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prinzhotel Rothenburg Hotel Rothenburg Ob Der Tauber
Prinzhotel Rothenburg Ob Der Tauber

62 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (12)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay