We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 128 Nuremberg hotels

Ringhotel Loew's Merkur

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pillenreuther Strasse 1, 90459 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Ringhotel Loew's Merkur to your Saves list
Ringhotel Loew's Merkur
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
70%
Ranked #34 of 128 hotels in Nuremberg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014
gmit Zagreb, Croatia
  • Overview
  • Reviews (150)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Photos (47)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (8)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

150 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    52
    32
    9
    7
See reviews for
26
30
16
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zagreb, Croatia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

I was pretty satisfied with this hotel. My room appeared to be quite new, functional and it was kept very clean. The mattress is among better mattresses that can be found in hotels. The location is good. It's a bit on the expensive side (as most good Nuremberg hotels are). Pool working time is a bit strange, but, I've somehow... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christel D, Manager at Ringhotel Loew's Merkur, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you very much for your comment. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and we really appreciate your recommendation. Concerning your remarks about the stilistic approach I Chose in some reviews you are right. However I would not describe these answers as rude, but as adequate from my point of view. However perhaps... More

New Zealand
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Stayed at this establishment in May 2014 as part of a group tour. The Lobby hints at what the in-room experience has to offer. It is dated and the service was not great. Our group was spread across several floors and I was told that some rooms, on the top floor, were only accessible by 2 different banks of lifts... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christel D, Manager at Ringhotel Loew's Merkur, responded to this review

Dear justine55, thank you very much for your feedback. We regret that you could not find the comfort in our house you were looking for. Reading your interesting reports and reviews on trioadvisor about places you have recently seen and hotels where you stayed all over the world I can clearly understand why you could not enjoy your time in... More

Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

This is a quaint hotel right next to the main train station in Nuremberg. While the location is very convenient it is extremely noisy. Keep in mind as well, older hotels like this one do not have an air conditioner and unless you open a window to let all of the noise in the room gets very warm during the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Christel D, Manager at Ringhotel Loew's Merkur, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank your for your comment on tripadvisor. We feel sorry that you could not enjoy your stay at our Hotel in the way you hoped for. Thank you for your reccomendation of our breakfast buffet and your nice words about our friendly service. Your remarks on our age are abolutely right. Our hotel is an traditional hotel established... More

Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Old hotel that is close to the train station. It's in need of some renovation - don't believe the website pictures! Friendly reception team, surly breakfast crew. Wouldn't suggest you eat here for dinner - find somewhere nice. Just kinda average.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Christel D, Manager at Ringhotel Loew's Merkur, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for commentary here on Tripadvisor. We regret that you didn't find our hotel so nice as you expected. Concerning your remarks on our restaurant I can only quote the old saying: Do not judge a book by its cover. Concerning your remarks on our photos on our homepage I want to point out: What you see... More

Colombo, Sri Lanka
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

A very cozy little place conveniently situated with close proximity to town centre, trains etc. Rooms and amenities were satisfying. Staff with smiles...... Always works magic to weary travelers 😊. Excellent stay during our visit to Spielwarenmesse Toy Fair (2014)

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christel D, Manager at Ringhotel Loew's Merkur, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you very much for your nice commentary about your stay in our hotel. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your time. Thanks also for your nice words about my staff. I hope you had a successful toy fair here in Nuremberg. I wish you a safe flight home and I am lookung forward to seeing you... More

at home
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
76 hotel reviews
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

The price for our family of 4 was fantastic, especially for Europe! The staff were very friendly & helpful & spoke very good English. The location is just outside of the old town…you walk through the main halls of the train station across the street & exit right by the old city wall where the handicraft market is. It's not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christel D, Manager at Ringhotel Loew's Merkur, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for your comment referring to your stay at our hotel. Me employees and me are glad that you enjoyed your stay and especially your enthusiasm about our price-value ratio and that you write that we are an perfect hotel for familiies. Please let me add some information: WiFi in the rooms is free for all our... More

Athens, Greece
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

For a four star hotel it's not acceptable not to have wifi for free. The room was small but clean. On the plus side the 30 inch flat tv. Being next to the train station and a busy street it a bit noisy. Excellent breakfast and helpful staff. The location is the best asset of the hotel. It right next... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christel D, Manager at Ringhotel Loew's Merkur, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for your nice and competent comment about our hotel. I just want to inform you and the general reader that every guest of our hotel gets free WiFi if he books his room directly via our homepage. Tis is a service we offer since several months. Best wishes Peter Löw, your host More

Surrey, British Columbia, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Clean, comfortable and close to the Alt Stadt. Our two night stay was great even though we were across from the train station we found our room to be very quiet with the windows open. The room was large and had been updated. Beds were comfy and the bathroom was large with a nice Jacuzzi tub and separate shower. We... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christel D, Manager at Ringhotel Loew's Merkur, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for your nice and positive comment about your stay in our hotel. We are very pleased that you and your friends enjoyed your time in Nuremberg and that you give a recommendation of our hotel to future guests. Let me just add one important information: You name the extras absolutely correct: We charge 11 Euro for... More

Bucharest, Romania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I recently stayed in this hotel (a couple of days in the second half of September 2013) visiting Nuremberg for business purposes. Having in mind the austerity of the German Hotels I have made a reservation and I got a comfort single room (which I strongly recommend), large enough and decently equipped (maybe minimalist, but convenient after all), but the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christel D, Manager at Ringhotel Loew's Merkur, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for your detailled and friendly comment on your stay at our hotel. We are happy that you enjoyed the time in Nuremberg and at our hotel. We appreciate your correct and fair description of the hotel, its facilities and departments. And it's true: We don't have a bellboy. Let me add just a few information to... More

Des Moines, Iowa
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I traveled with a group to this hotel and stayed two days. Pros: The view from my room! My room faced the city and the train tracks. I was placed in a blissful trance looking out my room window! The location was good for walking to the city center and for taking the train. My room was fairly large for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Christel D, Manager at Ringhotel Loew's Merkur, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for your friedndly commentary concering your stay at our hotel. We are very happy that you enjoyed our indoor swimming pool and other facilities at our hotel, especially our new dreamwater lounge - that is what you described as our massage. Referring to yor comment on our old traditional hotel room keys you are absolutely right.... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Ringhotel Loew's Merkur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Nuremberg hotels
Restaurant, Cit...
Show More
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Carlton Nuernberg
Sheraton Carlton Nuernberg
#11 of 128 in Nuremberg
4.5 of 5 stars 276 reviews
Free Parking, R...
Show More
2.6 mi away
Novotel Nuremberg Messezentrum
Quiet, Restaura...
Show More
0.2 mi away
Maritim Hotel Nurnberg
Maritim Hotel Nurnberg
#53 of 128 in Nuremberg
4.0 of 5 stars 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Free internet...
Show More
2.2 mi away
Novina Hotel Tillypark
Novina Hotel Tillypark
#6 of 128 in Nuremberg
4.5 of 5 stars 104 reviews
City Center, Fr...
Show More
0.4 mi away
NH Nurnberg City
NH Nurnberg City
#35 of 128 in Nuremberg
4.0 of 5 stars 468 reviews
Restaurant, Cit...
Show More
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Nurnberg City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ringhotel Loew's Merkur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ringhotel Loew's Merkur

Address: Pillenreuther Strasse 1, 90459 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Nuremberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ringhotel Loew's Merkur 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Ringhotel Loew's Merkur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ringhotel Loew`s Merkur Hotel Nuremberg

47 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#8 Luxury Hotel in Nuremberg #21 Romantic Hotel in Nuremberg
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
200

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer