We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ringhotel Loew's Merkur

4.0 of 5 Pillenreuther Strasse 1, 90459 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ringhotel Loew's Merkur
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Ringhotel Loew's Merkur
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    63
    34
    11
    8
See reviews for
38
36
18
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (178)
  • Mar-May only
    (24)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (60)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (53)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (41)
All months
Annan, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2014

Paid 200 euros for one night in a hotel that Billy Butlin would have been ashamed of. Two nights earlier I'd spent a night in the centre of Edinburgh in an apartment with my family for less than this squat cost me. I was at an exhibition and the price pre-exhibition was 86 euros per night but jumped to 200... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Christel D, Manager at Ringhotel Loew's Merkur, responded to this review
Google Translation

Lieber Gast, vielen Dank für Ihre Rückmeldung. Wir bedauern, dass wir Ihre Erwartungen erfüllen konnten, freuen uns jedoch ein bisschen,... More

Mumbai
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2014

ITs a nice hotel as the south exit of Nuremberg station ..nice loacation in case you wish to travel to munich also...well connected..Nice room for a business visit with wifi ...clean ..and good polite staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christel D, Manager at Ringhotel Loew's Merkur, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you very much for your nice recommendation of our Hotel as an ideal strategic location We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Thank you very much also for your nice compliments about my polite staff. It is always a pleasure for my employees to get such a nice feedback from our guests. I... More

Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

Great hotel within a 5 minute walk of the train station (2 minute walk if you go through the connected mall). Plenty of parking in a secure area and also plenty of public parking that can be utilized. Lots of shopping, markets, etc. Easy access for those who drive. The restaurant was poor. Bad service, bad food (undercooked chicken) other... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christel D, Manager at Ringhotel Loew's Merkur, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you very much for taking your time to recommend our hotel and its location. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the rooms and the atmosphere. Concerning your Impression about the restaurant we are sorry that we could not deliver the quality you expected. Unfortunately i do not have Information on what day you... More

Zagreb, Croatia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

I was pretty satisfied with this hotel. My room appeared to be quite new, functional and it was kept very clean. The mattress is among better mattresses that can be found in hotels. The location is good. It's a bit on the expensive side (as most good Nuremberg hotels are). Pool working time is a bit strange, but, I've somehow... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christel D, Manager at Ringhotel Loew's Merkur, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you very much for your comment. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and we really appreciate your recommendation. Concerning your remarks about the stilistic approach I Chose in some reviews you are right. However I would not describe these answers as rude, but as adequate from my point of view. However perhaps... More

New Zealand
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Stayed at this establishment in May 2014 as part of a group tour. The Lobby hints at what the in-room experience has to offer. It is dated and the service was not great. Our group was spread across several floors and I was told that some rooms, on the top floor, were only accessible by 2 different banks of lifts... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christel D, Manager at Ringhotel Loew's Merkur, responded to this review

Dear justine55, thank you very much for your feedback. We regret that you could not find the comfort in our house you were looking for. Reading your interesting reports and reviews on trioadvisor about places you have recently seen and hotels where you stayed all over the world I can clearly understand why you could not enjoy your time in... More

Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
29 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

This is a quaint hotel right next to the main train station in Nuremberg. While the location is very convenient it is extremely noisy. Keep in mind as well, older hotels like this one do not have an air conditioner and unless you open a window to let all of the noise in the room gets very warm during the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Christel D, Manager at Ringhotel Loew's Merkur, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank your for your comment on tripadvisor. We feel sorry that you could not enjoy your stay at our Hotel in the way you hoped for. Thank you for your reccomendation of our breakfast buffet and your nice words about our friendly service. Your remarks on our age are abolutely right. Our hotel is an traditional hotel established... More

Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Old hotel that is close to the train station. It's in need of some renovation - don't believe the website pictures! Friendly reception team, surly breakfast crew. Wouldn't suggest you eat here for dinner - find somewhere nice. Just kinda average.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Christel D, Manager at Ringhotel Loew's Merkur, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for commentary here on Tripadvisor. We regret that you didn't find our hotel so nice as you expected. Concerning your remarks on our restaurant I can only quote the old saying: Do not judge a book by its cover. Concerning your remarks on our photos on our homepage I want to point out: What you see... More

Colombo, Sri Lanka
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

A very cozy little place conveniently situated with close proximity to town centre, trains etc. Rooms and amenities were satisfying. Staff with smiles...... Always works magic to weary travelers 😊. Excellent stay during our visit to Spielwarenmesse Toy Fair (2014)

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christel D, Manager at Ringhotel Loew's Merkur, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you very much for your nice commentary about your stay in our hotel. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your time. Thanks also for your nice words about my staff. I hope you had a successful toy fair here in Nuremberg. I wish you a safe flight home and I am lookung forward to seeing you... More

at home
Top Contributor
237 reviews 237 reviews
82 hotel reviews
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

The price for our family of 4 was fantastic, especially for Europe! The staff were very friendly & helpful & spoke very good English. The location is just outside of the old town…you walk through the main halls of the train station across the street & exit right by the old city wall where the handicraft market is. It's not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christel D, Manager at Ringhotel Loew's Merkur, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for your comment referring to your stay at our hotel. Me employees and me are glad that you enjoyed your stay and especially your enthusiasm about our price-value ratio and that you write that we are an perfect hotel for familiies. Please let me add some information: WiFi in the rooms is free for all our... More

Athens, Greece
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

For a four star hotel it's not acceptable not to have wifi for free. The room was small but clean. On the plus side the 30 inch flat tv. Being next to the train station and a busy street it a bit noisy. Excellent breakfast and helpful staff. The location is the best asset of the hotel. It right next... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christel D, Manager at Ringhotel Loew's Merkur, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for your nice and competent comment about our hotel. I just want to inform you and the general reader that every guest of our hotel gets free WiFi if he books his room directly via our homepage. Tis is a service we offer since several months. Best wishes Peter Löw, your host More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Ringhotel Loew's Merkur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ringhotel Loew's Merkur

Address: Pillenreuther Strasse 1, 90459 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Nuremberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ringhotel Loew's Merkur 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Otel, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ringhotel Loew's Merkur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ringhotel Loew`s Merkur Hotel Nuremberg

63 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay