We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 128 Nuremberg hotels

Ringhotel Loew's Merkur

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pillenreuther Strasse 1, 90459 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Ringhotel Loew's Merkur to your Saves list
Ringhotel Loew's Merkur
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
71%
Ranked #35 of 128 Hotels in Nuremberg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    58
    34
    10
    7
See reviews for
36
34
18
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great hotel within a 5 minute walk of the train station (2 minute walk if you go through the connected mall). Plenty of parking in a secure area and also plenty of public parking that can be utilized. Lots of shopping, markets, etc. Easy access for those who drive. The restaurant was poor. Bad service, bad food (undercooked chicken) other... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christel D, Manager at Ringhotel Loew's Merkur, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you very much for taking your time to recommend our hotel and its location. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the rooms and the atmosphere. Concerning your Impression about the restaurant we are sorry that we could not deliver the quality you expected. Unfortunately i do not have Information on what day you... More

Zagreb, Croatia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

I was pretty satisfied with this hotel. My room appeared to be quite new, functional and it was kept very clean. The mattress is among better mattresses that can be found in hotels. The location is good. It's a bit on the expensive side (as most good Nuremberg hotels are). Pool working time is a bit strange, but, I've somehow... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christel D, Manager at Ringhotel Loew's Merkur, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you very much for your comment. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and we really appreciate your recommendation. Concerning your remarks about the stilistic approach I Chose in some reviews you are right. However I would not describe these answers as rude, but as adequate from my point of view. However perhaps... More

New Zealand
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Stayed at this establishment in May 2014 as part of a group tour. The Lobby hints at what the in-room experience has to offer. It is dated and the service was not great. Our group was spread across several floors and I was told that some rooms, on the top floor, were only accessible by 2 different banks of lifts... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christel D, Manager at Ringhotel Loew's Merkur, responded to this review

Dear justine55, thank you very much for your feedback. We regret that you could not find the comfort in our house you were looking for. Reading your interesting reports and reviews on trioadvisor about places you have recently seen and hotels where you stayed all over the world I can clearly understand why you could not enjoy your time in... More

Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
28 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

This is a quaint hotel right next to the main train station in Nuremberg. While the location is very convenient it is extremely noisy. Keep in mind as well, older hotels like this one do not have an air conditioner and unless you open a window to let all of the noise in the room gets very warm during the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Christel D, Manager at Ringhotel Loew's Merkur, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank your for your comment on tripadvisor. We feel sorry that you could not enjoy your stay at our Hotel in the way you hoped for. Thank you for your reccomendation of our breakfast buffet and your nice words about our friendly service. Your remarks on our age are abolutely right. Our hotel is an traditional hotel established... More

Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Old hotel that is close to the train station. It's in need of some renovation - don't believe the website pictures! Friendly reception team, surly breakfast crew. Wouldn't suggest you eat here for dinner - find somewhere nice. Just kinda average.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Christel D, Manager at Ringhotel Loew's Merkur, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for commentary here on Tripadvisor. We regret that you didn't find our hotel so nice as you expected. Concerning your remarks on our restaurant I can only quote the old saying: Do not judge a book by its cover. Concerning your remarks on our photos on our homepage I want to point out: What you see... More

Colombo, Sri Lanka
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

A very cozy little place conveniently situated with close proximity to town centre, trains etc. Rooms and amenities were satisfying. Staff with smiles...... Always works magic to weary travelers 😊. Excellent stay during our visit to Spielwarenmesse Toy Fair (2014)

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christel D, Manager at Ringhotel Loew's Merkur, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you very much for your nice commentary about your stay in our hotel. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your time. Thanks also for your nice words about my staff. I hope you had a successful toy fair here in Nuremberg. I wish you a safe flight home and I am lookung forward to seeing you... More

at home
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
76 hotel reviews
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

The price for our family of 4 was fantastic, especially for Europe! The staff were very friendly & helpful & spoke very good English. The location is just outside of the old town…you walk through the main halls of the train station across the street & exit right by the old city wall where the handicraft market is. It's not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christel D, Manager at Ringhotel Loew's Merkur, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for your comment referring to your stay at our hotel. Me employees and me are glad that you enjoyed your stay and especially your enthusiasm about our price-value ratio and that you write that we are an perfect hotel for familiies. Please let me add some information: WiFi in the rooms is free for all our... More

Athens, Greece
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

For a four star hotel it's not acceptable not to have wifi for free. The room was small but clean. On the plus side the 30 inch flat tv. Being next to the train station and a busy street it a bit noisy. Excellent breakfast and helpful staff. The location is the best asset of the hotel. It right next... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christel D, Manager at Ringhotel Loew's Merkur, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for your nice and competent comment about our hotel. I just want to inform you and the general reader that every guest of our hotel gets free WiFi if he books his room directly via our homepage. Tis is a service we offer since several months. Best wishes Peter Löw, your host More

Surrey, British Columbia, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Clean, comfortable and close to the Alt Stadt. Our two night stay was great even though we were across from the train station we found our room to be very quiet with the windows open. The room was large and had been updated. Beds were comfy and the bathroom was large with a nice Jacuzzi tub and separate shower. We... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christel D, Manager at Ringhotel Loew's Merkur, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for your nice and positive comment about your stay in our hotel. We are very pleased that you and your friends enjoyed your time in Nuremberg and that you give a recommendation of our hotel to future guests. Let me just add one important information: You name the extras absolutely correct: We charge 11 Euro for... More

Bucharest, Romania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I recently stayed in this hotel (a couple of days in the second half of September 2013) visiting Nuremberg for business purposes. Having in mind the austerity of the German Hotels I have made a reservation and I got a comfort single room (which I strongly recommend), large enough and decently equipped (maybe minimalist, but convenient after all), but the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christel D, Manager at Ringhotel Loew's Merkur, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for your detailled and friendly comment on your stay at our hotel. We are happy that you enjoyed the time in Nuremberg and at our hotel. We appreciate your correct and fair description of the hotel, its facilities and departments. And it's true: We don't have a bellboy. Let me add just a few information to... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Ringhotel Loew's Merkur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Ringhotel Loew's Merkur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ringhotel Loew's Merkur

Address: Pillenreuther Strasse 1, 90459 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Nuremberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ringhotel Loew's Merkur 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Otel, Agoda, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Ringhotel Loew's Merkur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ringhotel Loew`s Merkur Hotel Nuremberg

63 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Nuremberg with
any amenities