We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ringhotel Loew's Merkur

4.0 of 5 Pillenreuther Strasse 1, 90459 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ringhotel Loew's Merkur
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Ringhotel Loew's Merkur
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    68
    36
    11
    8
See reviews for
40
40
18
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (192)
  • Mar-May only
    (24)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (60)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (53)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (55)
All months
Belgium
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Decent hotel in with little extreme pros or cons: decent and clean rooms (indeed a bit difficult to navigate in the hotel since it is a labyrinth of connected corridors), good breakfast, located not too far from the historic city center and next to the railway station. It was a bit strange though that we had to pay (too much)... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Christel D, Manager at Ringhotel Loew's Merkur, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for your recommendation. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our "decent" hotel. Yours sincerely Peter Löw, your host More 

Eugene, Oregon
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
7 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Staff were exceptionally helpful and Friendly. My rooms bathroom, had a bath & shower and ample room. The breakfast was paid for seperate, but with the price of hotel included. It was still a very good price. They only had wifi for people with a German phone number. Although there is a computer off of the lobby for guest... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christel D, Manager at Ringhotel Loew's Merkur, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for your kind recommendation of our Hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Hotel as well as our time in Nuremberg. Moreover I wish to thank you for explaining the advantages of the Nuremberg Card, which we offer to our guests: Free entry to many museums and free use of trams and busses... More 

Rijeka, Croatia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for two weekend nights in the middle of November and were very satisfied with the hotel. We didn’t try the restaurant, bar or pool so we can’t comment on that, but our room was excellent. I had two very good nights, the bed has been very comfortable, the mattress excellent and the temperature ideal for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Christel D, Manager at Ringhotel Loew's Merkur, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for your Review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and that you describe in detail what made it comfortable for you. Especially your remark on the flawless WIFI delights me, because we offer free WiFI to all our guest in the complete hotel. We are happy that you appreciated also this... More 

Annan, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2014

Paid 200 euros for one night in a hotel that Billy Butlin would have been ashamed of. Two nights earlier I'd spent a night in the centre of Edinburgh in an apartment with my family for less than this squat cost me. I was at an exhibition and the price pre-exhibition was 86 euros per night but jumped to 200... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Christel D, Manager at Ringhotel Loew's Merkur, responded to this review
Google Translation

Lieber Gast, vielen Dank für Ihre Rückmeldung. Wir bedauern, dass wir Ihre Erwartungen erfüllen konnten, freuen uns jedoch ein bisschen,... More 

Mumbai
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2014

ITs a nice hotel as the south exit of Nuremberg station ..nice loacation in case you wish to travel to munich also...well connected..Nice room for a business visit with wifi ...clean ..and good polite staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christel D, Manager at Ringhotel Loew's Merkur, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you very much for your nice recommendation of our Hotel as an ideal strategic location We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Thank you very much also for your nice compliments about my polite staff. It is always a pleasure for my employees to get such a nice feedback from our guests. I... More 

Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

Great hotel within a 5 minute walk of the train station (2 minute walk if you go through the connected mall). Plenty of parking in a secure area and also plenty of public parking that can be utilized. Lots of shopping, markets, etc. Easy access for those who drive. The restaurant was poor. Bad service, bad food (undercooked chicken) other... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christel D, Manager at Ringhotel Loew's Merkur, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you very much for taking your time to recommend our hotel and its location. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the rooms and the atmosphere. Concerning your Impression about the restaurant we are sorry that we could not deliver the quality you expected. Unfortunately i do not have Information on what day you... More 

Zagreb, Croatia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

I was pretty satisfied with this hotel. My room appeared to be quite new, functional and it was kept very clean. The mattress is among better mattresses that can be found in hotels. The location is good. It's a bit on the expensive side (as most good Nuremberg hotels are). Pool working time is a bit strange, but, I've somehow... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christel D, Manager at Ringhotel Loew's Merkur, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you very much for your comment. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and we really appreciate your recommendation. Concerning your remarks about the stilistic approach I Chose in some reviews you are right. However I would not describe these answers as rude, but as adequate from my point of view. However perhaps... More 

New Zealand
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Stayed at this establishment in May 2014 as part of a group tour. The Lobby hints at what the in-room experience has to offer. It is dated and the service was not great. Our group was spread across several floors and I was told that some rooms, on the top floor, were only accessible by 2 different banks of lifts... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Christel D, Manager at Ringhotel Loew's Merkur, responded to this review

Dear justine55, thank you very much for your feedback. We regret that you could not find the comfort in our house you were looking for. Reading your interesting reports and reviews on trioadvisor about places you have recently seen and hotels where you stayed all over the world I can clearly understand why you could not enjoy your time in... More 

Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
30 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

This is a quaint hotel right next to the main train station in Nuremberg. While the location is very convenient it is extremely noisy. Keep in mind as well, older hotels like this one do not have an air conditioner and unless you open a window to let all of the noise in the room gets very warm during the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Christel D, Manager at Ringhotel Loew's Merkur, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank your for your comment on tripadvisor. We feel sorry that you could not enjoy your stay at our Hotel in the way you hoped for. Thank you for your reccomendation of our breakfast buffet and your nice words about our friendly service. Your remarks on our age are abolutely right. Our hotel is an traditional hotel established... More 

Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Old hotel that is close to the train station. It's in need of some renovation - don't believe the website pictures! Friendly reception team, surly breakfast crew. Wouldn't suggest you eat here for dinner - find somewhere nice. Just kinda average.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Christel D, Manager at Ringhotel Loew's Merkur, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for commentary here on Tripadvisor. We regret that you didn't find our hotel so nice as you expected. Concerning your remarks on our restaurant I can only quote the old saying: Do not judge a book by its cover. Concerning your remarks on our photos on our homepage I want to point out: What you see... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Ringhotel Loew's Merkur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ringhotel Loew's Merkur

Address: Pillenreuther Strasse 1, 90459 Nuremberg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Nuremberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ringhotel Loew's Merkur 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ringhotel Loew's Merkur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ringhotel Loew`s Merkur Hotel Nuremberg
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Nuremberg
#10 Romantic Hotel in Nuremberg
#16 Family Hotel in Nuremberg

65 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (34)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay