We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 379 Munich hotels

Leonardo Hotel Munich Arabellapark

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Effnerstrasse 99, 81925 Munich, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Holiday Inn Munich)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Leonardo Hotel Munich Arabellapark to your Saves list
Leonardo Hotel Munich Arabellapark
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
55%
Ranked #249 of 379 hotels in Munich
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014
Georgios1974 Nicosia, Cyprus
Write a Review

225 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    101
    72
    24
    11
See reviews for
20
46
22
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

If you are looking for a nice place to stay during a tourist visit to Munich, this is NOT the place. In desperate need of modernization and updating this hotel is old, set back amongst trees and difficult to find if you do not have a car or a navigation system. Public transport is a bus and the hotel is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Leonardo Hotel Munich Arabellapark, responded to this review

Dear Hvhighexp, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the room conditions prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction. Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the... More

Nicosia, Cyprus
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Stayed for a week late December 2013-January 2014. Initial room allocation for 2 people, small by way of room and bed sizes, as well as wood furniture that made it look outdated. Asked to change the room and it was politely effected from the second day via an upgrade at no extra charge. New room even exceeded expectations. Moving on,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Leonardo Hotel Munich Arabellapark, responded to this review

Dear Georgios1974, Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your experience. We appreciate you taking the time to help us improve our guest services. I am sorry to hear the troubles you had during your visit. I sincerely apologize for we fell below your standards on room condition and truly sorry for you did not find our location to your... More

Hamburg, Germany
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

If you get there by public transport you have to walk at least 15 mins so better take a cab if you are tired. Check in was fast but too little information about the hotel facilities and the area. The room was in a good condition the bathroom not. Minibar is empty so you have to use a vending machine... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Leonardo Hotel Munich Arabellapark, responded to this review

Dear Baloo12345678, Thank you very much for your feedback. We value your comments, as they enable us to further improve our services and to surpass the very high standards our guests expect. I read with much concern the troubles you have encountered during your stay. I sincerely apologize for we fell below your standards on most of the services and... More

Bracknell
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

I had a bad first impression as I walked into the lobby. Everything looked old-fashioned and tired. As I was standing in line to checkin I looked more carefully and realised I was being unfair - the reason it looks so bad is because there is construction work in progress to resurface the floor. Maybe they will clean up the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Leonardo Hotel Munich Arabellapark, responded to this review

Dear ultrak3wl, Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We are sorry for the shortfalls you have experienced during your stay. Your comments are highly valuable and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. Rest assured,... More

Utrecht, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

I spent three night at the Holiday Inn in Effnerstrasse, in Nov. 2013 (room 314). Not too bad, the price was reasonable, and the accommodation in general comfortable. A few things that could be improved: WiFi connection was very slow; the bath tub and shower would require to be refreshed; the breakfast was rather expensive, at 21 euro. I had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Leonardo Hotel Munich Arabellapark, responded to this review

Dear ziochecco1954, Thank you for your candid feedback. It is unfortunate you were not fully satisfied with the accommodations. But we are pleased you did enjoy your meal in our restaurant. We are always looking for ways to improve our hotel, and your feedback will help us to do so. Regards, Brenda J. Case Manager IHGCare More

London, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

I stayed here for one night as part of a big tour and found it perfectly acceptable. I would complain that the wifi is (a) not free and (b) really slow when you do pay for it. Also, the location is quite a way from the centre of town and the shower water pressure was terrible. However, the rooms were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Leonardo Hotel Munich Arabellapark, responded to this review

Dear worldwearytraveller1, I appreciate your feedback regarding your recent visit with us. I am pleased to know that our rooms were comfortable and you found our staff to be helpful. I regret though that the Wifi fees and shower facility were a disappointment. We will use your comments for upgrades needed on premises. Again, thanks for your review and our... More

Belgrade, Serbia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

There are three Holiday Inn hotels in Munich, one downtown, the one at the airport and the third one on Effner strasse, a bit inconvenently located 10-15 minutes from the closest metro station at the Arabella park. If you depend on public transport, then I would not recommend the hotel. on Effner strass. Aslo, not many things to see or... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Leonardo Hotel Munich Arabellapark, responded to this review

Dear Makilaki, Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I’m sorry you received service which was unacceptable. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great... More

Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Was on business in Munich during the Oktoberfest season, and it was not only terrible finding vacancies, the prices were just beyond reality. The Hotel is average, quite distant from downtown, walking to the next U Bahn takes 10 Minutes and a taxi will cost you around 16 Euro. the Hotel has small and normal rooms, make sure you get... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Leonardo Hotel Munich Arabellapark, responded to this review

Dear Gass1, Thank you for the review of our hotel. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We are disappointed that we did not meet your expectations on this particular day. Though we would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, we would like to thank you for sharing... More

Bangalore, India
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Stayed over for two nights at this Holiday Inn while in Munich - I found the hotel excellent. The rooms were spotlessly clean and well equipped. Service was excellent all through. I got the benefit of free wifi due to my IHG priority club membership. The staff were very friendly, the breakfast was sumptuous. The local underground station is about... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Perth, Western Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Would highly recommend , the holiday inn, the rooms are clean, the breakfast is really good, the staff are very helpful and friendly. The Holiday Inn is only a five min walk to underground sub way, which runs regular . A very very enjoyable stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Been to Leonardo Hotel Munich Arabellapark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Hotel Munich Arabellapark

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Munich Hotel Munich
Holiday Inn Munich Hotel
Holiday Inn Munich
Munich Holiday Inn
Address: Effnerstrasse 99, 81925 Munich, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Holiday Inn Munich)
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#78 Luxury Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Leonardo Hotel Munich Arabellapark 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Munich, the metropolis with a heart and good-natured Bavarian hospitality! The Leonardo Hotel Munich Arabellapark is the ideal base for business and leisure travellers to discover all the attractions Munich has to offer. The hotel is located next to the Englischer Garten park, which is the biggest inner city park in Europe and is situated in the heart of Munich. The sights and places of interest, such as Marienplatz, the October Beer-Festival, the Olympic Park, the new Allianz Arena, home of the Soccer Clubs FC Bayern München and 1860 München and the New Munich Exhibition Center, as well as the Munich main train station and the international airport, are only a few minutes away by public transport or car.The Munich trade fair, the venue for international conventions and trade fairs such as BAUMA, BAU, ISPO, IFAT and Analytica, is easy to reach by public transport. The A9 motorway and the Mittlerer Ring are close by. All guest rooms offer modern equipment, including self controlled air condition and high speed W-LAN. Relax in the sauna or the steambath, which you ll find in our wellness area, or get in shape in our gym. As a special service trekking bikes can be hired free of charge. Our conference facilities can accommodate up to 277 guests. *All rooms and meeting rooms are refurbished in 2008* ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Otel so you can book your Leonardo Hotel Munich Arabellapark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leonardo Hotel Munich Arabellapark, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.