We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Derag Livinghotel Karl Theodor

Paschstrasse 46, 80637 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Derag Livinghotel Karl Theodor
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Derag Livinghotel Karl Theodor
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    61
    20
    13
    8
See reviews for
13
42
24
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (129)
  • Mar-May only
    (19)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (38)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (36)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (36)
All months
Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Rude manager...refused to change or refund my room! The rooms were smokers room and dirty. I clearly reserved a non smoker's room. The manager said nothing could be done and that was that! We had to leave and a refund was not given! What a scam!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Derag_Livinghotels, Manager at Derag Livinghotel Karl Theodor, responded to this review

Thanks a lot for your review and we are really sorry about what happened. But we like to inform you that you accidentally wrote about another hotel. We checked all our guest files and reservations. We found nothing - neither you nor your reservation. Furthermore you never spoke face to face to the manager as I am the manager. Wherever... More 

Coimbatore, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2015

Walkable to underground station very good rooms Kitchen is available in some of the rooms Near by grocery shops Nice and calm location Very good restaurant and tasty food finally I loved it very much and it became never forgettable memory in my life as it was my first trip to Munich....

Was this review helpful? Yes
Derag_Livinghotels, Manager at Derag Livinghotel Karl Theodor, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your brilliant personnel review and your sensational comment: “Finally I loved it very much and it became never forgettable memory in my life as it was my first trip to Munich....” …the biggest compliment we can get. It’s a great pleasure for us that you felt so comfortable and we hope to see you soon... More 

Gurgaon, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

I have been staying in this hotel for quite a sometime .and was planning to stay for another few months. but the hotel services are really not that great . As we cook our own food in the kitchenette, and use microwave . The incidence is about the microwave we used , We cooked rice in microwave , which is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Derag_Livinghotels, Manager at Derag Livinghotel Karl Theodor, responded to this review

Thanks a lot for your review but we are really surprised. You are our guest in our house since February and you stay at least until the end of March. Of course we are printing for you, we make copies for you, we explained you the German medical insurance and explained you how to use the washing machine as well... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2015 via mobile

Don't let the older reviews keep you away, this place has been updated in 2015, and it is much improved. I travel regularly to munich and have always used Karl Theodor because of its proximity to key transit lines. It was getting old, and now it's refreshed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Derag_Livinghotels, Manager at Derag Livinghotel Karl Theodor, responded to this review

Thanks a lot for your great review of our hotel! We are glad that you always enjoyed your stay and that you like our new style. But this is only the beginning because we refreshed only one floor until now but further floors will follow in the near future. We hope to see you again very soon! With best wishes... More 

Paderborn, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015

Probably 20 years ago it would have been a place with style and luxury but not today. Even Ibis has better beds and no smell of food on halls. Paying over 900 euros for 5 nights of sleep in a teenager-like-bed is not a proper way to run business. The 2 stars are primarily for close location to public transportation... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
San Diego, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2014

I really want to give this hotel a good rating, because there are many convenient things about it, however, it completely failed in one of the most important aspects of a hotel, the beds. I don't consider myself a picky sleeper, however given the price we paid for this room, I really had hoped for better. My husband and I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bratislava
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2014

This hotel is located in a quiet area but easily accesible by car from the Ring, Tube station (Gern) is not that far and the walking distance to fabulous Olympiapark is simply top. Some 6 years back I used to sleep in this hotel quite regularly, now returned back. Except the changed name from Karl Theodor to Derag..... Karl Theodor... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

We had the unfortunate circumstances of having to stay at this hotel for 4 very long weeks. For a family of four to live in one of these rooms for an extended period is quite challenging and an overall bad experience. Kids had to sleep on nasty stained loveseats that folded out. Also, the hotel has not been updated since... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cowpens, South Carolina
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Great hotel in a great location. Located a few blocks from Olympia park and approximately four blocks from the Gern u-bahn station. The area is very quite and is a great escape from the busy areas of the city.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Derag_Livinghotels, Manager at Derag Livinghotel Karl Theodor, responded to this review

Thanks a lot for your great rating within your great personell review. It's a pleasure for us that you enjoyed your stay and......we would be pleased to welcome you soon again! Kind regards, your Karl Theodor-Team from Munich Sabine Schneider-Rottig General Manager More 

Moscow
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We have choosed this hotel because we have been there many times and we found the same very nice staff and comfortable room again. The hotel situated near by Gern station, not in the center. But this place is very calm and nice. Thanks a lot!

Review collected in partnership with Anywayanyday

Was this review helpful? Yes
Derag_Livinghotels, Manager at Derag Livinghotel Karl Theodor, responded to this review

Thank you for the nice review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon! With best wishes from your “dream team Karl Theodor" in Munich Sabine Schneider-Rottig General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

26 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question