We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Derag Livinghotel Karl Theodor

Paschstrasse 46, 80637 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Derag Livinghotel Karl Theodor
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Derag Livinghotel Karl Theodor
Add Photo Write a Review

146 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    29
    65
    25
    17
    10
See reviews for
14
50
24
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (146)
  • Mar-May only
    (26)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (48)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (36)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (36)
All months
London, England
Level Contributor
82 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We chose this hotel as it has secure underground parking and we were here for a visit to Buchloe for 50th year Alpina Car celebrations. There is no parking at the front of the hotel which appears to be a public right of way for cyclists and pedestrians. It is therefore essential to get the keys to your room and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

- No information about the hotel, about the services, etc. (the usual documentation in the room is missing) - After returning every day to the hotel, I couldn't connect to the WiFi (below 50%) - I can not do any business work from the hotel, I couldn't even open a browser properly. This changed only at the weekend, when many... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers are raving about these Munich hotels

Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I would give it a minus rating if I could, but that is unfortunately not possible. My partner stayed in the room for business/leisure a year and a half ago (Dec 13-Jan 14). The room had severe mould and plaster crumbling off the walls (took many photos). For a year and a half now nobody is dealing with my complaint.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Derag_Livinghotels, Manager at Derag Livinghotel Karl Theodor, responded to this review
Google Translation

Vielen Dank, dass Sie sich die Zeit genommen haben uns nach 1,5 Jahren zu bewerten. Nach einem schweren Unfall im... More 

Pune
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Yes guys, It was my home for 6 months, And I can assure you, i can give you the exact review for this place. Location: Yes its quite near to the central station of Munich 'Hauptbahnhof' by underground metro station Gern. by U1 or U7. But you can go directly to Marienplatz the most happening place in Munich by Tram... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Derag_Livinghotels, Manager at Derag Livinghotel Karl Theodor, responded to this review

Thanks a lot for your nice review of our hotel, respectively for your excellent travel report ;-). There is no need to wash and dry your clothes in the bath room because in the basement we have a special large laundry room with washing machines, dryer, laundry lines and we offer ironing boards and irons for our guests at the... More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2015

Have stayed at the Karl Theodor rougjly 7 times in the last 10 years whilst on the annual pilgrimage to Oktoberfest with 3 friends. We originally stayed here as it was in the same neighbourhood (Gern) as a friend of ours lived at the time, and we found the hotel to be one we chose to return to where availability... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Derag_Livinghotels, Manager at Derag Livinghotel Karl Theodor, responded to this review

Thanks a lot for your great review of our hotel, respectively for your excellent travel report and also for your positive experiences with us ;-)! We are glad that you always enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you again very soon! With best wishes from your Karl Theodor-Team in Munich Sabine Schneider-Rottig General Manager More 

Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2015

Rude manager...refused to change or refund my room! The rooms were smokers room and dirty. I clearly reserved a non smoker's room. The manager said nothing could be done and that was that! We had to leave and a refund was not given! What a scam!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Derag_Livinghotels, Manager at Derag Livinghotel Karl Theodor, responded to this review

Thanks a lot for your review and we are really sorry about what happened. But we like to inform you that you accidentally wrote about another hotel. We checked all our guest files and reservations. We found nothing - neither you nor your reservation. Furthermore you never spoke face to face to the manager as I am the manager. Wherever... More 

Coimbatore, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2015

Walkable to underground station very good rooms Kitchen is available in some of the rooms Near by grocery shops Nice and calm location Very good restaurant and tasty food finally I loved it very much and it became never forgettable memory in my life as it was my first trip to Munich....

Was this review helpful? Yes
Derag_Livinghotels, Manager at Derag Livinghotel Karl Theodor, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your brilliant personnel review and your sensational comment: “Finally I loved it very much and it became never forgettable memory in my life as it was my first trip to Munich....” …the biggest compliment we can get. It’s a great pleasure for us that you felt so comfortable and we hope to see you soon... More 

Gurgaon, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

I have been staying in this hotel for quite a sometime .and was planning to stay for another few months. but the hotel services are really not that great . As we cook our own food in the kitchenette, and use microwave . The incidence is about the microwave we used , We cooked rice in microwave , which is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Derag_Livinghotels, Manager at Derag Livinghotel Karl Theodor, responded to this review

Thanks a lot for your review but we are really surprised. You are our guest in our house since February and you stay at least until the end of March. Of course we are printing for you, we make copies for you, we explained you the German medical insurance and explained you how to use the washing machine as well... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2015 via mobile

Don't let the older reviews keep you away, this place has been updated in 2015, and it is much improved. I travel regularly to munich and have always used Karl Theodor because of its proximity to key transit lines. It was getting old, and now it's refreshed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Derag_Livinghotels, Manager at Derag Livinghotel Karl Theodor, responded to this review

Thanks a lot for your great review of our hotel! We are glad that you always enjoyed your stay and that you like our new style. But this is only the beginning because we refreshed only one floor until now but further floors will follow in the near future. We hope to see you again very soon! With best wishes... More 

Paderborn, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015

Probably 20 years ago it would have been a place with style and luxury but not today. Even Ibis has better beds and no smell of food on halls. Paying over 900 euros for 5 nights of sleep in a teenager-like-bed is not a proper way to run business. The 2 stars are primarily for close location to public transportation... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

48 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (38)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay