We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Leonardo Royal Hotel Mannheim

Augustaanlage 4-8 | 68165 Mannheim, 68165 Mannheim, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany (Formerly Steigenberger Mannheimer Hof)
Hotel amenities
Leonardo Royal Hotel Mannheim
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ranked #11 of 44 Hotels in Mannheim
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015
HRP82 Paris, France
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    95
    59
    21
    14
See reviews for
18
41
23
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (229)
  • Mar-May only
    (57)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (55)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (62)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (55)
All months
Copenhagen Region, Denmark
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Upon arrival they charged my card 100 Euro deposit, even though i already prepaid the entire stay. It took 2 days after checkout before the money was back on my account, and the hotel did not respond to my enquiry about this from their website. The room was not properly cleaned. Right when i walked in i could see the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paris, France
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

I have had a very good stay at this hotel for 3 nights. It has the vintage look and feel. My room was one of the biggest I've ever stayed in a hotel. The breakfast was standard. At the dinner table, I was surprised not to find a single soul! I dined alone, but was served the best lamb I've... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thilo E, Manager at Leonardo Royal Hotel Mannheim, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you very much for your recent stay at the Leonardo Royal Hotel in Mannheim and your review on tripadvisor.com. We are pleased about your good feedback and seeing forward to welcome you again in one of our hotels. Best regards Leonardo Royal Hotel Mannheim More 

São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
14 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2015 via mobile

The hotel was renewed and its very beaultiful, but infrestructure is weak: very poor Wi-Fi specially in the first floor. The gym sometimes has no water, no wi-fi, two equipments were broken- eliptycal and the unique treadmill!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Thilo E, Manager at Leonardo Royal Hotel Mannheim, responded to this review

Dear Lilian, thank you for your stay at the Leonardo Royal Hotel in Mannheim. Sincere thanks also for your feedback at tripadvisor.com. We surely adopt your constructive critic. We hope to see you again in the Leonardo Royal Hotel Mannheim. Best regards Leonardo Royal Hotel Mannheim More 

Katowice, Poland
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
54 hotel reviews
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2015

Great, central location, reasonable price (105 EUR), efficient and courteous service, very clean and adequately sized room, best Wi-Fi service. I would only consider the breakfast as only adequate/average. Probably the best choice in Mannheim.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Maurizio A, Leiter Front Office at Leonardo Royal Hotel Mannheim, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you very much for your great feedback. We are pleased that you have felt well and we are looking forward to welcome you on your next stay in Mannheim. More 

Shanghai, China
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2014

The Leonardo Royal, together with the Maritim Parkhotel and the Dorint, is one of the leading hotels in Mannheim, all of which are within walking distance of the city center and the railway station. Until last September this hotel was the Steigenberger Mannheimer Hof, with a reputation of more than 60 years. When you enter it, you are in a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Maurizio A, Leiter Front Office at Leonardo Royal Hotel Mannheim, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your good review and the praise about our rooms, restaurant and the good breakfast. We are very pleased that we could offer you a pleasant stay at the Leonardo Royal Mannheim and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you soon in our new designed hotel again. More 

Ingolstadt
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2014

Central and convenient location right next to Wasserturm and close to inner city. The rooms are large and clean. My room was right next to the elevator which was a bit of a bummer as there was constant noise whenever it was moving. Breakfast is really good. Stuff is friendly, but everything concerning the reservation is strangely complicated. In my... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Maurizio A, Leiter Front Office at Leonardo Royal Hotel Mannheim, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you very much for your feedback and the praise about our staff, location and breakfast. We are pleased that you have felt well and we are looking forward to welcome you again on your next stay in Mannheim. More 

Beersel, Belgium
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

central location but room was on street side and badly isolated from the noice. I had a communicating room (door to another room) and the isolation was terrible, the person next to my room was coughing all night and everything could be heard. good wifi in the room and free.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Maurizio A, Leiter Front Office at Leonardo Royal Hotel Mannheim, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We want to apologize to you that you have gained such an impression on our rooms. If your room wasn't that comfortable for you, please feel free to ask for a renovated superior or deluxe room, which are facing to the courtyard, on your next stay. We hope there'll be another chance to host you again. More 

Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2014

Good hotel. Period. Breakfast is great! It offers a good variety, including Champagne. The location is the hottest point of this hotel! The access to the garage is terrible when you have luggage to carry. You need to "climb" several steps with your luggage to reach the parking area! In my opinion, I would rate this hotel as 6.9, between... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Maurizio A, Leiter Front Office at Leonardo Royal Hotel Mannheim, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Leonardo Royal Hotel Mannheim. I am pleased that you enjoyed the central location of the hotel. I will pass on your feedback to my team and we look forward to welcoming you back to Leonardo Royal Mannheim again soon More 

Paarl
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
31 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014

I had visited this hotel during a business trip. Upon arrival and after I had requested a slightly earlier check in time via e-mail before my arrival and having received an e-mail to say I would be assisted upon arrival I arrived at the hotel after almost 24 hours of travelling to be "politely" informed check in as at 2pm,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Maurizio A, Leiter Front Office at Leonardo Royal Hotel Mannheim, responded to this review

Dear Guest, firstly, allow me to say that I am so sorry that you had a negative experience when staying with us I have spoken with my reception team and housekeeping that this kind of inconvenience does not occur again. Thank you for your review we hope to have a chance to serve you better in the future. Kind regards More 

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
35 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2014 via mobile

The reception staff and ambience is very good but the rooms are average and more towards poor, no courtesy for luggage movement to parking or back. The GYM is horrible it has a broken treadmill ( ancient machine) a broken cross trainer and only one new cycle.... It's not good at all.... The location is very central but the hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Maurizio A, Leiter Front Office at Leonardo Royal Hotel Mannheim, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am very sorry to hear that you did not like our GYM. I have passed on your comments regarding the treadmill and the cross trainer to our maintenance team. I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you soon in our hotel again. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

90 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (61)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (4)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question