We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Villa Florentine

#14 of 190 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
25 Montee Saint-Barthelemy, 69005 Lyon, France
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Florentine
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Villa Florentine
Add Photo

409 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    274
    90
    20
    16
    9
See reviews for
41
249
9
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (409)
  • Mar-May only
    (129)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (118)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (98)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (64)
All months
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We had an evening in this beautiful hotel, which a fabulous panoramic view over Lyon. Although the restaurant is supposed to be very good, we were not impressed by the food. The veal in particular was over cooked.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We returned to Lyon for a weekend after moving away 10 years ago. The staff is still very nice and accommodating. My room was not ready when I arrived (11am, I didn't expect it to be ready), so I was offered a drink/coffee, and told it would be ready soon. I relaxed in the lobby as I was told the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Relations C, Directeur général at Villa Florentine, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for our confidence, your loyalty and for having taken the time to express your satisfaction about our Villa Florentine and it's team We all hope that we will have the chance to welcome you back very soon. Best Regards Gilles Cotillard - Maitre de Maison More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Gorgeous hotel, amazing view of the city. My sister and I stayed here for one night but wished we had longer to take in more of the sights. The Hotel is so pretty, a converted 17th Century Convent. Our room was amazing, huge bed and very clean. There wasn't a hook for the shower so had to take a bath... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Relations C, Directeur général at Villa Florentine, responded to this review

Dear Guests Thank you so much for having chosen La Villa Florentine for your stay in Lyon and for taking the time to post such an enthusiastic review ! I am truly happy that you enjoyed the comfort of our Hotel as well as the commitment of our team. We all look forward to welcoming you back soon. Gilles Cotillard... More 

Lyon, France
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

In a world of ordinary hotels, and trust me- I am a professional traveller, Villa Florentine really is something out of the ordinary. The hotel is in the style, and taste, of a Palazzo in Florence. The hotel is situated high over Lyon, with a magnificent view facing east over the city. The decor is elegant rather than flashy. As... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Relations C, Directeur général at Villa Florentine, responded to this review

Dear Ulrik Thank you very much for so kind comment about your stay at La Villa Florentine. We would be happy to welcome you again when back in Lyon. Best Regards Gilles Cotillard - GM More 

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2015

This is the third "Relais et Chateaux" for my wife and I this week. We started with outstanding experiences at Domaine de Verchant and Crillon-Le-Brave. This was to be the grand finale in my childhood hometown of Lyon. Villa Florentine however does not live up to the hype. The classic look and good location cannot compensate for the outdated bathrooms... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Relations C, Directeur général at Villa Florentine, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. However I am disappointed to hear that you did not have the satisfaction we usually provide to our guests. Please accept my sincere apologies. In order to constantly improve the quality of our services, we pay special attention to your comments and suggestions so we are happy to inform you we started to... More 

Latham, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2015

We were on a walking tour of Lyon, while on a Viking Riverboat Cruise, and got separated from our group due to a misunderstanding on our part as to what time we were to return to the bus. The bus departed without us and we were "stranded" at the Basilica of Notre Dame. We started walking down a very steep... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Relations C, Directeur général at Villa Florentine, responded to this review

Dear Sir Thank you for your feedback. We are always happy to make sure that our actual and future guests feel comfortable in our beautiful city of Lyon. We hope you had a splendid cruise and we are looking forward to welcoming you to our Villa Florentine whenever you return. Best Regards Gilles Cotillard - General Manager More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
14 hotel reviews
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015

What a fabulous gem of a hotel. We managed to park for free on the road a little further up the steepish hill from the hotel with no issues. I can agree with earlier reviewers that wondered where on earth they were going, but put your trust in the Sat Nav and all will be well. The hotel lobby is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Relations C, Directeur général at Villa Florentine, responded to this review

Dear Vicky I would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience in our Villa Florentine. It is our philosophy to ensure that we provide our guests with the highest standards of service at all times. I am delighted to know that you enjoyed your visit and I share your feedback with all my team.... More 

Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

Lovely place with lots of history. Anne Christensen was very helpful and knowledgable re history of the old convent turned hotel. Very handy to the old area (lots of stairs to get back to hotel). Restaurant was beautifully decorated and the food a real experience. Only negative is the price of pre dinner drinks - double the price one would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Relations C, Directeur général at Villa Florentine, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for your kind and positive comment on our property. It comforts us in our everyday quest for excellence in service at Villa Florentine. We look forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon. Kindest regards Gilles Cotillard - General Manager More 

london
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2015

We stayed in this hotel for two nights . When we arrive they offer a welcome drink which we declined .... They were annoyed about this and reminded us that if we had had the welcome drink then we would have the I formation in the hotel that we now asked for !!! The my friend asked if there were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Relations C, Directeur général at Villa Florentine, responded to this review

Dear Guest It is with great regret that we discover your disappointment with the deluxe room overlooking the swimming pool you occupied. Had we known you needed an extra socket to charge your applicant and that your were uncomfortable, we would have immediately proposed a multi plug and taken off the special mattress. Effectively, our beds are all fitted with... More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2014

We had never been to Lyon before which seems, now, like an incredible oversight. What a beautiful city, made all the more enjoyable by staying in this hotel. As we drove up the hilll towards Villa Florentine, we did wonder exactly where we were going but, from the moment someone came to park our car and take our bags, we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Relations C, Directeur général at Villa Florentine, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for having posted your so nice comments on our property. Your satisfaction is all we need to try even harder to welcoming our guest the bestway we can. We also inform you that we are actually refurbishing some of our rooms for a even better future experience. The whole Villa's team will be delighted to welcoming... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

138 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (104)
Viewed
Room/suite (24)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (21)
Viewed
View from room (12)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay