We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN Saphir Lyon

18 rue Louis Loucheur, 69009, Lyon, France
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Saphir Lyon
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

284 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2015

Modern new rooms. Very good in every respect. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful and spoke excellent English. The location does not appear to be close to good eating places or right in the historic centre. The trade off however is that it is very close to the train station. The service there is excellent and one can easliy... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rob W
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2015 via mobile

As most of the Best Western this hotel needs a complete makeover. They have started to repaint on some places. Curtains were so dirty in my room. The bed was good. Checking out in the morning took 26 minutes, the receptionnist was alone and not well trained.

Helpful?
Thank amsterdam317
BWSAPHIR, Responsable relations clients at BEST WESTERN Saphir Lyon, responded to this review

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.... More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2015

Great reception staff. Helpful, kind and English speaking. Nothing was too much trouble. Modern well equipped bathroom and bedroom. Effective air conditioning. Brilliant shower. Pleasant buffet breakfast. We liked the location, out of town but very close to Metro station for getting onto the transport system. Felt perfectly safe walking to and from station at night.

Helpful?
Thank Marlene B
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2015 via mobile

Just checked in and can't really complain. The reception area is nice and modern, with a little play area for kids, a bar, tourist info and (obviously) the reception desk. The receptionist was really nice and friendly, even had a little banter with her about stereotypes and other guests. Free wifi and loads of space, not to mention the really... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mramji
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2015

Friendly and helpful staff, good breakfast. In a residential area away from the centre. Quiet rooms even at the front. Recently refurbished and very clean. Room was a little too warm but comfortable. Good for a business trip.

Helpful?
Thank Graeme T
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2015 via mobile

Unfortunately i had to spend a night there for a school trip...not only some of my friends found hair and WORMS (I promise it's true) but they also wouldn't let us eat the regular breakfast like the other guests. The staff is unkind and the place is dirty. Three words WORST HOTEL EVER!!!!

Helpful?
Thank AleC2810
BWSAPHIR, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN Saphir Lyon, responded to this review

Dear Sir, I read with interest your comment that caught my attention. Indeed, we have planned to fully renovated hotel in two years and today it remains 10 rooms that are not dirty but old. We have already renovated our rooms two times: carpet, paint, furniture etc. Current work includes new bathrooms and more modern rooms. Products that you had... More 

Level Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015 via mobile

We booked this hotel as a 'secret location', and so had a very good rate. Arriving by public transport is a little discovering because the area around the metro station is run down and looks dodgy, but reading up suggests the neighbourhood us not dangerous and indeed the other side of the hotel it seems quite nice. We used one... More 

Helpful?
Thank Teagra
Japan
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2015

Shabby old Hotel that will need more than just a new painting job to merit more than a passing glance. Unfortunately hotels in Lyon take advantage of the world famous SIRHA trade show by raking prices up high regardless of their services. The Best Western Saphir is no exception. The only redeeming points were the friendly and helpful front desk... More 

Helpful?
Thank ErwinOrtiz
Europe
Level Contributor
83 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2015

Unfortunately there was a trade show in Lyon and the choice of hotels pretty limited. I chose this hotel as I wanted to keep the damage for my company as limited as possible, still paid 225€ per night. It is definitely not worth this price of the 4 stars. The hotel lobby is really old-ish and dated, I had to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Pistache1141
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

71 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (40)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (31)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay