We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN Saphir Lyon

Hotel website
Hotel deals
18 rue Louis Loucheur, 69009 Lyon, France
Special Offer
Up To -30% Off Room Rate
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Saphir Lyon
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

263 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    41
    113
    70
    27
    12
See reviews for
33
88
29
77
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (263)
  • Mar-May only
    (60)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (89)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (62)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (52)
All months
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great reception staff. Helpful, kind and English speaking. Nothing was too much trouble. Modern well equipped bathroom and bedroom. Effective air conditioning. Brilliant shower. Pleasant buffet breakfast. We liked the location, out of town but very close to Metro station for getting onto the transport system. Felt perfectly safe walking to and from station at night.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just checked in and can't really complain. The reception area is nice and modern, with a little play area for kids, a bar, tourist info and (obviously) the reception desk. The receptionist was really nice and friendly, even had a little banter with her about stereotypes and other guests. Free wifi and loads of space, not to mention the really... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2015

Friendly and helpful staff, good breakfast. In a residential area away from the centre. Quiet rooms even at the front. Recently refurbished and very clean. Room was a little too warm but comfortable. Good for a business trip.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2015 via mobile

Unfortunately i had to spend a night there for a school trip...not only some of my friends found hair and WORMS (I promise it's true) but they also wouldn't let us eat the regular breakfast like the other guests. The staff is unkind and the place is dirty. Three words WORST HOTEL EVER!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
BWSAPHIR, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN Saphir Lyon, responded to this review

Dear Sir, I read with interest your comment that caught my attention. Indeed, we have planned to fully renovated hotel in two years and today it remains 10 rooms that are not dirty but old. We have already renovated our rooms two times: carpet, paint, furniture etc. Current work includes new bathrooms and more modern rooms. Products that you had... More 

Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015 via mobile

We booked this hotel as a 'secret location', and so had a very good rate. Arriving by public transport is a little discovering because the area around the metro station is run down and looks dodgy, but reading up suggests the neighbourhood us not dangerous and indeed the other side of the hotel it seems quite nice. We used one... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Japan
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2015

Shabby old Hotel that will need more than just a new painting job to merit more than a passing glance. Unfortunately hotels in Lyon take advantage of the world famous SIRHA trade show by raking prices up high regardless of their services. The Best Western Saphir is no exception. The only redeeming points were the friendly and helpful front desk... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Europe
Level Contributor
77 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2015

Unfortunately there was a trade show in Lyon and the choice of hotels pretty limited. I chose this hotel as I wanted to keep the damage for my company as limited as possible, still paid 225€ per night. It is definitely not worth this price of the 4 stars. The hotel lobby is really old-ish and dated, I had to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Estonia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2014

The hotel is being renovated - I had to pay extra 15€ per night for an upgrade to renovated room - so it was ok, although the quality of renovation is quite average, the walls are simply painted white, but all the furniture is new, and so is the bathroom. Old rooms are just depressing - shabby and with terrible... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2014

This hotel was used as business hotel for one night, and for that it was just ok, but nothing more. First of all, the size and the interior of the room was ok, but nothing extraordinary. The bed was good and cosy, WiFi was available and for free. The room itself had some smell which was not convenient when you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

55 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (31)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyon
Holiday Inn Lyon-Vaise
#1 of 5 in Tassin-la-Demi-Lune
4.0 of 5 stars 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perrache - Charlemagne
BEST WESTERN Hotel Charlemagne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay