We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN Saphir Lyon

Hotel website
Hotel deals
18 rue Louis Loucheur, 69009 Lyon, France
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Saphir Lyon
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
BEST WESTERN Saphir Lyon
Add Photo Write a Review

258 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    41
    109
    70
    26
    12
See reviews for
33
85
28
77
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (258)
  • Mar-May only
    (60)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (84)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (62)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (52)
All months
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Friendly and helpful staff, good breakfast. In a residential area away from the centre. Quiet rooms even at the front. Recently refurbished and very clean. Room was a little too warm but comfortable. Good for a business trip.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2015 via mobile

Unfortunately i had to spend a night there for a school trip...not only some of my friends found hair and WORMS (I promise it's true) but they also wouldn't let us eat the regular breakfast like the other guests. The staff is unkind and the place is dirty. Three words WORST HOTEL EVER!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
BWSAPHIR, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN Saphir Lyon, responded to this review

Dear Sir, I read with interest your comment that caught my attention. Indeed, we have planned to fully renovated hotel in two years and today it remains 10 rooms that are not dirty but old. We have already renovated our rooms two times: carpet, paint, furniture etc. Current work includes new bathrooms and more modern rooms. Products that you had... More 

Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015 via mobile

We booked this hotel as a 'secret location', and so had a very good rate. Arriving by public transport is a little discovering because the area around the metro station is run down and looks dodgy, but reading up suggests the neighbourhood us not dangerous and indeed the other side of the hotel it seems quite nice. We used one... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Japan
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2015

Shabby old Hotel that will need more than just a new painting job to merit more than a passing glance. Unfortunately hotels in Lyon take advantage of the world famous SIRHA trade show by raking prices up high regardless of their services. The Best Western Saphir is no exception. The only redeeming points were the friendly and helpful front desk... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Europe
Level Contributor
77 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2015

Unfortunately there was a trade show in Lyon and the choice of hotels pretty limited. I chose this hotel as I wanted to keep the damage for my company as limited as possible, still paid 225€ per night. It is definitely not worth this price of the 4 stars. The hotel lobby is really old-ish and dated, I had to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Estonia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2014

The hotel is being renovated - I had to pay extra 15€ per night for an upgrade to renovated room - so it was ok, although the quality of renovation is quite average, the walls are simply painted white, but all the furniture is new, and so is the bathroom. Old rooms are just depressing - shabby and with terrible... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2014

This hotel was used as business hotel for one night, and for that it was just ok, but nothing more. First of all, the size and the interior of the room was ok, but nothing extraordinary. The bed was good and cosy, WiFi was available and for free. The room itself had some smell which was not convenient when you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marseille, France
Level Contributor
131 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

Stayed 2 nights for a weekend in Lyon. The hotel is very central with just1 metro stop to the Old Town and 2 stops to the main square "Bellecour". Arrived late in the evening, the receptionnist was very welcoming and the rooms refurbished with everything you need. Nice comfy bed. The breakfast was a little dissapointing with the waitresses not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BWSAPHIR, Responsable relations clients at BEST WESTERN Saphir Lyon, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you very much for sharing your impressions of your stay. I am delighted that you have lived a good time with us. All our teams work daily to offer you special moments ; your satisfaction is our greatest reward ! Looking forward to welcome you again very soon , Sincerely , Marie CHANIN ROOMS DIVISION MANAGER BEST... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

We chose this hotel as it offered parking and was just on the outskirts of the city but was within walking distance to the metro. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room was a good size as was the bathroom, the bed was also very comfortable. We arrived around 6 pm on a Sunday night and the place... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BWSAPHIR, Responsable relations clients at BEST WESTERN Saphir Lyon, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for responding to our survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Your presence is very important, and your comments are just as important . By sharing what you enjoyed during your stay, and showing us how we can improve , you help us provide a better experience to you as the other guests in the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

53 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyon
Perrache - Charlemagne
BEST WESTERN Hotel Charlemagne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Lyon-Vaise
#1 of 4 in Tassin-la-Demi-Lune
4.0 of 5 stars 101 reviews
Cordeliers - Jacobins
BEST WESTERN Lyon St Antoine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay