We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Les Grands Montets

#21 of 76 Hotels in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence
340 chemin des Arberons | Argentière, 74400 Chamonix, France
Hotel amenities
Hotel Les Grands Montets
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ranked #21 of 76 Hotels in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Musa M Bucharest, Romania
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    62
    15
    3
    1
See reviews for
54
88
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (192)
  • Mar-May only
    (52)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (71)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (18)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (51)
All months
Bucharest, Romania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have stayed at this hotel from 3 April to 10 April 2015 - Esprit Mountain room 205. About hotel: - Very good position if you are a good skier for Grand Montets Ski area; - Nice and friendly reception staff; - WiFi average in the room; - room medium in size but acceptable; - clean and rustic style room;... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Watford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

We have stayed at this hotel on a few occasions over the last 10 years and have always been happy with the rooms and service however on this trip the shower head would not stay in its holder and the extractor fan was broken. Both not a big deal but it was annoying that when these matters were raised at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HGMontets, Responsable réception at Hotel Les Grands Montets, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion. We are very sorry to see that you were not satisfied with the service following your request at the desk. As soon as we heard about the issue, we went in the room to check it and we ordered the pieces needed right away, but unfortunately it arrived after your... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2015

Friendly staff for whom nothing is too much trouble. A 2 minute walk to the nearest bar, ski shop and Grand Montets ski lifts (ie Argentiere). At Euro135 per night including a decent breakfast it offers much better value than many of its counterparts in Chamonix (7km away) while still being super close to both Les Grand Montets and La... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HGMontets, Responsable réception at Hotel Les Grands Montets, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write a review! We are glad to see that you appreciated our service, as we do our best to satisfy our guests. Our location, very close the ski lifts, is indeed very convenient for skiers like yourself! Our Classic rooms are indeed not renovated yet, but our Mountain Spirit rooms are decorated in a... More 

Esbo, Finland
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
68 hotel reviews
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015

We got one of the old rooms overlooking the parking lot, on the lowest floor. The ski boot heater didn't work the first night so we had to ski with wet boots. However, the service was beautiful. The front reserved a restaurants for us and were worried about the time, which shows they truly care about our experience. The spa... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HGMontets, Responsable réception at Hotel Les Grands Montets, responded to this review

First, we would like to thank you for sharing your opinion on our hotel. We are very sorry to read that the boot heater in our ski room did not work the first night. It is nice to see that you have examples of how our guest’s experience is important to us. We truly care about each guest, and try... More 

Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2015

Lovely old hotel, lots of character and placed right in the middle of the town. Rooms of the front of the hotel are very very noisy, especially in-between 2 and 6am. We stayed in room 508 so top floor on the front of the hotel and it was really bad, our friends room was 208 and theirs was worse. Staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HGMontets, Responsable réception at Hotel Les Grands Montets, responded to this review

Dear Dean, considering that we do not have a room 508 (we have only three floors) and that we are not in the center of Argentière (we are situated next to the Grands Montets cablecar, 10 minutes away from Argentière) , we are wondering if maybe you were talking about another hotel? We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming... More 

Paris, Ile-de-France, France
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2015

Just situated at 5mn from the Grands Montets cable car, this hotel has a lovely lobby, a lovely breakfast area, a cosy fireplace where you can have a tea or a special appéritif, a very nice swimming pool with an amazing open air jacuzzi, but very desappointing rooms. I f you have chance you can be hosted in a charming... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HGMontets, Responsable réception at Hotel Les Grands Montets, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your input on our hotel, even so long after your reservation ! We are pleased to see that you enjoyed the general atmosphere of the hotel, as well as the commons area. Our Classics rooms are indeed facing the Glacier of Argentière, and they were not renovated yet, whereas our Mountain Spirit... More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

Beautiful place to stay. Very cosy. Rooms very nice with great view. Nice swimming pool with outdoor jacuzzi ( water should be a bit warmer ). Breakfast continental only, but more than enough. Very tasty and it was our favourite part of a day :-). All staff very helpful - especially little girl at the reception and young gentlemen at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HGMontets, Responsable réception at Hotel Les Grands Montets, responded to this review

We would like to thank you for taking the time to give us a feedback. We are very pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you again at Les Grands Montets ! More 

Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2015

I had a nice stay with my son. Good location, effective service. Ok, no restaurant at evening so you need to walk to the village center ((15min walk). Not a disaster, but especially if you come with kids, it's not that convenient. Why such a poor note? Due to the last day.: We especially came a little earlier from ski... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
HGMontets, Responsable réception at Hotel Les Grands Montets, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion on your stay at Les Grands Montets. We are very sorry you left with a bitter note. Concerning the access to the spa, we effectively cannot allow clients who check out to go in, to keep the space to our arriving clients. We cannot make exception even if the spa... More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2015

My wife organised a surprise 3 day ski trip for my birthday and we stayed at the Grand Montets. Positives first: It has an excellent location being the nearest to the lift of the same name and opposite the bus station for ski bus transfers to other parts of chamonix. It has a comfortable bar and well appointed spa. Negatives:... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HGMontets, Responsable réception at Hotel Les Grands Montets, responded to this review

Firstly,we would like to thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback on your stay and we are very sorry that it disappointed you. You choose a Classic room, the first category; for two persons, we also have Mountain Spirit rooms, recently renovated and the Mont Blanc Suites, of 60 m2 : maybe this would have been... More 

Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2015

Ok so it was Christmas Eve and so everywhere looks special but as my 10 year old opened the heavy wooden door to the reception he stood still staring at the old wooden sleigh covered in presents . The photos on the site don't disappoint as this is a really nice hotel with an relaxed feel the facilities were fab... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HGMontets, Responsable réception at Hotel Les Grands Montets, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to share your input on our hotel ! We are happy you enjoyed the Christmas atmosphere. We did our best to make it cozy and relaxing ! We hope that we will see you again very soon at Les Grands Montets ! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

55 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (54)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question