We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Chalet les Frenes

637 Route de Vers le Nant, 74400 Chamonix, France
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chalet les Frenes
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Chalet les Frenes
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    6
    8
    1
    4
See reviews for
5
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (32)
  • Mar-May only
    (17)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (7)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (4)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (4)
All months
Citrus Heights, California
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
31 hotel reviews
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This chalet is a short distance away from Chamonix, so you either need to drive or take a bus. There is bus service not too far away. The host/owner, Phil, is a really nice British fellow, and a good host. We shared a bath, which was no problem. Our breakfast selection was good, as were Phil's restaurant recommendations. The bed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Chalet Les Frenes is the perfect place to stay in Chamonix on a budget. We had an amazing very cozy room with doors leading out onto a balcony with fantastic views the mountains. The chalet is a little out of the centre of town meaning it's much quieter and peaceful than other options. The host, Phil, is remarkably friendly and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

This Chalet is amazing. What a wonderful place to stay. Phil and Michelle are lovely people. Very kind and very helpful. Theres a fantastic bus service to and from Chamonix and a fantastic train service to Les Bossons which is a short walk away. And if you decide to party and miss all forms of transport its a lovely walk.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Just had 5 nights at the Chalet in a twin room with a friend. We booked last minute and were a little concerned by some of the comments made on this site. I am pleased to say that everything was better than we had expected. Phil should rename the chalet " Ronseal" because it does exactly what it says on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

First off I would like to say thank you to Phil and Michelle for the wonderful hospitality they showed us on our stay. They made us fell welcome in their home, were helpful from the first to the last day. I received a welcome text from Phil with details of how to get in if he wasn't about when we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gomersal, null, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Just returned from a weeks break at chalet Les Frenes with my 3 daughters. The accommodation was ideal, clean, warm and comfortable and more than catered for all our needs. The chalet is located in the lovely peaceful surroundings of les Bossons, yet only a couple of miles ( 10 minutes bus ride) from the center of the busy town... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

I've just returned from staying at Chalet Les Frenes with a few friends and had a great time. Phil and Michelle are excellent hosts. They always insured we were comfortable and well fed for breakfast. Croissants were amazing by the way! Accommodation is basic (as you would expect for the price) but very clean and comfortable. Toilets and and showers... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bellingham, Washington
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Clean, simple, functional. Great peaceful location away from the buzz of Chamonix, with a lovely lawn and deck with unobstructed view onto Mont Blanc. Very low-key, similar to a very small hostel and great for those with commensurate modest expectations. Don't miss the best fondue in the valley, eaten on the deck of the restaurant just around the corner.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

As soon as you enter in the so called 'chalet' the smell of dirty sox will welcome you. We arrived late afternoon and have been told that our name will be on a board saying which room is ours but we couldn't see our names and as nobody was around we had to guess!! The waiting room was so dirty... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
philhennem, Owner at Chalet les Frenes, responded to this review

This pathetic little weasel told us a pack of lies to get out of his contract. Told us his Mum (who he was traveling with) was very ill and had to get to hospital. Because of this, I let him off paying for the other night he had booked for (which I could have demanded as he agreed to it... More

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Very straight the owner, very limited the breakfast 2x croissants per person and the breakfast it is served at 8.30 am which is very late because the bus to chamonix is at 9.35 it means you start doing ski or snowboard at 10:30. You can't use the living room the reason I dont know why the pictures in the website.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
philhennem, Owner at Chalet les Frenes, responded to this review

In answer to your comments. You could have taken breakfast earlier. All you needed to do was ask. Others who were staying at the same time as you had breakfast earlier. It is clear when you book that the lounge/dining area is where the owners live. You were also sent a mail with links to our site which make this... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Chalet les Frenes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet les Frenes

Address: 637 Route de Vers le Nant, 74400 Chamonix, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Chalet les Frenes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

14 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay