We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 26 Chamonix B&Bs / inns

Chalet les Frenes

637 Route de Vers le Nant, 74400 Chamonix, France
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Chalet les Frenes to your Saves list
Chalet les Frenes
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Booking.com Hotels.com
and 7 more sites!
64%
Ranked #14 of 26 Chamonix B&B and Inns
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014
judi m Bristol, United Kingdom
Write a Review

28 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    5
    6
    1
    4
See reviews for
3
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

This Chalet is amazing. What a wonderful place to stay. Phil and Michelle are lovely people. Very kind and very helpful. Theres a fantastic bus service to and from Chamonix and a fantastic train service to Les Bossons which is a short walk away. And if you decide to party and miss all forms of transport its a lovely walk.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Just had 5 nights at the Chalet in a twin room with a friend. We booked last minute and were a little concerned by some of the comments made on this site. I am pleased to say that everything was better than we had expected. Phil should rename the chalet " Ronseal" because it does exactly what it says on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

First off I would like to say thank you to Phil and Michelle for the wonderful hospitality they showed us on our stay. They made us fell welcome in their home, were helpful from the first to the last day. I received a welcome text from Phil with details of how to get in if he wasn't about when we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gomersal, null, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Just returned from a weeks break at chalet Les Frenes with my 3 daughters. The accommodation was ideal, clean, warm and comfortable and more than catered for all our needs. The chalet is located in the lovely peaceful surroundings of les Bossons, yet only a couple of miles ( 10 minutes bus ride) from the center of the busy town... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

I've just returned from staying at Chalet Les Frenes with a few friends and had a great time. Phil and Michelle are excellent hosts. They always insured we were comfortable and well fed for breakfast. Croissants were amazing by the way! Accommodation is basic (as you would expect for the price) but very clean and comfortable. Toilets and and showers... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bellingham, Washington
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Clean, simple, functional. Great peaceful location away from the buzz of Chamonix, with a lovely lawn and deck with unobstructed view onto Mont Blanc. Very low-key, similar to a very small hostel and great for those with commensurate modest expectations. Don't miss the best fondue in the valley, eaten on the deck of the restaurant just around the corner.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

As soon as you enter in the so called 'chalet' the smell of dirty sox will welcome you. We arrived late afternoon and have been told that our name will be on a board saying which room is ours but we couldn't see our names and as nobody was around we had to guess!! The waiting room was so dirty... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
philhennem, Owner at Chalet les Frenes, responded to this review

This pathetic little weasel told us a pack of lies to get out of his contract. Told us his Mum (who he was traveling with) was very ill and had to get to hospital. Because of this, I let him off paying for the other night he had booked for (which I could have demanded as he agreed to it... More

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Very straight the owner, very limited the breakfast 2x croissants per person and the breakfast it is served at 8.30 am which is very late because the bus to chamonix is at 9.35 it means you start doing ski or snowboard at 10:30. You can't use the living room the reason I dont know why the pictures in the website.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
philhennem, Owner at Chalet les Frenes, responded to this review

In answer to your comments. You could have taken breakfast earlier. All you needed to do was ask. Others who were staying at the same time as you had breakfast earlier. It is clear when you book that the lounge/dining area is where the owners live. You were also sent a mail with links to our site which make this... More

york, uk
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

Based on previous reviews we were expecting a lot more from Chalet les Frenes. We tend to book accommodation where we know that the owners will be welcoming, helpful and full of local information, but unfortunately the owners were away for the period of our stay and the lady who was looking after the chalet (although very nice) lacked knowledge... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Broadstairs
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

On arrival at the chalet the owner was so helpful, showing us around the chalet and helping us settle in. He gave us advice on where to ski that day, and told us how to get there. The room was great for three of us, and we helped ourselves to tea and coffee, which was nice. The owner was great... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Been to Chalet les Frenes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet les Frenes

Address: 637 Route de Vers le Nant, 74400 Chamonix, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Chamonix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free breakfast, bike hire and jacuzzi. A typical alpine chalet offering an economic alternative to costly hotels and catered chalets. The chalet is set in the corner of an alpine meadow and looks up at the mont blanc massif and it's glaciers. There are 5 bedrooms, 3 bathrooms, a terrace and huge garden for you to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Venere so you can book your Chalet les Frenes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chalet les Frenes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.