We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

New Hotel Saint Charles

4, Allees Leon Gambetta, 13001 Marseille, France
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
New Hotel Saint Charles
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
New Hotel Saint Charles
Add Photo Write a Review

340 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    20
    100
    84
    64
    72
See reviews for
25
138
46
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (340)
  • Mar-May only
    (95)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (112)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (78)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (55)
All months
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

No air con in first room. Second room had no light, toilet paper and Internet was working only for few minutes on one out of 4 devices. In the morning there was no cold water. Staff was not helping apart from pulling a toilet roll from behind the reception.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steven_Bak, Director at New Hotel Saint Charles, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment. We apologise for problem you encountered during your stay. We hope to see you soon in better conditions. Kind regards. More 

Clinton Township, Michigan
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

My first mistake was trying to drive in Marseille. Terrible traffic, horns honking, and a rental car that was burning oil. By time we found the Quick Park , just a block away, and carried our bags to the hotel, I was distraught. None of this has anything to do with the hotel, except with the way the friendly desk... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steven_Bak, Director at New Hotel Saint Charles, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment. We hope to see you for your next trip in Marseille. Best regards. More 

Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015

The neighborhood is poor and not very attractive, The staff is friendly, the room was poor with issues with the bath (no water evacuation due to a broken piece). The breakfast was fine but no staff to clean the tables nor to assist with anything.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steven_Bak, Director at New Hotel Saint Charles, responded to this review

Dear Cocoflos, we thank you for your comment. We apologise for problems you encountered during your stay. Moreover, the neighborhood is not very attractive but the Old Port is very close to the hotel with a large choice of restaurants and theaters. Do not hesitate to ask recommendations at the reception. We hope to see you for your next trip... More 

Nyons, France
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2014

I spent a night here and found the hotel to be comfortable, quiet and friendly. The desk staff were helpful and anxious to please. The lobby is pleasant with a sunny breakfast room and large range of newspapers and travel brochures. There is also an elevator. My room was spacious, had an extremely comfortable double bed with 2 extra pillows... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steven_Bak, Director at New Hotel Saint Charles, responded to this review

Dear Patricia, we're pleased you've enjoyed your stay in our hotel. We hope to welcome you for your next time in Marseilles. With best regards. More 

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2014

This hotel is awful. Two of my guests stayed here and were tormented by bed bugs. Changing rooms didn't help - in fact, one guest was so severely attacked that she got an allergic reaction and had to spend the night in hospital! Given the fact the rooms were pre-paid, we requested a re-fund in compensation of this horrible experience.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these Marseille hotels

Jundiai, SP
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

Hotel is very well localized, 300m from train station, 10min walking to the old port, but maybe you will be scared to walk near to it in the night, we didn't feel to much safe in night walks in two people, I do not indicate to walk alone in this region in the night. Staff is gentile and speaks English.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steven_Bak, Director at New Hotel Saint Charles, responded to this review

Dear Janaina, thank you for your nice comment. We take note about your remarks. We hope to see you again in our hotel. Best regards. More 

Moscow, Russia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014

About room service: You have to ask them to clean your room, because after first day they don't do it. About the room itself: small bed about 180cm length, the back of the bad was broken (think it was 216) and only the matress was keeping it from falling. the bathroom ok. About the hotel: very nice location - near... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steven_Bak, Director at New Hotel Saint Charles, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment. We take note about your remarks in order to improve our service. See you soon. Best regards. More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2014

I checked into this hotel with a colleague for a two-day visit to Marseille. I had booked and paid for a twin-room a month ahead. On arrival it seems they had my booking and my money but no twin room available. The explanation given was "there is a congress on". We were sent to a sister hotel for the night... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Steven_Bak, Directeur at New Hotel Saint Charles, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Please accept our apologize for the experience you had during your stay in Marseille. We actually had a technical problem in one of our room this day. We tried to find the best solution and we proposed you a room in one of our hotel group for the same price close to the Vieux Port. It's not really... More 

Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2014

I was pleased with the hotel, it has an excellent location, spacious rooms and friendly staff. The bathroom had a funny smell and you could hear a bit too much the neighbouring rooms, but the street noise protection was excellent.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steven_Bak, Director at New Hotel Saint Charles, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment, we are pleased you've enjoyed your stay and we'll be happy to welcome you for your next stay in Marseille. More 

Warszawa
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

Excellent location, although driving there through all those narrow streets of Marseille was a bit of a challenge. No parking spaces on the street, but big public parking is just 50 m away. Walking distance to Vieux Port, Gare Saint-Charles and lots of other places. Room is not very big, but it has all you need, including working (!) wireless... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steven_Bak, Director at New Hotel Saint Charles, responded to this review

Thank you for your guest comment. You're welcome for your next stay in Marseille More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

89 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (67)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
1:56
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay