We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

New Hotel Saint Charles

4, Allees Leon Gambetta, 13001 Marseille, France
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
New Hotel Saint Charles
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

355 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    20
    102
    87
    68
    78
See reviews for
30
145
46
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (355)
  • Mar-May only
    (95)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (127)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (78)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (55)
All months
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Terrible hotel, weak wifi, aircon doesn't work, lift is so tiny, staff are rude and worst of all rooms are infested with bed bugs. Area is very dangerous and full of rough locals who will follow you home and try to steal from you if you're not alert, happened to my twice in week stay ended up dressing poorly to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steven_Bak, Director at New Hotel Saint Charles, responded to this review

Dear Mandy, first of all, we apologize for your bad experience in our hotel. Bugs are a bane in hospitality and we treat them as soon as they appear. We'll be happy to welcome you for your next trip in Marseille in our hotels NEWHOTEL. Best regards. More 

2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here basically because of the close proximity to the railway station and because it rated okay on Trip Advisor. Bad move. We arrived at the station and tried to get a taxi to take us to the hotel with our luggage; no driver would take us. The hotel may be 300 m from the station but there are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steven_Bak, Directeur at New Hotel Saint Charles, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment. We are sorry you were not fully satisfied by your stay. We hope to see you soon to show you we can be better hosts. Best regards. More 

Travelers are raving about these Marseille hotels

Level Contributor
50 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Overall the location is good and very easy to find. The cleaning was bad some days we stayed for 4 days. One day towels was missing and it was very annoying because we came from the beach. Than following day the key to the rooms didnotwork so the was forced to charge the ca

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2015

The aircon does not work. The TV does not work. It's dirty. The hotel clerk would not let us take water from downstairs to our room and told us to drink tap water. The only merit that this hotel has is free wifi and a smoke alarm in the room (which probably doesn't work. I'd rather sleep at the train... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steven_Bak, Director at New Hotel Saint Charles, responded to this review

Dear Shaun, thank you for your comment. We apologise for the inconveniences you encountered during your stay. We hope to see you in our hotels NEWHOTEL in Marseille, Paris or Brussels. Best regards. More 

A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2015

It is an older motel but has made some attempts to update with newer fixtures, tile, furniture and bedding. However, the tub was leaking and the cleaning of baseboards and corners were terrible. The dust and cobwebs in these areas were obvious. The continental breakfast was ok - I've had worse other places lol The staff was very friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steven_Bak, Director at New Hotel Saint Charles, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment. We'll be happy to welcome you for your next trip in Marseille. Kind regards. More 

Haarlem
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2015

Large room, adequate facilities, small elevator (3 pers/225kg max), empty minibar on room to fill with own goods, walls are made of soft material and isolate noise, very friendly staff, overall pleassant hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steven_Bak, Directeur at New Hotel Saint Charles, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment. We hope to see you soon. Best regards. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2015 via mobile

No air con in first room. Second room had no light, toilet paper and Internet was working only for few minutes on one out of 4 devices. In the morning there was no cold water. Staff was not helping apart from pulling a toilet roll from behind the reception.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steven_Bak, Director at New Hotel Saint Charles, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment. We apologise for problem you encountered during your stay. We hope to see you soon in better conditions. Kind regards. More 

Clinton Township, Michigan
Level Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

My first mistake was trying to drive in Marseille. Terrible traffic, horns honking, and a rental car that was burning oil. By time we found the Quick Park , just a block away, and carried our bags to the hotel, I was distraught. None of this has anything to do with the hotel, except with the way the friendly desk... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steven_Bak, Director at New Hotel Saint Charles, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment. We hope to see you for your next trip in Marseille. Best regards. More 

Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015

The neighborhood is poor and not very attractive, The staff is friendly, the room was poor with issues with the bath (no water evacuation due to a broken piece). The breakfast was fine but no staff to clean the tables nor to assist with anything.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steven_Bak, Director at New Hotel Saint Charles, responded to this review

Dear Cocoflos, we thank you for your comment. We apologise for problems you encountered during your stay. Moreover, the neighborhood is not very attractive but the Old Port is very close to the hotel with a large choice of restaurants and theaters. Do not hesitate to ask recommendations at the reception. We hope to see you for your next trip... More 

Nyons, France
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2014

I spent a night here and found the hotel to be comfortable, quiet and friendly. The desk staff were helpful and anxious to please. The lobby is pleasant with a sunny breakfast room and large range of newspapers and travel brochures. There is also an elevator. My room was spacious, had an extremely comfortable double bed with 2 extra pillows... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steven_Bak, Director at New Hotel Saint Charles, responded to this review

Dear Patricia, we're pleased you've enjoyed your stay in our hotel. We hope to welcome you for your next time in Marseilles. With best regards. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

89 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (67)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
1:56
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marseille hotels
Hotel Terminus Saint Charles
#57 of 124 in Marseille
3.5 of 5 stars 166 reviews
Hotel Balladins Marseille Gare
#71 of 124 in Marseille
3.5 of 5 stars 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Préfecture
Premiere Classe Marseille Centre
Hotel Lutetia
#96 of 124 in Marseille
3.5 of 5 stars 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay