We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

New Hotel Saint Charles

4, Allees Leon Gambetta, 13001 Marseille, France
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
New Hotel Saint Charles
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
New Hotel Saint Charles
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    100
    80
    58
    67
See reviews for
25
131
45
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (325)
  • Mar-May only
    (90)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (102)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (78)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (55)
All months
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015

The neighborhood is poor and not very attractive, The staff is friendly, the room was poor with issues with the bath (no water evacuation due to a broken piece). The breakfast was fine but no staff to clean the tables nor to assist with anything.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steven_Bak, Director at New Hotel Saint Charles, responded to this review

Dear Cocoflos, we thank you for your comment. We apologise for problems you encountered during your stay. Moreover, the neighborhood is not very attractive but the Old Port is very close to the hotel with a large choice of restaurants and theaters. Do not hesitate to ask recommendations at the reception. We hope to see you for your next trip... More 

Nyons, France
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2014

I spent a night here and found the hotel to be comfortable, quiet and friendly. The desk staff were helpful and anxious to please. The lobby is pleasant with a sunny breakfast room and large range of newspapers and travel brochures. There is also an elevator. My room was spacious, had an extremely comfortable double bed with 2 extra pillows... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steven_Bak, Director at New Hotel Saint Charles, responded to this review

Dear Patricia, we're pleased you've enjoyed your stay in our hotel. We hope to welcome you for your next time in Marseilles. With best regards. More 

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2014

This hotel is awful. Two of my guests stayed here and were tormented by bed bugs. Changing rooms didn't help - in fact, one guest was so severely attacked that she got an allergic reaction and had to spend the night in hospital! Given the fact the rooms were pre-paid, we requested a re-fund in compensation of this horrible experience.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these Marseille hotels

Jundiai, SP
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

Hotel is very well localized, 300m from train station, 10min walking to the old port, but maybe you will be scared to walk near to it in the night, we didn't feel to much safe in night walks in two people, I do not indicate to walk alone in this region in the night. Staff is gentile and speaks English.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steven_Bak, Director at New Hotel Saint Charles, responded to this review

Dear Janaina, thank you for your nice comment. We take note about your remarks. We hope to see you again in our hotel. Best regards. More 

Moscow, Russia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014

About room service: You have to ask them to clean your room, because after first day they don't do it. About the room itself: small bed about 180cm length, the back of the bad was broken (think it was 216) and only the matress was keeping it from falling. the bathroom ok. About the hotel: very nice location - near... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steven_Bak, Director at New Hotel Saint Charles, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment. We take note about your remarks in order to improve our service. See you soon. Best regards. More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2014

I checked into this hotel with a colleague for a two-day visit to Marseille. I had booked and paid for a twin-room a month ahead. On arrival it seems they had my booking and my money but no twin room available. The explanation given was "there is a congress on". We were sent to a sister hotel for the night... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Steven_Bak, Directeur at New Hotel Saint Charles, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Please accept our apologize for the experience you had during your stay in Marseille. We actually had a technical problem in one of our room this day. We tried to find the best solution and we proposed you a room in one of our hotel group for the same price close to the Vieux Port. It's not really... More 

Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2014

I was pleased with the hotel, it has an excellent location, spacious rooms and friendly staff. The bathroom had a funny smell and you could hear a bit too much the neighbouring rooms, but the street noise protection was excellent.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steven_Bak, Director at New Hotel Saint Charles, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment, we are pleased you've enjoyed your stay and we'll be happy to welcome you for your next stay in Marseille. More 

Warszawa
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

Excellent location, although driving there through all those narrow streets of Marseille was a bit of a challenge. No parking spaces on the street, but big public parking is just 50 m away. Walking distance to Vieux Port, Gare Saint-Charles and lots of other places. Room is not very big, but it has all you need, including working (!) wireless... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steven_Bak, Director at New Hotel Saint Charles, responded to this review

Thank you for your guest comment. You're welcome for your next stay in Marseille More 

Pescara, Italy
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

there are some aspects which can be update like cleaning and spleeping quality. The room is enough confortable and the wifi signal was too low. The location of the hotel is fantactic because its near the main station of bus, train and metro ( Saint Charles station ) if you want to go outside Marseille or far away from the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steven_Bak, Director at New Hotel Saint Charles, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your comment! We are lucky that our hotel is ideally located. We would be glad to welcome you again for your next stay in Marseille. More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

This appears to be an older hotel that has been through some significant renovations to modernize. The location was ideal near the train station, the metro, and the tram and a short enjoyable walk to the harbour and all the tourist sites. The room was clean, new, and quiet. The staff was friendly and helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steven_Bak, Directeur du New Hotel Saint Charles at New Hotel Saint Charles, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your comment, we're really happy you've enjoyed your stay in our hotel. We hope to welcome you again in the future! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

88 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (67)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
1:56
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities