We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 123 Marseille hotels

New Hotel Saint Charles

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4, Allees Leon Gambetta, 13001 Marseille, France
Hotel amenities
New Hotel Saint Charles
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added New Hotel Saint Charles to your Saves list
Ranked #82 of 123 Hotels in Marseille
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
Janaina1989 Jundiai, SP
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    92
    66
    53
    58
See reviews for
20
119
38
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (287)
  • Mar-May only
    (72)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (102)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (76)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (37)
All months
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is awful. Two of my guests stayed here and were tormented by bed bugs. Changing rooms didn't help - in fact, one guest was so severely attacked that she got an allergic reaction and had to spend the night in hospital! Given the fact the rooms were pre-paid, we requested a re-fund in compensation of this horrible experience.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jundiai, SP
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Hotel is very well localized, 300m from train station, 10min walking to the old port, but maybe you will be scared to walk near to it in the night, we didn't feel to much safe in night walks in two people, I do not indicate to walk alone in this region in the night. Staff is gentile and speaks English.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steven_Bak, Director at New Hotel Saint Charles, responded to this review

Dear Janaina, thank you for your nice comment. We take note about your remarks. We hope to see you again in our hotel. Best regards. More

Moscow, Russia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014

About room service: You have to ask them to clean your room, because after first day they don't do it. About the room itself: small bed about 180cm length, the back of the bad was broken (think it was 216) and only the matress was keeping it from falling. the bathroom ok. About the hotel: very nice location - near... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steven_Bak, Director at New Hotel Saint Charles, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment. We take note about your remarks in order to improve our service. See you soon. Best regards. More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2014

I checked into this hotel with a colleague for a two-day visit to Marseille. I had booked and paid for a twin-room a month ahead. On arrival it seems they had my booking and my money but no twin room available. The explanation given was "there is a congress on". We were sent to a sister hotel for the night... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Steven_Bak, Directeur at New Hotel Saint Charles, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Please accept our apologize for the experience you had during your stay in Marseille. We actually had a technical problem in one of our room this day. We tried to find the best solution and we proposed you a room in one of our hotel group for the same price close to the Vieux Port. It's not really... More

Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2014

I was pleased with the hotel, it has an excellent location, spacious rooms and friendly staff. The bathroom had a funny smell and you could hear a bit too much the neighbouring rooms, but the street noise protection was excellent.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steven_Bak, Director at New Hotel Saint Charles, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment, we are pleased you've enjoyed your stay and we'll be happy to welcome you for your next stay in Marseille. More

Warszawa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

Excellent location, although driving there through all those narrow streets of Marseille was a bit of a challenge. No parking spaces on the street, but big public parking is just 50 m away. Walking distance to Vieux Port, Gare Saint-Charles and lots of other places. Room is not very big, but it has all you need, including working (!) wireless... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steven_Bak, Director at New Hotel Saint Charles, responded to this review

Thank you for your guest comment. You're welcome for your next stay in Marseille More

Pescara, Italy
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

there are some aspects which can be update like cleaning and spleeping quality. The room is enough confortable and the wifi signal was too low. The location of the hotel is fantactic because its near the main station of bus, train and metro ( Saint Charles station ) if you want to go outside Marseille or far away from the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steven_Bak, Director at New Hotel Saint Charles, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your comment! We are lucky that our hotel is ideally located. We would be glad to welcome you again for your next stay in Marseille. More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014 via mobile

This appears to be an older hotel that has been through some significant renovations to modernize. The location was ideal near the train station, the metro, and the tram and a short enjoyable walk to the harbour and all the tourist sites. The room was clean, new, and quiet. The staff was friendly and helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steven_Bak, Directeur du New Hotel Saint Charles at New Hotel Saint Charles, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your comment, we're really happy you've enjoyed your stay in our hotel. We hope to welcome you again in the future! More

Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Both my wife and I got eaten alive in rooms 209 and 212. When we told the guy on reception he wasn't interested! I note there have been many reviews on here about bedbugs. It's the hotel, not the customers bringing them in! We weren't even offered a refund, despite my wife's face looking like a pizza. The hotel knows... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Steven_Bak, Directeur du New Hotel Saint Charles at New Hotel Saint Charles, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Be sure we pay a great importance to this problem. First and foremost we apologize for the bad experience you had during your stay at our hotel. Unfortunately, bed bugs are a scourge for all the hotels worldwide, whatever their category. It hasn't to do with cleanliness or maintenance, because at any time, any customer can import bedbugs... More

South Coast
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Walking distance from the station. Straight down from the steps of the station. Upon arrival at the hotel, the desk person gave us good advise to keep inside that night, as the Soccer cup was on and lots of people around the street. We were given a room, where it was quiet, and a nice hot cuppa. The room was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steven_Bak, Directeur at New Hotel Saint Charles, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your kind review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay. Yours sincerely. More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to New Hotel Saint Charles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Hotel Saint Charles

Address: 4, Allees Leon Gambetta, 13001 Marseille, France
Location: France > Provence > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — New Hotel Saint Charles 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Odigeo, Otel, HostelBookers, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Fastbooking and Tingo so you can book your New Hotel Saint Charles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Hotel Marseille

76 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (56)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
1:56
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (15)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay