We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles

3.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
15 Boulevard Bourdet, 13001 Marseille, France
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ranked #34 of 124 Hotels in Marseille
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
sx_Greece greece
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    257
    84
    13
    20
See reviews for
97
194
39
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (509)
  • Mar-May only
    (132)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (161)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (134)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (82)
All months
greece
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

right opposite to train station, you can understand that it was built for travelers of one or two nights stay. it is very expensive, and not in a very pleasant neighborhood. but it serves its purpose as a hotel next to a transportation hub. clean spacious rooms with all the comforts. staff was rather friendly but nothing special. in general... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Frédéric R, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles, responded to this review

Dear sx- Greece , Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. We appreciate your loyalty. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. A positive guest experience is something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. Sincerely, Frédéric Renard Sales Manager More 

Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Great location at the door step of tha station Marseille st Charles.very ideal if you are using Marseille as a base place for visiting. The rooms are also clean based in the standards of holiday inn express. The service is excellent too, I would certainly stay there once again iwhen I go there. They're is also a supermarket nearby which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Frédéric R, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles, responded to this review

Dear Inezz J , Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. Sincerely, Frédéric Renard Sales Manager More 

Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

location was quite good if you came by train; by car there is a parking place in the hotel which is very convenient as well. the location in terms of tourist attraction is not so close, we need to walk a little bit, but not so much a big deal. some nice restaurants nearby, room was a good size and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Frédéric R, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles, responded to this review

Dear Tiago , Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. Sincerely, Frédéric Renard Director of Sales More 

Marseille
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It was at the central railway station and metro stop. The service and security was excellent. There was no mini fridge in the room. Good breakfast, Worst no two chairs in a double room.++++++++++++++++

Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Frédéric R, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles, responded to this review

Dear Michail , Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. Sincerely, Frédéric Renard Sales manager More 

Malta
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
54 hotel reviews
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Its position is what actually made us book this hotel. Its practically annexed to Saint Charles train station (you just need to cross the road) and therefore excellent connections to airport shuttle, buses, metro and trains. The location itself is not the utmost in Marseille and after dusk it might be a little uncomfortable walking around, despite the fact that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Frédéric R, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles, responded to this review

Dear GOH 77, Thank you for last comment on our hotel. Our hotel meets the standards for room size but also in the room and breakfast services. Wifi is available to all guests staying in our hotel and not just IHG members that I hope you will join soon. We hope to welcome you during your next stay in Marseille.... More 

Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2015

My wife booked this hotel through Hotels.com. Never having been to this area before there are many pitfalls to booking in a foreign country on a website. This hotel was safe, secure and offered amenities that others did not. It was an easy walk to the Old Port with lots of restaurants, a market and the train station is directly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Frédéric R, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles, responded to this review

Dear Thomas J ? Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. Sincerely, Frédéric Renard Director of Sales More 

essex, england
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2015

Opposite Marseille st Charles train station. Friendly efficient staff, let us check in 4 hours early. extremely clean. We had a room with a terrace, which had some fantastic views across Marseille. Supermarket practically next door, so handy for snacks (and booze lol). Breakfast was good. buffet style, continental.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Frédéric R, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles, responded to this review

Dear Blossom 77, Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. Sincerely, Frédéric Renard Director of Sales More 

Florda
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2015

Double room was smaller than most single rooms I have occupied. After breakfast, but before checkout, room key and wifi code were changed. Interestingly, the satisfaction survey sent afterwards would not accept poor review.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Frédéric R, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles, responded to this review

Dear Parisiangator , Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel and please accept our sincerest apologies for the disturbance you have experienced during your stay due to the room conditions. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. We value your comments and welcome the opportunity to serve you again. Frédéric Renard Director of... More 

Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
48 hotel reviews
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2015

I was here for one night (for work). Right beside the train station, clean and bright, with some nice views out over the city (they upgraded me to a room that had an outside area with a great view - thanks!). Little bar, friendly staff, and of course, right across the road from the train station (I was arriving by... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Frédéric R, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles, responded to this review

Dear SOS 100, Thank you very much for your positive comment You received an upgrade that allowed you to have one of the best views of the city The proximity of the station is a real plus for our hotel and be 15 minutes from3 " Le Vieux Port" provides access to one of the most famous places in Marseille... More 

MC
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
54 hotel reviews
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2014

We spent two nights in this Holiday Inn Express, the room was very spacious, compared to other HI Express, the breakfast was rather good, nothing really very special..the situation is very practical, in front of the Train-station.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

119 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (98)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (21)
Viewed
View from room (22)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question