We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 123 Marseille hotels

Hotel Terminus Saint Charles

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Place des Marseillaises, 13001 Marseille, France
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Hotel Terminus Saint Charles to your Saves list
Hotel Terminus Saint Charles
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
78%
Ranked #33 of 123 hotels in Marseille
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
Stephanie L London
  • Overview
  • Reviews (107)
  • Photos (32)
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (13)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

107 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    54
    12
    3
    9
See reviews for
9
41
13
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Very convenient for location, right next to the station. Rooms basic and small but clean and neat. Staff extremely helpful and friendly, gave us directions and maps for local sites which was lovely. overall good value for money for convenient and friendly hotel

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Was this review helpful? Yes
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

very convenient location but that is the only good thing I can say about it. We hardly slept. Had to sleep with windows open and it was extremely noisy. Woke up with bug bites. Could have been from a mosquito or spider but we are guessing something else. If you can afford it stay at the holiday in express instead.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a really bad hotel, extremly noisy with no AC and, rooms are tiny and smelly, we asked for non smoking and clearly there was some smoking happening earlier, please avoid this hotel if you plan to sleep,

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Birmingham
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

Worst hotel I have ever stayed in! Dirty, smelly and in a horrible part of town. Very old decor, dirty walls, carpet and bathroom. The fan in the room was broken and when we asked for another or an alternative we just got a 'sorry it's hot outside'. One hair dryer in the whole hotel. The bathroom smelt o urine... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jean-Philippe A, Assistant de direction at Hotel Terminus Saint Charles, responded to this review

We are truly sorry that you were disappointed with your stay at our hotel. Despite renovations done for over a year in business, we are sorry that the room you have been assigned have not been part of this repair. Know that this is expected and that takes time. We are surprised by your comment about cleanliness because we faisont... More

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

I travel often and use TripAdvisor for every trip but this is the first time I am actually leaving a review of a hotel. I've stayed at some of the best hotels and some not so great places - but never have I stayed at such a horrid place as the Hotel Terminus Saint Charles. I strongly urge all travelers... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Jean-Philippe A, Assistant de direction at Hotel Terminus Saint Charles, responded to this review

Sorry that you had such a terrible experience in our hotel. About the cleanliness of your room you can go see for yourself by reading the reviews on this site and even on all other review sites that the cleanliness of the hotel is a criterion which emerges widely. All our rooms are cleaned meticulously every day! However, rest assured... More

Durban, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

This hotel is situated very close to the St Charles SNCF Station, as as such makes it very convenient for people who are not only visiting Marseille, but other parts of Southern France. The Metro station is also across the road, and this can be used for rapid access to the Vieux Port area. The rooms are fairly small, but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Le Claire, Iowa
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

This past April I visited Marseille with my husband and we booked this hotel on a suggestion from a friend. We were not disappointed! When we walked in the staff was very friendly and welcoming. We were pleasantly surprised to find that they spoke excellent English. Our room was spacious and very clean. The hotel has a modern feel to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

We were travelling on a budget as a family, and chose this hotel because we were told that it was perfectly located by the train station. Admittedly, we weren't expecting anything amazing. We were in fact, pleasantly surprised. When we arrived, the receptionist made us feel instantly welcomed, and could not do enough for us. The room, wasn't the biggest... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Creysse, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

If you are looking for a hotel which offers a great room, this hotel really does. Although we were not expecting much from a city hotel, we thought it was good value. The rooms were really welcome after our journey and had comfortable beds, adequate bathroom facilities and we were able to use Wifi connection without any problem. The hotel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Braga, Portugal
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

After a long trip, at reach Marseille I looked for a hotel with quality and an affordable price. I have read some reviews of Hotel Terminus Saint Charles and I decided to choose him to stay on weekend. This was my first trip to France. I wanted it to be a enjoyable weekend. After a pleasant night, I went down... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Hotel Terminus Saint Charles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Hotel Terminus Saint Charles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Terminus Saint Charles

Address: 1 Place des Marseillaises, 13001 Marseille, France
Location: France > Provence > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Terminus Saint Charles 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Terminus Saint Charles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

32 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer