We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Terminus Saint Charles

3.0 of 5 1 Place des Marseillaises, 13001 Marseille, France
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Terminus Saint Charles
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel Terminus Saint Charles
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    55
    22
    4
    8
See reviews for
10
48
16
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (119)
  • Mar-May only
    (50)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (31)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (30)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (8)
All months
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2014

My wife and I stayed for two nights at the Hotel Terminus and, unfortunately, it was not the most pleasant experiences (particularly for my wife!). Undoubtedly our mistake, but we had not booked one of their better rooms (so-called "confort" room); instead, we had a "standard" room. In the standard room, there is no air conditioning, our room faced the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2014

Hotel is just outside St Charles Train Station. Very convenient to access train or metro. Short walk to Vieux Port in also very relaxing. Room is very comfortable. However, everytime when I walk pass the breakfast room, it is empty. Breakfast must be unattractive.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cambridge
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

This was the best of a number of French hotels we stayed in on our recent trip there, and we were baffled by some of the more recent reviews which bear no relation to our experience. We had a very comfortable and clean room, the most comfortable beds of all the hotels, great shower, lovely view from our top floor... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

The hotel is just in front of the St Charles Station, extremely convenient with the metro and the national trains. The Vieux Port is located 10-min away via downhill slope. The location is really good. The room itself was OK, with decent bed & decent noise isolation, but WiFi was quite slow. Be cautious with elevator: for some part of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We stayed for a couple nights arriving in from Nice late that morning. 2min walk from the main st Charles station, very convenient to drop the bags and explore. The location itself is not the greatest neighborhood in Marseille, as the area south of the station is a bit run down and attracts that sort of crowd, however in saying... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Very convenient for location, right next to the station. Rooms basic and small but clean and neat. Staff extremely helpful and friendly, gave us directions and maps for local sites which was lovely. overall good value for money for convenient and friendly hotel

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

very convenient location but that is the only good thing I can say about it. We hardly slept. Had to sleep with windows open and it was extremely noisy. Woke up with bug bites. Could have been from a mosquito or spider but we are guessing something else. If you can afford it stay at the holiday in express instead.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

This is a really bad hotel, extremly noisy with no AC and, rooms are tiny and smelly, we asked for non smoking and clearly there was some smoking happening earlier, please avoid this hotel if you plan to sleep,

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Birmingham
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

Worst hotel I have ever stayed in! Dirty, smelly and in a horrible part of town. Very old decor, dirty walls, carpet and bathroom. The fan in the room was broken and when we asked for another or an alternative we just got a 'sorry it's hot outside'. One hair dryer in the whole hotel. The bathroom smelt o urine... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Jean-Philippe A, Assistant de direction at Hotel Terminus Saint Charles, responded to this review

We are truly sorry that you were disappointed with your stay at our hotel. Despite renovations done for over a year in business, we are sorry that the room you have been assigned have not been part of this repair. Know that this is expected and that takes time. We are surprised by your comment about cleanliness because we faisont... More 

1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

I travel often and use TripAdvisor for every trip but this is the first time I am actually leaving a review of a hotel. I've stayed at some of the best hotels and some not so great places - but never have I stayed at such a horrid place as the Hotel Terminus Saint Charles. I strongly urge all travelers... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Jean-Philippe A, Assistant de direction at Hotel Terminus Saint Charles, responded to this review

Sorry that you had such a terrible experience in our hotel. About the cleanliness of your room you can go see for yourself by reading the reviews on this site and even on all other review sites that the cleanliness of the hotel is a criterion which emerges widely. All our rooms are cleaned meticulously every day! However, rest assured... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Hotel Terminus Saint Charles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Terminus Saint Charles

Address: 1 Place des Marseillaises, 13001 Marseille, France
Location: France > Provence > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Terminus Saint Charles 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Terminus Saint Charles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Marseille
#14 Business Hotel in Marseille

43 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay