We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Vertigo - Centre

42, rue des Petites Maries, 13001 Marseille, France
Hotel amenities
Hotel Vertigo - Centre
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 4 weeks ago
Rae A
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    48
    17
    6
    7
See reviews for
3
29
24
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (114)
  • Mar-May only
    (26)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (43)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (28)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (17)
All months
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The people at reception are clueless. They are not helpful at all. They write everyone off as if we are all inconveniences for them. It seems they are very busy doing nothing. Also the breakfast is not included. It's €5 for some cereal and orange juice or a piece of bread and butter. CRAZY! The rooms are small, dirty, and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
remy v, Gérant at Hotel Vertigo - Centre, responded to this review

We are so very sorry you had such a bad experience at our hotel. Although, I think your comment is a little harsh and unfair when you write our hotel is crap. Next time you think the hotel you stay in is so dirty and gross, ask for a refund and go sleep somewhere else. As for breakfast First you... More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed here for a couple of nights with some friends in the 16 bed dorm and we had a great time! It's in a good location and the facilities were great! We cooked dinner both nights we stayed so we could save some money (instead of eating out) and there was everything we needed! The dorm itself was comfy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015

The location of the hostel was great, right next to the train station, and close to a really great bakery just steps away. The 16 bed dorm was nice, there were outlets next to every bed and the showers were modern and clean. The kitchen only had a hot plate, and it was hard to cook when it was busy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gothenburg, Sweden
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

Very cozy hostel. Perfect for budgettravelers! Very Nice staff, clean bathrooms and rooms and very cheap. The location is perfect but I would not recommend to wander the area during the night by yourself. We only stayed there one night but it was more than I was expecting from it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

This hostel is literally opposite Marseille railway station. You only need to walk 20 meters from the main road. The staff is excellent and place looks an upper class hostel. I had four bed en-suite dormitory which was clean.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Focsani, Romania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2014

Stayed here during the summer and was very pleased with the accommodation they offer at vertigo. Since I arrived there by train the fact that gare st.charles is just a few minutes walk away helped a lot as I'm not too fond on taking taxis as a tourist. The hostel is very clean, somewhat modern, the staff is helpful and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014

Didn't notice that it was a real backpackers place until we arrived there! My wife was a bit uncomfortable walking through alleys where only men sat ourside and women were kept inside! A different culture outside as well as inside where youngsters came in and out! Clean place but not what we looked for

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

I stayed here with three friends for two nights whilst interrailing through Europe. The hotel itself is in a great location - 2 minutes from Marseille St. Charles; great if you're carrying 10+kg in 35C heat. We stayed in a 4 bed ensuite room and the bathroom was one of the nicest I've seen hosteling. The staff were friendly and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

I stayed here for one night during my backpacking trip through Europe. The hostel is very nice, and from my understanding, was converted from an older hotel. I stayed in a four person room with an ensuite bathroom. It was the nicest bathroom I've ever had at a hostel. My only complaint about the room is that there was nowhere... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cairns, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

My fiancé and I are backpacking through Europe for 12 months on a tight budget. Our review below is an indication of the experience we had at the Vertigo Hostel. We stayed in a 16 bed dorm room. Pros Superb location about 300m from Marseille St Charles station & a 15 minute walk to the Old Port. Ensuite washrooms in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

32 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (26)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay