We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Vertigo - Centre

42, rue des Petites Maries, 13001 Marseille, France
Hotel amenities
Hotel Vertigo - Centre
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2015
Shawn N Edmonton, Canada
Add Photo Write a Review

124 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    39
    52
    18
    6
    9
See reviews for
3
32
29
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (124)
  • Mar-May only
    (27)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (52)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (28)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (17)
All months
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I spent one night at Vertigo Centre in July, booked a few days before and got a shared 4-people room for €30. The room was wide and clean, with two open windows and plenty of light. There were a private toilet and a big bathroom (with mirror and shower), both clean and comfortable. The guy at the reception is very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2015

Rooms are nice and cozy; the double suites rooms have balconies. The common area is a great place to socialize with other backpackers, free use computers and kitchen. They have a courtyard at the back which is nice to hang out and drink beer ( Beer is between 2-5 Euros). Breakfast is buffet style, typical french breakfast( Bread, tea, coffee,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015

I am appalled at this condition and service provided in this so called best hostel in France. It is just a medicore hostel with basic amenities. The service is aloof and nonchanlent. If one asks questions at the reception, it is feel as though as one is troubling them. To add salt to injury, the hostel cleaning staff is very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
remy v, Responsable réception at Hotel Vertigo - Centre, responded to this review

You seem to forget to tell that you contacted us 2 months after you checked out to tell us that you apparently had forgotten your CHANEL bag. You were not even sure you had left it in the room. We kindly told you that we hadn't found it. When you have precious or expensive things, the rule is : don't... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2015

The people at reception are clueless. They are not helpful at all. They write everyone off as if we are all inconveniences for them. It seems they are very busy doing nothing. Also the breakfast is not included. It's €5 for some cereal and orange juice or a piece of bread and butter. CRAZY! The rooms are small, dirty, and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
remy v, Gérant at Hotel Vertigo - Centre, responded to this review

We are so very sorry you had such a bad experience at our hotel. Although, I think your comment is a little harsh and unfair when you write our hotel is crap. Next time you think the hotel you stay in is so dirty and gross, ask for a refund and go sleep somewhere else. As for breakfast First you... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2015

I stayed here for a couple of nights with some friends in the 16 bed dorm and we had a great time! It's in a good location and the facilities were great! We cooked dinner both nights we stayed so we could save some money (instead of eating out) and there was everything we needed! The dorm itself was comfy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
remy v, Responsable réception at Hotel Vertigo - Centre, responded to this review

Thank you so much! It is always nice for us to know taht clients were satisfied! Hopefully we'll see you soon again at Vertigo! All the best! More 

Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015

The location of the hostel was great, right next to the train station, and close to a really great bakery just steps away. The 16 bed dorm was nice, there were outlets next to every bed and the showers were modern and clean. The kitchen only had a hot plate, and it was hard to cook when it was busy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

Very cozy hostel. Perfect for budgettravelers! Very Nice staff, clean bathrooms and rooms and very cheap. The location is perfect but I would not recommend to wander the area during the night by yourself. We only stayed there one night but it was more than I was expecting from it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

This hostel is literally opposite Marseille railway station. You only need to walk 20 meters from the main road. The staff is excellent and place looks an upper class hostel. I had four bed en-suite dormitory which was clean.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Focsani, Romania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2014

Stayed here during the summer and was very pleased with the accommodation they offer at vertigo. Since I arrived there by train the fact that gare st.charles is just a few minutes walk away helped a lot as I'm not too fond on taking taxis as a tourist. The hostel is very clean, somewhat modern, the staff is helpful and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014

Didn't notice that it was a real backpackers place until we arrived there! My wife was a bit uncomfortable walking through alleys where only men sat ourside and women were kept inside! A different culture outside as well as inside where youngsters came in and out! Clean place but not what we looked for

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

32 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (26)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marseille hotels
0.4 mi away
Azur Hotel
Azur Hotel
#40 of 124 in Marseille
4.0 of 5 stars 133 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Marseille Centre Gare Saint Charles
0.5 mi away
Residence du Vieux Port
Residence du Vieux Port
#5 of 124 in Marseille
4.5 of 5 stars 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Alex Hotel
Alex Hotel
#4 of 124 in Marseille
4.5 of 5 stars 57 reviews
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Marseille - Hotel Dieu
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Marseille-Saint Charles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay