We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 13 Villefranche-sur-Mer hotels

Hotel le Versailles

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Princesse-Grace-de-Monaco, 06230 Villefranche-sur-Mer, France
Hotel amenities
Hotel le Versailles
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel le Versailles to your Saves list
69%
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
David W Durham
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    77
    32
    19
    12
See reviews for
42
103
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (198)
  • Mar-May only
    (44)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (86)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (57)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (11)
All months
Durham
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed at the hotel for a week in September.Looks a little odd from the outside but once through the doors the view from reception across the bay is spectacular.All rooms have a sea view and the pool area is quiet and relaxing.The hotel bar was rarely open with no one in attendance but there are plenty of bars/cafes a couple... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
wigan
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for 3 nights to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Fell in love with the hotel and the location immediately. Why hadn't we discovered this before, having been to Nice several times? Our school French was not always understood but I think staff appreciated the effort. Breakfasts and lunch were enjoyable on the terrace with fabulous views. Appreciated the relaxing ambience... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed in Nice first and had a great experience at La Perouse hotel on the Beach in Nice..Arrived in Ville Franche.. This hotel looks like a psychiatric hospital inside ,,,No decorations anywhere. Tiny rooms ..No space for bags,,People were unfriendly. Staff was Unhelpful in any way..No Bonjours to be had... Glad to leave this awful hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alexandra_Hotels, Directeur général at Hotel le Versailles, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review, we always appreciate constructive remarks about our hotel. But I must say, we are really surprise of yours. All our staff is really friendly and helpful, I just got a guest on the phone who was congratulating me about the staff and how helpful they have been with them. The fact is, you... More

Nenagh, Co Tipperary
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

Last time we visited Villefranche-sur-Mer it was on a cruise ship and the place looked so beautiful that we said we would return one day and stay overnight and we were not disappointed. The Hotel Le Versailles was very centrally located and within walking distance of the harbour. We had dinner in the dining area on the terrace and both... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Milan, Italy
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

We have stayed at this hotel for the last 5 years and it is constantly going downhill. Has a great location,beautiful views, nice terrace, redone bathrooms BUT--and that is a big question. There is absolutely no management--the person at the desk(people except for one) don't speak any English. The hotel exists but is very poorly run--. The worst part is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

This was our second stay at this hotel. It's very good value. The public areas are probably worthy of a 4 or 5 star hotel, the bedrooms and bathrooms are functional. It's crowing glory are the views from the terrace and rooms. I wouldn't say all the reception staff were totally welcoming but they were pleasant, the same for the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We were here as a family of 5 for 2 weeks in August as we were attending a wedding and related events in the area and decided to make a holiday out of it. This is not a luxury hotel by any stretch, but provides good value for what you get considering location and season. If you want a clean,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Having just spent a lovely week at Le Versailles in Villefranche, I'm incredulous at some of the (bad) reviews on here, as they don't seem to correlate in any way with my experience! No, the hotel isn't 5* - but then I'd never be able to afford a week at a 5* in this area! - but I'd actually rate... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alexandra_Hotels, Directeur général at Hotel le Versailles, responded to this review

Dear Marion, Thank you very much for your nice and detailed feedback. We will improve the points you have pointed for the shower. We don't like curtains as it looks very quick dirty, but we definitly have to put a window, it is already done in some other bedrooms. There must have been a mistake on the bill for your... More

Brentwood, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Having read some of the reviews before we travelled, we started to have some reservations regarding the hotel. However, we would like to say that our family room (220/221) was very clean, did not appear dated and the staff were courteous and friendly at all times. We had booked this holiday as a get away to relax after a somewhat... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alexandra_Hotels, Directeur général at Hotel le Versailles, responded to this review

Dear John, It was a pleasure to welcome you and your family. Thank you very much for your positive feedback, it is also very important for us to know you spent a very nice and relaxing stay in our hotel. We will be delighted to welcome you very soon. Kind Regards, Alexandra More

Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

I had stayed at Le Versailles four years ago and absolutely loved it. We had a large family room and the whole experience was very luxurious. Four years on, our rooms were really quite small though still comfortable and nicely decorated, but I think the hotel is feeling a little tired from wear and tear. The pool and restaurant/bar are... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Hotel le Versailles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel le Versailles

Address: Av. Princesse-Grace-de-Monaco, 06230 Villefranche-sur-Mer, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Villefranche-sur-Mer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel le Versailles 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel le Versailles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Versailles Hotel Villefranche Sur Mer

66 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (61)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay