We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 43 Saint-Raphael hotels

Hotel Excelsior

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Promenade Rene Coty, 83700 Saint-Raphael, France
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Hotel Excelsior to your Saves list
Hotel Excelsior
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
70%
Ranked #15 of 43 hotels in Saint-Raphael
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013
FKislik Lyon, France
Write a Review

60 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    33
    13
    4
    3
See reviews for
11
29
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lyon, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

Nicely located in the center of a beautiful Saint Raphael. The entrance is not easy to find and it is strangely funny to enter by the cafe and then follow toilets/reception... Room door would not close, unless you use a key. It was +16C outside, but the air conditioner is set for heat only and it was a sauna in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Excel83700, Responsable réception at Hotel Excelsior, responded to this review

Dears, Many thanks for posting your opinion about our stay at the Excelsior; sorry about the confusion respect to breakfast, we will do our best to progress and rectify those problems. About fresh air conditionning, sorry Sir but, it is never available in decembre, and the average temperature was very warm this year, unlike usual. Looking forward to seeing another... More

Bucharest, Romania
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

i stayed at this hotel many times and the internet was always very poor, i mean in years... connection is very bad, it disconnects every 2 minutes and you have to log in every time... but the great surprise was this year when i couldn't connect at all because i was operating on android... so, if you use a tablet... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Excel83700, Responsable réception at Hotel Excelsior, responded to this review

Dear Madam, Thank you for posting your opinion about your stay at the Excelsior; the wifi problem are repaired now, even for android system. Really sorry you did not have a pleasant stay because of that. We hope to welcoming you another time. Looking forward to see you again! Best regards Carinne More

virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Lovely property! The location of the hotel is excellent with everything within walking distance including the beach right in front of the hotel. The service is consistent and polished, from the multi-lingual receptionists to the restaurant staff. As we own a property in the area we usually put up our guests at the Excelsior. The view from the rooms are... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Excel83700, Responsable réception at Hotel Excelsior, responded to this review

Dear Veronica, Many thanks for your comment and looking forward to welcoming you soon again ! With all our best regards Carinne More

Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
36 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

This was a return visit and whilst often things don't seem as magic second time around this was even better - we had a large front seaview room (216) - wonderful views from front and side windows and our bathroom window could also be flung open to the glorious view. The terrace restaurant was a delightful place for both breakfasts... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Excel83700, Responsable réception at Hotel Excelsior, responded to this review

Dears, Thank you for coming back to the Excelsior and for leaving such a nice comment about your stay; we are looking forward to seing you very soon, in a big room facing the wonderful sea ! Nice regards Carinne More

Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Great location on the beach and close to the train station; just a couple of blocks walk. The desk staff were very helpful. The room was on the small side, but it was OK for a night or two. All in all recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Excel83700, Responsable réception at Hotel Excelsior, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Many thanks for posting your opinion about the Excelsior. We constantly strive for your satisfaction and we sincerely hope to welcoming you another time. All our best regards Carinne More

Torquay, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

We booked after a recommendation, true enough the rooms were very comfortable and the views amazing, we had booked a prestige with sea view. For the price though not to have breakfast included is very poor, air con didn't work, and we were woken up both morning very early 7am by a crane right outside our window working on hotel,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Excel83700, Responsable réception at Hotel Excelsior, responded to this review

Dears, Many thanks for sending your opinion about your stay at the Excelsior. Please accept all our apologies about works we absolutly had to do on the roof, because of air conditionned technical problem; i am really sorry your slept has been disturbed. Anyway, the average temperature of may doesn't allow operating cooling system. I sincerely hope you will come... More

lebanon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

With no reservations, we took the chance to register mid-week. The very helpful receptionist, Zuny, welcomed us and was helpful throughout our stay when we had questions. The room was adequate and well-located. However, the restaurant staff ignored us. The breakfast was included, but the single server was haughty. We also entered for dinner where the maître 'd also ignored... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Excel83700, Responsable réception at Hotel Excelsior, responded to this review

Dears, Many thanks for taking the time to write your opinion about your stay at the Excelsior. We are really sorry about your last bad impression and we will do our best to regulize this situation with our staff. Please, accept all our apologies. We are looking forward to seing you again ! Best regards Carinne Booking Manager More

Stockholm, Stockholms Län, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

We took a room with sea view. The room was ok for a three star,but no hanging shower. You have to hold the shower head which was kind of a bummer. We didnt take breakfast,but the room was still pricey. The male evening/afternoon staff were very friendly and helpful.. we were happy, but maybe could have gotten a better hotel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Excel83700, Responsable réception at Hotel Excelsior, responded to this review

Dear Madam, Many thanks for coming at the Excelsior hotel and for taking time to send a comment about your stay. We are always trying to do our best to see you satisfied and we will keep on doing it. Looking forward to your next stay ! Best regards Carinne Booking Manager More

Sheffield
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

We stayed at the Excelsior for 4 nights in early May. The hotel details state that bedrooms are air conditioned and had this not been the case we would not have booked here. However despite temperatures in the mid to high 20s throughout our stay we were informed by Reception that the aircon would not be available until late May/June.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Excel83700, Directeur général at Hotel Excelsior, responded to this review

Dear Sir, In early Spring and late Fall, the daily temperature in our region can vary significantly due to the changeable Mediterranean climate. Therefore at times it is difficult to predict when to operate our central air-conditioning system. Regrettably you had an unfortunate experience during your stay but we would like to comment that one of the issues you raised... More

Fayence, France
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

We had lunch on the Excelsior terrace last November and suddenly it hit us. We live in Fayence and we have been going to the Excelsior for twelve years but I haven't written a review. Why? Age, laziness, are factors but probably it is because we have become so accustomed to great meals and wonderful service that routine, happy routine,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Been to Hotel Excelsior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Excelsior

Also Known As:
Excelsior Hotel St Raphaël
Address: Promenade Rene Coty, 83700 Saint-Raphael, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Saint-Raphael
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 43 hotels in Saint-Raphael
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Excelsior 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Saint Raphael is a lively and charming town situated between Cannes and Saint Tropez, on the Mediterranean coastline, with a nice sandy beach, port lined with pretty cafes and restaurants and a bustling center with shops and bars. The family run Hotel Excelsior enjoys an excellent situation on the sea front promenade, beside the Casino and a stone-throw from the sandy beach. It is an ideal base from which to explore Provence by car or by the excellent train system which runs through Saint Raphael. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Excelsior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Excelsior, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.