We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 212 Nice hotels

Hotel Gounod Nice

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Rue Gounod, 06000 Nice, France (Thiers / Train Station)
Hotel amenities
Hotel Gounod Nice
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Gounod Nice to your Saves list
Ranked #60 of 212 Hotels in Nice
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
tricianaples9891 Naples, Florida
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    179
    44
    18
    5
See reviews for
51
160
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (331)
  • Mar-May only
    (77)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (104)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (94)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (56)
All months
Naples, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I visited the hotel in September 2014. Walked from the train station to the hotel in the early evening. Short 15 minute walk downhill. Neighborhood quiet and seemed safe. My room was ready when I arrived. I'm not certain who checked me in, Farid or Eric, but, both of these front desk people are an asset to the hotel. Both... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
michel t, General Manager at Hotel Gounod Nice, responded to this review

Bonjour thanks a lot for letting us- and others- know about your stay with us ! I was of course delighted to know you enjoyed the hotel, its staff, our sister hotel the Splendid Hotel & Spa, and the surroundings We would be delighted to welcome you again: you shall always find our best rates and packages on gounod -... More

Prescot, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Hotel Gounod is a very good location, near to beach ,old town, buses and trains. Room was small but very nice and clean, large balcony. Breakfast was great. Reception staff are very helpful and friendly. Roof top bar at Splendid hotel next door is well worth the visit. LA Havana bar down the road and turn left great food and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
michel t, General Manager at Hotel Gounod Nice, responded to this review

Bonjour thanks a lot for letting us- and others- know about your stay with us ! I was of course delighted to know you enjoyed the hotel, its staff, and the surroundings We would be delighted to welcome you again: you shall always find our best rates and packages on gounod - nice . fr , or by emailing us... More

Western Ireland, Ireland
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
30 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

On the Negative first, the hotel could do with a face lift, paint carpets etc. On the positive of which there were many for us anyway, its Location is very good. Its within walking distance of the Train Station for trips to Monaco etc. Its also very near the Promenade. Very handy for the Airport bus. Reception were helpful and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
michel t, General Manager at Hotel Gounod Nice, responded to this review

Bonjour thanks a lot for taking the time to write about your stay; I was of course delighted that you enjoyed the hotel, and I am sure the restaurant, supermarket, etc recommendations will be helpful to other travellers ! It would be a delight to welcome you again, and you will always find the best rates and packages on our... More

Sissinghurst, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed four nights at this hotel. The main attraction for us was the central position. The station, various shops and cafes, and 10 minute walk to Promenade des Anglais and 20 minutes to Saleya square where we ate in the evening. The rooftop bar next door in Hotel Splendide is very useful for a coffee or drink with a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
michel t, General Manager at Hotel Gounod Nice, responded to this review

Bonjour Thanks a lot for taking the time to write about your stay with us ! I was delighted to know that you enjoyed the hotel, its location, staff, and that we were able to help you discover our Cote d'azur. We of course all look forward to welcoming you again: you shall always find our best rates and packages... More

Gurnee, Illinois
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
47 hotel reviews
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed in Room 409 for 3 nights while in Nice. The room was very small and the furniture a bit worn, but the beds were comfortable. We also had a mini refrigerator, a desk and two chairs and a TV. The bathroom was average sized with a tub/shower combination. Both the air conditioning and the wi-fi worked well. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
michel t, General Manager at Hotel Gounod Nice, responded to this review

Bonjour Thanks a lot for taking the time to write about your stay with us; I was of course delighted that you enjoyed your stay, the hotel, its staff and location We will be changing our lift this january We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the near future: you shall always find our best... More

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014 via mobile

We stayed early October for two nights, how disappointing. We checked in to the hotel mid afternoon and where weary after a long train trip, the room was amazing, large, two bathrooms, one with a bath one with a shower. It went down hill from there, the air vent had black mold surrounding it and what we thought was missing... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
michel t, General Manager at Hotel Gounod Nice, responded to this review

Bonjour Thanks a lot for taking the time to write about your stay with us; I was of course disappointed that you did not like your first room even through you mention it as large and with 2 bathrooms; we of course never discuss a guest request and were happy to change your room, and again as per your own... More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2014

Wow, where do I start with this Hotel. I relied on TA's good reviews of this hotel when booking and hoped we would have a similar experience. Sadly it was not to be for us and I can't work out if we were just incredibly unlucky, or if the Hotel is really this poor. I'd like to think it was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
michel t, General Manager at Hotel Gounod Nice, responded to this review

bonjour thanks a lot for taking the time to write about your -unlucky-stay with us . I was of course disappointed by your comments. I am aware about the hot water difficulty one evening, as I was the one who fixed it in the evening after having been advised of it. The breakfast is self serving as mentionned on our... More

London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

Had a lovely stay in Hotel Gounod. Was on the 2nd floor, room & bathroom spacious & clean(v modern bathroom and the rest of the hotel has french character), Tv with english news channels, no tea facilities in room the only downside. Buffet breakfast is good - had all the usual - 2 cereals(cornflakes & museli), yoghurts, fruit salad and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
michel t, General Manager at Hotel Gounod Nice, responded to this review

Bonjour thanks a lot for taking the time to write about your stay with us; I was of course delighted to know you enjoyed the hotel, its staff and location as well as our sister hotel the Splendid Hotel & Spa next door I am sure other traveillers shall find your advices on transportation, museums, etc very interesting ! and... More

London
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2014 via mobile

Brilliant stay, at a well located hotel with a lot of character in Nice, friendly staff and modernised bathroom facilities, 100% recommend for a short break. Decided to walk to the airport on the way home, although a long distance very nice to enjoy the sun and beach.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
michel t, General Manager at Hotel Gounod Nice, responded to this review

bonjour Thanks a lot for taking the time to write about your stay with us; i was of course delighted to know you enjoyed your stay, the hotel and its staff congratulations on walking all the way to the airport, it is only about 6km, but still it is a very commendable way to go there we all look forward... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2014

In a very expensive but pretty city you don't want to be over paying for accommodation. Hotel Gounod is a great little find for a number of reasons; 1. It's easily accessible from the all areas of Nice and especially the train station for trips to Monaco, Cannes, Eze etc 2. It's a simple hotel so reflected in the cost... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
michel t, General Manager at Hotel Gounod Nice, responded to this review

bonjour Thanks a lot for taking the time to write about your stay with us; i was of course delighted to know you enjoyed your stay, the hotel and its staff You summarize very well our strong points.... thank you ! we all look forward to welcoming you again to the Gounod; you shall always find our best rates and... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Hotel Gounod Nice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gounod Nice

Address: 3 Rue Gounod, 06000 Nice, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Thiers / Train Station
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gounod Nice 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Otel, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Gounod Nice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

106 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (96)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay