We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Avignon Hotel Monclar

3.0 of 5 13-15 avenue Monclar, 84000 Avignon, France
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Avignon Hotel Monclar
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Avignon Hotel Monclar
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    32
    27
    8
    6
See reviews for
25
51
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (112)
  • Mar-May only
    (23)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (43)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (42)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (4)
All months
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014

Very convenient location close to train station and city wall. Excellent large room with working air conditioning. Cooking facilities if needed. Very friendly and welcoming staff. Beautiful outdoor garden area. Excellent breakfasts. Stairs to negotiate & no lift. All in all a great place to stay when sightseeing in Avignon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2014

Formerly a hospital, this hotel is located a short walk away from the railway station and the ramparts of the old city of Avignon. As most travelers have written, the entrance is quite dismal and just off a concrete underpass. However, once inside, a short drive leads to the front of the hotel and a quaint and peaceful garden, the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mexico City, Mexico
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2014

let me just say, from the outside view does not look like anything. once we parked our car things began to change. It is a small property run by the family owners. good breakfast; nice little garden I think their best asset is location. walking distance to everywhere you have to pass under a small tunnel bit scary but we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

This hotel is on a really rough street and not well sign posted. In fact we drove past it several times before spotting it. Then the place from the outside looked horrendous to a point I nearly took us to the nearby Ibis. We gave it a go and drove through the alley. Things looked a lot better. The rooms... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

To be honest when the taxi pulled up outside we didn't want to get out!!! But once through the ally we were pleasantly surprised. The little garden was lovely (where we had our breakfast in the morning) but the bedroom was a disappointment the fridge didn't work although we had big twin beds there was no tea making facilities when... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

A beautiful hotel with french charm and modern touches. We stayed in one of the apartments up spiral staircases, wooden floors and every modern bathroom. Perfect location with everything in walking distance. Lovely owners with a great breakfast buffet which we ate in the garden. Merci beau coup!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Blackburn, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

our studio was simply furnished with good air conditioning and very clean,but it needs to have a kettle rather than using a pan to make a cup of coffee/tea, and some hooks for coats ect, having a parking space was a bonas. the breakfast was ok the usual that is served in most hotels, we found our host very helpful... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

My husband and I take one night in this hotel in end of April. After my husband take a shower, the the water is full of the bathroom and we can't even use toilet!! The block btw toilet and shower room, so all the dirty water came out flow to the room....We ask the reception,but no one can help. Also... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AHM84, Gérant at Avignon Hotel Monclar, responded to this review

Madam, I'm sorry for the inconvenience mentioned during your stay. Indeed, as you point out, we had a pipeline which got broken in the night. You warned us at 1am, but the hotel was full. On the next day we offered you another room (early check out from other guests) but you refused it. We apologized 3 times. This is... More 

Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
70 hotel reviews
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

The hotel Monclar is very well located to visit Avignon by foot, with the important advantage of having parking space, which is a rare quality in that location. It is a wonderful old house reconverted in hotel. Very pretty in the outside. Inside out room was big with a very good bed, we slept very well, it is true that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

After Paris, we went to the south by car and drove to Avignon where we were happy to be frozen by the "Mostral" and welcomed by this lovely family at the Hotel Monclar. We parked our card in the courtyard and had a nice decorated and cleaned room. Advices were really goods about restaurants and visits around. Breakfast was included... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Avignon Hotel Monclar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avignon Hotel Monclar

Address: 13-15 avenue Monclar, 84000 Avignon, France
Location: France > Provence > Vaucluse > Avignon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Avignon Hotel Monclar 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Avignon Hotel Monclar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monclar Hotel Avignon
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Avignon

33 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (23)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay