We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Spa Le Calendal

3.0 of 5 5 rue Porte de Laure, 13200 Arles, France
Hotel website
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hotel Spa Le Calendal
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel Spa Le Calendal
Write a Review

841 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    495
    270
    52
    16
    8
See reviews for
171
407
42
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (841)
  • Mar-May only
    (191)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (286)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (236)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (128)
All months
There are newer reviews for Hotel Spa Le Calendal
See the most recent reviews
United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2014

A first-class experience from our initial contact! Whether it was making changes to our original reservation, making dinner reservations, or assisting in day trip advice/schedules, Natalie and the staff were courteous, friendly and very helpful. Then there is the whole ambience of the hotel! We could see Roman ruins from both our room and the spa. The courtyard is very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
LE CALENDAL H, Directeur général at Hotel Spa Le Calendal, responded to this review

Dear Karen & Bob, Thank you very much for you wonderful comment on our hotel. It was such a pleasure to greet you during your 30th anniversary. Thank you for your wonderful comments on the staff they will be notified straight away. The hotel offers several services, a counter that is open 24h/7 if ever you wish to have something... More 

Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
45 hotel reviews
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014

Although access to the room can mean climbing some quite 'steep' steps, it is confortable & clean. Great location just beside the Roman arena with many good restaurants within 15 minutes walk on Rue du Dr Fanton (Le 16 or La Galoubet will not disappoint) or on the square where Le Cafe Van Gogh is located. Friendly staff. Nice green... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
LE CALENDAL H, Directeur général at Hotel Spa Le Calendal, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thank you for leaving your impressions about the hotel after your stay. It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay. The hotel has a couple of steep steps as you mentioned, but the staff is always offering help to bring the luggage up and down from your room. If going up stairs may be a... More 

Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

This gem of a hotel run by a passionate husband and wife is remarkable. At face value this may look really small to facilitate a luxe stay however once there you realise how intimate and comfortable this hotel is. Had exceptional meals at the jardin- garden restaurant. On a special occasion during the week stay visited the spa and loved... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
LE CALENDAL H, Directeur général at Hotel Spa Le Calendal, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thank you for sharing your comments on Trip Advisor. It is a real pleasure to read that you have enjoyed your stay. The Calendal is located n the city center between the arena and the antic Theater. We have a counter that is open 24h/7 for the customers of the hotel, where we serve homemade sandwiches, salads, soups,... More 

Allentown, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

After a cancelled Air France flight due to the strike we arrived here at 2am & were given a room with stairs although my friend has mobility issues. Luckily (LOL) we had no bags to carry up those stairs as our luggage did not arrive with us. And not for 3 more days. A difficult start. But things improved immediately.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
LE CALENDAL H, Responsable réception at Hotel Spa Le Calendal, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thank you for posting your impressions about the hotel after staying with us. We are happy to read that you have found our staff very friendly and helpful when you arrived. We do are best to make all our customers feel like at home. The hotel is located in the city center between the antic theater and the... More 

Vacaville, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2014

I haven't posted on Trip Advisor before, but I use it so often I thought I should start paying back to help others. We stayed 3 nights and felt this was an awesome location. Staff was superb, food and drink available at the hotel. Beautiful peaceful garden and in the front, bistro tables with views! Conveniently situated in the heart... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
LE CALENDAL H, Responsable réception at Hotel Spa Le Calendal, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thank you very much for you comments that you have just posted on Trip Advisor. It is a pleasure to read that everything satisfied you, the staff, the facilities, the location and the food. As you mentioned the hotel is located in the city center between the antic Theater and the arena. The Calendal’s counter is open 24h/7... More 

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

We stayed for one week in Arles and had a unbelieveable view of the coliseum from our room at the Calendal! Service was impeccable and anything we needed was done with a smile. We also relied on the front desk to help with a car and driver for a one day trip to Isle de la Sorgue and also a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
LE CALENDAL H, Responsable réception at Hotel Spa Le Calendal, responded to this review

Dear guests, We appreciate your comment about the hotel and your stay. As you mentioned we have rooms facing the coliseum, antic Theater, garden view and street view. Thank you for your remark about the service of the hotel, I have informed the staff about your comment. Remarks like that motivate the staff everyday. The front desk is open 24h/7... More 

Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

Beautiful intimate hotel within the old wall and walking streets. Room 29 gives you a patio with chaise long use to enjoy a view out over the gorgeous courtyard. Little cafe on site, amazing breakfast in the morning. Will definitely be back

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
LE CALENDAL H, Responsable réception at Hotel Spa Le Calendal, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thank you for posting your comments about the hotel on Trip Advisor. It is a real pleasure to read that you have enjoyed your stay. Room 29 is a beautiful room with balcony over looking the garden of the hotel while relaxing on the long chairs. All our rooms are different in size, or view, which makes the... More 

Fredericksburg, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014 via mobile

The mosquito problem needs to be taken care of on the grounds. Front desk ladies very helpful and nice. Bath tubs dangerous... Need a bath mat and safety grips. Overall very enjoyable and good food and coffee.

Was this review helpful? Yes
LE CALENDAL H, Responsable réception at Hotel Spa Le Calendal, responded to this review

Dear guests, Thank you for leaving your impressions about our hotel after your stay. Unfortunately, the mosquito problem is a problem for sensitive clientele here in the south of France, especially in the area of The Camargue (natural wildlife Parc with swamps and rice fields just next to ARLES). Also, there are more mosquitoes when the rice fields are cut... More 

Burnt Hills, New York
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

This was the second stop on a bike tour with my wife. The hotel has a fantastic location in the heart of Arles, meters from the arena and antiqua amphitheatre. We were met with an American hostess, who was very helpful in stowing our bicycles (even helped lift them up to a rack), then showed us to our room on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
LE CALENDAL H, Responsable réception at Hotel Spa Le Calendal, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thank you for posting you comments on trip advisor. It is a real pleasure to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us in Arles. As you mentioned the hotel is located in the city center between the antic Theater and the arena, and everything that you wish to visit in the city is in walking distance.... More 

Arizona
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
36 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

We stayed at Le Calendal 2 years ago for one night when we needed lodging for a visit to Pont du Gard and loved it. When we were planning another trip to Europe we decided that a return to Arles and Le Calendal was a priority. We loved it the first time and we loved it again this trip. What... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
LE CALENDAL H, Responsable réception at Hotel Spa Le Calendal, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thank you for posting your comment on trip advisor. We are happy to read that you have enjoyed your second stay with us. The hotel has guests that come from all over the world, as you mentioned backpackers, bike riders, family, individuals…. The hotel has services to satisfy at best as we can all our different customers, that... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Hotel Spa Le Calendal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Spa Le Calendal

Address: 5 rue Porte de Laure, 13200 Arles, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > Bouches-du-Rhone > Arles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Spa Le Calendal 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Spa Le Calendal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Calendal Hotel
Le Calendal Arles
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Arles
#1 Family Hotel in Arles
#2 Romantic Hotel in Arles

255 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (222)
Viewed
View from room (20)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (43)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (69)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (59)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (33)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Other (17)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay