We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Residence de France

5.0 of 5 43, Rue du Minage, 17000 La Rochelle, France
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Residence de France
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Residence de France
Residence de France
Residence de France
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    76
    37
    22
    11
See reviews for
55
90
4
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (201)
  • Mar-May only
    (44)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (77)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (49)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (31)
All months
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

This hotel is literally in the perfect location of La Rochelle. It is a block away from the old market, and it's in the middle of LR's best shopping. It's a 5 minute walk to the port as well as LR's beautiful parks that weave through town. The staff at the hotel are extremely helpful and friendly, and the accommodations... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Northern Ireland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

Loved this place, which when we stayed was quiet, calm, maybe under-occupied. We had what they called an apartment, which was just a nice comfortable hotel room with a bathroom and a fridge/hotplate/microwave combo in an alcove with a decent fan, so cooking smells did not get into the main room. We'd asked for a kettle and they left one... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

I was completely confused when I was reached our room. After a long day's cycle ride I was looking forward to a bit of pampering in a five star hotel as advertised. This was not that. It was a dated three star hotel - decor was a bit 90s with bits of paint flaking off the walls and mismatched furniture.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hazlemere
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

We are a couple on a road trip staying at different cities in 4 or 5 star hotels. This was the worst to of about 11 The room was OK, a bit tatty but on 5th floor and nice vista. But no aircon... It's 29c. There was a fan. It IS centrally located, no more than 10 min walk to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

I wanted a five star hotel and booked this hotel as a treat oft the family, a twin and a double. The hotel is nicely located near the old market place and a large municipal underground car park and a pleasant 10 minute walk from all the action. It's in a nice quiet street with a drive in courtyard to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Eric_Pujos, Propriétaire at Residence de France, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Please let me apologize for not meeting your expectations. Next time we recommend that you check our website before. As you were not sleeping in the 5 stars hotel but in the residence, wich is standard accomodation. Thanks in advance. We wish to welcome you soon. Eric Pujos More 

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

This hotel is close to the centre and within 10 minutes walking distance of the old port. Some rooms are very quiet and some overlook a main street. It is also possible to have a small kitchen area which is handy if you are with young children. The pool is very small and although suitable for young children there are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

My partner and I chose to stay here as it advertised pool and garden and we both really needed to relax from hectic jobs . We were therefore really disappointed . The pool in very small and due to the placement of it in between two tall buildings plus the over grown trees it doesn't get any sun . There... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Eric_Pujos, Propriétaire at Residence de France, responded to this review

Dear sir, thanks for your message. We apologize for the success of our pool ! RESIDENCE DE FRANCE is the central hotel of La Rochelle, urban hotel, and you were probably looking for a more relaxing situation. Our pool is quite small (4 per 7 meters), and sometimes due to families there are kids in the water. Regardind breakfast, we... More 

Bath
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

We stayed 3 nights and found this a quiet and peaceful place. Good location and great building. This is a key feature for us. The communal areas were very good , but a quick lick of white paint to cover the scuff marks would help considerably. The rooms have fans but not a/c. paint flakes off around the window frame... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Poitou-Charentes, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for one night in May for our wedding anniversary.The hotel could not have been better located.We were in the annexe. Although the room was good it was certainly not 5 star. In a 5 star I expect dressing gowns and some little luxuries. Also the car park was full. We took our dog with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Javea, Spain
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

The location is great, walking distance to harbour and shops very close by. On site parking a definate bonus. Our room was big and nicely furnished, but the lack of air con is a big down point, lack of sleep due to the heat taints the memory.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Residence de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence de France

Address: 43, Rue du Minage, 17000 La Rochelle, France
Location: France > Poitou-Charentes > Charente-Maritime > La Rochelle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Residence de France 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence De France Hotel La Rochelle
Residence De France La Rochelle
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in La Rochelle

65 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (44)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay