We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 47 La Rochelle hotels

Residence de France

5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   43, Rue du Minage, 17000 La Rochelle, France
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Residence de France to your Saves list
Residence de France
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
68%
Ranked #26 of 47 hotels in La Rochelle
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
peter v Plymouth, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (184)
  • Photos (64)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (15)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

184 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    52
    68
    34
    20
    10
See reviews for
51
84
4
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (184)
  • Mar-May only
    (44)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (76)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (37)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (27)
All months
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I wanted a five star hotel and booked this hotel as a treat oft the family, a twin and a double. The hotel is nicely located near the old market place and a large municipal underground car park and a pleasant 10 minute walk from all the action. It's in a nice quiet street with a drive in courtyard to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Eric_Pujos, Propriétaire at Residence de France, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Please let me apologize for not meeting your expectations. Next time we recommend that you check our website before. As you were not sleeping in the 5 stars hotel but in the residence, wich is standard accomodation. Thanks in advance. We wish to welcome you soon. Eric Pujos More

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is close to the centre and within 10 minutes walking distance of the old port. Some rooms are very quiet and some overlook a main street. It is also possible to have a small kitchen area which is handy if you are with young children. The pool is very small and although suitable for young children there are... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My partner and I chose to stay here as it advertised pool and garden and we both really needed to relax from hectic jobs . We were therefore really disappointed . The pool in very small and due to the placement of it in between two tall buildings plus the over grown trees it doesn't get any sun . There... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Eric_Pujos, Propriétaire at Residence de France, responded to this review

Dear sir, thanks for your message. We apologize for the success of our pool ! RESIDENCE DE FRANCE is the central hotel of La Rochelle, urban hotel, and you were probably looking for a more relaxing situation. Our pool is quite small (4 per 7 meters), and sometimes due to families there are kids in the water. Regardind breakfast, we... More

Bath
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed 3 nights and found this a quiet and peaceful place. Good location and great building. This is a key feature for us. The communal areas were very good , but a quick lick of white paint to cover the scuff marks would help considerably. The rooms have fans but not a/c. paint flakes off around the window frame... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Poitou-Charentes, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed here for one night in May for our wedding anniversary.The hotel could not have been better located.We were in the annexe. Although the room was good it was certainly not 5 star. In a 5 star I expect dressing gowns and some little luxuries. Also the car park was full. We took our dog with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Javea, Spain
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

The location is great, walking distance to harbour and shops very close by. On site parking a definate bonus. Our room was big and nicely furnished, but the lack of air con is a big down point, lack of sleep due to the heat taints the memory.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
19 hotel reviews
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

From the start this place was quite promising but went rapidly downhill from the moment we saw our room. No air conditioning, or even a hair dryer and generally shabby, in need of redecoration. There were also dirty footprints in the corridor and even a wheelbarrow as they were doing worlds, not even an apology. Staff were also disinterested, hard... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

good location next to a local market and 7 minute walk from the habor. Good choice for drivers because it is nearly impossible to find a parking spot in this city and this hotel has parking offered for 10 Euro a night. We had one of the bigger rooms and which more than comfortable for 2 people. Staff was very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Eric_Pujos, Propriétaire at Residence de France, responded to this review

Thank you dear Jason, Your comment is very helpful for us, and drivers ! Have a safe way home and please be welcome whenever you want. Kind regards. More

andorra
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

why no restaurant in the evening Picked this hotel as it is part of an upmarket brand. Car park under the hotel which is very good, lovely spacious room and bathroom. Excellent bar and lounge area, close to the market square ( had the best oysters ever served from a stall on Friday).5 mins from the harbour. Breakfast is fine... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Eric_Pujos, Propriétaire at Residence de France, responded to this review

Dear Sir, We apologize for not serving dinner on the evening you spent in our place. We usually do. We will sort this out and get back to you on this matter. very best regards. Eric Pujos More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Myself and my mum stayed her for four nights in a self catering room. It was very basic but really clean. The rooms were cleaned daily and towels replaced. The room and en suite were quite spacious. The staff were really friendly and helpful! They spoke great English and were always happy to help. Didn't eat in the hotel but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Eric_Pujos, Propriétaire at Residence de France, responded to this review

Dear Ing91, thank you very much for your comments. We are planning to upgrade the self catering appartments, and your comments will be very useful to us. The lock has been checked. It's ok now; Please tell your Mum we apologize for that. You're very welcome. Kind regards. Eric Pujos More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Residence de France, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Residence de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence de France

Address: 43, Rue du Minage, 17000 La Rochelle, France
Location: France > Poitou-Charentes > Charente-Maritime > La Rochelle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Residence de France 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotel.de, Otel and Venere so you can book your Residence de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence De France Hotel La Rochelle
Residence De France La Rochelle

64 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (44)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in La Rochelle with
any amenities

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#6 Luxury Hotel in La Rochelle
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Charming boutique hotel in the historical town center of La Rochelle. 5 Rooms and 11 Suites.Restaurant, bar, heated swimming pool, parking, free wifi, reception 24/24, meeting rooms, garden ... more   less 
Number of rooms
16

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Residence de France staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer