We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Residence de France

43, Rue du Minage, 17000 La Rochelle, France
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Residence de France
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Residence de France
Residence de France
Residence de France
Add Photo Write a Review

221 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    59
    88
    39
    22
    13
See reviews for
63
96
4
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (221)
  • Mar-May only
    (56)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (83)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (49)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (33)
All months
Benahavis
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stopped at La Rochelle on our journey south. We were originally given an apartment in the new building ( which must be 50 years old ) several things were wrong so we moved to the hotel proper at a small increase in cost. This was really nice and spacious and much better value. The staff wee so helpfull in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2015

Have just returned from a 3 night stay in La Residence, great staff, clean accommodation, kitchenette ideal for short stays, adequately equipped. Surprised the provision was there for toiletries and fresh towels/bed linen especially as this is a self catering establishment. Very close to harbour, shops, restaurants with great helpful staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eric_Pujos, Responsable relations clients at Residence de France, responded to this review

Dear Pam, thank you so much for you good comment. It was a pleasure welcoming you and your family. We always give the provision for toiletries, towels, bed linen etc. as we are also a hotel and wish your stay to be as good as possible. Please be welcome whenever you want and recommand us to your relatives ! Kind... More 

Cork
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2015

We drove from Ireland to La Rochelle and parked in the hotel carpark and were able to walk everywhere. It is very central, 5 minutes walk to the port, to excellent resturants and shopping. We found the staff lovely and the hotel suite great. We were lucky as a replica of the French navy frigate L'Hermione that brought General Lafayette... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eric_Pujos, Responsable relations clients at Residence de France, responded to this review

Dear intv, Thank you so much for your kind comment. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your holidays and had a safe way home. Please be welcome again anytime it was a pleasure. Very best regards. Eric Pujos More 

Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

This hotel is literally in the perfect location of La Rochelle. It is a block away from the old market, and it's in the middle of LR's best shopping. It's a 5 minute walk to the port as well as LR's beautiful parks that weave through town. The staff at the hotel are extremely helpful and friendly, and the accommodations... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

Loved this place, which when we stayed was quiet, calm, maybe under-occupied. We had what they called an apartment, which was just a nice comfortable hotel room with a bathroom and a fridge/hotplate/microwave combo in an alcove with a decent fan, so cooking smells did not get into the main room. We'd asked for a kettle and they left one... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

I was completely confused when I was reached our room. After a long day's cycle ride I was looking forward to a bit of pampering in a five star hotel as advertised. This was not that. It was a dated three star hotel - decor was a bit 90s with bits of paint flaking off the walls and mismatched furniture.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hazlemere
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

We are a couple on a road trip staying at different cities in 4 or 5 star hotels. This was the worst to of about 11 The room was OK, a bit tatty but on 5th floor and nice vista. But no aircon... It's 29c. There was a fan. It IS centrally located, no more than 10 min walk to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2

Travelers are raving about these La Rochelle hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

I wanted a five star hotel and booked this hotel as a treat oft the family, a twin and a double. The hotel is nicely located near the old market place and a large municipal underground car park and a pleasant 10 minute walk from all the action. It's in a nice quiet street with a drive in courtyard to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Eric_Pujos, Propriétaire at Residence de France, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Please let me apologize for not meeting your expectations. Next time we recommend that you check our website before. As you were not sleeping in the 5 stars hotel but in the residence, wich is standard accomodation. Thanks in advance. We wish to welcome you soon. Eric Pujos More 

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

This hotel is close to the centre and within 10 minutes walking distance of the old port. Some rooms are very quiet and some overlook a main street. It is also possible to have a small kitchen area which is handy if you are with young children. The pool is very small and although suitable for young children there are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

My partner and I chose to stay here as it advertised pool and garden and we both really needed to relax from hectic jobs . We were therefore really disappointed . The pool in very small and due to the placement of it in between two tall buildings plus the over grown trees it doesn't get any sun . There... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Eric_Pujos, Propriétaire at Residence de France, responded to this review

Dear sir, thanks for your message. We apologize for the success of our pool ! RESIDENCE DE FRANCE is the central hotel of La Rochelle, urban hotel, and you were probably looking for a more relaxing situation. Our pool is quite small (4 per 7 meters), and sometimes due to families there are kids in the water. Regardind breakfast, we... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

74 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (53)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay