We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 47 La Rochelle hotels

Mercure La Rochelle Vieux Port Sud

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Quai Louis Prunier, 17000 La Rochelle, France
Hotel amenities
Mercure La Rochelle Vieux Port Sud
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure La Rochelle Vieux Port Sud to your Saves list
Ranked #21 of 47 Hotels in La Rochelle
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014
Cheryl R Angles, France
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    186
    90
    23
    8
See reviews for
38
206
40
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (380)
  • Mar-May only
    (69)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (173)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (103)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (35)
All months
Angles, France
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

We stayed for one night and already knew La Rochelle very well. The location of the hotel is excellent - it overlooks the port and there's a free carpark onsite. It's a short walk to the bars, restaurants and shops and right next door to the Aquarium. We arrived early and asked when the room would be ready. To our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Meyssac, France
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014

Stayed at the Mecure for 3 days, Hotel was easy to find and perfect 'free' on sight parking. Rooms quite small but then again quite usual for France but perfectly adequate for a few days stay, very clean and comfortable. Easy and quick walk to numerous restaurants and shopping areas and the Aquarium is right next door. Saturday nights are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Stone, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

Easy to find, good car parking, friendly and helpful staff. The rooms are listed as "cabin style" and they are small like the cabins on a ship, although perfectly adequate. The only complaint was the sand that came out of the taps with the bath water. Very strange!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Martock, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2014

I have limited mobility and depend on my car on holiday. Here I had secure parking and info from helpful staff that meant I could use frequent bus service shuttling to and from the town and places of interest. They even pointed us to the 'Yellow bike rental' where they also rent wheelchairs at ridiculously low charge (2hrs. free, then... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bremen
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2014

Stayed for one night in a double room and everything went smoothly. The break-fast was very good and we loved the location. Parking was easy and we could even stay for a few hours more since we wanted to visit the aquarium next door. Nice room, comfortable beds and easy checking in and out. Thank you!

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Amersham
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
44 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2014

Fabulous hotel. Situated a flat five minute walk from the town. Plenty of free, flat parking. Hotel has good sized lifts leading to well proportioned spacious rooms with bath, shower over, hairdryer, safe, mini bar and tea making facilities. Unfortunately our room on the second floor was one step too far from the wifi hub and the connections were so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Bournemouth
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014

We stayed here for two nights on a bed & breakfast deal. Booked directly on the Accor website. Its a good location. A wee bit difficult to find without a GPS but no probelm with one. Opposte the port and within walking distance of all of the centre of La Rochelle. Loads of restaurants within 10 minutes walk. Too many... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Elisabeth G, Responsable relations publiques at Mercure La Rochelle Vieux Port Sud, responded to this review

Thank you for your mail and are very pleased that your stay will leave such a pleasant memory. Hope to see you again on the Rochelle. Kind regards. Frédéric More 

Esher
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

Comfortable clean hotel with free parking. Very helpful staff who speak English a lot better than my French! We spent a week there and walked everywhere from the hotel, it's location being so central.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Elisabeth G, Responsable relations clients at Mercure La Rochelle Vieux Port Sud, responded to this review

Thank you for your post. I am delighted that your stay you have more, and I send congratulations to the teams when their courtesy. Frederick. More 

Lacock, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2014 via mobile

Although the hotel was located within 5 min walk of the harbour bars and restaurants our room was disappointing and not up to 4 star standards. Bathroom was a very poorly designed wet room type - leaving the floor flooded after a shower and having to 'paddle' to the toilet! Beds were small and uncomfortable. Towels were very thin and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Elisabeth G, Responsable relations clients at Mercure La Rochelle Vieux Port Sud, responded to this review

'm really sorry that you were disappointed with your stay. However, I can assure you that a standards provided by the hotel meets four-star standards. The rooms are designed in a spirit ected 'ship's cabin "and I think in terms of water, you may be in a room for disabled guests. Do not hesitate on another trip in our area... More 

Portadown
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2014

Great location for visit to La Rochelle right beside Aquarium and port. Excellent staff in Hotel always willing to assist. Very clean rooms with good size bathroom. Breakfast is also good especially sitting outside looking over port and town.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Elisabeth G, Responsable relations publiques at Mercure La Rochelle Vieux Port Sud, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your return. I will send our teams to your satisfaction when their proffessionalisme. It is true that the product is not everything, and the terrace setting up this year could rob many of our guests with a back end that made everyone happy. Hope to see you again very soon. Kind regards. Frederick. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Mercure La Rochelle Vieux Port Sud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure La Rochelle Vieux Port Sud

Address: Quai Louis Prunier, 17000 La Rochelle, France
Location: France > Poitou-Charentes > Charente-Maritime > La Rochelle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure La Rochelle Vieux Port Sud 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, ACCOR and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mercure La Rochelle Vieux Port Sud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure La Rochelle Vieux Port Sud Hotel La Rochelle
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in La Rochelle
#7 On the Beach Hotel in La Rochelle

60 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (51)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay