We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 47 La Rochelle hotels

Le Yachtman

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   23, quai Valin | Vieux Port Centre, 17000 La Rochelle, France
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Le Yachtman to your Saves list
Le Yachtman
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
74%
Ranked #15 of 47 hotels in La Rochelle
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
casKent kent
  • Overview
  • Reviews (107)
  • Photos (57)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (18)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

107 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    54
    21
    6
    0
See reviews for
10
63
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
kent
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We stayed at the hotel for 4 nights from the 15th August. Our room was on the 5th floor and we had a lovely view across the roof tops to the Sea in the distance. The room was very comfortable, quiet and clean. The breakfast was good , bot we did feel that the freshly squeezed orange was rationed as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Le Yachtman L, Directeur général at Le Yachtman, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We thank you for choosing The Yachtman for your stay at La Rochelle, we also warmly thank you for this positive review with a tip inside. Indeed we we keep away the squeezed orange juice because we had some bad experiences leaving it on the buffet (I would tell you in details whenever you will be back in... More

Hampshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Upon arrival I immediately noticed how modern and airy the reception area was. The receptionist spoke brilliant English. 1st gripe - we arrived at 2pm and our room was NOT ready :( I had noticed throughout the wk that other people were waiting for their rooms up until 4pm !! It was our wedding anniversary so they had dropped rose... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Le Yachtman L, Directeur général at Le Yachtman, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We thank you for your review and we wish you again a happy anniversary. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and our city. We could make those little attention in your room because you had the good idea to tell us about this event through Facebook. We are quite surprise of your comment regarding the cleaning... More

Derby
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a great stay at the hotel. Like another reviewer we were disappointed on arrival The room was a bit shabby and the carpet badly stained but clean. Once the refurbishment is done this hotel will be a true gem We had a pool view room. I'm sure a view of the port would be great but there are... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Le Yachtman L, Directeur général at Le Yachtman, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We have been really pleased to welcome you, and thank you for this review. We are glad that you enjoyed our place especially thanks to our hospilaty minded "crew", despite of our rooms a bit tired. We hope to welcome you back soon in a refurbished hotel which might be as you say, a true gem in the... More

surrey
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We spent 2 nights here in June. On arrival reception area was nice and staff very friendly and helpful. We got to our room and my heart sank though. I had booked this break for a surprise for my husband birthday. The room was very dated and although it felt clean, the carpet was covered in marks and looked horrendous.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Le Yachtman L, Directeur général at Le Yachtman, responded to this review

Very dears guest, We are really sorry that you did not enjoyed your stay as expected. We are pleased that you recognize our high level of guest consideration and the cleaness of rooms despite their old age. We quite agree with you when saying that there is a missed potential, we are working on it with a refurbishment project. Best... More

Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

I stayed here at the end of May and am returning for two nights in aug. The room i had was quiet and comfortable. This is a 3 star hotel.some of your reviewers expect too much.the dining room is charming and spacious with a good choice of breakfast. I coulldnt find stewed prunes for the elderly. I go back here... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Le Yachtman L, Directeur général at Le Yachtman, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We really thank for your appreciation and your loyalty. It is pleasant to read such sensed comment. We will be very pleased to welcome you back and we hope that you will enjoy our swimming pool and the little changes in the breakfast offer. Best regards - Hotel Management More

Saffron Walden
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

I stayed here with a group of friends for three nights last week.The staff were helpful and friendly and the location was good.However the rooms were poor. They are very tatty and in need of refurbishment.The carpets in particular are appalling, discoloured and sticky. Breakfast was pleasant but is at an extra cost which makes it quite an expensive hotel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Le Yachtman L, Directeur général at Le Yachtman, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We thank you staying at our place and for sharing your point of view. Even if we do not understand/appreciate the "Grotman" description in the title, we agree that a refurbishment of the rooms is becoming necessary what is currently getting planned by the owner. However we thank you for recognizing the good points too, in a word... More

England
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

We had a lovely week in the Yachtman, our room 105, with a small balcony overlookinhg the pool was a great choice from a previous review. Staff were attentive and very helpful giving advice in "English" fortunately !! about places to visit etc. The Hotel is very central with beautiful views towards the harbour/marina the two historic towers and lighthouse.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Le Yachtman L, Directeur général at Le Yachtman, responded to this review

Dear John, We have been very pleased to have you staying at our place for a week and enjoyed a lot our conversations. We warmly thank you for this positive comment the whole staff is always pleased to read such encouragements. Also we are glad that you became a real ambassador for our lovely city, your tips should be really... More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Great hotel with a great location the family room was very clean and comfortable not much of a view but around the back of hotel very quiet . Breakfast there was a good choice and the staff very helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Le Yachtman L, Directeur général at Le Yachtman, responded to this review

Dear guest, We have been glad to welcome you, and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay, our family room and of course the heated pool. The whole staff is gratefull to you for this positive comments. We whishe a verry happy Christmas and would be pleased to welcome you back at any time. Hotel Management More

Broome, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel in an awesome location. Stayed 3 nights and loved the place. We found the best pizzeria in all of Europe at La Albatross in the old city which is a 3min walk from the hotel. Staff were great receptionist Marie-Claire (I think) was wonderful. Room was modest but comfortable with a huge bath that was welcomed after a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Le Yachtman L, Directeur général at Le Yachtman, responded to this review

Dear Alan, We warmly thank you for your positive comment. We are glad that you enjoyed our place & city. We agree with you about homeless people in the streets even if they are not agressive it might become a problem for inhabitants and tourist. We already warn the authorities about it and hope they will quiclky deal with this... More

OBAN
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We walked into this hotel and asked for two rooms for one night [Tuesday 26th.August 2013]. The lady receptionist was so welcoming to my partner and two young daughters. We had a choice of rooms including advice on where the best location in the hotel would suit us. we opted for two ground floor rooms at the rear, overlooking the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Le Yachtman L, Directeur général at Le Yachtman, responded to this review

Dear guest, We have been pleased to welcome you, and we really thank you for such positives and encouraging comments. We are proud of our old-fashionned manners, indeed good & basics things should remain strongly present in the way of doing our job. We daily try to keep smiling, advising, being polite, actually everything that place the guest relationship into... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Le Yachtman, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Le Yachtman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Yachtman

Address: 23, quai Valin | Vieux Port Centre, 17000 La Rochelle, France
Location: France > Poitou-Charentes > Charente-Maritime > La Rochelle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Yachtman 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotel.de and Venere so you can book your Le Yachtman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Yachtman La Rochelle

57 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (41)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in La Rochelle with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style
#10 Romantic Hotel in La Rochelle
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the heart of the city of La Rochelle, The Yachtman Hotel is the ideal departure point to sail away.Only a few steps away, you will find the Aquarium, The Towers of La Rochelle, its fancy "Old Port" and its historical center.With its close proximity to the train Station (500 meters) as well as most points of interest in the city, The Yachtman Hotel is the obvious place to stay for a cruise on land.The Yachtman Hotel and its crew will be glad to have you discovering our treasures such as the heated swimming pool and its patio, or the generous continental breakfast served in-room or in the breakfast room facing the sailing boats in the Old port.Of course we offer free Wi-Fi connection and we do have some parking places available on request. Welcome on board. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
44

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Le Yachtman staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer