We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Le Yachtman

3.0 of 5 23, quai Valin | Vieux Port Centre, 17000 La Rochelle, France
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Le Yachtman
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Le Yachtman
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    64
    26
    7
    0
See reviews for
13
76
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (124)
  • Mar-May only
    (23)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (58)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (36)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (7)
All months
Ireland
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
57 hotel reviews
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The staff were very friendly and very helpful and the location excellent for visiting the old town and the picturesque port. Our room, was clean, tidy and reasonably comfortable but overall, only acceptable as it is in need of refurbishment. It overlooked the pool which was in the centre of the high hotel building and seemed to escape the sun... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Le Yachtman L, Directeur général at Le Yachtman, responded to this review

Dear guest, Dia dhuit We have been pleased to welcome you, and we thank you for your review. We agree with you about the need of refurbishment, indeed it's our major concern today and it will most probably take place next year. However we are glad that you enjoyed our strenght such as our staff, location and breakfast. Best regards... More

St Agnes, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

The view from our room was fabulous overlooking the harbour area. Our room was clean and spacious and comfortable - and there was a pool in the centre of old La Rochelle!. This hotel is perfectly placed to explore old La Rochelle and enjoy the harbour and restaurant area. The staff are friendly and helpful and the breakfast worth getting... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Le Yachtman L, Directeur général at Le Yachtman, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We warmly thank you for your preference and of course for this positive review. That is true that this category of room is particulary enjoyable: large and witj a spectular view over the old harbour. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in our lovely city of La Rochelle and will be pleased to welcome you back.... More

Westbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

We stayed overnight in La Rochelle and wanted to be close to the harbour and old town. Very well situated overlooking the inner harbour, the hotel was clean, the staff very friendly and helpful, the local food excellent and the shopping very good. An excellent breakfast all for an acceptable price. Very pleased.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Le Yachtman L, Directeur général at Le Yachtman, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We warmly thank you for choosing the Yachtman Hotel and for your positive review. We are happy that you enjoyed both, our lovely city and your stay at ou place. We would be pleased to welcome you back at anytime. Regards - Hotel Management More

kent
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

We stayed at the hotel for 4 nights from the 15th August. Our room was on the 5th floor and we had a lovely view across the roof tops to the Sea in the distance. The room was very comfortable, quiet and clean. The breakfast was good , bot we did feel that the freshly squeezed orange was rationed as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Le Yachtman L, Directeur général at Le Yachtman, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We thank you for choosing The Yachtman for your stay at La Rochelle, we also warmly thank you for this positive review with a tip inside. Indeed we we keep away the squeezed orange juice because we had some bad experiences leaving it on the buffet (I would tell you in details whenever you will be back in... More

Hampshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Upon arrival I immediately noticed how modern and airy the reception area was. The receptionist spoke brilliant English. 1st gripe - we arrived at 2pm and our room was NOT ready :( I had noticed throughout the wk that other people were waiting for their rooms up until 4pm !! It was our wedding anniversary so they had dropped rose... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Le Yachtman L, Directeur général at Le Yachtman, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We thank you for your review and we wish you again a happy anniversary. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and our city. We could make those little attention in your room because you had the good idea to tell us about this event through Facebook. We are quite surprise of your comment regarding the cleaning... More

Derby
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

We had a great stay at the hotel. Like another reviewer we were disappointed on arrival The room was a bit shabby and the carpet badly stained but clean. Once the refurbishment is done this hotel will be a true gem We had a pool view room. I'm sure a view of the port would be great but there are... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Le Yachtman L, Directeur général at Le Yachtman, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We have been really pleased to welcome you, and thank you for this review. We are glad that you enjoyed our place especially thanks to our hospilaty minded "crew", despite of our rooms a bit tired. We hope to welcome you back soon in a refurbished hotel which might be as you say, a true gem in the... More

surrey
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

We spent 2 nights here in June. On arrival reception area was nice and staff very friendly and helpful. We got to our room and my heart sank though. I had booked this break for a surprise for my husband birthday. The room was very dated and although it felt clean, the carpet was covered in marks and looked horrendous.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Le Yachtman L, Directeur général at Le Yachtman, responded to this review

Very dears guest, We are really sorry that you did not enjoyed your stay as expected. We are pleased that you recognize our high level of guest consideration and the cleaness of rooms despite their old age. We quite agree with you when saying that there is a missed potential, we are working on it with a refurbishment project. Best... More

Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

I stayed here at the end of May and am returning for two nights in aug. The room i had was quiet and comfortable. This is a 3 star hotel.some of your reviewers expect too much.the dining room is charming and spacious with a good choice of breakfast. I coulldnt find stewed prunes for the elderly. I go back here... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Le Yachtman L, Directeur général at Le Yachtman, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We really thank for your appreciation and your loyalty. It is pleasant to read such sensed comment. We will be very pleased to welcome you back and we hope that you will enjoy our swimming pool and the little changes in the breakfast offer. Best regards - Hotel Management More

Saffron Walden
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

I stayed here with a group of friends for three nights last week.The staff were helpful and friendly and the location was good.However the rooms were poor. They are very tatty and in need of refurbishment.The carpets in particular are appalling, discoloured and sticky. Breakfast was pleasant but is at an extra cost which makes it quite an expensive hotel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Le Yachtman L, Directeur général at Le Yachtman, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We thank you staying at our place and for sharing your point of view. Even if we do not understand/appreciate the "Grotman" description in the title, we agree that a refurbishment of the rooms is becoming necessary what is currently getting planned by the owner. However we thank you for recognizing the good points too, in a word... More

England
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

We had a lovely week in the Yachtman, our room 105, with a small balcony overlookinhg the pool was a great choice from a previous review. Staff were attentive and very helpful giving advice in "English" fortunately !! about places to visit etc. The Hotel is very central with beautiful views towards the harbour/marina the two historic towers and lighthouse.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Le Yachtman L, Directeur général at Le Yachtman, responded to this review

Dear John, We have been very pleased to have you staying at our place for a week and enjoyed a lot our conversations. We warmly thank you for this positive comment the whole staff is always pleased to read such encouragements. Also we are glad that you became a real ambassador for our lovely city, your tips should be really... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Le Yachtman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Yachtman

Address: 23, quai Valin | Vieux Port Centre, 17000 La Rochelle, France
Location: France > Poitou-Charentes > Charente-Maritime > La Rochelle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Yachtman 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Le Yachtman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Yachtman La Rochelle

57 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (41)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay