We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mercure Bords de Loire Saumur

#9 of 27 Hotels in Saumur
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
1 Rue du Vieux Pont, 49400 Saumur, France
Special Offer
2 nights = up to 40% off
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mercure Bords de Loire Saumur
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Mercure Bords de Loire Saumur
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    204
    50
    11
    5
See reviews for
59
249
14
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (419)
  • Mar-May only
    (101)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (161)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (114)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (43)
All months
Jersey, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Passing through Samur we stayed one night but would be happy to stay in this hotel for seven nights. Large rooms, clean, friendly staff, good breakfast, and luck enough to get a river view. If you are staying and like to lounge around then book a executive room with a balcony, they only have a couple but the views are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed two nights. Ideal location for walking over the bridge into Saumur. The breakfast room has a lovely view over the river. There is some parking to the front of the hotel. We would definitely recommend this hotel for a stay in Saumur and would return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
St. Helier, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2015

Good location on the banks of the Loire river. Our bedroom had beautiful views across the river to the town and the chateau. Breakfast was included with our deal and we were very happy with the quality of the food on offer.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Winchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2015

A pleasant hotel with a good location on the banks of the Loire with views accross the river to the town and chateau. The town is 10 minutes walk with a range of resturants. As you would expect with a hotel of this standard the rooms are comfortable and adequately equipped, parking is available in a (pay) garage althougth when... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
6648, Responsable relations publiques at Mercure Bords de Loire Saumur, responded to this review

Dear Madam, Mister, Thank you for your comment about your holiday in Saumur. The hotel is recently renovated to offer you a comfortable and pleasant stay. Each room has a courtesy tray to make you feel at home with a cup of tea or coffee. New hign-quality mattresses assure your night rest. Numerous free parking spaces are available, as well... More 

West Sussex, UK
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

This hotel has some similarities with a UK Premier Inn. Since we booked through Brittany Ferries we cannot fully judge 'value for money'. Rooms were smaller than Premier Inns and the standard rooms have no view despite the riverside location. Car parking is not as easy as the hotel literature suggests and, if wishing to leave luggage in the car,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
6648, Directeur général at Mercure Bords de Loire Saumur, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Thank you for your comment. What a pity you have no time to bother to send us your comments during your stay! You did not bother to contact the hotline direct quality that could have quickly meet your expectations. My reception team would also have been quite you be of great use when you leave. What a pity!... More 

Wales, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in October. Room was really nicely decorated and spacious. We did not try the breakfast as I think to pay 14 euros for breakfast per person is quite pricey. Better to go down the centre and visit one of the cafes or boulangerie. The only issue we had was the TV. There was no... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
6648, Directeur général at Mercure Bords de Loire Saumur, responded to this review

Dear Thank you for your comment which allows us to better understand your expectations. Let me answer some erroneous statements. The price of the breakfast is quite justified. Wherever our colleagues offer the same service for 16 € or 18 €, we offer the € 14.50. Do not compare a breakfast at a cafe terrace in the fresh gas exhaust... More 

Godalming, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2014

We had reserved a room overlooking the river and were not disappointed. Up to date furnishings and a very nice bathroom with enough space to put your things as well as a separate toilet. The staff were very helpful and the wi fi worked fine. The lack of a restaurant was not a problem as it was a short a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
6648, Directeur général at Mercure Bords de Loire Saumur, responded to this review

Dear Thank you for your comment. Our unique location offers a different show every day. We offer complimentary full American breakfast costs € 14.50 / person and or express and co 8 € / pers allow you to enjoy a beautiful view. We hope to welcome you again in Saumur our latest renovations. sincerely Mr R BERTRAND More 

Market Deeping, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

An overpriced small hotel which obviously relies on the views across the Loire River to the town of Saumur. The reception staff were offhand, the supposed secure parking was in a piece of wasteland 100 yards from the hotel with a lockable barrier across the entrance. The room was small and even the bathroom door could not be opened fully... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
6648, Directeur général at Mercure Bords de Loire Saumur, responded to this review

Sir, Thank you for your comment, which allows us to continuously improve. I would like some clarification about the information that you mentioned. About my reception team, I am surprised by your criticism even though we are at your absolute service times and we attach great importance to your well-being and your home. However, remembering your very condescending attitude when... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

139 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (76)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
View from room (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (63)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities