We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Grand Hotel de Nantes

2 bis rue Santeuil, 44000 Nantes, France
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Grand Hotel de Nantes
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

214 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    46
    107
    36
    17
    8
See reviews for
36
69
25
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (214)
  • Mar-May only
    (56)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (87)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (34)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (37)
All months
Paris, France
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Positive Staff is lovely and helpful, very attentive to customer. Bed was good Ideal location in the city centre and near to tramway station good value for money Negative Room was small Bathroom was very small and old. Breakfast is quite expensive compared to its quality No easy and/or cheap parking possibility, access to the hotel is possible with vehicle... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
audreywitczak, Responsable réception at Grand Hotel de Nantes, responded to this review

Dear customer, We thank you for the constructive comments and are delighted to learn that you spend a pleasant stay. On the negative side, I wish to inform you that the renovations will begin soon. Our breakfast is the cheapest 2 star hotels downtown. We have invested in coffee machines and successful juice quie give you a much better quality... More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This hotel is in a fantastic location. It has lovely, clean rooms and extremely helpful staff (who went to real trouble to store our bikes and luggage). The breakfast was good. In short this is a super hotel in a really lovely city and is unbeatable for the price. We will definitely stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
audreywitczak, Responsable réception at Grand Hotel de Nantes, responded to this review
Google Translation

Cher client, Merci d'avoir partagé votre avis avec nos futurs clients. Ce fut un plaisir de vous accueillir au sein... More 

Herceg-Novi, Montenegro
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2015

The best thing about this hotel is its location, otherwise the place is somewhere between average and poor: old furniture, no conditioner, VERY noisy at night - there are a lot of bars nearby and you cannot close the window because of the heat, very noisy in the morning as some cleaning machines start to work along pedestrian streets. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
audreywitczak, Responsable réception at Grand Hotel de Nantes, responded to this review

Dear Mrs. MORRAY, I am truly sorry to hear that we have not lived up to your expectations. However I would go back to what you say. The renovations are soon started indeed and as you may have noticed, the hotel has reached the end of cycle and we are aware of this. About parking, it's true that we haven't... More 

plymouth, UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2015

Stopped on a cycling tour, no hassle storing the bikes in the cellar. The location is very good right in the middle of town. A little Noisy outside during the night due to local bars but very good value for money. Staff very attentive and friendly, will stay again

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jean Claude H, Propriétaire at Grand Hotel de Nantes, responded to this review

Dear Madam, Thank you very much to share your opinion. it was a pleasure to welcome you see you very soon Audrey, First Reception 02 40 73 46 68 More 

Maldon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014 via mobile

Great city centre location. Staff welcoming and helpful. Room clean and well presented,although no hair dryer,and a bit noisy but learning to accept that in city locations. No parking close to the hotel which could be a problem for people with limited mobility. There are plenty of public car parks in the city and the Commerce one seemed be the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jean Claude H, Propriétaire at Grand Hotel de Nantes, responded to this review

Dear Customer, We are happy to have you fully satisfied during your stay. The location of the hotel and the professionalism of the team are the strengths of our institution. You have, of course, a hairdryer on request at reception. It is free and we have several and different brands. Finally, the parking “commerce” (public parking) is 50 meters from... More 

Birkenau, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

pretty good location in the centre of the city - next to the opera; good breakfast in a lovely atmosphere; very friendly and helpful staff - we can really recommend a stay in this hotel in the city of Nantes!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jean Claude H, Propriétaire at Grand Hotel de Nantes, responded to this review

Dear Customer, At first, thank you for sharing your opinions with our readers, they are essential to the functioning of the team. We are pleased to have been entirely satisfactory. It was a pleasure to welcome you. Like the location of the hotel and the professionalism of our team so we hope to see you soon. See you soon. Jean... More 

København, Danmark
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We arrived on our 4 bicycles, which was stored safely in the basement of the hotel without any further payment. When one of us sadly crashed a lamp, the reaction from the staff was a smile. Rooms were nice and clean, and the breakfast good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jean Claude H, Propriétaire at Grand Hotel de Nantes, responded to this review

Dear Customer, Thank you to have chosen the Grand Hotel to stay in Nantes in June 2014. We were happy to welcome you. We don’t charge hosting the bike because it is a step towards ecology. We are constantly in search of environment protection. You may have noticed that our rooms are also equipped with low consumption bulbs and bathrooms... More 

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

I stayed at this hotel in Nantes for a few days and found it to be a great experience. The manager at the hotel was very helpful during the stay and couldn't do enough for me. I had a very restful experience and despite being in the centre of the town. The location was a fantastic base for looking around... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

I stayed at this property for eight days at the end of January. Aside from the sick and screaming child, terrible weather and constant noise outside the hotel - none of which I can blame the hotel for - I would also be most grateful if you would avoid this hotel unless you are prepared to deal with that most... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jean Claude H, Gérant at Grand Hotel de Nantes, responded to this review

Dear Colin D Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of our hotel. I am sorry that our modest 2 stars hotel did not meet the level of quality to which you are accustomed. Indeed, in browsing the opinions that you have written on TripAdvisor, I was very impressed by the number you have left about palaces... More 

Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

The hotel is very easy to reach from the train station, and within walking distance of the buzzing Bouffay district and most sights. We stayed in the family room (1 double, 2 single beds) on the first floor, facing out onto the street. We slept with the window open, and didn´t find it noisy. Yes, the space in the room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

28 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (25)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nantes hotels
Amiral Hotel
#15 of 102 in Nantes
4.0 of 5 stars 256 reviews
Graslin - Commerce
Hotel Pommeraye
Hotel Pommeraye
#6 of 102 in Nantes
4.5 of 5 stars 407 reviews
Hotel Voltaire Opera
#7 of 102 in Nantes
4.5 of 5 stars 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Graslin - Commerce
Oceania Hotel de France
Oceania Hotel de France
#3 of 102 in Nantes
4.5 of 5 stars 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay