We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Grand Hotel de Nantes

2 bis rue Santeuil, 44000 Nantes, France
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Hotel de Nantes
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Grand Hotel de Nantes
Grand Hotel de Nantes
Grand Hotel de Nantes
Add Photo Write a Review

181 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    41
    90
    28
    15
    7
See reviews for
27
58
21
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (181)
  • Mar-May only
    (56)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (58)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (30)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (37)
All months
plymouth, UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stopped on a cycling tour, no hassle storing the bikes in the cellar. The location is very good right in the middle of town. A little Noisy outside during the night due to local bars but very good value for money. Staff very attentive and friendly, will stay again

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jean Claude H, Propriétaire at Grand Hotel de Nantes, responded to this review

Dear Madam, Thank you very much to share your opinion. it was a pleasure to welcome you see you very soon Audrey, First Reception 02 40 73 46 68 More 

Maldon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014 via mobile

Great city centre location. Staff welcoming and helpful. Room clean and well presented,although no hair dryer,and a bit noisy but learning to accept that in city locations. No parking close to the hotel which could be a problem for people with limited mobility. There are plenty of public car parks in the city and the Commerce one seemed be the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jean Claude H, Propriétaire at Grand Hotel de Nantes, responded to this review

Dear Customer, We are happy to have you fully satisfied during your stay. The location of the hotel and the professionalism of the team are the strengths of our institution. You have, of course, a hairdryer on request at reception. It is free and we have several and different brands. Finally, the parking “commerce” (public parking) is 50 meters from... More 

Birkenau, Germany
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

pretty good location in the centre of the city - next to the opera; good breakfast in a lovely atmosphere; very friendly and helpful staff - we can really recommend a stay in this hotel in the city of Nantes!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jean Claude H, Propriétaire at Grand Hotel de Nantes, responded to this review

Dear Customer, At first, thank you for sharing your opinions with our readers, they are essential to the functioning of the team. We are pleased to have been entirely satisfactory. It was a pleasure to welcome you. Like the location of the hotel and the professionalism of our team so we hope to see you soon. See you soon. Jean... More 

København, Danmark
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We arrived on our 4 bicycles, which was stored safely in the basement of the hotel without any further payment. When one of us sadly crashed a lamp, the reaction from the staff was a smile. Rooms were nice and clean, and the breakfast good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jean Claude H, Propriétaire at Grand Hotel de Nantes, responded to this review

Dear Customer, Thank you to have chosen the Grand Hotel to stay in Nantes in June 2014. We were happy to welcome you. We don’t charge hosting the bike because it is a step towards ecology. We are constantly in search of environment protection. You may have noticed that our rooms are also equipped with low consumption bulbs and bathrooms... More 

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

I stayed at this hotel in Nantes for a few days and found it to be a great experience. The manager at the hotel was very helpful during the stay and couldn't do enough for me. I had a very restful experience and despite being in the centre of the town. The location was a fantastic base for looking around... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

I stayed at this property for eight days at the end of January. Aside from the sick and screaming child, terrible weather and constant noise outside the hotel - none of which I can blame the hotel for - I would also be most grateful if you would avoid this hotel unless you are prepared to deal with that most... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jean Claude H, Gérant at Grand Hotel de Nantes, responded to this review

Dear Colin D Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of our hotel. I am sorry that our modest 2 stars hotel did not meet the level of quality to which you are accustomed. Indeed, in browsing the opinions that you have written on TripAdvisor, I was very impressed by the number you have left about palaces... More 

Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

The hotel is very easy to reach from the train station, and within walking distance of the buzzing Bouffay district and most sights. We stayed in the family room (1 double, 2 single beds) on the first floor, facing out onto the street. We slept with the window open, and didn´t find it noisy. Yes, the space in the room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Metz, France
Level Contributor
402 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

My partner told me he had booked us three nights in Grand Hotel Nantes and my initial excitement evaporated as soon as I stepped into the room. The room was small and poorly lit, opening the curtains was not really an option as the building across the street had residential apartments with windows facing ours. They could see right in.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
northern ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2010

I stay at the Grand Hotel regularly and would never think of going anywhere else. Have been here as a solo traveller and also with my husband. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff and the owner is an absolute sweetheart. The rooms are clean and homely and very restful. The location is brilliant . Within a few paces... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Germany
Level Contributor
72 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2009

Hotel is located pretty near the city center (next to commerce). If you like to go swimming, you might want to go to the pool, just close by across the big parking place. Pretty awesome 50m pool. The hotel is ok, rooms are average. The street however is pretty noisy, so for those of you cannot get a decent sleep... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

28 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (25)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay