We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Corner House

Rye, Playden, Rye TN31 7UL, England
Hotel amenities
The Corner House
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranked #3 of 4 Playden B&B and Inns
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2015
Julie C Yeovil, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

24 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    16
    7
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (24)
  • Mar-May only
    (3)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (13)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (5)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (3)
All months
Horley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2015

We arrived at the B&B and had a very friendly welcome. Before we did anything else we asked about getting a taxi. We got told that Taxi's don't run after 10pm and that we wouldn't get back from Camber. We decided to go into Camber and see if we could get something there

Was this review helpful? Yes
yvonne t, Owner at The Corner House, responded to this review

Dear Liz I appreciate you have taken the time to write a review. I am sorry you decided not to stay that night and therefore were unable to experience any aspect of my bed and breakfast other than the welcome. I am pleased you refer to this as very friendly. You will recall I tried hard to book a taxi... More 

Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2015

This Bed and Breakfast was a very comfortable,homely place to stay. Yvonne was a charming hostess. The room lovely, breakfast excellent. Would definitely go back if we are that way again. Would thoroughly reccomend this Bed and Breakfast.

Was this review helpful? Yes
yvonne t, Owner at The Corner House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope we meet again one day More 

Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014

I have stayed at this B&B countless of times over the past 7 years, it never lets me down. Set in charming grounds and just outside the pretty village of Rye, this is a perfect destination to explore Kent, East sussex and West sussex. But we have even stayed there when we were visiting London. The house is beautiful and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
yvonne t, Owner at The Corner House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to write such a wonderful review. We are so happy you enjoy your stays here and that you appreciate all we try to do! When you come to stay it is just like having dear friends or family come to visit and we hope to see you again very soon! More 

Warwickshire
Level Contributor
113 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014 via mobile

A really lovely place to stay, nicely decorated and very welcoming. Tea and cakes as a welcome. Tastefully decorated room with comfortable beds. The Corner House also has beautiful garden which restidents can use. A nice tasty breakfast would definately return!

Was this review helpful? Yes
yvonne t, Owner at The Corner House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again very soon. With kind regards Yvonne More 

Brighton
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in July and arrived after a long journey. The garden was perfect for a game of hide-and-seek and is huge and really well looked after. We had an en-suite double room and the children had a lovely, fresh twin room just opposite. We had the lounge to ourselves that evening and we were made... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

This is the second time I have stayed at this B&B, and again was not disappointed. The room was clean and very comfortable with a lovely view of the garden. I had a separate bathroom which was lovely and a toweling dressing gown which was a lovely touch. Ali is a gem very kind and thoughtful with always a smile,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
yvonne t, Owner at The Corner House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and both Ali and I hope your Mum is progressing well. Its great to know you would recommend The Corner House! We do hope we will meet you again one day soon and until then send our best wishes. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

We have been at the Corner House already several times. We discovered this B&B just by accident a couple of years ago, but since then fell in love with it. It is a great place to unwind from the buzz of a big city and it is a great location for visits of sites in the area: We went from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
yvonne t, Owner at The Corner House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review! It was good to see you again recently. I am so pleased you enjoy your stays at The Corner House! I think you have slept in every bed in every room! I look forward to seeing you and your family again soon! More 

Hampshire, England
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Perfectly located to be able to walk into Rye and explore. Breakfast was very well cooked lots of choice, room comfortable unfortunately we had the room with a separate bathroom and toilet. All in all a good find.

Was this review helpful? Yes
yvonne t, Owner at The Corner House, responded to this review

Thankyou, Richard, for taking the time to write a review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope you will return one day! More 

Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
124 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Had a good stay here, although location to Rye and coast not quite the best, partly our 'wrong' choice What they do not tell you , is that the B&B is actually on a rather busy road and that traffic is quite load. Avoid front room if you can The welcome was good, as expected. Unforunately, one couldn't close the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
yvonne t, Owner at The Corner House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and I am so pleased you had a good stay! It was good to hear the breakfast was the best you had during your tour of the UK! As stated on our website, The Corner House is located just one mile from Rye on the A268. We are 3 miles... More 

Level Contributor
126 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

The breakfast was good and plenty of it. The room came with a separate private bathroom across the landing which was a bit disappointing and the decor was a bit too 'flowery' for me, but the hospitality was second to none. Be warned though, that if you want to walk to/from Rye at night the pathways are pitch black as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

20 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playden
1.3 mi away
The Hope Anchor Hotel
1.2 mi away
The Mermaid Inn
The Mermaid Inn
#6 of 9 in Rye
4.0 of 5 stars 507 reviews
2.5 mi away
Flackley Ash Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Peace & Plenty B&B
Peace & Plenty B&B
#1 of 4 in Playden
5.0 of 5 stars 114 reviews
1.4 mi away
Willow Tree House
Willow Tree House
#3 of 38 in Rye
5.0 of 5 stars 267 reviews
0.5 mi away
Saltcote Place Rye
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Back to top
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay