We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 45 Caen hotels

Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 rue Courtonne | BP 3086, 14018 Caen, France
Hotel amenities
Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance to your Saves list
74%
Ranked #9 of 45 Hotels in Caen
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Racingjohn789 Stone, United Kingdom
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    166
    61
    22
    6
See reviews for
42
136
26
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (314)
  • Mar-May only
    (75)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (127)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (77)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (35)
All months
Stone, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Modern hotel in the centre of Caen. Easy to find, good parking, nice rooms. Ours was a touch noisy with a ventilation system overhead, but otherwise ok. Breakfast a touch pricey at €16 pp, but parking in their own underground car park was handy at €10 a night. Numerous good restaurants nearby.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Blue Bell, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
22 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

Our stay booked through our tour group. Needing new mattresses as they are soft and saggy. Breakfast scrambled eggs were mush. The rest was average. They did have a fascinating animal art and sculpture exhibit in their exposition area that we traversed to go to our group meals.

Was this review helpful? Yes
JYGUTH, Directeur général at Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Thank you very much for your comments I will pass them on to our teams. Best regards. Jean-Yves GUTH General Manager More

Annapolis, Maryland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We stayed at this hotel as a part of a tour and it was so bad that I am following up with the tour company to remove it. The hotel itself is in mildly shabby shape - the rugs are stained and bleached out in both the hallways and the rooms. This was certainly livable for one night but the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JYGUTH, Directeur général at Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance, responded to this review

Dear Sir, We thank you for having taken the time to write to us following your stay at our hôtel. You have a lukewarm memory of your stay and you rightly highlighted certain insufficiencies in the service that was provided to you, and I have been made aware of them. I assure you that we are sorry and we present... More

Sway, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We were disappointed with this Mercure hotel due to the lack of action taken by hotel staff to deal with excessive noise in guest bedrooms in the early hours of the morning which led to an appalling night's sleep. Whilst we were offered another room around 01:00 hours, there was no attempt made by staff to deal with the very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JYGUTH, Directeur général at Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance, responded to this review

Dear Sir, We thank you for having taken the time to write to us following your stay at Mercure Caen Centre. You have a lukewarm memory of your stay and you rightly highlighted certain insufficiencies in the service that was provided to you, and I have been made aware of them. I assure you that we are sorry and we... More

Crawley, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We were booked into this hotel whilst on a tour for the D Day landings organised by Guided Battlefield Tours. After a long drive from home this hotel was great. The room didn't have the best view as it was to the side of the hotel but we were literally only in our rooms to sleep so it was fine.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JYGUTH, Directeur général at Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Dear Madam, Thank you very much for your comments I will pass them on to our teams. Best regards. Jean-Yves GUTH General Manager More

Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Worn out. Everything looked shabby and in need of replacement. We had a group of 42. It seems everyone had some small problem with their room suchlike leaky faucets. The wait staff in the group dining room was not very friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
JYGUTH, Directeur général at Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Dear Madam, We thank you for having taken the time to write to us following your stay. You have a lukewarm memory of your stay and you rightly highlighted certain insufficiencies in the service that was provided to you, and I have been made aware of them. I assure you that we are sorry and we present our... More

Troy, Michigan
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
22 hotel reviews
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Very spacious room with spacious bathroom, waterfall style shower, working AC!, comfortable beds, new/modern furnishings, clean, comfortable, great location in the city without too much noise, pretty good breakfast buffet. I really don't have much bad to say about this place, it was the best hotel we stayed at in France!

Was this review helpful? Yes
JYGUTH, Directeur général at Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance, responded to this review

Dear Madam, We thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your stay with us. My team and I greatly value feedback from our guests. We will continue to uphold this standard of customer satisfaction. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future. Best regards. Jean-Yves GUTH General Manager More

Crewkerne, Somerset
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Stayed for one night here and paid a little extra to have a Privilege room. This was well worth it as we had a docking station for our i-phones, a quiet location withing the hotel and a Nespresso machine as well as tea making facilities. Loved being able to make a decent coffee at the press of a button (though... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JYGUTH, Directeur général at Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Dear Madam, We thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your stay with us. My team and I greatly value feedback from our guests. We will continue to uphold this standard of customer satisfaction. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future. Best regards. Jean-Yves GUTH General Manager More

Do you own or manage Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance

Address: 1 rue Courtonne | BP 3086, 14018 Caen, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Caen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, ACCOR, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Caen Centre Port De Plaisance Hotel Caen

41 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (32)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance

Enlarge Map