We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 44 Caen hotels

Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 rue Courtonne | BP 3086, 14018 Caen, France
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance to your Saves list
Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
75%
Ranked #9 of 44 hotels in Caen
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
Wulfhere2014 Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (308)
  • Photos (41)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (25)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

308 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    59
    164
    59
    22
    4
See reviews for
42
133
25
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blue Bell, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
19 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our stay booked through our tour group. Needing new mattresses as they are soft and saggy. Breakfast scrambled eggs were mush. The rest was average. They did have a fascinating animal art and sculpture exhibit in their exposition area that we traversed to go to our group meals.

Was this review helpful? Yes
JYGUTH, Directeur général at Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Thank you very much for your comments I will pass them on to our teams. Best regards. Jean-Yves GUTH General Manager More

Annapolis, Maryland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at this hotel as a part of a tour and it was so bad that I am following up with the tour company to remove it. The hotel itself is in mildly shabby shape - the rugs are stained and bleached out in both the hallways and the rooms. This was certainly livable for one night but the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JYGUTH, Directeur général at Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance, responded to this review

Dear Sir, We thank you for having taken the time to write to us following your stay at our hôtel. You have a lukewarm memory of your stay and you rightly highlighted certain insufficiencies in the service that was provided to you, and I have been made aware of them. I assure you that we are sorry and we present... More

Sway, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were disappointed with this Mercure hotel due to the lack of action taken by hotel staff to deal with excessive noise in guest bedrooms in the early hours of the morning which led to an appalling night's sleep. Whilst we were offered another room around 01:00 hours, there was no attempt made by staff to deal with the very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JYGUTH, Directeur général at Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance, responded to this review

Dear Sir, We thank you for having taken the time to write to us following your stay at Mercure Caen Centre. You have a lukewarm memory of your stay and you rightly highlighted certain insufficiencies in the service that was provided to you, and I have been made aware of them. I assure you that we are sorry and we... More

Crawley, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were booked into this hotel whilst on a tour for the D Day landings organised by Guided Battlefield Tours. After a long drive from home this hotel was great. The room didn't have the best view as it was to the side of the hotel but we were literally only in our rooms to sleep so it was fine.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JYGUTH, Directeur général at Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Dear Madam, Thank you very much for your comments I will pass them on to our teams. Best regards. Jean-Yves GUTH General Manager More

Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Worn out. Everything looked shabby and in need of replacement. We had a group of 42. It seems everyone had some small problem with their room suchlike leaky faucets. The wait staff in the group dining room was not very friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
JYGUTH, Directeur général at Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Dear Madam, We thank you for having taken the time to write to us following your stay. You have a lukewarm memory of your stay and you rightly highlighted certain insufficiencies in the service that was provided to you, and I have been made aware of them. I assure you that we are sorry and we present our... More

Troy, Michigan
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
21 hotel reviews
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very spacious room with spacious bathroom, waterfall style shower, working AC!, comfortable beds, new/modern furnishings, clean, comfortable, great location in the city without too much noise, pretty good breakfast buffet. I really don't have much bad to say about this place, it was the best hotel we stayed at in France!

Was this review helpful? Yes
JYGUTH, Directeur général at Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance, responded to this review

Dear Madam, We thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your stay with us. My team and I greatly value feedback from our guests. We will continue to uphold this standard of customer satisfaction. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future. Best regards. Jean-Yves GUTH General Manager More

Crewkerne, Somerset
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed for one night here and paid a little extra to have a Privilege room. This was well worth it as we had a docking station for our i-phones, a quiet location withing the hotel and a Nespresso machine as well as tea making facilities. Loved being able to make a decent coffee at the press of a button (though... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JYGUTH, Directeur général at Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Dear Madam, We thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your stay with us. My team and I greatly value feedback from our guests. We will continue to uphold this standard of customer satisfaction. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future. Best regards. Jean-Yves GUTH General Manager More

Granite Bay, California
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Large room,very comfortable. Front Desk staff was extremely helpful with directions, restaurants, etc. Easy cab ride to the train station. Breakfast was WONDERFUL both in terms of quality and selection. Would definitely stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JYGUTH, Directeur général at Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Dear Madam, We thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your stay with us. My team and I greatly value feedback from our guests. We will continue to uphold this standard of customer satisfaction. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future. Best regards. Jean-Yves GUTH General Manager More

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
189 helpful votes 189 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Nice room, lovely bathroom with a walk in shower (no bath if that bothers you). Comfy bed and linen, tastefully decorated and the aircon worked very well in the summer heat. Lots of nice restaurants around the marina all within 5 minutes walk from the hotel. I only ate in Le Grillion next door which was nice and great value.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JYGUTH, Directeur général at Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Dear Madam, Thank you very much for your comments I will pass them on to our teams. Best regards. Jean-Yves GUTH General Manager More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance

Address: 1 rue Courtonne | BP 3086, 14018 Caen, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Caen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Caen Centre Port De Plaisance Hotel Caen

41 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (32)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Caen with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#3 Business Hotel in Caen #4 Luxury Hotel in Caen
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Stay in the heart of Normandy in the city of William the Conqueror: the Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance, located in the city center, has 126 luxury rooms, renovated in 2009, including 24 Privilege Rooms and 4 suites, all with air conditioning. Our Atrium and 6458 sq. ft (600 m²) of modular conference rooms can be booked for receptions and seminars. Private paying car park. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
126

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Caen Centre Port de Plaisance staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer