We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

La Ferme des Mares

Certificate of Excellence
26 Rue des Mares | Saint-Germain-Sur-Ay, 50430, France
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Ferme des Mares
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
La Ferme des Mares
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    13
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
11
30
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (58)
  • Mar-May only
    (19)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (23)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (11)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (5)
All months
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2015

Fantastic tastefully decorated small hotel in St Germain Sur Ay. Might be too minimalist (i.e no hairdryer) for a long stay but lovely for a brief sojourn. Comfortable bed. Blissfully quiet at night and rural sounds to wake up to - birds and the local donkey braying! We had dinner in the restaurant, which was of the highest quality, and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Herriard, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

Arrived quite late on a motorcycle. Made to feel very welcome. Rooms tastefully decorated. We had the set menu for dinner. Absolutely superb as was the bottle of wine. All at reasonable prices. Would very much recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Bend, Oregon
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Stayed at this lovely inn on a cycling tour and did not want to leave. The owners were the epitome of gracious host/hostess and they created a peaceful, easy elegance at their farm. Nineteen of us stayed for 2 nights and we were wined and dined with some of the best and most creative dishes ever served - to compete... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Superb cuisine - excellent ambience, friendly and polite staff. The menu is imaginative and very well done with quality ingredients. In a great location but easy to find. We will be sure to visit again very soon. Recommend +++=

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vienna
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in "La Ferme de Mares" and loved it. The rooms are lovely furnished, the food and the wines delicious. The owners are perfect hosts! We are already planning to return to this magic place. And as others mentioned before, the landscape around is just stunning! They helped us to organize this increadible delicious wine we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed at La Ferme des Mares in July for 4 nights. We could not have wished for a better break. Sonya and Mike who own and run the hotel were extremely welcoming and went out of their way to look after us. It was our first holiday with our 7 months old daughter and had therefore booked the family... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Picquenot, Propriétaire at La Ferme des Mares, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to post your kind comments. I’m so pleased that your break turned out to be all you hoped for. We always try to go ‘that extra mile’ to make our guests comfortable and feel at home. We have a young baby too so I know just how demanding they can be! I... More 

Versailles, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Found on the internet, we thought it seemed and ideal place to meet up with family coming over from Portsmouth to Cherbourg. So off we went for a few days to check it out. Beautiful hotel and very peaceful but unfortunately the compliments end here. A supplement of 3€ per person for breakfast in our room, never seen that before.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Picquenot, Propriétaire at La Ferme des Mares, responded to this review

Dear Madam, Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment about your stay at La Ferme des Mares. I'm certainly disappointed to learn that you were less than happy while you were our guest. I regret that you didn’t let us know about your dissatisfaction during your 3 nights; we take a pride in making sure our guests... More 

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

Fabulous food, very nicely decorated rooms, in a stunning location and friendly owners who speak English and French. A little out of the way for families, but very close fairly to the beach. I would highly recommend this to anyone and will revisit

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We have stayed at all different rated hotels, in france. But found this lacking in some areas. There was no tea making in the rooms. Not 100% clean. Also the breakfast had no cheese or ham,also no air in breakfast room and no way of opening windows to make this a nice relaxing meal to start your day. Just small... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

We were so looking forward to staying in this hotel from the excellant reviews however we so incredibly disappointed! We arrived after an 8 hour drive and initially we very pleased with the look and location. After ringing the bell 3 times we were greated by the chef who showed a non interested attitude and informed us there was no... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Management response:

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel. I am certainly disappointed that your stay was not all that you had hoped it might be. I remember greeting you last Saturday and regret that I was unable to take your restaurant booking for that evening. We always give preference to our hotel guests... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

18 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (14)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay