We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Grand Hotel de la Grotte

66 Rue de la Grotte, 65100 Lourdes, France
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel de la Grotte
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Grand Hotel de la Grotte
Grand Hotel de la Grotte
Grand Hotel de la Grotte
Add Photo Write a Review

200 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    80
    52
    29
    26
    13
See reviews for
66
82
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (200)
  • Mar-May only
    (39)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (98)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (56)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (7)
All months
San Ramon, California
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed two nights at, family owned, hotel. Six generations of the family have managed the site. How do we know this? The owner came out and greeted us as we listened to the musical entertainment that night in the outdoor seating for the bar/restaurant. He wanted to be sure all was in order for our stay. Our two days... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
68 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Not everyone's cup of tea, this is an old hotel, not a new updated boutique hotel. If you like things a little old fashioned and quirky, this is your place. It is a little on the tired side but the manager is a hoot and we enjoyed our stay. The bed was comfortable and there was air conditioning, it didn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

need to be fixed for honeymoon.but overall lovely hotel love it next time i would stay more days and bring all the familly again.and i will share and pass it on to all my friends and familly to come to your hotel

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2015

Apart from the extraordinary view from our hotel balcony, this has got to be one of the worst hotels - if not the worst hotel - we've ever stayed at. After my husband sprayed the toilets with an air freshener, as the floor looked wet, I tried to wipe the floor dry with some tissue paper, and they turned black... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Poway, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2015

More like a 2-star hotel. Room was old and small. Room view was up against a rock wall on back side of hotel. Bed very low to ground - average comfort. Towels not even changed out between room nights. Built in the mid-1800's - it shows. Good location vis-a-vis Lourdes.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2015

I spent an evening at the Gd Hotel de la Grotte. I got in at about 7 am but they were able to accommodate us for very early check-in as well as late check out the next day. The hotel is right by the river and has a great view of the church at Lourdes. The room is clean, and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2014

This is a 2 star hotel not 5 as proposed on their web site. Worst hôtel we stayed in in over 25 years! The rom was vert basic, including a TV that was slightly larger than an iPad. Bathroom was a vient and creaky! The only thing going for it is the location.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

The hotel is 10 min. From the Grotto,Clean room, The owner and staffs are very friendly, food is very good, On our last dinner , the owner bought fresh chicken from a farm near the hotel, it was sooo delicious. We will come back

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2014

I loved this hotel. It has that old world charm and has lots of character. You will need to remember this is a place of pilgrimage. We were about a 5 minutes walk the candle light procession. Rooms were clean and tidy. George and his staff were excellent. Hotel is quite old, but that's all part of the experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

(I'm sorry I have to be honest) It was 5* when it's newly open probably but not a star rated in my opinion- needed loads of repair.. Sink was clogg, toilet seat was broken. Very tired look. It's pity if the Owner not to act quickly before losing customers. It's great location. Is far from Mandarin or shangrila hotels 5... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
lf_guinguene, Propriétaire at Grand Hotel de la Grotte, responded to this review

Hello there Thank you for your comment. I've never want to be compared with Mandarin or Shagrila. Our prices are 20 times cheaper. You're not happy and yet you have had rooms with balconies and beautiful views of the shrines and even an Italian singer for your party. What more? You left early because the city did not fit you.... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

54 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (41)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lourdes hotels
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Beausejour Lourdes
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Moderne
Grand Hotel Moderne
#2 of 195 in Lourdes
4.5 of 5 stars 233 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Solitude
Hotel La Solitude
#7 of 195 in Lourdes
4.0 of 5 stars 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Atlantic
Hotel Atlantic
#1 of 195 in Lourdes
4.5 of 5 stars 153 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Gallia Londres
Grand Hotel Gallia Londres
#19 of 195 in Lourdes
4.0 of 5 stars 145 reviews
0.3 mi away
Panorama Hotel
Panorama Hotel
#16 of 195 in Lourdes
4.0 of 5 stars 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay