We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Grand Hotel de la Grotte

66 Rue de la Grotte, 65100 Lourdes, France
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Hotel de la Grotte
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Grand Hotel de la Grotte
Grand Hotel de la Grotte
Grand Hotel de la Grotte
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    46
    25
    24
    10
See reviews for
56
71
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (176)
  • Mar-May only
    (38)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (75)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (56)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (7)
All months
Poway, California
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

More like a 2-star hotel. Room was old and small. Room view was up against a rock wall on back side of hotel. Bed very low to ground - average comfort. Towels not even changed out between room nights. Built in the mid-1800's - it shows. Good location vis-a-vis Lourdes.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I spent an evening at the Gd Hotel de la Grotte. I got in at about 7 am but they were able to accommodate us for very early check-in as well as late check out the next day. The hotel is right by the river and has a great view of the church at Lourdes. The room is clean, and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2014

This is a 2 star hotel not 5 as proposed on their web site. Worst hôtel we stayed in in over 25 years! The rom was vert basic, including a TV that was slightly larger than an iPad. Bathroom was a vient and creaky! The only thing going for it is the location.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

The hotel is 10 min. From the Grotto,Clean room, The owner and staffs are very friendly, food is very good, On our last dinner , the owner bought fresh chicken from a farm near the hotel, it was sooo delicious. We will come back

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Perth, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2014

I loved this hotel. It has that old world charm and has lots of character. You will need to remember this is a place of pilgrimage. We were about a 5 minutes walk the candle light procession. Rooms were clean and tidy. George and his staff were excellent. Hotel is quite old, but that's all part of the experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

(I'm sorry I have to be honest) It was 5* when it's newly open probably but not a star rated in my opinion- needed loads of repair.. Sink was clogg, toilet seat was broken. Very tired look. It's pity if the Owner not to act quickly before losing customers. It's great location. Is far from Mandarin or shangrila hotels 5... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
lf_guinguene, Propriétaire at Grand Hotel de la Grotte, responded to this review

Hello there Thank you for your comment. I've never want to be compared with Mandarin or Shagrila. Our prices are 20 times cheaper. You're not happy and yet you have had rooms with balconies and beautiful views of the shrines and even an Italian singer for your party. What more? You left early because the city did not fit you.... More 

1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

The staff is very friendly and dedicated, day or night, and everything is done that it feels at home. The food was also very good and the breakfasts absolutely correct. Our room was clean and comfortable, but would have earned to be better soundproofed. That's the only downside we can give this establishment we strongly recommend!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Ocala, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

I spent 4 nights at the Hotel de la Grotte and found the accommodations, service and food to be FIRST CLASS. The Hotel personnel are very welcoming and upbeat in their attitudes. They made every effort to take care of my needs and answer my questions. I found the Hotel to be very clean and comfortable. The Bar atmosphere in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014 via mobile

Fantastic hotel right in the center of Lourdes. Great view over the river and sanctuary. The newly renovated rooms are very comfortable. The breakfast is good. The diner in the main restaurant is highly recommended. Warm, friendly and helpful staff make this the best hotel in Lourdes.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Houston
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

We used to come to Lourdes every summer. Most of the guests we met at the hotel were old timers. There were guests that would return here every summer for 5 years or more from all over the world. Those old timers told us that they would not stay anywhere else. Our family really liked the hotel because the hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

43 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (30)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities