We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Young & Happy Hostel

80, rue Mouffetard, 75005 Paris, France
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Young & Happy Hostel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Young & Happy Hostel
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    91
    56
    32
    54
See reviews for
5
29
82
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (268)
  • Mar-May only
    (43)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (65)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (102)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (58)
All months
London
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Young and happy is a cheap well located hostel in paris. Yes the building is a little old and it's got a slightly run down edge but I didn't mind it at all. The staff are super I really enjoyed talking to all of them. Location is great and as a solo female you can walk around at night alone.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Youngandhappy M, Gérant at Young & Happy Hostel, responded to this review

Dear guest Thanks a lot for such a positive feedback ! We were happy too to share this experience with you. I just add that wifi works well because we have improved it last summer and now works everywhere in the building as many of our guests wanted. We would be glad to welcome you for a new time with... More 

Oxford, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have stayed here twice and they were both good. I decided to come back mostly because it is in a great location. It is easy to walk around town and it's also close to a metro stop. The hostel bathrooms do need some upgrading. I was in a 5 bed room with an ensuite shower. Even though you had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Youngandhappy M, Gérant at Young & Happy Hostel, responded to this review

Dear guest We were very happy to welcome you for your second trip with us, and that you enjoyed your stay on the whole. We include for our next refurbishment the plugs topic and meanwhile, we have put many ones in the lobby and downstairs in order you manage to charge your phones and other things during your stay. See... More 

Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Good: Very friendly staff and the breakfast is great too. You don't need a metro since you can do everything by walking. I haven't taken the metro for 4 the 4 days of my stay there. The Bad: Only one plug in a 10 beded room, bathroom facilities need improvements(man and woman bathrooms are mixed). Taking a shower is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Youngandhappy M, Gérant at Young & Happy Hostel, responded to this review

hello thanks for your feedback. We hope to refurbish one part of the shared bath and toilets for more comfort. We also take into account the plugs topic. And we inform our guests that many ones have been put in the lobby and in the dinning room to fix this problem waiting for new setup in the dorms. The Manager More 

Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

6 people share only two plugs.... not good enough. I was not able to charge my phone. The breakfast was pretty good. I love the people in my room. The front desk is good. In general I would recommend. But I really hope that I was able to charge my phone..

Was this review helpful? Yes
Youngandhappy M, Gérant at Young & Happy Hostel, responded to this review

Dear guest We thank you for your feedback and hope to improve this topic. Meanwhile, you are able to charge your phone in the lobby or at reception desk 24h/24. See you soon with us ! The Manager More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Need to improve bathroom facilities!! The shower room has a hole on the ceiling, and it wasnt nice to see at all!! Floors are mostly dirty. And the bedroom i slept has unpleasant smell. Only 2 plugs in 5-beded dormitary room!?

Was this review helpful? Yes
Youngandhappy M, Gérant at Young & Happy Hostel, responded to this review

Dear guest Sorry you didn't enjoy more your stay, we take into account all advices. I assure that cleanliness is done everyday even if share bath could be improved with the use. I don't understand what is the problem with the "hole" you spoke about, in fact the ceiling was refurbished last year and it seems to be okay... give... More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was one of the cheapest hostels I could find and I had a really great experience. The staff are super friendly and make your stay way better! They upgraded me to a female only room and for one night I was the only one in it. The breakfast in the basement was way better than I expected. One negative... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Youngandhappy M, Gérant at Young & Happy Hostel, responded to this review

Dear guest Thanks for your positive feedback, we are happy you had a good stay with us in the whole. That's right, the building is a Parisian style one with no lift, however, we still have a free luggage room downstairs in order not to have to climb up with big bags... Let us know if you come back in... More 

Vancouver, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My biggest criticism of this place is that I was bitten by bed bugs after spending just one night there. To the extent that half my face was bitten and my one eye was half shut because of bed bug bites. The staff was mildly helpful & I promptly emailed the manager and I'm yet to hear back 4 days... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Youngandhappy M, Gérant at Young & Happy Hostel, responded to this review

Dear guest very sorry for this problem that occurred during your stay. As we explained, unfortunately it could happen in hostels but we take into account very seriously this and do our best to solve it as soon as possible. Very sorry you refused to be moved into another dorm that we have suggested immediately. A free washing machine was... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2014

I stayed here for 4 days in early October at the beginning of a 32 day euro trip. The place has a great vibe and the staff is super friendly and helpful. I would recommend this hostel in a heart beat. It has everything you need: free breakfast, happy hour, 2 minute walk from the metro and not to mention... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Youngandhappy M, Gérant at Young & Happy Hostel, responded to this review

dear guest thanks for your review, we are happy to know you had a great stay with us. We always improve our services and hope to have opportunity to welcome you soon once again. The Manager More 

Bogota, Colombia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2014

This is, by far, one of the best hostels I've ever stayed in. The staff is very friendly, speaks tons of languages, and are always willing to go above and beyond their responsabilities in order to help out. Young and Happy has a great ambiance, and me and my brother made great friends there. Thank you for everything.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Youngandhappy M, Gérant at Young & Happy Hostel, responded to this review

dear guest we thank you for your feedback, very happy you had a great time with us ! Let us know if you come back soon ! The Manager More 

Paris, France
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2014

This is my second time at young and Happy hostel, and again I'm happy for the choice ! Is exactly the idea that you should have for a Hostel, and you have the opportunity for meet everytime new people, good service and etc! I stay for long time this year, and I want to say thanks to all the staff,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Youngandhappy M, Gérant at Young & Happy Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, we'd like to thank you to share with us and all the customers your feedback. In fact, we're happy to help and stay at your disposal to make your stay in Paris the best one ! We hope you will be able to come back to visit us ! Let us know ! See you soon ! The... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Young & Happy Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Young & Happy Hostel

Address: 80, rue Mouffetard, 75005 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Venere, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Young & Happy Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Young And Happy Hostel
Young & Happy Hotel Paris
Young Happy Hostel

73 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (37)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (35)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Staying in Quartier Latin

Neighborhood Profile
Quartier Latin
The Latin Quarter bursts with intellectual life, architectural splendor and ongoing merriment. The small streets are filled with classical buildings, student bars and lively eateries while the squares are dominated by historic monuments. The area is defined by the 800-year-old Sorbonne University, where Latin once prevailed, and is famous for the Pantheon which celebrates the great men and women of France. During the day students rush from classes to the library and intellectuals people watch from the terraced cafés. As night time falls the surrounding establishments fill up and the merriment really begins. The liveliest parts are around Rue Mouffetard, lined with crêperies and international street food eateries, and Place de la Contrescarpe characterised by terraced brasseries, this neighborhood provides real nourishment for the mind, belly, and soul.