We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Young & Happy Hostel

80, rue Mouffetard, 75005 Paris, France
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Young & Happy Hostel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Young & Happy Hostel
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    93
    60
    33
    55
See reviews for
5
30
85
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (278)
  • Mar-May only
    (43)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (65)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (102)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (68)
All months
Paris, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Having read some of the other reviews I had to laugh. Great location, everything is within walking distance. Free wifi is great. Free breakfast hits the spot every morning and Justine is extremely helpful even with the latecomers. Best thing about this place is the receptionists especially Vidji who went out of her way to help everyone. Would put anyone... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Youngandhappy M, Gérant at Young & Happy Hostel, responded to this review

Dear guest, We're very happy you had a good experience with us. Of course, we improve all the time, few points to make our guests stay more and more comfortable. I'm happy too you shared good moments with our staff, so we hope to welcome you soon for another trip at Young and Happy. The Manager More 

Niteroi, RJ
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Good staff, awesome location but isn't the cleanest place in Paris. Accommodations are quite old and the shared bathroom is a downer. Would totally recommend for someone searching for a true parisian experience, if you know what I mean.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Youngandhappy M, Gérant at Young & Happy Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for sharing with us your feedback ! That's right, we are the first and oldest hostel in Paris, in a Parisian style and we're very proud of our history ! Our guests use to come and visit us to be accommodated in the inner city, and enjoy the nightlife of the Latin Quarter for a very reasonnable price.... More 

Rome, Italy
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Don't let the name of the hostel deceive you. Happy is the last thing you will be after setting foot in this God-forsaken hell hole. This is their trick: at check-in, there is a nice receptionist who is very kind and helpful. She makes you feel welcome and gives a good first impression . . . then you meet the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Youngandhappy M, Gérant at Young & Happy Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Guest You seemed to have a bad experience with us and that's very pity because we were at your disposal at any time at reception desk to take into account your feedback during your stay in order to make it more comfortable. We asked whether everything was okay, several times, we dind't have any complaint and as you may... More 

London
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2015

Young and happy is a cheap well located hostel in paris. Yes the building is a little old and it's got a slightly run down edge but I didn't mind it at all. The staff are super I really enjoyed talking to all of them. Location is great and as a solo female you can walk around at night alone.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Youngandhappy M, Gérant at Young & Happy Hostel, responded to this review

Dear guest Thanks a lot for such a positive feedback ! We were happy too to share this experience with you. I just add that wifi works well because we have improved it last summer and now works everywhere in the building as many of our guests wanted. We would be glad to welcome you for a new time with... More 

Oxford, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2015

I have stayed here twice and they were both good. I decided to come back mostly because it is in a great location. It is easy to walk around town and it's also close to a metro stop. The hostel bathrooms do need some upgrading. I was in a 5 bed room with an ensuite shower. Even though you had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Youngandhappy M, Gérant at Young & Happy Hostel, responded to this review

Dear guest We were very happy to welcome you for your second trip with us, and that you enjoyed your stay on the whole. We include for our next refurbishment the plugs topic and meanwhile, we have put many ones in the lobby and downstairs in order you manage to charge your phones and other things during your stay. See... More 

Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2015

The Good: Very friendly staff and the breakfast is great too. You don't need a metro since you can do everything by walking. I haven't taken the metro for 4 the 4 days of my stay there. The Bad: Only one plug in a 10 beded room, bathroom facilities need improvements(man and woman bathrooms are mixed). Taking a shower is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Youngandhappy M, Gérant at Young & Happy Hostel, responded to this review

hello thanks for your feedback. We hope to refurbish one part of the shared bath and toilets for more comfort. We also take into account the plugs topic. And we inform our guests that many ones have been put in the lobby and in the dinning room to fix this problem waiting for new setup in the dorms. The Manager More 

Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2015

6 people share only two plugs.... not good enough. I was not able to charge my phone. The breakfast was pretty good. I love the people in my room. The front desk is good. In general I would recommend. But I really hope that I was able to charge my phone..

Was this review helpful? Yes
Youngandhappy M, Gérant at Young & Happy Hostel, responded to this review

Dear guest We thank you for your feedback and hope to improve this topic. Meanwhile, you are able to charge your phone in the lobby or at reception desk 24h/24. See you soon with us ! The Manager More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

Need to improve bathroom facilities!! The shower room has a hole on the ceiling, and it wasnt nice to see at all!! Floors are mostly dirty. And the bedroom i slept has unpleasant smell. Only 2 plugs in 5-beded dormitary room!?

Was this review helpful? Yes
Youngandhappy M, Gérant at Young & Happy Hostel, responded to this review

Dear guest Sorry you didn't enjoy more your stay, we take into account all advices. I assure that cleanliness is done everyday even if share bath could be improved with the use. I don't understand what is the problem with the "hole" you spoke about, in fact the ceiling was refurbished last year and it seems to be okay... give... More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2014

This was one of the cheapest hostels I could find and I had a really great experience. The staff are super friendly and make your stay way better! They upgraded me to a female only room and for one night I was the only one in it. The breakfast in the basement was way better than I expected. One negative... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Youngandhappy M, Gérant at Young & Happy Hostel, responded to this review

Dear guest Thanks for your positive feedback, we are happy you had a good stay with us in the whole. That's right, the building is a Parisian style one with no lift, however, we still have a free luggage room downstairs in order not to have to climb up with big bags... Let us know if you come back in... More 

Vancouver, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2014

My biggest criticism of this place is that I was bitten by bed bugs after spending just one night there. To the extent that half my face was bitten and my one eye was half shut because of bed bug bites. The staff was mildly helpful & I promptly emailed the manager and I'm yet to hear back 4 days... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Youngandhappy M, Gérant at Young & Happy Hostel, responded to this review

Dear guest very sorry for this problem that occurred during your stay. As we explained, unfortunately it could happen in hostels but we take into account very seriously this and do our best to solve it as soon as possible. Very sorry you refused to be moved into another dorm that we have suggested immediately. A free washing machine was... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Young & Happy Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Young & Happy Hostel

Address: 80, rue Mouffetard, 75005 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Venere, EasyToBook and Odigeo so you can book your Young & Happy Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Young And Happy Hostel
Young & Happy Hotel Paris
Young Happy Hostel

75 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (38)
Viewed
Family/play areas (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (37)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (35)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Staying in Quartier Latin

Neighborhood Profile
Quartier Latin
The Latin Quarter bursts with intellectual life, architectural splendor and ongoing merriment. The small streets are filled with classical buildings, student bars and lively eateries while the squares are dominated by historic monuments. The area is defined by the 800-year-old Sorbonne University, where Latin once prevailed, and is famous for the Pantheon which celebrates the great men and women of France. During the day students rush from classes to the library and intellectuals people watch from the terraced cafés. As night time falls the surrounding establishments fill up and the merriment really begins. The liveliest parts are around Rue Mouffetard, lined with crêperies and international street food eateries, and Place de la Contrescarpe characterised by terraced brasseries, this neighborhood provides real nourishment for the mind, belly, and soul.