We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Young & Happy Hostel

80, rue Mouffetard, 75005 Paris, France
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Young & Happy Hostel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Young & Happy Hostel
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    107
    69
    35
    59
See reviews for
9
33
96
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (322)
  • Mar-May only
    (87)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (65)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (102)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (68)
All months
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Hearing odd reviews, I was skeptical as this was my first hostel of my 30 day long trip. I agree it was small, but it was a cute hostel with lovely staff. It had cramped up stairs and space for a person to walk through. But come on, you get to stay in a Chic location of Quartier latin, along... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Youngandhappy M, Gérant at Young & Happy Hostel, responded to this review

dear guest , we thank you for sharing with us your good experience at Young and Happy Hostel ! You're right, we are located in a fabulous district of Paris and even if the Latin Quarter could be expensive, we hope to give opportunity to everyone to spend a good time there with us. Our building looks like the typical... More 

Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

If someone ask me where to stay in Paris, I will recommend this hostel. Best location ever. It's close to three metro stations, cinemas and pubs. There's a supermarket just next door, some good Crêperies and bakeries. The hostel is clean, and the staff is so kind and helpful. Joaquim, Vidji and Valentina are the best! They always helped me... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Youngandhappy M, Gérant at Young & Happy Hostel, responded to this review

Dear guest, thanks a lot for your great feedback ! We're happy to know you enjoyed your stay and that you'll recommend us for other trips. Let us know whether you visit us once again in order to share with you another great experience ! Sabine_Manager More 

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great location: I walked primarily every place I wanted to go and being in this fantastic area of Paris was a plus. Price was amazing. Cheap for the basics and simplicity of it all. However! Where was the hot water and why did the shower only turn on for 20 seconds before it cut off. It was a hassle to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Youngandhappy M, Gérant at Young & Happy Hostel, responded to this review

dear guest thanks for this review. In fact, the shower has a classic system you may find in many places where public is accommodated, most of all to prevent from waste and we're very sensitive with this. We keep in mind your suggestion for a next refurbishment ! see you soon ! Sabine_manager More 

Bonn
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed 3 nights on this hostel and it was a terrible experience. The hostel is DIRTY! Very very very dirty...full with humidities all around and last but not least the bed had fleas so basically I left the hostel angry and full of bites! The only "good" part it's the location, the neighbourhod of Mouffetard is fantastic, full of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Youngandhappy M, Gérant at Young & Happy Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, we're very surprised with this review ! Sorry you didn't enjoy at all your stay with us. However, we're not used to have so bad reviews about the way the hostel is working, cleanliness is done every day during the lock out and early in the morning. As the other problems you had, if you stayed for 3... More 

Travelers are raving about these Paris hotels

London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hostel isn't very expensive and has a very good location, with nice bars and restaurants, and even a market nearby. All the staff on the 3 nights we stood there were very friendly and helpful. The building looks ancient and in an old looking street, so we weren't very surprised to find out it didn't have a lift and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Youngandhappy M, Gérant at Young & Happy Hostel, responded to this review

dear guest, thanks a lot for your feedback, it seems you had a very nice stay with us and we're happy to know that. As you described it well, we are located in an historical part of the city and the architecture is very typical from the IX century, with old buildings and no elevator. We are a good value... More 

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The shower rooms were filthy (and this is a place you go the get clean?), the bathrooms reminded me of something from a dirty underground rock club, the lockers downstairs were tiny so we couldn't store our belongings and to add insult to injury the guy in a room clearly hadn't washed so the entire place stank - thankfully I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Youngandhappy M, Gérant at Young & Happy Hostel, responded to this review

dear guest sorry you didn't enjoy your stay at all ! we're surprised also with the way you explained the services were not good, the lockers are for small valuables even if you can easily let a medium backpack inside ! Of course, they are not for suitcases that can easily be left into dorms or into luggage room for... More 

Grande Prairie
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2015 via mobile

This hostel is cheep for the area so really I should have expected the poor stay that we had. The rooms are not bed bug proof (so it's no wonder why they have had bed bug problems in the past). The mattresses do not have bed bug proof covering. The beds are in very close quarters and the rooms are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Youngandhappy M, Gérant at Young & Happy Hostel, responded to this review

dear guest, sorry if you didn't enjoy much more your stay with us. That's right, bed bugs are totally out of hotels control because no link with cleanliness and unfortunately, even if we work with a specialized company who comes once per month to take care of this problem, it could happen again! As for cleanliness, you may have noticed... More 

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2015

This Hostel has a good location and rich breakfast. Wi-fi is free and fast, people were kind, but toilettes not always perfectly clean. The staff was very polite and nice! There are a lot of typical French restaurants nearby and a greek restaurant very popular!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Youngandhappy M, Gérant at Young & Happy Hostel, responded to this review

Dear guest, thanks a lot for your feedback ! It is very important for us to know what works well and what needs to be improved. We've worked onto our breakfast service to make it more complete (with fruits and crepes once a week), and we'll take into account every feedback for the next refurbishment ! Contact us if you... More 

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2015

A friend and I have been travelling around Europe for a month and this was the first hostel we went to on our travels and was also the first hostel Id ever stayed in. When we arrived we were met by a friendly atmosphere and a lovely social room which made meeting new people easy. Our rooms were comfortable and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Youngandhappy M, Gérant at Young & Happy Hostel, responded to this review

dear guest we thank you for the very positive feedback you let us, it helps to still improve. We'll be happy to have the opportunity to welcome you once again in the city. Contact us for a new trip ! Sabine-Manager More 

Riga, Latvia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2015

Really good for people who don' t mind living in room with starngers. Yes the bathrooms were not perfectly clean but what you expect if they are for everyone in the hostel. Not so loud and as I expected, slept fine. Tasty breakfast and they give map of Paris for free.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Youngandhappy M, Gérant at Young & Happy Hostel, responded to this review

dear guest first of all we thank you for the time you spent sharing with us and all the other coming guests your feedbacks about your stay. We're glad to know you enjoyed your experience and we hope to see you for a new trip to show you how we have improved ! That's right, because of the use, the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

86 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (49)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Family/play areas (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (37)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (35)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...

Staying in Quartier Latin

Neighborhood Profile
Quartier Latin
The Latin Quarter bursts with intellectual life, architectural splendor and ongoing merriment. The small streets are filled with classical buildings, student bars and lively eateries while the squares are dominated by historic monuments. The area is defined by the 800-year-old Sorbonne University, where Latin once prevailed, and is famous for the Pantheon which celebrates the great men and women of France. During the day students rush from classes to the library and intellectuals people watch from the terraced cafés. As night time falls the surrounding establishments fill up and the merriment really begins. The liveliest parts are around Rue Mouffetard, lined with crêperies and international street food eateries, and Place de la Contrescarpe characterised by terraced brasseries, this neighborhood provides real nourishment for the mind, belly, and soul.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities