We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Young & Happy Hostel

80, rue Mouffetard, 75005 Paris, France
Click for phone number
Hotel website
Special Rate
€19 (EUR)
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Young & Happy Hostel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Young & Happy Hostel
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    71
    50
    27
    52
See reviews for
4
27
59
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (227)
  • Mar-May only
    (43)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (65)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (88)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (31)
All months
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

All the hip hostels are great this this one too! Great value, great people, great experience. I really enjoyed my time. The place is clean, well maintained, and the people that come are great too. The staff were quite helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Youngandhappy M, Gérant at Young & Happy Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for your review ! We hope to welcome you soon, Let us know if you come back ! Sabine - manager More

Kalamariá, Thessaloniki, Greece
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I 've been in Paris for 4 nights and this hostel was a good solution. very friendly guys in the reception helped you on everything you want. the breakfast was good in a good place. but we faced there some drawbacks. first of all the bathroom was dirty and I had a bath strugglingly. And the second one is that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Youngandhappy M, Gérant at Young & Happy Hostel, responded to this review

Dear guest Thanks for your review. In fact shared bath are cleaned twice per day, early in the morning at 7am and during our lock out from 11am to 4pm. Of course, we rely on the respect of everyone when using the bath but unfortunately we cannot assure a total cleanliness at every moment of the day. However we stay... More

San Diego, California
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

LOVE this hostel and have rebooked it for our return to Paris, after London, The staff is awesome.. so friendly, so helpful! The location is EXCELLENT! There are a few challenges to it… (quite a few stairs in small winding staircase, and be sure to shut the shower curtain before you hit that shower button!! and street gets noisy at... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Youngandhappy M, Gérant at Young & Happy Hostel, responded to this review

dear guest Thanks for sharing with us your feeling. In fact, our Parisian building has no lift, it is very typical of the heart of the city and the latin Quarter is one of the most lively of Paris! We hope you had a nice stay with us. See you soon! The Manager More

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Really good location in Paris near lots of bars and night places. Then in the day there are still other places to eat and enjoy. The staff are helpful and friendly, breakfast is a really good start to the day. Great drink specials especially in Paris, had great chat with fellow traveller's staying there. I stayed in a 10 bed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Youngandhappy M, Gérant at Young & Happy Hostel, responded to this review

dear guest thanks for your time to let us a little review. We hope you had a nice stay with us and welcome you soon ! the Manager More

Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was traveling alone and ended up staying here in a 5 bed female dorm. The rooms were very small and there was not much room to put anything, but we all made it work. The showers were small, however were warm although you had to keep pressing the button to keep the water running. They had free breakfast in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Youngandhappy M, Gérant at Young & Happy Hostel, responded to this review

Dear guest Thanks for your review. When female dorms were refurbished, we decided to add a private shower so the room looks small, however as you said, most of the guests manage to keep their stuff into the dorm even if lockers are still at your disposal for free downstairs (and a luggage room also very safe). Rue Mouffetard could... More

hanoi
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

the hostel is in a very convenience distance from the меtro, a small food market, 15 min away from the island and just above the parisian night life.. it is a bit loud at morning due to the garbage cleaning machine but with a closed window its ok. the food is totaly ok altough not varied.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Youngandhappy M, Gérant at Young & Happy Hostel, responded to this review

Hello thanks for your review. Since your last stay with us on November, we have improved. Now for instance, you can taste free french crepes at breakfast every friday morning. Let us know if you come back ! The Manager More

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

So charming...the city and the hostel. Each staff person we encountered was friendly and welcoming. They gave us lots of good advice. The location is perfect, near bakeries, restaurants, wine shops, a local outdoor market and the subway. Take a walk down the street both ways and be enchanted. The room was clean and I enjoyed looking out onto a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Youngandhappy M, Gérant at Young & Happy Hostel, responded to this review

Hello Thanks a lot for your time to let us a review. We're happy you had a nice stay and take into account your good advice for the other travellers to get the best of their stay in Paris for a small budget. Let us know when you come back of course ! The Manager More

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was warmly welcomed when Checking in, joking and having a good time. The evening person had no humor and wasn't helpful. I had a terrible night of sleep because of the other guests but that's not the hostels fault. I would recommend it though

Was this review helpful? Yes
Youngandhappy M, Gérant at Young & Happy Hostel, responded to this review

Hi thanks for your review. Sorry you didn't feel more at ease at night. Let us know if you come back, we'll be happy to welcome you for another great experience. The Manager More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great service and great location. Watch the top bunk beds as they are close to the ceiling, otherwise it was a comfortable stay. The metro is extremely close and easy to use, lots of bars, restaurants, shops and takeaways nearby.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Youngandhappy M, Gérant at Young & Happy Hostel, responded to this review

Hi thanks for your feedback, we're happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We'll keep you informed about all the improvement we wish to do and take into account your feedback. See you soon in Paris ! Sabine_Manager More

Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

Pro: the location is very central and nice, full of clubs and restaurants, the price is pretty cheap to be in Paris and there is a nice breakfast included. Cons: The common bathrooms are a bit of an hell, the price of the drinks at the bar at definitely not cheap (6 euros for a 33cl beer and a 500ml... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Youngandhappy M, Gérant at Young & Happy Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for your review. we're happy you had a nice stay with us. Only few info about the bar we have : we have many beers, from different countries with different prices, from 2 euros to 6 euros but the average is between 3 and 4 euros, less expensive than in a pub. Water is at 2 euros, not... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Young & Happy Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Young & Happy Hostel

Address: 80, rue Mouffetard, 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Tingo so you can book your Young & Happy Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Young And Happy Hostel
Young & Happy Hotel Paris
Young Happy Hostel

69 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (37)
Viewed
Other (37)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay