We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Young & Happy Hostel

80, rue Mouffetard, 75005 Paris, France
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Young & Happy Hostel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Young & Happy Hostel
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    100
    65
    34
    56
See reviews for
7
33
91
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (302)
  • Mar-May only
    (67)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (65)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (102)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (68)
All months
Grande Prairie
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

This hostel is cheep for the area so really I should have expected the poor stay that we had. The rooms are not bed bug proof (so it's no wonder why they have had bed bug problems in the past). The mattresses do not have bed bug proof covering. The beds are in very close quarters and the rooms are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Youngandhappy M, Gérant at Young & Happy Hostel, responded to this review

dear guest, sorry if you didn't enjoy much more your stay with us. That's right, bed bugs are totally out of hotels control because no link with cleanliness and unfortunately, even if we work with a specialized company who comes once per month to take care of this problem, it could happen again! As for cleanliness, you may have noticed... More 

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This Hostel has a good location and rich breakfast. Wi-fi is free and fast, people were kind, but toilettes not always perfectly clean. The staff was very polite and nice! There are a lot of typical French restaurants nearby and a greek restaurant very popular!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A friend and I have been travelling around Europe for a month and this was the first hostel we went to on our travels and was also the first hostel Id ever stayed in. When we arrived we were met by a friendly atmosphere and a lovely social room which made meeting new people easy. Our rooms were comfortable and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Youngandhappy M, Gérant at Young & Happy Hostel, responded to this review

dear guest we thank you for the very positive feedback you let us, it helps to still improve. We'll be happy to have the opportunity to welcome you once again in the city. Contact us for a new trip ! Sabine-Manager More 

Riga, Latvia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Really good for people who don' t mind living in room with starngers. Yes the bathrooms were not perfectly clean but what you expect if they are for everyone in the hostel. Not so loud and as I expected, slept fine. Tasty breakfast and they give map of Paris for free.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Youngandhappy M, Gérant at Young & Happy Hostel, responded to this review

dear guest first of all we thank you for the time you spent sharing with us and all the other coming guests your feedbacks about your stay. We're glad to know you enjoyed your experience and we hope to see you for a new trip to show you how we have improved ! That's right, because of the use, the... More 

Salt Lake City, Utah
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hostel is tucked away outside the city center, but is less than a 5 minute walk from the nearest metro station. The staff was very friendly and helpful with anything we needed. Breakfast was included as well, and was typical hostel style with some local pastries added. The rooms were clean and spacious (we were in an 8 bed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Youngandhappy M, Gérant at Young & Happy Hostel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thanks a lot for your feedback ! As you wrote it, we try to provide good services, and a friendly atmosphere in order to make our guests enjoy their Parisian experience. We hope to see you for another time with us because since last June, our hostel has evolved and we would be happy to let you benefit... More 

Annecy, France
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The location is great, the street has loads of great places to eat and at the bottom of the road there's lots of market-like-shops where you can get fruit/veg/cheese and roast chicken (I recommend getting it with roasted potatoes, you won't be disappointed!). You're also about 20 minute walk from Notre-Dame so quite close to the centre. Staff were incredibly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Youngandhappy M, Gérant at Young & Happy Hostel, responded to this review

dear guest Thanks for your feedback. We're happy to know you enjoyed your stay on the whole. In fact, we do our best to immerse yourself into our Parisian atmosphere and still work to keep good vibes and services. We hope to welcome you for another stay with us soon ! Sabine_manager More 

Lincoln, Nebraska
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I would highly recommend this hostel for its location and its atmosphere, only thing I can criticize is the bathroom in our room wasn't very nice, but for a short trip its manageable. Lots of restaurants and bars are near the hostel and its not too far from many of the Paris site seeing spots.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Youngandhappy M, Gérant at Young & Happy Hostel, responded to this review

dear guest we thank you for your time sharing with us a positive feedback. We take into account all suggestions in order to improve our services. We hope you 'll be able to visit us once again to share a good experience in good vibes ! Sabine_manager More 

Londrina, PR
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I had a nice stay at Young & Happy! It's very well locate, in a walking distance to many attractions. The staff is very helpful and cheerful (a special mention to Joaquim!). Considering it's Paris, of course you can not expect to be in a new building with excellent amenities, but the hostel atmosphere compensate for it!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Youngandhappy M, Gérant at Young & Happy Hostel, responded to this review

Dear guest thanks for the time you spent to share with everyone your feedback. In fact our building is located into the famous district of the Latin Quarter, and we 're proud of the historical and charming architecture of our building, even if it looks less modern than other part of the city. The location is also warm and friendly... More 

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2015

As hostels go, this is a nice one. It's no five start hotel, but the staff are very friendly, the other people staying are generally trying to met other young people, and nothing was particularly dirty. Remember to bring waterproof sandals for the shower. Sheets are provided and towels can be bought for one Euro. Would recommend to a friend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Youngandhappy M, Gérant at Young & Happy Hostel, responded to this review

Dear guest First of all we would like to thank you for this very good feedback and then we were happy to share this experience with you and make you feel good with a friendly atmosphere and good services. See you soon in Paris ! Sabine_Manager More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2015

Good facilities and nice staff. There is a kitchen, you can cook whatever you want. Very good location that you can walk to visit many famous landmarks. It's safe and quiet, not like the place near the railway station.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Youngandhappy M, Gérant at Young & Happy Hostel, responded to this review

Dear guest thanks a lot for your feedback, we are happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us. In fact we benefit from the best location in Paris and a friendly atmosphere to meet people. We'll be glad to welcome you for a new trip ! Sabine_manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

84 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (47)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (37)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (35)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Staying in Quartier Latin

Neighborhood Profile
Quartier Latin
The Latin Quarter bursts with intellectual life, architectural splendor and ongoing merriment. The small streets are filled with classical buildings, student bars and lively eateries while the squares are dominated by historic monuments. The area is defined by the 800-year-old Sorbonne University, where Latin once prevailed, and is famous for the Pantheon which celebrates the great men and women of France. During the day students rush from classes to the library and intellectuals people watch from the terraced cafés. As night time falls the surrounding establishments fill up and the merriment really begins. The liveliest parts are around Rue Mouffetard, lined with crêperies and international street food eateries, and Place de la Contrescarpe characterised by terraced brasseries, this neighborhood provides real nourishment for the mind, belly, and soul.

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question