We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Young & Happy Hostel

80, rue Mouffetard, 75005 Paris, France
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Young & Happy Hostel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Young & Happy Hostel
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    97
    63
    34
    55
See reviews for
5
30
88
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (289)
  • Mar-May only
    (54)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (65)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (102)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (68)
All months
Londrina, PR
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I had a nice stay at Young & Happy! It's very well locate, in a walking distance to many attractions. The staff is very helpful and cheerful (a special mention to Joaquim!). Considering it's Paris, of course you can not expect to be in a new building with excellent amenities, but the hostel atmosphere compensate for it!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Youngandhappy M, Gérant at Young & Happy Hostel, responded to this review

Dear guest thanks for the time you spent to share with everyone your feedback. In fact our building is located into the famous district of the Latin Quarter, and we 're proud of the historical and charming architecture of our building, even if it looks less modern than other part of the city. The location is also warm and friendly... More 

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

As hostels go, this is a nice one. It's no five start hotel, but the staff are very friendly, the other people staying are generally trying to met other young people, and nothing was particularly dirty. Remember to bring waterproof sandals for the shower. Sheets are provided and towels can be bought for one Euro. Would recommend to a friend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Youngandhappy M, Gérant at Young & Happy Hostel, responded to this review

Dear guest First of all we would like to thank you for this very good feedback and then we were happy to share this experience with you and make you feel good with a friendly atmosphere and good services. See you soon in Paris ! Sabine_Manager More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Good facilities and nice staff. There is a kitchen, you can cook whatever you want. Very good location that you can walk to visit many famous landmarks. It's safe and quiet, not like the place near the railway station.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Youngandhappy M, Gérant at Young & Happy Hostel, responded to this review

Dear guest thanks a lot for your feedback, we are happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us. In fact we benefit from the best location in Paris and a friendly atmosphere to meet people. We'll be glad to welcome you for a new trip ! Sabine_manager More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

the location is great, bars around the corner And the notre dame is a 15 minute walk. If you wanna meet people, this The place to go. ................................................................................

Was this review helpful? Yes
Youngandhappy M, Gérant at Young & Happy Hostel, responded to this review

dear guest we thank you for your positive feedback. We hope to see you soon with us once again ! Sabine_manager More 

Paris, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015

Having read some of the other reviews I had to laugh. Great location, everything is within walking distance. Free wifi is great. Free breakfast hits the spot every morning and Justine is extremely helpful even with the latecomers. Best thing about this place is the receptionists especially Vidji who went out of her way to help everyone. Would put anyone... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Youngandhappy M, Gérant at Young & Happy Hostel, responded to this review

Dear guest, We're very happy you had a good experience with us. Of course, we improve all the time, few points to make our guests stay more and more comfortable. I'm happy too you shared good moments with our staff, so we hope to welcome you soon for another trip at Young and Happy. The Manager More 

Niteroi, RJ
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2015

Good staff, awesome location but isn't the cleanest place in Paris. Accommodations are quite old and the shared bathroom is a downer. Would totally recommend for someone searching for a true parisian experience, if you know what I mean.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Youngandhappy M, Gérant at Young & Happy Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for sharing with us your feedback ! That's right, we are the first and oldest hostel in Paris, in a Parisian style and we're very proud of our history ! Our guests use to come and visit us to be accommodated in the inner city, and enjoy the nightlife of the Latin Quarter for a very reasonnable price.... More 

Rome, Italy
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2015

Don't let the name of the hostel deceive you. Happy is the last thing you will be after setting foot in this God-forsaken hell hole. This is their trick: at check-in, there is a nice receptionist who is very kind and helpful. She makes you feel welcome and gives a good first impression . . . then you meet the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Youngandhappy M, Gérant at Young & Happy Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Guest You seemed to have a bad experience with us and that's very pity because we were at your disposal at any time at reception desk to take into account your feedback during your stay in order to make it more comfortable. We asked whether everything was okay, several times, we dind't have any complaint and as you may... More 

London
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2015

Young and happy is a cheap well located hostel in paris. Yes the building is a little old and it's got a slightly run down edge but I didn't mind it at all. The staff are super I really enjoyed talking to all of them. Location is great and as a solo female you can walk around at night alone.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Youngandhappy M, Gérant at Young & Happy Hostel, responded to this review

Dear guest Thanks a lot for such a positive feedback ! We were happy too to share this experience with you. I just add that wifi works well because we have improved it last summer and now works everywhere in the building as many of our guests wanted. We would be glad to welcome you for a new time with... More 

Oxford, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2015

I have stayed here twice and they were both good. I decided to come back mostly because it is in a great location. It is easy to walk around town and it's also close to a metro stop. The hostel bathrooms do need some upgrading. I was in a 5 bed room with an ensuite shower. Even though you had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Youngandhappy M, Gérant at Young & Happy Hostel, responded to this review

Dear guest We were very happy to welcome you for your second trip with us, and that you enjoyed your stay on the whole. We include for our next refurbishment the plugs topic and meanwhile, we have put many ones in the lobby and downstairs in order you manage to charge your phones and other things during your stay. See... More 

Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2015

The Good: Very friendly staff and the breakfast is great too. You don't need a metro since you can do everything by walking. I haven't taken the metro for 4 the 4 days of my stay there. The Bad: Only one plug in a 10 beded room, bathroom facilities need improvements(man and woman bathrooms are mixed). Taking a shower is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Youngandhappy M, Gérant at Young & Happy Hostel, responded to this review

hello thanks for your feedback. We hope to refurbish one part of the shared bath and toilets for more comfort. We also take into account the plugs topic. And we inform our guests that many ones have been put in the lobby and in the dinning room to fix this problem waiting for new setup in the dorms. The Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

75 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (38)
Viewed
Family/play areas (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (37)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (35)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Staying in Quartier Latin

Neighborhood Profile
Quartier Latin
The Latin Quarter bursts with intellectual life, architectural splendor and ongoing merriment. The small streets are filled with classical buildings, student bars and lively eateries while the squares are dominated by historic monuments. The area is defined by the 800-year-old Sorbonne University, where Latin once prevailed, and is famous for the Pantheon which celebrates the great men and women of France. During the day students rush from classes to the library and intellectuals people watch from the terraced cafés. As night time falls the surrounding establishments fill up and the merriment really begins. The liveliest parts are around Rue Mouffetard, lined with crêperies and international street food eateries, and Place de la Contrescarpe characterised by terraced brasseries, this neighborhood provides real nourishment for the mind, belly, and soul.

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question