We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 17 Bayonne hotels

BEST WESTERN Le Grand Hotel

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   21 Rue Thiers, 64100 Bayonne, France
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
50% less on 2nd night !*
BEST WESTERN Le Grand Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Le Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Bayonne
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
Marie-Christine G Paris, France
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    79
    52
    24
    15
See reviews for
28
91
17
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (210)
  • Mar-May only
    (36)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (90)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (47)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (37)
All months
Paris, France
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Ideally located in the center of the beautiful city of Bayonne at a short walk from the railway station, the Grand Hotel lobby and elevator will make you dream about the past times, when technology was at its beginnings. The rooms (at least the one I slept in) are very, very simple. Give a look in the closet and you'll... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Le Grand Hotel is in the centre of Bayonne, close to the cathedral, the river and pedestrian streets. It has been very nicely renovated with spacious rooms and bathrooms. The breakfast buffet included freshly squeezed orange juice, very good miniature croissants and pains au chocolat, and a typical Basque cake.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We walked everywhere we wanted to go in the old part of Bayonne. Parking the car for 2 days was an issue. Luckily, we found a space on the street, but we were there during the off season. The front desk was friendly. The rooms were outdated but OK. The great location for a modest room was a good trade... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Hotel is located opposite of gallery lafayette, which is very convenience. Unfortunately, we was there on Sunday and everything was closed. Only less than 5 mins walk to old town area. However, there is only 1 elevator in this hotel whichit is not so comfortable for big group. Wifi signal is also poor. Bathroom is already renovated but not the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nice, France
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2014

We had booked what seemed to be the best deal hotel in Bayonne. Rather well situated in center of town, reasonably priced, we had confidence in the usual qualities of Best Western hotels which we had used before in different parts of the world. But this one is Bayonne is certainly not up to the standard. The staff at the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Geoffrey G, Responsable commercial at BEST WESTERN Le Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience at LE GRAND HOTEL Bayonne on Tripadvisor. We greatly appreciate your constructive feedback as it enables us to serve better every day. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologise for not exceeding your expectations. At Best Western we strive every day to provide a... More 

Cork,Ireland
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
41 hotel reviews
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014

The hotel is situated on a pleasant,tree-lined street on the edge of the small,older part of Bayone with a cathedral and market place. Coming down from Biarritz Airport for a rugby match the C bus dropped us a couple of minutes walk away. My room was small, on the top floor with a balcony overlooking the street which,like the hotel,was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Geoffrey G, Responsable commercial at BEST WESTERN Le Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments regarding/about your recent stay at the Grand Hotel / in our property. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding/meeting your expectations. But, we would like to answer you on some points : Last Saturday Bayonne’s Rugby team was playing against Exeters Chiefs Rugby team so the... More 

Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

Stayed here for 1 night in a superior room, which was spacious and comfortable with a very nice modern bathroom. The hotel is in a really great location in the town, in a pretty street near the cathedral, old town centre and riverside areas, all within close walking proximity. It is in a much nicer setting than some of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Geoffrey G, Responsable commercial at BEST WESTERN Le Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for traveling such a long way to visit France and the Basque country. We are very greatful for your comprehensive review and wonderful feedback of your stay at Le Grand Hôtel Bayonne. We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We can assure you that our staff will always offer the... More 

Brasov, Romania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2014

I am very sorry for being so negative and I really don't like to give negative reviews, but this hotel was terrible. I've been before in Best Westerns mostly in US and probably it's a different system there. Room looked like a dorm cabin, 2 tiny beds, no corridor, bathroom looked like from last century. From the entry of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Geoffrey G, Responsable commercial at BEST WESTERN Le Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Katalin, Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience at Best Western Le Grand Hotel in Bayonne on TripAdvisor. On behalf of our entire team, we would like to apologise for not exceeding your expectations. We will use the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we provide a better experience in the future. Because... More 

Chicago
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2014

I am very anti Best Western due to numerous bad experiences in the U.S. This was a pleasant surprise - located just a bit off the old town center (but the Old Town is quite small), nice sized rooms, quiet and clean. Nice breakfast room, friendly staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Geoffrey G, Responsable commercial at BEST WESTERN Le Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are really happy to hear this trip was the opportunity for you to discover Best Western in France and specially LE GRAND HOTEL in Bayonne. Thank you for your positive feedback. We hope to welcome you again, Kind regards More 

Canvey, null, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2014

Arrived after driving from Spain, was greeted by a friendly helpful man on reception. Had a lovely stay in Bayonne, our room was lovely and clean. We stayed in a triple room which was very perfect for us with our young daughter. And there is safe parking a couple of roads up. Highly recommend.😄

Was this review helpful? Yes
Geoffrey G, Responsable commercial at BEST WESTERN Le Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for traveling such a long way to visit France and Bayonne. We are very greatful for your comprehensive review and wonderful feedback of your stay at LE GRAND HOTEL. We can assure you that our team does its best to ensure our guests an excellent memory stay. We hope we will have the pleasure to welcome... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to BEST WESTERN Le Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Le Grand Hotel

Address: 21 Rue Thiers, 64100 Bayonne, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Aquitaine > Pyrenees-Atlantiques > Basque Country > Bayonne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Le Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Le Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bayonne
Bayonne Best Western

81 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (37)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (45)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay