We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Ox

71 Liverpool Road | Castlefield, Manchester M3 4NQ, England
Hotel amenities
The Ox
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranked #3 of 21 Manchester B&B and Inns
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
tdtoler dallas texas
Review This Hotel

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    48
    20
    12
    12
See reviews for
12
47
7
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (125)
  • Mar-May only
    (38)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (32)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (33)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (22)
All months
dallas texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nothing quite like the Ox for us, here for about the 8th time over the last few years. We think the offerings of this pub hotel are simply impossible to beat. From the staff, to the location, to the fine assortment of drinks from the bar, this place is addicting. A half block to Deansgate, across the street from the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Katie P, Manager at The Ox, responded to this review

Hello Mr Toler We appreciate your return custom and thank you for your incredibly kind review, we're glad you like The Ox as much as we do! We look forward to your next visit - and hope you bring a bit of that Texas sunshine with you! Kind regards The Ox team More 

cheshire
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I had a one night stay here while going to a concert in town, very reasonable price an found it to be a comfortable visit. The room and en suite were fine the staff very hospitable and freindly. It is in a great location as well plenty of pubs and restaurants around and about 100 yards from deansgate, I will... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Katie P, Manager at The Ox, responded to this review

Hello Madcyril Thank you for your review, we're glad you had a good experience staying with us - hope the concert was worth the trip! ;) We look forward to seeing you again soon Kind regards The Ox team More 

Newbiggin-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights with friends - very good price for accommodation and nothing is too much trouble for staff. Food served in bar very reasonable and well served. Is quite noisy in rooms as on a busy road and above a pub but is worth overcoming as is very near shops, pubs, restaurants, etc. Rooms are very well... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Katie P, Manager at The Ox, responded to this review

Hi Lynny_B_43 Thank you for your review, we're pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We do try our best to minimise any noise travelling to the hotel rooms, but unfortunately cannot control noise from the road (as much as we'd like to!) - good to hear that it didn't disrupt your trip too much. We look forward... More 

Charters Towers
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2015

A little run down and shabby but hey you pay fir what you get. The major negative is the noise...don't stay here if you want to sleep...music plays till about 1am even on a Monday night and the plumbing and paper thin walls will keep you awake after the music finally stops!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Katie P, Manager at The Ox, responded to this review

Hi Emma We're sorry to hear that you didn't have a great experience at The Ox. Although we do shut the pub at midnight during the week and do our utmost to minimise the noise travelling up from the pub, unfortunately we cannot control noise from patrons outside or when they leave the pub. We hope you will consider us... More 

Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014

Stayed here for 1 night on a business trip. Check in was simple and done via the bar. Staff very friendly. Shown to our rooms and advised of the free wifi password. The room was nicely presented and includes a flat screen tv with freeview channels, a kettle and tea & coffee. There is also an iron and ironing board.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Richard W, Assistant Manager at The Ox, responded to this review

Many thanks for your feedback and will action getting the points you mentioned in your review dealt with. We do hope to see you again soon.... We aim for the highest standards of friendly service and we are pleased this has made your experience with us all the more enjoyable. Many thanks The Ox More 

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

Nice, clean rooms. All en suite. Plenty of space. Free WiFi. Little noise from the road outside but nothing to serious. Great location for Deansgate & Castlefield. Plenty of local shopping & dining. 5 min walk to Christmas Markets, Town Hall etc.. & right facing the MOSI (Science museum). Well stocked bar, food is terrific. All in all a great... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Richard W, Assistant Manager at The Ox, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback Tim. We are very proud of our food and given our location situated close to all the attractions you mentioned we are very reasonable. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Many thanks The Ox More 

West Midlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2014

I have stayed at the Ox 5-6 times now. Manchester is my favorite place to visit and I wouldn't stay anywhere. The staff are amazing and friendly. The food is second to non!! All homemade and the best pub grub I have had!! I don't understand people who say negative things about the Ox. Ok some fine tweeking might be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Richard W, assistant manager at The Ox, responded to this review

Hi Bernie Thank you for your excellent feedback regarding your stay and dining experience with us, being from London myself I have become a huge fan of Manchester since moving here, I completely get where you are coming from. we are also glad of the understanding regarding any noise from the outside world when staying in the hotel, although we... More 

Peterborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
26 hotel reviews
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2014

We had been advised to stay here to attend a wedding in the neighbourhood. Where to start? The room we had (no 5) bore little resemblance to rooms shown on the web-site. Scruffy, old-fashioned and hellishly noisy being over the pub lounge with all the attendant noise from the TV and musical entertainment. Add in traffic noise and the merry... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Richard W, assistant manager at The Ox, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback Raynom We are currently correcting the issues you mentioned, with any faulty lamps being replaced. We do try to control any noise from our patrons, we are however unable to control any noise from the street outside from passers by, as you mentioned we are a prime location in Manchester and unfortunately this can bring... More 

Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014

I only stayed at the Oxnoble for 1 night to see a concert a The Bridgewater Hall. It was in a good location for where I wanted to go. I found the staff very helpful, courteous and attentive. The room was ok too. It was clean, bed comfortable and I didn't hear any noise at all. To be honest I'd... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Richard W, assistant manager at The Ox, responded to this review

thank you for your feedback vixenval we really do appreciate your comments and we hope to see you again soon. we do feel we offer a great value of rates due to our location. Many thanks The Ox More 

St. Albans, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014

We stayed in Room 2. I can't comment on the standard of any of the other rooms but I don't feel this room is fit for purpose. Being above a pub, I obviously expected noise from the street and beer garden, but the room is directly above the pub toilets so you constantly hear the hand-dryers being used below. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Richard W, assistant manager at The Ox, responded to this review

Thank you for your response to your stay with us. We have checked the mattress you referred to and have since ordered a replacement along with responding to the other issues mentioned within your review. We aim to provide the best service we can and apologise if you were not asked if everything was ok with your room, it would... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

28 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (23)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question