We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
71 Liverpool Road | Castlefield, Manchester M3 4NQ, England
Hotel amenities
The Ox
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Ox to your Saves list
Ranked #4 of 21 Manchester B&B and Inns
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014
Ableandy Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    45
    20
    12
    12
See reviews for
11
46
7
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (121)
  • Mar-May only
    (34)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (32)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (33)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (22)
All months
Charters Towers
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

A little run down and shabby but hey you pay fir what you get. The major negative is the noise...don't stay here if you want to sleep...music plays till about 1am even on a Monday night and the plumbing and paper thin walls will keep you awake after the music finally stops!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014

Stayed here for 1 night on a business trip. Check in was simple and done via the bar. Staff very friendly. Shown to our rooms and advised of the free wifi password. The room was nicely presented and includes a flat screen tv with freeview channels, a kettle and tea & coffee. There is also an iron and ironing board.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Richard W, Assistant Manager at The Ox, responded to this review

Many thanks for your feedback and will action getting the points you mentioned in your review dealt with. We do hope to see you again soon.... We aim for the highest standards of friendly service and we are pleased this has made your experience with us all the more enjoyable. Many thanks The Ox More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

Nice, clean rooms. All en suite. Plenty of space. Free WiFi. Little noise from the road outside but nothing to serious. Great location for Deansgate & Castlefield. Plenty of local shopping & dining. 5 min walk to Christmas Markets, Town Hall etc.. & right facing the MOSI (Science museum). Well stocked bar, food is terrific. All in all a great... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Richard W, Assistant Manager at The Ox, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback Tim. We are very proud of our food and given our location situated close to all the attractions you mentioned we are very reasonable. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Many thanks The Ox More 

West Midlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2014

I have stayed at the Ox 5-6 times now. Manchester is my favorite place to visit and I wouldn't stay anywhere. The staff are amazing and friendly. The food is second to non!! All homemade and the best pub grub I have had!! I don't understand people who say negative things about the Ox. Ok some fine tweeking might be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Richard W, assistant manager at The Ox, responded to this review

Hi Bernie Thank you for your excellent feedback regarding your stay and dining experience with us, being from London myself I have become a huge fan of Manchester since moving here, I completely get where you are coming from. we are also glad of the understanding regarding any noise from the outside world when staying in the hotel, although we... More 

Peterborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
26 hotel reviews
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2014

We had been advised to stay here to attend a wedding in the neighbourhood. Where to start? The room we had (no 5) bore little resemblance to rooms shown on the web-site. Scruffy, old-fashioned and hellishly noisy being over the pub lounge with all the attendant noise from the TV and musical entertainment. Add in traffic noise and the merry... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Richard W, assistant manager at The Ox, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback Raynom We are currently correcting the issues you mentioned, with any faulty lamps being replaced. We do try to control any noise from our patrons, we are however unable to control any noise from the street outside from passers by, as you mentioned we are a prime location in Manchester and unfortunately this can bring... More 

Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014

I only stayed at the Oxnoble for 1 night to see a concert a The Bridgewater Hall. It was in a good location for where I wanted to go. I found the staff very helpful, courteous and attentive. The room was ok too. It was clean, bed comfortable and I didn't hear any noise at all. To be honest I'd... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Richard W, assistant manager at The Ox, responded to this review

thank you for your feedback vixenval we really do appreciate your comments and we hope to see you again soon. we do feel we offer a great value of rates due to our location. Many thanks The Ox More 

St. Albans, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014

We stayed in Room 2. I can't comment on the standard of any of the other rooms but I don't feel this room is fit for purpose. Being above a pub, I obviously expected noise from the street and beer garden, but the room is directly above the pub toilets so you constantly hear the hand-dryers being used below. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Richard W, assistant manager at The Ox, responded to this review

Thank you for your response to your stay with us. We have checked the mattress you referred to and have since ordered a replacement along with responding to the other issues mentioned within your review. We aim to provide the best service we can and apologise if you were not asked if everything was ok with your room, it would... More 

Leicester, UK
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
32 hotel reviews
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

Any review of Manchester accommodation has to have price high on the agenda as the place is getting to be on a par with London in that regard. When Premier Inns and Travelodges are charging well in excess of a 100 quid for a Friday or Saturday, places like the Ox Noble, at half the price, start to look very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Richard W, assistant manager at The Ox, responded to this review

Thank you for kind response puffpod. We aim to provide value for money with regards to our rates and we believe we are in a prime location and usually fill up despite having the Hilton hotel a few yards away. We must be doing something right and will keep aiming to improve going forward kind regards the ox More 

United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

Now, I have always tried not to divulge my favourite hotels to people who ask me. Well they might just stay there and tell their friends and before you know it I can't get a room. However as I stay in them less these days heres one tip: The Oxnoble, Manchester. Great location, good rate, good food and good service.(No... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Richard W, assistant manager at The Ox, responded to this review

Hi Lawyer Thank you so much for your kind words and comments, we do get the breakfast question arising a few times and is some food for thought maybe. We look forward to your next stay with us and of course any recommendations to friends would be greatly appreciated. Please feel free to like our oxnoble facebook page or follow... More 

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

We lived in castlefield for over 2 years and never made it to the ox!!! What a mistake!! The pub is definitely on our top 5 in the city centre. The food is awesome, we got a 2 course meal for £15 and the quality was cracking. Will definitely be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Richard W, Assistant Manager at The Ox, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback JanusBell, 2 years is a long time for us to slip under your radar, however we look forward to seeing you again soon now you have discovered us, we also have our famous doorstop sandwiches during the day.... they really are not to be missed..... we will be really impressed if you can manage one... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Ox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ox

Address: 71 Liverpool Road | Castlefield, Manchester M3 4NQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your The Ox reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ox Hotel Manchester

28 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (23)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay