We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Ox

71 Liverpool Road | Castlefield, Manchester M3 4NQ, England
Hotel amenities
The Ox
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranked #4 of 22 Manchester B&B and Inns
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
LucyDouglas
Add Photo Write a Review

130 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    35
    50
    20
    12
    13
See reviews for
12
51
7
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (130)
  • Mar-May only
    (40)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (35)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (33)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (22)
All months
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

You can't go wrong with a basic large room with a huge bed. Kettle supplied with tea and coffee. Easy check in check out. Pub serves food but we opted to eat out in the centre. Close to the city centre. I will definitely be visiting again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

No frills place to stay, the bedrooms are above a pub which can be troublesome if you fancy an early night because you can hear the music coming through the floor, but if you can get over that or ignore it, it's actually a decent value for money considering location. Room was clean, had a television, tea making facilities and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

For £39 last minute booking I felt that we got a bargain and a vintage room, although basic it was a lovely stay. Close to the city of Manchester it was a perfect location to get from and to the hotel. No problems whatsoever and we will definitely be visiting again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bordon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed in a double and a triple room, both good size rooms... Good ambience in the bar, selection of beers and premium spirits.. really helpful staff... Lovely food... I would definitely stay again and recommend bar and rooms...

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015

Work local and thought this was a good option after a concert as Manchester hotel prices have gone through the roof! My bargain price was £10 more than on the website at £59 for a double room. Hubby and I are not fussy and have stayed in some basic places but this is tired.... Bathroom light didn't work ( discovered... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers are raving about these Manchester hotels

dallas texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

Nothing quite like the Ox for us, here for about the 8th time over the last few years. We think the offerings of this pub hotel are simply impossible to beat. From the staff, to the location, to the fine assortment of drinks from the bar, this place is addicting. A half block to Deansgate, across the street from the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Katie P, Manager at The Ox, responded to this review

Hello Mr Toler We appreciate your return custom and thank you for your incredibly kind review, we're glad you like The Ox as much as we do! We look forward to your next visit - and hope you bring a bit of that Texas sunshine with you! Kind regards The Ox team More 

cheshire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2015

I had a one night stay here while going to a concert in town, very reasonable price an found it to be a comfortable visit. The room and en suite were fine the staff very hospitable and freindly. It is in a great location as well plenty of pubs and restaurants around and about 100 yards from deansgate, I will... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Katie P, Manager at The Ox, responded to this review

Hello Madcyril Thank you for your review, we're glad you had a good experience staying with us - hope the concert was worth the trip! ;) We look forward to seeing you again soon Kind regards The Ox team More 

Newbiggin-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights with friends - very good price for accommodation and nothing is too much trouble for staff. Food served in bar very reasonable and well served. Is quite noisy in rooms as on a busy road and above a pub but is worth overcoming as is very near shops, pubs, restaurants, etc. Rooms are very well... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Katie P, Manager at The Ox, responded to this review

Hi Lynny_B_43 Thank you for your review, we're pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We do try our best to minimise any noise travelling to the hotel rooms, but unfortunately cannot control noise from the road (as much as we'd like to!) - good to hear that it didn't disrupt your trip too much. We look forward... More 

Charters Towers
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2015

A little run down and shabby but hey you pay fir what you get. The major negative is the noise...don't stay here if you want to sleep...music plays till about 1am even on a Monday night and the plumbing and paper thin walls will keep you awake after the music finally stops!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Katie P, Manager at The Ox, responded to this review

Hi Emma We're sorry to hear that you didn't have a great experience at The Ox. Although we do shut the pub at midnight during the week and do our utmost to minimise the noise travelling up from the pub, unfortunately we cannot control noise from patrons outside or when they leave the pub. We hope you will consider us... More 

Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014

Stayed here for 1 night on a business trip. Check in was simple and done via the bar. Staff very friendly. Shown to our rooms and advised of the free wifi password. The room was nicely presented and includes a flat screen tv with freeview channels, a kettle and tea & coffee. There is also an iron and ironing board.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Richard W, Assistant Manager at The Ox, responded to this review

Many thanks for your feedback and will action getting the points you mentioned in your review dealt with. We do hope to see you again soon.... We aim for the highest standards of friendly service and we are pleased this has made your experience with us all the more enjoyable. Many thanks The Ox More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

28 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (23)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay