We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel

Portland St, Piccadilly Plaza, Manchester M1 4PH, England
Hotel amenities
Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ranked #49 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
  • 4.0 of 5
  • Luxury
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
brussell1984 London, United Kingdom
Add Photo

1,766 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    522
    755
    332
    110
    47
See reviews for
133
623
109
450
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1766)
  • Mar-May only
    (485)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (467)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (365)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (449)
All months
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed in the Mercure for one night as I went to see a concert in Manchester. Staff were really helpful, hotel was exceptionally clean and comfortable. From the outside you would think that the hotel isn't going to be the best however the décor inside makes up. Would definitely stay again as it is in a perfect position for any... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wigan, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

A nice enough hotel in the centre of Manchester but think before you drive to it as the hotel is surrounded by on going road works and there's a £15 parking to pay. The rooms were clean enough and the staff knew their jobs we did not eat there as there is little point with China Town being next door.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review

Dear oldfathertime Many thanks indeed for your feedback. I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and I hope that you will be able to visit us again very soon. Kind regards David Daly More 

Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I stayed here for a couple of days whilst attending a conference being held at the venue. Room was clean and tidy, excellent conference facilities. Unfortunately the good really was average at best. Good location in the city centre. Easily accessible from the train station.

Was this review helpful? Yes
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jamie P Thank you for your review. I was pleased to hear that overall you had a nice stay with us and my team and I hope that some time in the future we may have the pleasure of looking after you again. Kind regards David Daly More 

Telford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed at the Mecure in Manchester on Friday night as we were looking for a 'cheap' hotel in the city. Got a good deal and was very happy with the place. Location is right in the centre of the city, perfect for shopping, eating out, or theatre. Booked a 'privilege' room which had the coffee maker and free films which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Richard R Many thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback. It was pleasing to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that the upgraded room was to your liking with all facilities to make your stay comfortable. I was also delighted to hear that you found our staff excellent and very friendly; they will... More 

montreal
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Really enjoyed my week at this hotel. Close to everything, clean, staff very kind, good price. Wifi free, nice place for a conference, good restaurant and bar. Very close to the rail station. You can walk to the major sightseeing. The Manchester sightseeing bus stops just the other side of the street.

Was this review helpful? Yes
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review

Dear nefertiti2 Many thanks for all your kind words. I was pleased to hear that you had a lovely stay and that you enjoyed our service and the facilities that the hotel had to offer. I do hope that you will be able to visit us again very soon. Kind regards David Daly More 

Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Great central hotel close to Piccadilly station (approx 5-10 min walk) large rooms, friendly staff and quick check in. There is a shopping and dining district right across the road and lots of options nearby, stayed in July 2013 delayed review

Was this review helpful? Yes
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kez D Thank you very much for taking the time to submit your review, I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I do hope that if your travels ever bring you back to Manchester, that we may have the pleasure of looking after you once again. Kind regards David Daly More 

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I stayed at this hotel for an event and I'm not impressed with it. The lifts are not adjusted well; first you wait ages for one to come, then when you get in it goes the wrong way you want to go and stops at every floor. On every floor there are people waiting to get in and hence the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review

Dear JasmineExplorer Thank you for your feedback. I was sorry to hear that your stay with us was marred. Please accept my apologies for the delay that you experienced whilst waiting for a lift. Indeed when the Hotel is busy, at peak times, pressure on the lifts does result in guests not moving around the hotel as easily as they... More 

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Stayed at this hotel with husband for our 10 year anniversary. The Hotel is really nice and is nicely decorated inside. Location is perfect hence staying here. The breakfast is great and you get a wonderful service. The room was lovely. The only issue I would say is the walls are very thin. We could hear a couple next door... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Dosanj Many thanks indeed for your lovely review. I was delighted to hear that you chose to stay with us to celebrate your 10th wedding anniversary and that the team looked after you so well. We hope to welcome you back again very soon. Kind regards David Daly More 

Ashby de la Zouch, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Great position in central Manchester. We parked in the hotel's car park which is £15 per day, we arrived at 3pm on the Saturday and left at 3pm on the Monday but ended up having to pay an extra £10 to park as the £30 we had paid only lasted until noon on the Monday, however parking in central Manchester... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Heather H Thank you very much for all your kind words; it will give me a great pleasure to share it with the team. I was delighted to hear that you a nice time at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly and liked the room too. I was also pleased to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast, which is always a good... More 

exeter
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A little disappointing on arrival there are vagrants outside, there all weekend begging, the room is quite small, and very hot could not get cold air. Stayed three nights by the second day i had bites on my back and arms from something in the bed or room, mentioned to staff yet nothing done, mentioned it again as i received... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ExeterGraham Thank you for your review. I was sorry to hear that the air-conditioning in your room was not working. I have addressed it with our Property Manager. It was naturally concerned to hear that you believed that you had been bitten during your time with us and when you voiced this matter at the time, you felt the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

352 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (298)
Viewed
View from room (49)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (22)
Viewed
Room/suite (101)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (30)
Viewed
Other (83)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (54)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay