We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel

Portland St, Piccadilly Plaza, Manchester M1 4PH, England
Hotel amenities
Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ranked #45 of 119 Hotels in Manchester
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Alan3815 Burnley, United Kingdom
Share an Experience

1,619 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    481
    700
    300
    96
    42
See reviews for
124
559
95
410
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (374)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1619)
  • Mar-May only
    (383)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (422)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (365)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (449)
All months
Burnley, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

I was thoroughly impressed with the hotel, from start to finish the staff were excellent. Okay the room was quite small and it was certainly not cheap, but it is a city centre hotel and quite good value. The breakfast was very good indeed, and well worth booking. I had a room overlooking a major tram stop which was very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Alan3815 Many thanks indeed for your review following your time with us. I was pleased to hear that on the whole you enjoyed your stay and that you would happily stay with us again. With this in mind, we look forward to having the pleasure of looking after you again very soon. Kind regards David Daly More 

Cramlington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I was saying at this Hotel for business, the location is ideal in the centre of the city, its minutes from Piccadily station. It has a fresh feel, the bar is on the 3rd floor and gives good views of piccadily gardens. Staff are very friendly and always available to help. Pick a room at the back as these are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Stephen C Thank you for your review following your stay with us on business. I was pleased to hear that we formed a convenient base for your visit and you enjoyed your experience in our Brasserie Restaurant and Bar on our 3rd floor with views overlooking the City. It was pleasing to hear too your kind feedback regarding the... More 

Irvine
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed here for two nights while enjoying a break in Manchester. The location of the hotel couldn't have been better. Right in the centre near to shops and transport. The hotel staff were really helpful, especially Karl at reception. We ate in the restaurant for breakfast and dinner one of the nights and enjoyed the food. The only quibble... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review

Dear lizzywylie Many thanks for taking the time to post your review following your two night stay with us. I was pleased to hear that, other than the unfortunate situation you encountered when your neighbours caused disturbance, that overall you enjoyed your break with us. I have noted your kind feedback regarding the team at the hotel, particularly Karl on... More 

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
52 hotel reviews
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This is a 1960's tower block in the heart of Manchester which I would suspect was actually built as a hotel. Easy to find from Piccadilly station, exit, turn right, walk to a big junction about 800 yards up the road and look left and you can see it. We were delayed twice getting checked in as the room was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review

Dear watfordpip Thank you for your review following your time with us. We are a 1960's building and indeed our property was built as a hotel and has continued to remain so over the years. The architecture and external look of the building has changed little, however, internally there has certainly been some changes over the years. My apologies for... More 

Wirral
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
29 hotel reviews
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Went to see a show at the Apollo so found the location convenient for the overall price I paid. The room was clean and tidy , the staff were helpful without being intrusive . There was a problem with the plumbing in the bathroom but that was fixed with no inconvenience whilst we was out. The only issue I had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Hawklord Thank you for your review following your time with us and I was pleased to hear that we formed a convenient base for your visit to the Apollo. I was sorry to hear that you were not aware of our charge for parking prior to your arrival. A car parking charge has always been in operation at the... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

On route to the hotel we phoned to book parking and when we got there it was reserved, we then checked in to a superior room which sold itself short!! The bed was huge and extremely comfortable and the bathroom was clean and very spacious.We were on the 14th floor and the view was outstanding over Manchester. We Were both... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Stuart B Many thanks indeed for taking the time to share your experience of your recent stay. I was delighted to hear that you were 100% happy with every aspect of your stay and we too hope that it won't be too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again. Kind regards David Daly More 

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

First time I've stayed here and I was impressed!! Great welcome, fab room service and great conference facilities. My only complaint was my room was cold and I couldn't seem to alter the temperature. I'd definitely stay here again and recommend it to colleagues.

Was this review helpful? Yes
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Julie Thank you for your review following your first visit to the Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel. I was pleased to hear that apart from the issue of your room being cold, for which I apologise, you were impressed with your stay and you would definitely return. With this in mind, we look forward to welcoming you back again very... More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Arrived at around lunchtime as myself and my boyfriend were going to the football which started at 1500, however check in time was not until then. Booked in at reception by a lovely, friendly receptionist who was more than happy to book us in as our room was ready. We had a corner double room which looked right out onto... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review

Dear EllieMc1993 Many thanks indeed for your review following your time with us. I was delighted to hear that you had a great stay. It is appreciated that you have taken the time to share your experience with your fellow Tripadvisor viewers and do hope that it won't be too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back... More 

Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My wife and myself stayed here week ending 13th March 2015. Had a very pleasant two night stay. Got a lovely friendly welcome from the General Manager and all the staff couldn't have been nicer. Food and room excellent. In a great location. Highly recommend. Looking forward to a return visit. Irish couple.

Was this review helpful? Yes
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Suzie331 Many thanks indeed you for your review. I do recall welcoming you to the Hotel on your arrival and I am pleased to hear that you had a such a pleasant weekend with us. Thank you for your recommendation too and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards David Daly More 

northern ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

we stayed the first weekend in Feb, for two night. check in was very slow as they a convention on that weekend so, when we arrive at 6pm the lobby was very busy with guest waiting to check in. after 45-50 min wait to check in, we went to our room only to find that the bathroom had not been... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review

Dear shazstewart Thank you for your review following your stay with us back in February. My apologies that your check-in experience wasn't the smoothest of operations and once you did check in, you were allocated a room that had not been fully serviced. My apologies for the inconvenience caused to you at the time. I was pleased to hear that... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

297 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (260)
Viewed
Room/suite (90)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
View from room (46)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (27)
Viewed
Other (66)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (37)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question