We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club

Wilmslow Road | Didsbury, Manchester M20 5WZ, England
Hotel amenities
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    81
    65
    64
    84
See reviews for
55
138
14
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (354)
  • Mar-May only
    (89)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (77)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (110)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (78)
All months
There are newer reviews for The Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
See the most recent reviews
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

We stayed at this hotel as a result of a 'groupon' deal that we bought in March and booked to stay in mid August. Unfortunately my wife had a foot operation on the Thursday before the Saturday and was on crutches. However, upon arrival, the hotel changed our room to a ground floor location close to bar and restaurant which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PeterNye1, Manager at The Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel on Trip Advisor, and leaving such fantastic feedback. We pride ourselves on the service we offer, and take a great deal of time to go that extra mile. I know the Team will be delighted to read such good feedback. I have shared your comments with the Team,... More 

Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

Just returned from the waterside, we had a deal with groupon..Food ws excellent, plenty of choice on the menuand the staff where very helpful and friendly. Rooms could do with an update, but where very clean.We will definetly return to this hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
PeterNye1, Manager at The Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor, and I was absolutely delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us. It goes without saying that I will pass on your feedback to the relevant departmental Managers, and the team. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon, Kindest... More 

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

Stayed here on a GroupOn voucher, staff are very friendly. Room was comfy. Bar staff very good service, along with reception, food was great. All in all was a very good experience and will be staying again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
wigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

Had a great evening hotel staff really friendly, the room was clean and tidy and completely adequate the restaurant and bar very contemporary and the food was delicious we stayed on a Groupon voucher and having read some reports on here we were a bit worried all I can say is some people are never happy, basically the voucher covers... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PeterNye1, Manager at The Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for the fantastic feedback you have left on Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to the Waterside Hotel & Galleon Leisure Club. I will pass on your great feedback to our Head Housekeeper regarding the rooms, our Chef regarding our Food, and our Restaurant Manager regarding the service in the Dining Room and Bar. We pride... More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

The staff where brilliant, I can't fault them, very friendly, helpful, chatty and lovely manners. I bought a deal on Groupon for £58 and to be honest I don't think it was much of a deal. The room: reminded me of a caravan! (Not a new luxury one, an old one from the 70/80's) The bathroom: the bath had ciggie... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
PeterNye1, Manager at The Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to the Hotel. I would like to thank you for the positive words left regarding the Team Members, they will be delighted to be recognized. I was obviously disappointed to read you feedback though regarding the rest of the stay. I... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

We booked the hotel for a family birthday party and whilst the party itself went without a hitch (apart from the attempt to serve cloudy beer at one point) the overall experience of staying at the hotel was disappointing. On check-in the receptionist gave little information and then we discovered on check-out hadn't charged us the correct amount causing confusion... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

Staff at the hotel were helpful and made the wedding reception an enjoyable experience for all of the guests and kept the bride and groom at ease all night. The service at the bar all evening was brilliant, particulary after the reception had finished and we moved into the residents bar. Here we were looked after brilliantly by the barman... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ellesmere Port
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

Good location, excellent leisure facilities, fab food and superb staff - 9/10. We'll have no hesitation in coming back. The negative reviews on tripadvisor were a million miles away from the reality we experienced on 22/07/2011. Thank you very much to the staff - best bunch we've come across in many a year.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
PeterNye1, Manager at The Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you kindly for your fantastic feedback regarding your recent stay at the Waterside Hotel & Galleon Leisure Club. I have printed your kind words out for all members of the team to look at, and I'm sure they will be as delighted as me. I really do hope to welcome you back to the Waterside Hotel soon,... More 

2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

Stayed for one night with my wife and another couple who had also purchased a Groupon Voucher. Upon arrival the receptionist didn't tell us anything about the hotel or the facilities, far too keen to get our £50 frozen deposit! Was interested in what time we wanted our evening meal but that was about it! Our room was quite spacious... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
PeterNye1, Manager at The Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review

Dear Guest. Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay here at the Waterside Hotel. I was obviously disappointed to hear such feedback, however after speaking to our Duty Manager's it appears nothing was raised at the time. We react very quickly to our guests needs regardless of how much they pay or what deal they are on. I... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

We have just had an overnight stay using a Groupon voucher whilst we attended a wedding locally. The hotel is very well run with a committed mangement team who have the staff performing in the right way. The gym and pool facilities look great though I only had a look and didn't use them. We ate in the restaurant on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PeterNye1, Manager at The Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I was delighted to read your review on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay at the Waterside Hotel on a GroupOn Deal. I have passed your feedback on to all departments who were all delighted with your kind words. It sounds like you enjoyed you T-Bone Steak (personal favourite of mine!), and whilst I know the supplement is... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

142 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (128)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (25)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (35)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question