We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 21 Manchester B&Bs / inns

New Central Guest House

3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   144-146 Heywood St, Manchester M8 0PD, England
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added New Central Guest House to your Saves list
New Central Guest House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
52%
Ranked #7 of 21 Manchester B&B and Inns
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 5 weeks ago
mscaseykc Bristol, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (24)
  • Photos (10)
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (6)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

24 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    9
    4
    4
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
3
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I stayed at this hotel around March 2014 for one night. The hotel was small and simple and located about 30mins from the Phones 4U Arena. On check-in, the lady was a bit rude and harsh, insisting that I didn't have a reservation there without even checking her books (turns out I was right). She went on to very rudely... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
r n, Manager at New Central Guest House, responded to this review

In order to do justice to the above review, could you please send us an e-mail with your name and booking reference to let us know when you actually stayed at the Guest House! Look forward to hearing from you. More

Alta, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Our host was very pleasant and welcoming. The bedroom was small but the bed was comfortable. We had a choice of continental or full English breakfast which was served in a lovely dinning room/sitting room. So if we wanted more room we could go downstairs and sit comfortable in the day room. It was a rainy weekend but we didn't... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
r n, Manager at New Central Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write the above. Had it been there was a bigger room available when i saw you with many luggage, i would have given you an alternative room! Sorry about your cozy room. Thank you for your custom. More

Earby, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

stopped here for magic w/end,clean and friendly, will stop here again next year,and next year we are going to take on local taxi drivers at cricket ,with landlady in wickets/ and then back to hotel for the lovely breakfast, found the local people very friendly, one guy told his wife to get car keys to run us to sports city,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
r n, Manager at New Central Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write the above review, I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Look forward to seeing you next year for the Rugby game or when next you are visiting Manchester. Once again, thank you for your custom. More

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Stayed here with 2 other guests Sat 3rd May overnight. This is a budget guest house with a single room costing approx £35. The front of the guest house was clean and tidy parking is available to the front of the building. The room looked bright, clean and welcoming - in fact I think my room had been recently decorated.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
r n, Owner at New Central Guest House, responded to this review

We do appreciate you taking your time to write the attached review. When next you are in Manchester, look forward to welcoming you again. Thank you for your custom. More

London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

Don't believe all of the reviews you read on trip advisor in relation to this guest house. The establishment is professionally run by a charming lady Ronkey who does a sterling job running everything single handily. Reports that she is rude and sour faced are not true in the slightest. En-suite room was adequate and well appointed its worth noting... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
r n, Owner at New Central Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write the above review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Look forward to seeing you again in Manchester. More

Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

Please don't stay here!!!! This maybe a cheap place to stay within Manchester area but please please please pay the extra £20 or whatever it is you need to spend to get better accommodation than here ! The owner was not at the desk upon arrival I was standing outside for 20 mins , when eventually I did get in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
r n, Manager at New Central Guest House, responded to this review

The comments made in this review are inaccurate and to a large extent disingenuous. The room booking was made through 'Late Room' who confirm written terms and conditions to the guest in full at the time of booking - but in any event those same terms and conditions were explained upon arrival. I don't often have cause to call the... More

Scarborough
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Stayed here 12th-14th [Dec] This little Gem is in a quiet area set back from the city centre. No noise at all at night. Ronkey [Not sure if I have spelt that right!] the owner was more than welcoming. We found she gave a friendly and polite service and was helpful to us in any way that she could be.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
r n, Owner at New Central Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write the above review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Look forward to seeing you again in Manchester. More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I arrived quite late to check-in which wasn't a problem. I'm shocked to read that some people have found the lady who runs the guesthouse rude. After meeting her I can't even imagine her to be like this? She was very friendly, helpful and couldn't do enough for you, and all of the rest of the guests too I noticed.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
r n, Owner at New Central Guest House, responded to this review

Thank God for honest people like you! I knew the truth will come out one day as nothing special was done for you but i was just doing my job. Once again, thank you for your custom, appreciation and for taking time to write the review. Look forward to seeing you again, when next you are visiting Manchester. More

1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

The hotelier is a very rude lady. After 6 hours travelling we we greeted with a sour face a and told that there was no room for us. She was annoyed we had not checked in at 1pm even though my book said I could book in from 1pm till 9pm and it was only 6.30. This guest house does... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
r n, Owner at New Central Guest House, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear that you were displeased with the service you received at the New Central Guesthouse. It is our continual endeavour here at the New Central Guesthouse to provide a premium service and put the needs of our guests first. In this particular instance, you had stated that you would be arriving at the hotel around 1pm... More

Norwich
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here on 1st December 2012. W were watching a gig that night at the MEN and this hotel was cheap and close to the venue. I saw a cople of critical reviews and felt a bit fearful but Inneedn't have worried. We had a warm welcome and our room and bed were clean and comfortable.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
r n, Manager at New Central Guest House, responded to this review

Do appreciate you taking time to write the above review about our Guest House. Hope your journey back home was pleasant; no doubt, because you are a pleasant couple. Look forward to welcoming you back again. Thank you for your custom. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage New Central Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to New Central Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Central Guest House

Address: 144-146 Heywood St, Manchester M8 0PD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — New Central Guest House 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Travelocity and HostelWorld so you can book your New Central Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

10 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Other (1)

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer