We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

New Central Guest House

144-146 Heywood St, Manchester M8 0PD, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
New Central Guest House
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

34 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    5
    13
    7
    4
    5
See reviews for
1
5
8
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (34)
  • Mar-May only
    (12)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (7)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (11)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (4)
All months
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Very friendly welcome and stay. The room was clean and tidy. We had full English breakfast served with a smile.Well run family business.Will definitely visit again!Additionallly owner provieded good local knowledge, was talkative and friendly and made it feel homely.

Was this review helpful? Yes
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed at the new central guesthouse a couple of months ago, really cosy hotel with friendly, welcoming service from the owner, my only issues were that breakfast was a bit on the small size (one slice of ham, one slice of cheese, one slice of toast, one combi pack of cereal and one small glass of orange juice) not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2015 via mobile

This hotel was value for money we had a 3 bed room with a double and a single bed was close to city centre only about 5 pound in a taxi overall we had a great stay very welcoming and if we would ever return to manchester again we would most deffinately stay here again :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
r n, Manager at New Central Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write the above review. Look forward to welcoming you both back again. Once again, thank you for your custom. More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2014

Stayed at this hotel with some friends and the lady that was at the reception desk wasn't very polite, the room was tiny, when we asked for extra sugars and coffee, we got hugely overcharged. Shower kept running cold, I personally would not recommend it for the price that you have to pay!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
r n, Manager at New Central Guest House, responded to this review

Sorry to hear that you were not happy for not giving you extra tea and coffee, above that which was provided on your arrival for one night. In the room, we provided you with 2 bags of Tea; 2 Coffee sticks; 4 Sugar sticks (white & brown) and 2 hospitality cartons of milk per person in the room. You were... More 

Travelers are raving about these Manchester hotels

Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2014

look you get what you pay for. the room are basic but very clean and comfy. the owner is a very nice friendly lady. for a bed for the night at a reasonable cost is great. word of warning though. the area is one of the more dangerous areas in manchester so use taxis at night. I would deffo stay... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
r n, Manager at New Central Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. My observation with years of experience in the business, our customers have been going out and coming back safely to the Establishment! Your concern is however noted! It was a single Lady that stayed here last night (March 2015) that brought your comment to my attention. She was one the Guest that single handily used... More 

Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2014 via mobile

Small single room with shared bathroom and toilet. Decor was outdated, ie avocado green toilet and walls paper thin so I heard next door both going to bed and getting up in the morning. Place was clean though. Lady that welcomed me was friendly and helpful. Was okay for one night so long as not spending much time in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
r n, Manager at New Central Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. You have however booked a room without toilet and shower but I would definitely recommend, for your next visit, an en-suite room. Thank you for your custom. More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2014 via mobile

I booked a room here so that I could stay in Manchester overnight for my friend's engagement party. The room was clean and en suite. I was advised about which taxi company to use to go into Manchester during the evening. The service and accommodation was a lot better than some I have come across in Manchester City Centre and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
r n, Manager at New Central Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Sorry we have no control over the area but with years of experience in the business, customers do walk back safely from Manchester City Centre. Personally, if I'm in a new area and it is late at night, I often resulted to a taxi ride! When next in Manchester, we look forward to seeing you... More 

Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2014

Stayed at the guest house on the 25/10/2014 2 adults 1 child in an en suite room bed and English Breakfast . When we got up for breakfast in the morning was informed it would be a continental breakfast as we had not booked 24hrs in advance for English breakfast as she does not like wasting food ?.(NEVER HEARD OF... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
r n, Manager at New Central Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. This is to let you know that at the time your booking was made online, the price you paid was just for the room. The organisation you made your booking through had confirmed the above. However, I’m glad we were able to willingly give you and your family a free continental breakfast because of the... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2014

Airline prices necessitated a weekend stay. We were led to book into the New Central Guest House. A quaint place -- probably an hotel at one time. The innkeeper is friendly, helpful and considerate. The accommodations are spartan but clean. Bath and toilet facilities are shared (not en-suite). The breakfasts were quite nice. Would readily recommend to anyone needing reasonably... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
r n, Manager at New Central Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write the above review. Also, for your next booking, please note that most of our rooms are en-suite ; toilet and shower in the rooms. When next you are in Manchester, we look forward to seeing you. Once again, thank you for your custom. More 

Abingdon, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

The manager was polite and answered my questions helpfully. The room was clean and tidy and was presented in line with the pictures I viewed. The area was quiet and I slept well - the guests in the room next to me (on a social event) were respectful of my training weekend/work commitments. The guest house was close the the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
r n, Manager at New Central Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write the attached review. Also, thank you for your custom and do look forward to seeing you again. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

11 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
1.9 mi away
Hotel Ibis Budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester City (Piccadilly)
3.4 mi away
Hotel Football Old Trafford
Hotel Football Old Trafford
#1 of 116 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 stars 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
No photo provided
Elton Bank Hotel
#11 of 22 in Manchester
3.5 of 5 stars 2 reviews
3.9 mi away
Luther King House
Luther King House
#5 of 22 in Manchester
3.5 of 5 stars 234 reviews
3.3 mi away
Verdene Hotel B&B
Verdene Hotel B&B
#1 of 22 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 stars 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay