We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

New Central Guest House

3.0 of 5 144-146 Heywood St, Manchester M8 0PD, England
Click for phone number
Hotel website
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
New Central Guest House
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
New Central Guest House
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    9
    4
    4
    4
See reviews for
Families
0
4
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (25)
  • Mar-May only
    (11)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (4)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (7)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (3)
All months
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Airline prices necessitated a weekend stay. We were led to book into the New Central Guest House. A quaint place -- probably an hotel at one time. The innkeeper is friendly, helpful and considerate. The accommodations are spartan but clean. Bath and toilet facilities are shared (not en-suite). The breakfasts were quite nice. Would readily recommend to anyone needing reasonably... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
r n, Manager at New Central Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write the above review. Also, for your next booking, please note that most of our rooms are en-suite ; toilet and shower in the rooms. When next you are in Manchester, we look forward to seeing you. Once again, thank you for your custom. More

Abingdon, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The manager was polite and answered my questions helpfully. The room was clean and tidy and was presented in line with the pictures I viewed. The area was quiet and I slept well - the guests in the room next to me (on a social event) were respectful of my training weekend/work commitments. The guest house was close the the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
r n, Manager at New Central Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write the attached review. Also, thank you for your custom and do look forward to seeing you again. More

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

I booked a single room for the Sunday 24th of August. Requested early check in to allow for being able to get ready for a wedding. Arrived at hotel and no one around to welcome us. Another guest let us in to the hotel. We then talked to an employee who was working there and he was initially very helpful... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
r n, Manager at New Central Guest House, responded to this review

It is always regrettable when customers feel they do not get good service ..... in this case you were advised that check in would be after 1pm at booking, and where we can, we do try and accommodate early access requests - on this occasion it was not possible or practicable. The main reason for which we explained at the... More

Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

I stayed at this hotel around March 2014 for one night. The hotel was small and simple and located about 30mins from the Phones 4U Arena. On check-in, the lady was a bit rude and harsh, insisting that I didn't have a reservation there without even checking her books (turns out I was right). She went on to very rudely... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
r n, Manager at New Central Guest House, responded to this review

In order to do justice to the above review, could you please send us an e-mail with your name and booking reference to let us know when you actually stayed at the Guest House! Look forward to hearing from you. More

Alta, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Our host was very pleasant and welcoming. The bedroom was small but the bed was comfortable. We had a choice of continental or full English breakfast which was served in a lovely dinning room/sitting room. So if we wanted more room we could go downstairs and sit comfortable in the day room. It was a rainy weekend but we didn't... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
r n, Manager at New Central Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write the above. Had it been there was a bigger room available when i saw you with many luggage, i would have given you an alternative room! Sorry about your cozy room. Thank you for your custom. More

Earby, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

stopped here for magic w/end,clean and friendly, will stop here again next year,and next year we are going to take on local taxi drivers at cricket ,with landlady in wickets/ and then back to hotel for the lovely breakfast, found the local people very friendly, one guy told his wife to get car keys to run us to sports city,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
r n, Manager at New Central Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write the above review, I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Look forward to seeing you next year for the Rugby game or when next you are visiting Manchester. Once again, thank you for your custom. More

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Stayed here with 2 other guests Sat 3rd May overnight. This is a budget guest house with a single room costing approx £35. The front of the guest house was clean and tidy parking is available to the front of the building. The room looked bright, clean and welcoming - in fact I think my room had been recently decorated.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
r n, Owner at New Central Guest House, responded to this review

We do appreciate you taking your time to write the attached review. When next you are in Manchester, look forward to welcoming you again. Thank you for your custom. More

London
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

Don't believe all of the reviews you read on trip advisor in relation to this guest house. The establishment is professionally run by a charming lady Ronkey who does a sterling job running everything single handily. Reports that she is rude and sour faced are not true in the slightest. En-suite room was adequate and well appointed its worth noting... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
r n, Owner at New Central Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write the above review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Look forward to seeing you again in Manchester. More

Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

Please don't stay here!!!! This maybe a cheap place to stay within Manchester area but please please please pay the extra £20 or whatever it is you need to spend to get better accommodation than here ! The owner was not at the desk upon arrival I was standing outside for 20 mins , when eventually I did get in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
r n, Manager at New Central Guest House, responded to this review

The comments made in this review are inaccurate and to a large extent disingenuous. The room booking was made through 'Late Room' who confirm written terms and conditions to the guest in full at the time of booking - but in any event those same terms and conditions were explained upon arrival. I don't often have cause to call the... More

Scarborough
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Stayed here 12th-14th [Dec] This little Gem is in a quiet area set back from the city centre. No noise at all at night. Ronkey [Not sure if I have spelt that right!] the owner was more than welcoming. We found she gave a friendly and polite service and was helpful to us in any way that she could be.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
r n, Owner at New Central Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write the above review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Look forward to seeing you again in Manchester. More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to New Central Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Central Guest House

Address: 144-146 Heywood St, Manchester M8 0PD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — New Central Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda, Travelocity, HostelWorld and Tingo so you can book your New Central Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

10 photo of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay