We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 20 Manchester B&Bs / inns

New Central Guest House

3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   144-146 Heywood St, Manchester M8 0PD, England
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added New Central Guest House to your Saves list
New Central Guest House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
56%
Ranked #6 of 20 Manchester B&B and Inns
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013
Scarborough09040 Scarborough
Write a Review

17 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    8
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
2
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Stayed here 12th-14th [Dec] This little Gem is in a quiet area set back from the city centre. No noise at all at night. Ronkey [Not sure if I have spelt that right!] the owner was more than welcoming. We found she gave a friendly and polite service and was helpful to us in any way that she could be.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I arrived quite late to check-in which wasn't a problem. I'm shocked to read that some people have found the lady who runs the guesthouse rude. After meeting her I can't even imagine her to be like this? She was very friendly, helpful and couldn't do enough for you, and all of the rest of the guests too I noticed.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
r n, Owner at New Central Guest House, responded to this review

Thank God for honest people like you! I knew the truth will come out one day as nothing special was done for you but i was just doing my job. Once again, thank you for your custom, appreciation and for taking time to write the review. Look forward to seeing you again, when next you are visiting Manchester. More

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

The hotelier is a very rude lady. After 6 hours travelling we we greeted with a sour face a and told that there was no room for us. She was annoyed we had not checked in at 1pm even though my book said I could book in from 1pm till 9pm and it was only 6.30. This guest house does... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
r n, Owner at New Central Guest House, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear that you were displeased with the service you received at the New Central Guesthouse. It is our continual endeavour here at the New Central Guesthouse to provide a premium service and put the needs of our guests first. In this particular instance, you had stated that you would be arriving at the hotel around 1pm... More

Norwich
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here on 1st December 2012. W were watching a gig that night at the MEN and this hotel was cheap and close to the venue. I saw a cople of critical reviews and felt a bit fearful but Inneedn't have worried. We had a warm welcome and our room and bed were clean and comfortable.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
r n, Manager at New Central Guest House, responded to this review

Do appreciate you taking time to write the above review about our Guest House. Hope your journey back home was pleasant; no doubt, because you are a pleasant couple. Look forward to welcoming you back again. Thank you for your custom. More

Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Received a very warm and friendly greeting on arrival from a lovely lady. Helpful advice provided on where to eat, good recommendations. Room was clean, warm and comfortable, lots of hot water available for a refreshing shower. I needed an early start and breakfast was available to help me set off early. Breakfast was pleasant, full English was well cooked... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
r n, Manager at New Central Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review; do appreciate you taking your time to write it. Look forward to welcoming you back again. Thank you for your custom. More

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

My first visit to Manchester. Spent 4 nights at the guest house. The environment was neat and quiet. The location is very accessible to city centre and other interesting places. The manger/owner gave very warm and friendly welcome; gave different transport maps to assist in moving around in Manchester. She also offered juice and bottled water as soon as she... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
r n, Owner at New Central Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review us. Hope you have enjoyed your stay in the UK overall? Anytime you are in Manchester, we look forward to welcoming you back again, as you are a pleasant lady. Thank you for your custom. More

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

I stay here on my own quite a lot when working in Manchester. I stay in budget hotel chain also, and yes, it isn't as good as them. However, when I am cannot get an advance cheap hotel in Manchester, B&B's are the next choice; there are a number of similar for this price range. It is has small rooms,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Management response:

Thank you for taking time to review us. We are looking into having more big en-suite rooms with double beds available very soon; leaving us with few cosy rooms. Thank you for your custom and repeated business. look forward to welcoming you back again. More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

check in time before 9pm check out time at 10.30am breakfast time before 9am We were told about drinking in the premises and were told about no coming back drunk in the premises in case we get sick. Were told not to leave a mess in the bedroom We were told on our way back from town during the day... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

Checked into the room to find a huge skid mark in the toilet bowl, which was a wonderful surprise, and made us laugh for at least the next 48 hours. The towels supplied were more like panty liners in size, but the bathroom was ok other than that. Breakfast was pretty basic, but i was scolded for wearing socks to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Management response:

Hi, we're sorry to hear that some aspects of your stay at our Guest House didn't meet with your expectations. We've investigated the 'skid row' issue and found this only to be a scratch in the toilet bowl, but we do understand that this may have been seen as something 'untoward'. This has been rectified now. I'm glad you were... More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011 via mobile

Clean rooms good breakfast. Close to bus stop to city centre.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Been to New Central Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Central Guest House

Address: 144-146 Heywood St, Manchester M8 0PD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — New Central Guest House 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your New Central Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Central Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.