We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street

96 Portland Street, Manchester M1 4GX, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with ACCORHOTELS.COM to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
Add Photo Write a Review

1,025 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    223
    448
    228
    84
    42
See reviews for
93
353
131
212
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1025)
  • Mar-May only
    (270)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (272)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (224)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (259)
All months
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Currently staying here for one night and is quite comfortable. Situated centrally, its close to some good restaurants, pubs and shopping plazas. Staff is very warm and welcoming. The room was spotlessly clean and very spacious. However, I found the bathroom to be very small like a cabin. Good for a one night stop.

Was this review helpful? Yes
IbisManchester3142, General Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this review

Many thanks for posting such positive comments. I’m so glad that you are having an enjoyable time and that our location is perfect to your needs. I hope we can be part of your future travel plans. Kind regards, Frederic Dumont General Manager More 

Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Not the best place I've stayed at. Rooms are v basic. No tea or coffee in the room. Beds pretty comfy. Getting up at 4.45am and seeing people in reception drinking was a surprise and a bit comical. Think more mature people wouldn't like this. Breakfast was nice and reasonably priced. Ok for one night but wouldn't like to stay... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these Manchester hotels

Bristol
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed and paid £25 for the room and £5-95 per person extra for breakfast. Bargain and very good value for money. Rooms not luxurious but was clean and practical. Good choice at breakfast considering the price paid. Would I stay here for a relaxing holiday - no. Would I stay here if visiting Manchester requiring something not too expensive... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IbisManchester3142, General Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind and realistic comments. I am pleased to notice that you benefit from one of our online promotional rates by booking in advance. I am also happy that our facilities, including our breakfast offer, met your expectations. I will make sure to let our staff know how much of a positive impact they made on your... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We arrived at this hotel for a weekend with family over from Ireland. What a lovely hotel this is the staff were very helpful with what ever we asked for. The room was lovely even though it was on the back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
IbisManchester3142, General Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments and compliments. They are very much appreciated and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. My Team and I look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Frederic Dumont General Manager More 

Halifax, UK
Level Contributor
96 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a one night stay for business purposes. The rooms are purely functional rather than for relaxing in, but that's what Ibis is about. The location is excellent, the price is fair. Staff at reception at all times were really friendly and professional. The only issues I had were probably due to the heavy use of this hotel. The window... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
IbisManchester3142, General Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I’m pleased that you enjoyed your overall stay. I have taken note of your comments and let me confirm that the hotel will undergo corridors and rooms refurbishment in the near future. I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel soon. Kind regards, Frederic Dumont General Manager More 

Charing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I paid £93 for a twin room with no breakfast, I was on my own. Room was small, two singles with shower and wc, hairdryer and kettle and TV. Window would not close properly so it was noisy and draughty. I was in 401 by the lift. I had to put cotton wool in my ears, handle broken on window... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
IbisManchester3142, General Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay as our facilities didn't meet your expectations. I have also noticed that you encountered some issues with your room. I can assure you the matter has been looked into and all problems have now been fixed. Please note that should you experienced any... More 

Castledermot, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I liked this hotel, Great location and reasonably priced. Beds very comfortable and great shower, Great selection of TV stations. It was spotless clean and the staff were very friendly. I didn't avail of the breakfast as an optional extra. It didn't look very nice. The hotel is on a main street, there is obviously going to be noise. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IbisManchester3142, General Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this review

Thanks for leaving your thoughts here. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and you time in Manchester. It is disappointing to hear you didn't like our Buffet Breakfast. For the past few months, we have been working hard on improving our food selection and we have received a lot of positive guests feedbacks. Please do try... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Rating of 1 as there was no option of zero. Traveled with friends as a group of 5. Check in was awful and full of hassle, and this seemed to be how our trip went on. Our room was basic as expected, however for the price we paid we did not expect what we walked into. Half a curtain which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
IbisManchester3142, General Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us. Please accept my apologies for all the inconvenience you've encountered. Be reassured that I take all comments very seriously. I now had time to investigate the situation with the Team Members on duty. I was informed that you only reported the problems with the... More 

Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great comfortable room, clean and all in order. Good wifi free and easy to use. Excellent breakfast with a remarkably good choice of food and drink of high quality and charming staff. The location just off the Chinese quarter was a big bonus with excellent restaurants very near.

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
IbisManchester3142, General Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind comments and compliments. I am delighted to read that our facilities were up to your expectations and that our location suited your needs well. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Frederic Dumont General Manager More 

liverpool
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed at this hotel quite a few times but this was my 1st time as a Platinum member of Accor. Upon check-in I had to ask for the free drinks vouchers which should be offered pro-actively. Although I had booked on my Accor account which clearly states my status, I was then asked to show my Accor card before the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
IbisManchester3142, General Manager at Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street, responded to this review

Many thanks for the review and for choosing to stay with us again. I am very sorry to hear that your check in wasn't has smooth as expected from a Silver "Le Club" member. Please note that I have discussed your concerns with the Front Office Team to avoid any reoccurrence as we want to do everything it takes to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

97 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (72)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (27)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay