We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 66 Manchester accommodations

YHA Manchester

Potato Wharf | Castlefield, Manchester M3 4NB, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added YHA Manchester to your Saves list
YHA Manchester
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Agoda.com Hostelworld.com Booking.com
and 2 more sites!
85%
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
Write a Review

107 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    42
    15
    5
    0
See reviews for
10
8
34
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

It's not the hostel's fault that I had a strange roommate who repeatedly smoked in the bathroom (I should rather call it "booth"). Fire alarms seem to be a very common thing there... But for the money you pay, you would at least expect free wifi. But the extra prices they charge are ridiculous. And some advice: the breakfast is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Spent 2 nights here in an ensuite family room. Staff were very helpful, the room was clean and bright. Youth hostel is very close to the Museum of science and industry, which was a great place for the family.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lancaster, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I recently visited the YHA Manchester for just one night and was all great until i left. I had worn an expensive watch on the night of my stay. I had been out for a few drinks with some friends and arrived back and went to sleep as anyone else would. We had previously arranged and paid for a late... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hostel is very nice, but it is also expensive. Considering their price, everything should be included, but it is not. The hostel infrastructure is good. It is well located near city amenities, it is clean and cozy. However, every single extra is extremely expensive. Don't try to buy internet, food, travel adaptors here. They do not allow us to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Oliver W, Manager at YHA Manchester, responded to this review

Hi, thank you for your review; it’s really good to receive feedback from our guests. We’re pleased you thought the hostel was nice, clean and cosy. We do charge separately for extras, this allows our customers to only pay for the products and services they want to, and means much of the time we can keep our overnight price nice... More

Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very helpful and pleasant service from the Staff at all times! Very clean room and throughout the common areas. Enjoyed a good breakfast for only 5 pounds. I have forgotten the guys name who worked at the desk and has been there for about ten years, but he was friendly and makes a mean hot chocolate!!! Belongings are secure with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oliver W, Manager at YHA Manchester, responded to this review

Hi, thank you so much for your review, the guy who makes the mean hot chocolate was delighted to hear your feedback! We’re pleased you had a good stay and hope to see you again! More

Newcastle, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

This was my first experience in a hostel and I had heard loads of bad stories so I was really surprised by how good it was. The check inn took 2 minutes, used a key card to get into the hallways and your room so your belongings are secure. I was travelling alone and I had 3 strangers in my... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oliver W, Manager at YHA Manchester, responded to this review

Hi, thanks so much for your review, it’s great to hear your first hostelling experience was a positive one, and we agree it’s nice to meet other travellers and share stories; perhaps if you visit us again with friends you can stay in one of our private rooms. We’re pretty proud of our breakfast and agree that at just £5... More

Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

I'm 70 and never stayed in a Youth Hostel before. Completely OK, but think the web site (I booked online) could have been clear about no towels or soap provided, very unusual these days even at the £50 level. And maybe a small desk table in each room?

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oliver W, Manager at YHA Manchester, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, the feedback is much appreciated! We do now send out some basic information to each new booking so hopefully this should make it clearer to our guests what we do and do not provide. Your feedback has also encouraged us to think about the provision of soap, and I am... More

Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

As a group of 4 women on a weekend in Manchester we decided to go for a four bed private en-suite room. We paid about £25 a night for a weekend- bargain! Not a huge amount of difference from your bog standard premier inn and about half the price! Negatives are: no towel available, have to rent. Bring soap and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oliver W, Manager at YHA Manchester, responded to this review

Thanks for your lovely review, it’s great to receive feedback, especially so when it’s positive. We do keep our prices nice and low, and if you can come midweek you can often get a bed for as little as £10 per night. We only started serving our late night pizzas recently, and are overjoyed that you mentioned this here. Who... More

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

I have to say that this is my first visit to Manchester YHA, but it certainly won't be my last. I am DELIGHTED with it for various reasons. The staff are so helpful-not that that I'd expect otherwise. Also the lift was working,which was good news for my bad back. Best of all, they had put reservation notice on a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oliver W, Manager at YHA Manchester, responded to this review

Hi, thanks so much for your lovely review, it really makes us happy that you enjoyed your stay so much. We always make the beds here at YHA Manchester, and we’re happy we could spare you the strain! Hope to see you again soon More

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

I don't know even know how to start this since I have nothing to complain. The location is 10 min walk from Deansgate trams station, or 30 min from city center. The staff is friendly and helpful. The security of the room is excellent (key card system) and the room as well as the kitchen was clean and tidy. Overall,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oliver W, Manager at YHA Manchester, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we’re really pleased you have no complaints! We are fairly close to the tram station, we’re also really close to one of the very popular 3 free bus routes that go around Manchester city centre. We hope you had a great time in Manchester and hope to see you again! More

Been to YHA Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Manchester

Also Known As:
Yha Manchester Hotel Manchester
Yha Manchester Hotel
Address: Potato Wharf | Castlefield, Manchester M3 4NB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 66 Specialty lodging in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline and HostelBookers so you can book your YHA Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage YHA Manchester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.