We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Pendulum Hotel

Sackville Street, Manchester M1 3BB, England (Formerly Days Hotel Manchester City)
Hotel amenities
The Pendulum Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ranked #50 of 119 Hotels in Manchester
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed today
mark d Blackburn, United Kingdom
Write a Review

981 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    381
    201
    76
    46
See reviews for
69
328
104
244
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (981)
  • Mar-May only
    (317)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (178)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (231)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (255)
All months
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
40 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

This was aqn overnight stay for a concert.The hotel is central well 15 mins walk to centre but overall central. It is clean tidy and the staff very attentative to customers. The room has iron iron board coffee tea etc. and the only downside not much tv channels but why would you want to stop in.The room was clean tidy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lancashire
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

Nice welcome to the hotel by staff who gave us plenty of info... Room was of a good size and very clean.. only thing we didn't like was the bed was against the wall which is bad planning.. everything else was good.. tea, coffee and a biscuit each.. Iron and board in room. We both slept well with the window... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Good location. Rooms cosy, clean and warm. Stayed for friends birthday staff very accommodating and friendly. Tom the barman was especially helpful. Would definitely stay again if visiting Manchester.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Had a lovely stay at the pendulum! A special mention to Tom the bar man who was extremely helpful! The food was really nice aswell,bedrooms were comfy but compact. Good location, very central! Thank you!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I stayed here last summer & ranked the place poorly as the rooms were so warm with no mechanism to cool them. I thought I would be ok in April. Afraid not. The room temperature cannot be controlled despite opening the window and i had a fitful night sleep as a result of that and the noise from the students... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pendulumhotel, Guest Relations at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review

We are pleased that your room was clean, nicely appointed with comfy beds and a good bathroom & shower. We are also pleased that you found our team to be very professional, friendly and polite. However, we are genuinely sorry that your room was too warm for you again and not to your particular personal liking. We do not receive... More 

Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I stayed here for 3 nights with my wife, I found the hotel to provide a comfortable and enjoyable stay. The staff were pleasant, by being friendly and helpful when approached. The rooms were a decent size, with plenty of space to lay out two suitcases and have room to move around freely. Our room overlooked a courtyard, with lush... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Pendulumhotel, Guest Relations at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for sharing your experience and delighted to read that we offered good value for money and a comfortable base for you to explore Manchester from. The most compelling recommendation we can receive is when we welcome back our guests so we are thrilled to read that you would definitely stay with us again. Thank you. More 

Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We only went for a weekend and what a great one we have too. The Pendulum hotel was fabulous, pleasing to the eye, very smart, modern, the staff were smart, very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The bedroom was small but ample for a weekend break. It was ensuite,with shower, iron and board, fan tea and coffee facilities... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pendulumhotel, Guest Relations at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review

We are delighted to read your glowing feedback following your weekend break. Thank you. We will share your kind comments with our team and hope to see you back for another stay in the future. More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Just returned from an over night stay in the Pendulum Hotel. I have to say it is the nicest Hotel I have stayed in in Manchester and reasonable too. It is about 5 mins from Piccadilly station. Everyone is so friendly from the reception staff to the bar staff. The hotel is very modern and spotlessly clean. All the staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pendulumhotel, Guest Relations at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for offering us such a great review about our hotel, our team and the hospitality you received during your overnight stay. We are delighted that you would definitely return to stay with us again and we look forward to extending another warm and friendly welcome. Thanks again. More 

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The staff were friendly and helpful and there is a nice and reasonably priced restaurant with some good vegetarian options. I had a single room, which was small but clean and comfortable. It's near the station but personally I found it difficult to locate and the people I asked had not heard of it. The area is not the best... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pendulumhotel, Guest Relations at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience and offer us feedback. We are pleased to read that your room was comfortable, and you enjoyed friendly service from our team and good vegetarian options from our restaurant. We hope to welcome you back the next time you are visiting Manchester. Thanks again. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

112 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (69)
Viewed
Room/suite (37)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (43)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question