We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 117 Manchester hotels

The Pendulum Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sackville Street, Manchester M1 3BB, England (Formerly Days Hotel Manchester City)
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Pendulum Hotel to your Saves list
The Pendulum Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
68%
Ranked #49 of 117 hotels in Manchester
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Johnjy Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (764)
  • Photos (94)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (95)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

764 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    218
    288
    153
    67
    38
See reviews for
58
242
89
192
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This is the worst nights sleep I have ever had at a hotel. My room backed onto student accommodation and I had shouting and screaming from 3am, then there was a fight IN the hotel. I had no sleep from 3am until I got up at 8am. Dreadful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Redditch, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

When we arrived we had issues finding the hotel as there was no signage, although later there was a small (A2) stand put up outside. There is a coffee stand inside reception which we thought was a stand alone coffee shop and ended up asking a member of staff where the hotel was - we were met with a puzzled... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pendulumhotel, Guest Relations at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry that our brand new signage was not in place for your stay – and hope it didn’t cause too much confusion. Whilst typical hotel rates in city centre would normally range in-between £95 to £120 for a compact double, we are pleased that you found our best value room sleeping 2 people for £75 was ok and... More

Staffordshire
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Like the Heading very basic, small hot and Noisy. The door's dont Shut very quiet so it was Impossible to get a Good nights sleep, people walking along the corridoors at 3am Talking and laughing like another Reviewer says the noise just goes on and on.. Not a good idea having the bed against the wall,if you need to get... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pendulumhotel, Guest Relations at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review

We place great value on listening carefully to all feedback and thank you for sharing yours. We agree that we are conveniently located in the heart of the city and apologise that you encountered some noisy guests in the early hours. We do have a range of different sized rooms available and it sounds like you would have been happier... More

Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had booked a twin room through an agency and they said we had booked a double so after approximate 20 mins of huffing by the reception they put another bed in a double. On going to the room we ended up helping the maid with the bed and to say she was rude would be a understatement so first... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pendulumhotel, Guest Relations at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience. We are pleased you found your room clean and tidy, and that you enjoyed an ‘excellent’ breakfast with us. We are very sorry that the booking made on a 3rd party website didn’t correctly inform us about a Twin room, however we did immediately rectify and resolve this as soon as we were made... More

Halifax, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very good value for money rooms clean and comfortable friendly staff and very good breakfast the hotel is in a good location close to the city centre and within walking distance I would recommend this place to stay as I have already been to this hotel before

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pendulumhotel, Guest Relations at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for sharing your experience and your kind recommendation. We hope to extend another friendly welcome to you again. More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Perfect for a buiness week in the city. Great facilities. Only down side was the doors are not soft closing so when other guests are leaving thier rooms the doors slam rather loudly! Staff were great & the guy on the coffee bar as you walk in was especially friendly & happy!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pendulumhotel, Front Office Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review

Dear dlb_05 Thank you for writing a review following your recent stay with us from which I was very pleased to learn that you found everything to be very good. I hope that we can continue to live up to your expectations and look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel for your next visit in the not too... More

Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Firstly this hotel is of a good standard for the price you pay ,it's clean , facilities are good but there are two very important points that let this hotel down ,and both of them affect the most important thing you stay in a betel for ,a good nights sleep .Firstly the noise goes on till three or four in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Pendulumhotel, Front Office Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review

Dear John G Thank you for your review and feedback. We very much appreciate all comments as they help us to focus on what is important to our guests. I was disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us and would like to assure you that all comments are acted upon and used to improve the... More

Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My partner and I visited Manchester for three days in July 2014, staying in the Days Hotel Manchester City for two nights. This Hotel is pretty close to all the main attractions of the city as Manchester Cathedral, Manchester Town Hall, The National Football Museum, etc. It's very well located. It's close to the University of Manchester. There is also... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Pendulumhotel, Front Office Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Agusparty , Thank you for taking the time to leave us your comments regarding your stay with us at the Days Hotel Manchester I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do hope that you will visit us again soon. Best Wishes Jay Ghannem Front of House Manager More

Hong Kong, China
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is very well located but still quite pricey for what was basically glorified student accommodation. The room was also very warm with no way of cooling it down. There was no complimentary bottled water in the room which is unusual. When I was checking in I was asked if I would like a newspaper delivered to my room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pendulumhotel, Front Office Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review

Dear robfjonesuk Thank you for taking the time to write your review, I was disappointed to hear of the issues you experienced during your most recent stay with us and I would like to apologies for any inconvenience caused. I would like to assure you that all comments are acted upon and used to improve the products and service we... More

Llanelli, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and I visited Manchester for four days in July 2014, staying in the Days hotel for three nights. The hotel is conveniently placed close to Picadilly station and the town centre. It is well presented with a pleasant reception area staffed by helpful and friendly receptionists. The rooms are small but immaculate and spotless, they were, in July,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pendulumhotel, Front Office Manager at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review

Dear omartheturk Thank you very much for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Days Hotel Manchester City Centre. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback and we can assure you that all team members have been given visibility of your kind words. I am very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Pendulum Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Pendulum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pendulum Hotel

Address: Sackville Street, Manchester M1 3BB, England (Formerly Days Hotel Manchester City)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pendulum Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Pendulum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Hotel Manchester
Days Inn Manchester

94 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (65)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (34)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (30)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Manchester with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#37 Business Hotel in Manchester #45 Family Hotel in Manchester
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Pendulum Hotel Manchester City & Manchester Conference Centre is a fantastic 3*Hotel and Conference Centre, offering a perfect base for your city visit. The hotel is just 5 minutes' walk from Manchester Piccadilly Station for trains, trams and a free bus service across the city. The Hotel is also located 15 minutes' drive from Manchester International Airport. The hotel is conveniently located in one of the city's most fashionable areas for clubs and culture, within easy reach of the best bars, pubs, theatres, exhibitions and concerts, as well as Manchester City and Manchester United Football Clubs. The hotels facilities are impressive with The Conservatory Bar & Courtyard, The Hub Bistro and Coffee Bean Cafe serving meals and drinks throughout the day, alongside 24 Hour Room Service. The Pendulum Hotel is home to state-of-the-art business facilities courtesy of The Manchester Conference Centre... Making the Pendulum Hotel unique amongst other Manchester Hotels. This friendly and flexible 3* Hotel offers so much more, with drinks offers, meal deals and events taking place throughout year. There is never a dull moment, or you can find some peace in this busy city and relax overlooking our leafy courtyard. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
117

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Pendulum Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer