We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Pendulum Hotel

Sackville Street, Manchester M1 3BB, England (Formerly Days Hotel Manchester City)
Hotel amenities
The Pendulum Hotel
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ranked #51 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
mrging1 Manchester, England
Add Photo Write a Review

1,023 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    288
    400
    211
    76
    48
See reviews for
73
344
109
255
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1023)
  • Mar-May only
    (358)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (179)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (231)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (255)
All months
Manchester, England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I recently attended a conference at MCC as an exhibitor. We had Ian Hattersley leading the team looking after all the exhibitors and conference guests. I can not express how impressed I was with Ian's professional, caring and considerate manner. It was certainly a five star experience and all the exhibitors made the same comment - we were so impressed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
West Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
251 reviews 251 reviews
45 hotel reviews
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed for one night at the Pendulum after a long flight from Canada. We picked it because it was close to the Piccadilly train station (400 yds or so). People at the front desk were very nice and helpful, but the hotel itself felt like a converted university residence. (It is very close to U of Manchester buildings) The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pendulumhotel, Guest Relations at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for offering us generally positive feedback about your overnight stay after a long flight from Canada. Our compact ‘City Double’ rooms are our smallest double rooms and they are well-equipped for overnight stay in the city. We do have larger room types available is size and layout is a more important consideration for your stay. Our friendly and... More 

Walsall, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My wife and I stopped here when we went to see the excellent Foo Fighters at Old Trafford. I have to admit this wasn't my first choice but the other hotels were either booked or too expensive for what in essence would be a bed for the night. The hotel is clean and good value for the money and is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pendulumhotel, Guest Relations at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for sharing your experience whilst visiting Manchester to see the Foo Fighters at Old Trafford. It’s good to understand that your compact ‘city-double’ room offered everything you needed for a short stay. We do have larger rooms available if room-size and space is a more important consideration and we hope to extend another warm and friendly welcome to... More 

West Sussex
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked this hotel at the last minute for 2 nights last weekend. Hadn't heard of it but the price was fairly reasonable compared to other hotels....ok, the 'compact' room was definitely that..very small and bijoux but was clean and did the job for what was just somewhere to sleep. The breakfast was not included in the room rate but was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pendulumhotel, Guest Relations at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for sharing your experience whilst visiting Manchester for the weekend. It’s good to understand that your compact ‘city-double’ room offered everything you needed for a comfortable short stay. We have larger rooms available if room-size and space is a more important consideration. We hope to extend another warm and friendly welcome to you in the future. More 

Kent
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for May Bank Holiday. It was ideally situated for the village. Rooms were quite basic but very comfortable and the bed was really comfortable. Didn't have breakfast so can't comment on that and we didn't eat in the restaurant or use the bar at all. Stayed for 2 nights and we paid for the larger room and there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Pendulumhotel, Guest Relations at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to offer feedback about your enjoyable stay at The Pendulum Hotel over the May Bank Holiday weekend. I am pleased that your room was comfortable and our location was ideally suited for parking and the village area of the city. We hope to welcome you back the next time you are visiting Manchester. More 

Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The staff on reception and in the restaurant were very helpful and friendly. The compact double room I stayed in was great for 1 person, I wouldn't recommend it for two. The restaurant was good, although the menu limited. Breakfast was buffet style, reasonable range of food of reasonable quality.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pendulumhotel, Guest Relations at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience whilst visiting Manchester on business. We will pass on your range of positive feedback to all of our team and hope to extend another friendly welcome to you the next time you are visiting Manchester. Thanks again. More 

Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just got back from a 2 night stay, originally booked a small/city double but decided to upgrade to the larger room, glad we did as it meant we had a bath and plenty of space. Room was clean and tidy, we had fresh towels each day and the room was freshened up while we were out. I did find the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pendulumhotel, Guest Relations at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for offering us a fantastic 5 star review following your recent 2 night stay with us. It sounds like you both enjoyed your trip exploring all the attractions in Manchester. We will share your kind comments and feedback with all of our friendly team and hope to welcome you back in the future. Thanks again. More 

Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I booked this hotel through aroma.com and feel we were overcharged majorly. However we were there to see Take That so that might have explained the room rate. The venue? Very budget for the money. Box rooms containing a three quarter bed that was against the wall. Shower and toilet onsuite. Desk space an open wardrobe. Small window and not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pendulumhotel, Guest Relations at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review

We place great value on listening to all feedback and are pleased that you found our bar food to be good and enjoyed the plentiful selection of good food for breakfast. All hotel rates do fluctuate depending upon availability and demand. We receive a contrasting volume of feedback identifying the great value accommodation that we offer - and early booking... More 

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Pendulum Hotel and Conference Centre is ideally positioned close to the University of Manchester, Gay Village and Chinatown. Tastefully decorated, clean rooms and I managed to get a last-minute deal which made this great value as the very good buffet breakfast was included.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pendulumhotel, Guest Relations at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review

We are delighted to read your kind comments and range of positive feedback following your recent stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and we hope to welcome you again the next time you are staying in Manchester. Thank you. More 

Nantwich
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I travel with work and stay in hotels all round country. This is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. The rooms are tiny and I do mean tiny. The bed is pushed up against the wall so even though it is a double one person has to climb over the other. Worst of all the staff demanded £25... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pendulumhotel, Guest Relations at The Pendulum Hotel, responded to this review

We place great value on listening carefully to all feedback and genuinely apologise if our friendly team did not manage to please you as much as our other guests regularly indicate. For clarity, our £25 room deposit is never taken from a guest’s bank account or credit card – the deposit is only marked as ‘reserved funds’. We cancel the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

112 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (69)
Viewed
Room/suite (37)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (43)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay