We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 117 Manchester hotels

Gardens Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   55 Piccadilly, Manchester M1 2AP, England (Manchester City Centre)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Gardens Hotel to your Saves list
Gardens Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
60%
Ranked #56 of 117 hotels in Manchester
A recent review
  • Overview
  • Reviews (524)
  • Photos (80)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A (1)
  • Room tips (108)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

524 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    94
    202
    134
    53
    41
See reviews for
40
112
118
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

Oh how i laugh at the people who book this hotel expecting 5 star facilities paying budget prices. I've stayed in many hotels in Manchester city centre (including the big hotel chains) and i can assure you this is one of the better ones. Clean comfortable beds, clean bathroom with decent shower, towels changed daily, rooms cleaned daily, friendly reception... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
St. Neots, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I booked this hotel to contain costs as I was going to be living out of suitcases for a while and have had some pleasant surprises with cheaper hotels in the past. This was NOT a pleasant surprise. From the surly woman on the desk who did not seem to want to serve me at all to the dirty room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Katy A, General Manager at Gardens Hotel, responded to this review

Good afternoon and thank you for taking the time to post your comments, I am sorry that you were not happy during your stay and only felt that we were worth one star. Without knowing your exact details it is hard to determine your arrival date and room number in order to check the room. I am sorry that your... More

london
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Staff are really helpful. The rooms are a bit chilly but really large. The hotel is outdated but could be worse. I paid quite a lot for this room as it was last minute, I wouldn't say it was worth it but location is great.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Katy A, General Manager at Gardens Hotel, responded to this review

Hello and thanks for the review, I will pass on your comments to the staff who do work hard to assist guests where they can. I am sorry you were cold in the room, our heating is off at the moment due to the summer time, we do however have portable heaters on site which could have been provided had... More

Ashbourne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

As a few others have said you get what you pay for! Staff were lovely, helpful and efficient. The room was extremely clean with comfey beds. However the decor is seriously dated especially in the bathroom which needed ripping out in all honesty would not want to stay here more than a couple of nights. Very handy for a short... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Katy A, General Manager at Gardens Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon, thanks for taking the time to post your comments. The staff work very hard and so for this to be recognised is appreciated. We do have major refurbishment plans in the pipeline to include additional bedrooms and conference facilities. More

Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Clean, tidy and in a pretty decent location, what more can I say. The service was good, the room was perfect for what I needed. You can also see that they are refurbishing as some areas are nicer then the others. If I had to pick a bad point the room was very dark as only one lamp worked.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Katy A, General Manager at Gardens Hotel, responded to this review

Hello and thanks for your comments following your recent stay with us. As you mention we are working through a redecoration programme so some areas are better than others, we are working as quickly as we can and we do have some major refurbishment plans for the future including the addition of new rooms and conference facilities. With reference to... More

2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Friendly efficient staff, clean, comfortable rooms and a good English breakfast. Handily placed in the centre of Manchester and only a short walk to Picadilly railway station. Stayed here many times and keep going back . Prices are reasonable if you book in advance

Was this review helpful? Yes
Katy A, General Manager at Gardens Hotel, responded to this review

What a good start to a Friday a five star review. Its always nice to receive good feedback, the staff do work very hard and it is nice for this to be recognised. You cannot beat a good full English breakfast to start the day, we try to have a good variety to suit everyone's taste. As you mention if... More

newcastle under lyme , uk
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Always stay here now when visiting Manchester , had an internal room , very womb like and always a surprise when you leave to see what the weather is like after not having a window but as long as you're not claustrophobic then its ideal :) reception staff are always very helpful and jolly x

Was this review helpful? Yes
Katy A, General Manager at Gardens Hotel, responded to this review

Good morning and thanks for the review. Your tag line says it all 'cheap and clean with lovely cheerful staff'. we do work hard to ensure that our prices are competitive and the staff do a good job so it is nice for this to be recognised. Yes the surprise element of what the weather will be like when staying... More

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I honestly was not expecting a lot as I just needed a place to stay in Manchester for the Pride 2014weekend. (I could not get into my usual.......much more expensive hotel) I was extremely happy all round and if and when I go again to Manchester, I'll stay in this hotel for sure. Breakfast very good! Location excellent! Staff friendly.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Katy A, General Manager at Gardens Hotel, responded to this review

Hello and thanks for taking the time to provide your comments following your recent stay at the hotel over the pride weekend. It is always nice to have good feedback especially from guests who would not use us as their first choice for a hotel. Even though we do not have individual safes within rooms, we can store belongings in... More

scunthorpe
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Arrived late and walked straight past the hotel because of lack of signage. The lift smelled awful. The welcome was tepid to say the least. The room was clean, but right next to the a/c unit which was SO loud. At least it drowned out the noisy guests on our floor. All of this was bearable, but the bed... omg... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Katy A, General Manager at Gardens Hotel, responded to this review

Good Morning and thanks for posting your comments, I am sorry that you were disappointed with certain aspects of the stay. We are aware that the signage at the front needs looking at and this is going to addressed in the future. It is unusual for us to get poor feedback concerning the staff and the welcome as they usually... More

Netherlands
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
102 hotel reviews
367 helpful votes 367 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked one of the renovated executive suites for what we thought was a very reasonable price. The location is superb. The whole city is within easy walking distance, including the train station and the bus station. If you book through their website, the breakfast is included -- and what a nice breakfast it is. The hotel has character. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Katy A, General Manager at Gardens Hotel, responded to this review

Good Morning and thanks for taking the time to post your review and for the five stars. I am pleased that you found the price levels of the executive room to be reasonable and that the standard of the room matched the price. We have to agree that our location is fantastic. The staff work very hard and it is... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Gardens Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Gardens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gardens Hotel

Address: 55 Piccadilly, Manchester M1 2AP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester > Manchester City Centre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gardens Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Gardens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gardens Hotel Manchester

80 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (72)
Viewed
Room/suite (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
1:26
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Manchester with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style
#41 Family Hotel in Manchester
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
99

Questions & Answers

Here’s what questions travelers have asked, with answers from representatives of Gardens Hotel and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Gardens Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer