We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Palace Hotel

Oxford Street, Manchester M6O 7HA, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Palace Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
Write a Review

2,143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    426
    647
    422
    349
    299
See reviews for
143
707
113
596
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (478)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (2143)
  • Mar-May only
    (583)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (490)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (539)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (531)
All months
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I've just stayed at a the Palace in Manchester. It's an incredibly impressive building renovated to a high standard. My room was to an excellent standard at the front on the hotel and the size, presentation and cleanliness was perfect. Just one criticism - the water pressure in the shower was far too low. Breakfast in the morning- all good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Greater London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I was originally allocated a room in the Mezzenine area. After 2 nights I asked for a new room after problems with the hot water. The manager Abdou Khali moved me to a new room on the 3rd floor he moved me without any problems. He was very apologetic about the original room. New room was very nice, wood panelled... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Excellent value break. Great accommodation, only issue was the long wait for breakfast. Lovely food though. Excellent location and rooms were clean and spacious. Would definitely go again. The hotel has lots of character to top it off.

Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
Staffordshire
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I feel really sad and disappointed to have to write the review that I am about to but clearly PH Hotels don't realise what a gem they have here. Upon arrival to the hotel you walk in to a wonderful reception area (Slightly less exciting that the websites picture but never the less nice). It is large, grand and set... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

The Victorian style architect definitely miss leads you to royalty like treatment... But the disappointment is beyond belief!! Tiny rooms... Disturbing high sealing... Bathroom tubs need maintenance... The staff needs serious reminder of what a smile means ( except for the red hair hostess at breakfast... She was pleasant) I would score them : zero on product, 1 on people,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
N Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed last night and was really disappoint ed. The hotel is sprawling and difficult to navigate. Its also quite crusty with a stale odour. Inwas unable to open my room window as it was painted shut. This is my second stay at this hotel. My main gripe was the noise throughout the night. People next door were at first having... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Richard M, General Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review and I am really sorry to hear about this unacceptable stay. Please be reassured the Night Security immediately attended the scene to deal with this unfortunate domestic incident. However I completely understand the disturbance was unacceptable. I am sorry to hear about the other issues you had to experience I would ask when... More 

Wales
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed for one night, for a concert at the Palace Theatre (next to the hotel). Unfortunately when I was booking in, there was an unpleasant woman on reception, You could tell that other people on reception were embarrassed by her dismissive attitude. Apart from this rude woman at reception, I found all of the staff to be very friendly and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Richard M, General Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review and I am really delighted that you enjoyed your stay and would recommend our hotel and location. First impressions are so important so I will pass your feedback to the receptionist mentioned to ensure we deliver Manchester’s Warmest Welcome 100% of the time. Kind Regards Richard Morrell General Manager More 

Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
4 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed here as we were visiting the local theatre. When we checked in at reception, we were informed that we could pay on credit card if we wished to leave the bill open in case we added any further purchases to it. We decided to do this but we were not informed that a further £50.00 would be added to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Richard M, General Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review and so sorry we did not exceed your expectations. Please be reassured we did not add £50 to your bill. This was pre-authorisation on check in to hold £50.00 on you debit card to allow you to charge extras to your room account e.g. drinks. If no extras charged the amount is fully... More 

Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I was not a resident but I visited the bar while waiting for a friend who was arriving at Oxford Road station (which is right across the road). Entrance and bar area was very stunning and grand but I felt like the staff were too formal and had no personality or gave any personal touches. It really wouldn't hurt for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Hotel is lovely, but room overlooked the railway line and trains disrupted sleep all night. Would have been nice to know this in advance so that we could make the decision to change rooms, even at a higher price if necessary.

Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

672 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (640)
Viewed
Room/suite (213)
Viewed
View from room (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (101)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (82)
Viewed
2:53
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (212)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (32)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities