We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Palace Hotel

4.0 of 5 Oxford Street, Manchester M6O 7HA, England
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Palace Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
Write a Review

2,011 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    605
    397
    326
    288
See reviews for
131
664
109
544
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (444)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (2011)
  • Mar-May only
    (456)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (490)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (539)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (526)
All months
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars NEW

I stayed here with my 5 year old son as it was very near to the train station and the palace theatre. The hotel has amazing features and the reception is gorgeous. As well as the hotel main areas (the bar is beautiful) I found the staff to be absolutely first class. I was a bit worried that it may... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Richard M, General Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your excellent review acknowledging one of are unique selling points. Family Friendly We offer great service from a team that understand family needs, we have large bedrooms for up to 6. We also have an amazing location to explore Manchester’s great family attractions. Thank you for this endorsement and look forward to welcoming you and... More 

Stourbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Photos in the gallery on this hotel are deceiving. We had to change rooms on this hotel because there was a hot water issue so why were we put in a dark and dingy room in the first place? . The room we were moved to was also dark and dingy. My tip steer clear of this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Richard M, General Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review and my sincere apologies you did not enjoy your stay and for the very rare fault you encountered to the hot water supply to your shower. Although no comfort to your self this was rectified all most immediately by the Hotel Maintenance team. Please note we have many different room types at the... More 

Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The place looks like absolute class inside and out. My girlfriend took me to Manchester recently and we stayed here for the weekend 20th Feb to the 22nd. The rooms were spacious, well stocked and super clean, the view was excellent, the hotel is in a great hub of social activity and the staff were brilliant to us. Will visit... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Richard M, General Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for great review and receiving 100% quality rating. I am so pleased you will be returning. Kind Regards Richard Morrell General Manager More 

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The amount of money I paid I would rather stay somewhere else! The room was very dark could not see a thing! Bed size is a joke! There double bed is what a single bed looks like and the noise! Bring ear plugs! Staff are really helpful tho. Would never stay here again!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Richard M, General Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for you review and sorry to read your comments ref value for money. We strive to offer the best value in the four star market within the city and we normally offer great advanced purchase rates. Our room and bed size are normally our strength with the largest in the city. I am pleased you mention... More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Architecture is amazing. A real Victorian gem. You would think a luxury hotel... Mistaken. The service is absolutely rubbish. Can't get a table at the main restaurant. Then told by bar staff that I could only have bar food. Waited 30minutes before being noticed. I then ordered room service to find that I can't even do that... Unless I pay... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Richard M, General Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review and please accept my sincere apologies for receiving poor service. Our restaurant is very popular and we do try and get residents to make a reservation on a check in to avoid disappointment. I am sorry for the breakdown in communication with your wait for Bar Food and a wrong payment request from... More 

Newport, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

It's really hard to review this hotel because its a tale of two stories really. On entrance to the hotel you're blown away by this grand entrance and beautiful surroundings, I'd read a few horror stories of rooms and hoped we wouldn't be so unlucky. We were given directions to our room (its a big building and quite hard to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Had a lovely 2 night stay in this hotel. Reception staff were incredibly helpful and friendly,both rooms were huge and spotless with wonderful showers. Staff at breakfast couldn't have been nicer and the food was good. Hotel is across the road from the train station and is centrally located.Only complaint would be to have more vegetarian options on the dinner... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Richard M, General Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review and pleased you had a great stay. Thank you also for highlighting our high level of cleanliness. I have noted your comments ref vegetarian options in the restaurant and will ensure we improve the variety. Kind Regards Richard Morrell General Manager More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Just back from Manchester, and had an amazing time although certain issues in the hotel concerned me. I would like to note that I myself work in a 4 star hotel in Belfast and because of this can be fussy. On arrival the outside and reception area are amazing really beautiful. It took a good 15 minutes or so to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Richard M, General Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, My sincere apologies for receiving an average review. We always aim to exceed our customers expectations. I am of course sorry for the breakdown in communication ref afternoon tea but pleased our bar team restored your faith. Equally disappointing was other guests disturbed your sleep. Thank you for the feedback and I will redouble our efforts to score... More 

Derry, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The hotel itself is about a 10 minute walk from Manchester Piccadilly station and is quite central. Deans Gate locks and other places you may want to go are all walking distance. The hotel itself has a beautiful reception area. The rooms are incredibly spacious even though we had two double beds there was still plenty of room. The hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Richard M, General Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review and pleased you enjoyed your stay and found the Hotel team to be most helpful. I look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards Richard Morrell General Manager – The Palace Hotel More 

Herne Bay, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We had a great one night stay at the Palace Hotel in Manchester after travelling up from Kent to see a concert at the Albert Hall. Our room was amazing, very large and clean with a great shower. We had a really nice meal at the hotels restaurant and spent some time relaxin at the bar area. We both thought... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Richard M, General Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review and pleased you had a perfect stay. Kind Regards Richard Morrell General Manager – The Palace Hotel More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace Hotel

Address: Oxford Street, Manchester M6O 7HA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Hotel Manchester
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Manchester

607 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (585)
Viewed
Bathroom (81)
Viewed
Room/suite (194)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (94)
Viewed
View from room (11)
Viewed
2:53
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (186)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay