We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Thistle Manchester City Centre, The Portland

3 - 5 Portland Street, Manchester M1 6DP, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Thistle Manchester City Centre, The Portland
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Thistle Manchester City Centre, The Portland
Write a Review

1,034 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    375
    264
    92
    98
See reviews for
74
307
75
301
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1034)
  • Mar-May only
    (265)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (268)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (260)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (241)
All months
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

Great location for the City Centre and the Northern Quarter. The receptionist, Vicki was superb, helpful and friendly. She is from Cumbria so what else would she be! The room (by the 'T' in the hotel sign, although medium sized was clean and not noisy at all. The bed was comfortable and not noisy as well, and temp just right.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Yorkshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I stayed here the night before a conference as we were expecting severe snow storms and I'm glad that I did as colleagues of mine who didn't, were very, very late. The hotel does not offer parking, however, there is a car park literally just around the corner. A bit steep at £20 or so but I'm just not used... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I booked myself and my husband into this hotel as a last minute surprise for our wedding anniversary, check in was straight forward was welcomed by a young lady called Rebecca she was so nice made me feel like I was very special and she genuinely made me feel like I was the most important guest there, I had phoned... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We arrived just before 4pm and were immediately directed to our room on floor two. This was an easily accessible room as I have difficulty with my mobility. The room was absolutely fantastic and having two bathrooms my partner enjoyed a bath and the walk in wet room was perfect for myself. I have only one slight criticism in room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oldham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We checked in around 3pm, very swiftly given our room keys, and envelope with hotel information in, the room with bright, clean and the decor was very pleasing. the room had refreshments in, all the toiletries you could possibly need, including shoe shine packs, and at the side of the bed a packet of earplugs each (not that they was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
oxford
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed for one night recently. Fairly basic rooms and overall. The room was more like a premier inn ( if that).There was no parking and it was £17 for one days parking in a pretty grim car park down the road. At over £100 a night I certainly wouldn't go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
David S, Manager at Thistle Manchester City Centre, The Portland, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Firstly thankyou for taking the time to let us know about your stay, we cater to hundreds of guests a week and very few take the time to inform us of their experiences. I’m disappointed to hear you were unhappy with your stay & would welcome any feedback you may have about your experiences that we’d be able... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here on Saturday night and we were very pleased with the helpful, professional staff on arrival and departure. Bedrooms spotlessly clean and bed very comfortable. Breakfast was excellent. Good choice of fresh fruit. Hot breakfast well cooked and again a good variety of cooked foods. Service was very good and the staff were very attentive. Central location is very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
David S, Manager at Thistle Manchester City Centre, The Portland, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Firstly thankyou for taking the time to let us know about your stay, we cater to hundreds of guests a week and very few take the time to inform us of their experiences. I’m pleased to see you had such a nice stay & thankyou for your positive feedback, which I will pass onto the staff. If there... More 

Stockport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Perfect location - right on Piccadilly Gardens! You can't get much better than that!! The Reception staff were friendly and attentive on check-in. The Key West Cooler in the bar is a must! The Restaurant Manager is brilliant. Really attentive and nothing is too much trouble. The bedrooms are perfect size with everything you would require and comfy beds. Finally,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
David S, Manager at Thistle Manchester City Centre, The Portland, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Firstly thankyou for taking the time to let us know about your stay, we cater to hundreds of guests a week and very few take the time to inform us of their experiences. Thankyou for such positive feedback which I will pass onto the staff & it sounds like you have an excellent weekend. Our new cocktail menu... More 

Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here for one night and then returned 3 days later for 6 nights on a split business trip. I arrived off a flight form Asia around 9am, and they were able to check me in which I always appreciate when arriving early after a long flight. The room I was given for my first stay was absolutely tiny,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
David S, Manager at Thistle Manchester City Centre, The Portland, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Firstly thankyou for taking the time to let us know about your stay, we cater to hundreds of guests a week and very few take the time to inform us of their experiences. I’m pleased to hear you had a pleasant stay with us, and were personally looked after by the staff. I will be taking your comments... More 

Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stay. Two nights Saturday and Sunday. .Superv location. Very expensive for sat. night ,room extremely small ,staff at reception. NOT very welcome ,, After to get in touch with the hotel I got a call from Kim Burows the area manager ,she apologised and she was very simpatetic and helpfull ,extremely good customer relation , hope to visit the hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

184 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (134)
Viewed
View from room (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (25)
Viewed
Room/suite (49)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (50)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (24)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Other (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question