We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Britannia Manchester Hotel

Portland Street, Manchester M1 3LA, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Britannia Manchester Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Britannia Manchester Hotel
Write a Review

2,641 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    512
    594
    510
    876
See reviews for
227
867
240
473
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (754)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (2641)
  • Mar-May only
    (662)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (640)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (617)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (722)
All months
Leeds, England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Booked this hotel for an overnight stay for a concert at the arena. Got a really good price for the room and was very happy as had booked a room without a window (as on a budget) and was given a lovely twin bedded room with windows.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wigan, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

A classic old building. Looks good from the outside. Big staircase inside. Would have been very impressive in its heyday. I guess to do it up inside would cost a fortune. That said it's in a great location in the centre. Decor is dated but that comes with buildings like these. Staff were very good, nothing too much for them.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

stayed one night , have stayed before got an online deal,room was clean and tidy, staircase look lovely. could do with a revamp and updating. Good central location.Service was excellent. Staff pleasant

Was this review helpful? Yes
RASL
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Stayed with friends after a concert. Rooms adequate size however the whole interior from the lobby, hallways , rooms etc were tired , shabby and run down. Carpets were thread bare in places ... Looks like the place hadn't been decorated in 30+ yrs

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these Manchester hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

1st experience was terrible and in my opinion cost a bomb for what we had, our room had a number of complaints in which duty manager did check out our complaints and has offered us a free stay with meal etc...we will be taking this up....lets hope this one is better.....food great though and appreciate the offer of a full... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Buckley, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

When arriving at the Britannia my thoughts were "looks clean and extravagant" then the more I looked around I notice the torn leather sofas on the landing of each landing. Then I went into my room, as I had asked for a non-smoking room, this was clearly incorrect!!! It had a strong odour smoke, frayed carpets and just clearly needed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
4 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Some of the rooms in this hotel are smoking rooms (didn't know they still existed!). As a consequence, our entire floor smelled of cigarettes and so did our room (a NON smoking room). The window latch was broken. The carpet had red stauns all over, as if something had been dragged around the room. The room was not clean. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Spent one night in Britannia ,hotel entrance and foyer looks very nice ,checked in having asked for Executive room was assured room 306 was Executive ...ooh what a let down,wallpaper torn ,ceiling paper stained presume water damage at some stage the curtains didn't meet and draw handles which must have broken at some stage were replaced by non matching replacements... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
customerservices704, Guest Relations Manager at Britannia Manchester Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry that you were unhappy with the facilities provided at the Britannia Manchester Hotel. The Britannia Manchester is undergoing a gradual refurbishment of rooms which due to the size and location of the Hotel can only be completed a few rooms at a time. I am sorry that the rooms you were allocated were not yet refurbished. if... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Awful hotel very noisey especially if your room is above the nightclub! Very dated, and old fashioned! Only had one towel between 2 people! Stinks of smoke apart from the room which smelt of paint fumes!

Was this review helpful? Yes
customerservices704, Guest Relations Manager at Britannia Manchester Hotel, responded to this review

thank you for your feedback, the Britannia Manchester is currently going through a gradual refurbishment with new wall paper, carpets and curtains as well as flat screen TV's I apologise if this is what affected your stay, the Britannia hotel is a busy city centre hotel with bars either side, this is stated on our website. We have a lot... More 

Glasgow
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Actually assaulted by the doorman! You can't get lower than this tramp hotel! Lucky he got rescued by the manager. Unfortunately they refused to call the police!!!!!!!! Never again. You do get what you pay for, but this was another class entirely

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

542 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (528)
Viewed
Room/suite (214)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (41)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (78)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
1:26
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (170)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay