We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Britannia Manchester Hotel

Portland Street, Manchester M1 3LA, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Britannia Manchester Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Britannia Manchester Hotel
Share an Experience

2,525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    488
    568
    485
    838
See reviews for
216
823
235
444
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (728)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (2525)
  • Mar-May only
    (544)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (640)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (618)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (723)
All months
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We planned a night out in Manchester so looked on booking.com for a hotel, Britannia came up as a half decent fair priced hotel in the centre of the city.. Staff were kind and helpful and the room was large. However after coming back from a night out there were loads of bugs (smaller than ants) running around on top... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Fantastic entrance helpfull staff walk up the stairs to appreciate the decor room Was ok but the carpet was thread bare and stained (£200 spent on New Flooring would make aBIG difference) yes I am a carpet fitter! Breakfast at £7 was Fantastic I would stay here again. Room cost £58

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed one night and on arrival to the room we were quickly disappointed with the quality of the room. The carpet was threadbare and desperately needed replacing, as did the floorboards as they creaked no matter where you walked and judging from the noise of the room above, the room below us would be able to hear our every... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
manchester
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed here whilst visiting opera house and was quite impressed. For the price, the reception was lovely, room a little dated but clean enough nice hot shower and not bad Italian on site. Everything is on your doorstep, defo come back when next in town x

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newcastle and Gateshead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed in this hotel for only two nights - thankfully! On the plus side the room was a reasonable size and the bathroom was clean as was the bed linen. The hotel is also in a very good location. On the negative side where do I start? This may once have been a good hotel but no longer. Carpets in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

After reading other reviews we were quite sceptical about our stay,we only stayed one night found the room comfortable enough but the bed was on the small side, telephone socket hanging off ,tv very old controls didnt work but saying that we were only there for a short while .Evening meal was of a reasonable standard as was the Breakfast... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Dreadful hotel room caught in a 1950's time warp-and not in a good way. Room and furniture extremely shabby. Carpet threadbare. Bathroom door kicked in from a previous occupant. Fittings very well worn. Bed redolent of a prison cell. Breakfast dreadful. The entire hotel needs a major refit and is little more than an expensive flea-pit. Spend you money elsewhere... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Booked mine and my girlfriends room for the day before Valentine's Day and I only paid £50 for it bargain. I went to dress the room before we got there as for surprise for my girlfriend and there was two single beds 😔 and no windows but I booked it through a 3rd party web site so that's not the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
customerservices704, customer service at Britannia Manchester Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for review, we have taken all comments on board and passed them to higher management to look in to. we highly appreciate your feedback as it will assist us in becoming better at what we do. More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We booked this hotel through a Groupon offer as we were in Manchester for a concert. After reading the reviews I thought we had made a terrible mistake. However, on arrival the staff were very friendly and helpful. The staircase is pretty impressive. The room we stayed in was a bit old fashioned and the tv didn't work, but it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
customerservices704, Guest Relations Manager at Britannia Manchester Hotel, responded to this review

We are happy you enjoyed your stay, thank you for your positive feedback of our hotel we are currently having a gradual refurbishment of rooms at the moment, we look forward to welcoming you in the near future, if you have any special requests please email customerservices704@britanniahotels.com. More 

Bedford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Quite frankly, we were influenced by this hotel's convenient location close to PIccadilly - and I had stayed for just a few hours a year or so ago. This was to be a weekend break for my wife and me - and, oh dear. Take a closer look and you see a tired looking hotel with a hint of neglect... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
customerservices704, Guest Relations Manager at Britannia Manchester Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for review, we have taken all comments on board and passed them to higher management to look in to. we highly appreciate your feedback as it will assist us in becoming better at what we do. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

503 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (489)
Viewed
Room/suite (187)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (73)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (39)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
1:26
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (167)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question