We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 116 Manchester hotels

Britannia Country House Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Palatine Road | Didsbury, Manchester M20 2WG, England (Didsbury)
Hotel amenities
Britannia Country House Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Britannia Country House Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #76 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
Carol G Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Write a Review

1,603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    419
    307
    202
    480
See reviews for
298
622
64
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1603)
  • Mar-May only
    (358)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (447)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (452)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (346)
All months
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
21 hotel reviews
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed in this hotel whilst on a national holiday trip. Very pleasant. Food was very good. Plenty of choice. The bar had a happy hour (well 3 hours to be exact) which was a pleasant surprise for a hotel. Rooms were clean and tidy. So would stay here again. Few people staying here as a hotel base for Manchester airport... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and will be delighted to pass your comments on to all of our staff. Kind regards Sandra Cheshire Hotel Supervisor More

Barnsley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

This hotel would be OK. Unfortunately it is full of asylum seekers from a large number of countries. For people that are supposedly destitute and allegedly fleeing persecution they fill up the communal areas and play with their expensive Iphones without any thought to other residents. For those people who are daft enough to actually use their own money to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I can confirm that all guests that stay at the Britannia Country House Hotel are “paying guests” we do not have any guests that stay for free, therefore each and every... More

Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Stayed for one night on a coach trip. Had a previous bad experience with another Britannia hotel and appalling food so I was not expecting the quality of food to be very good. The food was very good and service was excellent.The rooms were clean and tidy and beds comfortable. A very enjoyable break .

Was this review helpful? Yes
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel which I will pass on to all of the staff. I do hope that you come and stay with us again sometime in the near future. Kind regards Sandra Cheshire Hotel Supervisor More

Wirral, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Bit worried after reading some reviews. But great value, booked with APH airport parking and included 7 days parking. Friendly welcome. Visited bar for couple of drinks and decided to eat in Pizzeria which was excellent and excellent value - sure it must have been happy hour! would certainly stay again. Great extra day to holiday!

Was this review helpful? Yes
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel which I will pass on to all of the staff. I was pleased to read that you found the hotel to be excellent value for money. I look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards Sandra Cheshire Hotel Supervisor More

Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
12 hotel reviews
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I booked this hotel as it seemed really to be a great price at £49 for1 night for a double room in Manchesters posh Didsbury area. On the whole I was pleased with my stay as it was unusual in the fact that they had so much entertainment, several restaurants, gambling machines, Music, great staff that are very friendly and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and will be delighted to pass your comments on to all of our staff. I am sorry that you were unhappy with your Indian meal in our restaurant as these meals... More

Lincoln, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Friendly, comfortable, convenient. This is our preferred budget stopover and parking when flying out of Manchester. There is a pool, and a few bars and restaurants nearby (walkable) so its location is OK for an evening before you go away. The room was comfy and I had a good sleep.

Was this review helpful? Yes
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel. I was pleased to read that you found the staff to be friendly and the hotel to be convenient and comfortable. I look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are flying from Manchester. Kind regards Sandra Cheshire Hotel... More

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I wasant expecting much from a 3 star but the lobby was full of people and the staff were verry friendly the room was clean and had all that you would need comfy bed tv tea/coffee making in ur room and the shower was verry powerful and warm towels are verry small all in all a good stay

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our bedrooms to be clean and comfortable. We do try to offer the best value to our guests and I am pleased your stay with us... More

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed overnight at this hotel as our flight was at 6am from Manchester and the booking included parking for the duration of our holiday included in the price of the room. We found the room to be comfortable and very clean and a reasonable price , lovely bed linen and towels. The bar area is great, always served quickly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel. It is so easy for people to tell us when things go wrong but it is always great when guest write reviews when they have enjoyed their stay. I was pleased to read that you would recommend us and I look... More

porthmadog
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for just the one night before flying off overseas The bedroom was clean and had everything we required The heating rattles and is noisy and you could hear a extraction or something similar going on into the early hours, but I couldn't sleep anyway due to the excitement of the Holiday ahead We ate in the restaurant... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments following your recent stay at the Britannia Country House Hotel. I am sorry that you were disturbed by noise and I have passed your comments on to our maintenance team to look into. It is always good to receive constructive criticism to enable us to improve our standards to ensure our guests have an enjoyable... More

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Admittedly I stayed here under bad circumstances and not out of choice, and I appreciate this may have coloured my experience somewhat. I was on a delayed flight from Birmingham and then bused to Manchester for an overnight stay before pick up at 6am the next day for the replacement flight. When we arrived it was nearly 9pm and we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel. I am sorry that you were disturbed by noise from other guests. We do ask our guests to be quiet so they do not disturb other guests, however, some guests can be inconsiderate. Please accept my apologies for any inconvenience that may have... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Britannia Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Country House Hotel

Address: Palatine Road | Didsbury, Manchester M20 2WG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester > Didsbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 255
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Britannia Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Country Manchester
Britannia Country Hotel

304 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (294)
Viewed
Room/suite (75)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (52)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
View from room (10)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (126)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay