We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 117 Manchester hotels

Britannia Country House Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Palatine Road | Didsbury, Manchester M20 2WG, England (Didsbury)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Britannia Country House Hotel to your Saves list
Britannia Country House Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
40%
Ranked #71 of 117 hotels in Manchester
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
sharon o Leicester, United Kingdom
  • Reviews (1,466)
  • Photos (248)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (341)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

1,466 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    183
    376
    275
    183
    449
See reviews for
267
577
56
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My husband&i stayed here for overnight stay before our holls .price for room&2wks parking excellent .when we booked via phone we got a room upgrade to an executive,but on arriving the room was anything but, room wasn't very big&felt like a normal room,later on evening lift broke, my husband at to carry 2 cases down stairs,plus side they let us... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Quite possibly the second worst hotel I have had the unfortunate opportunity to stay in, it's a 1 star experience I want to forget and a rat run of corridors that would confuse anyone in daylight and god forbid in an emergency. ...... not my cup of tea

Was this review helpful? Yes
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry that you were unhappy with your recent stay. We have 255 bedrooms over 4 floors and it can be confusing for some guests. We do have plaques on the walls giving guests directions to rooms and numerous fire exit signs with arrows to ensure that if there was an emergency situation guests would know exactly where to... More

Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

When myself and my partner checked in around valentines day in February we were surprised to find the hotel as very spacious and luxurious. The rooms were clean, and staff friendly. The only criticism I would have is that the jacuzzi function on the bath was non operative. Breakfast was great and plentiful. Would definitely recommend this establishment and will... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments following your stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and will recommend us to others. I look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards Sandra Cheshire Hotel Supervisor More

Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My husband booked to stay here overnight as we had been invited to a wedding reception being held here. Didn't know anything about the hotel and didn't come on here to look at reviews beforehand as it was only for one night. We just wanted somewhere to shower and change on arrival for the reception (as we had to travel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel, responded to this review

The Britannia Country House Hotel is situated in Didsbury which is not a built up area if fact we are situated next to and opposite large golf clubs. We do have in excess of 600 parking spaces at the hotel and at peak times our car park can become very busy and I am sorry that it took you a... More

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I was breathtaken with this hotel.was first there a year ago and back again since.the hotel is very classy and very clean.the meals are totally amazing and its a help yourself deal so you can have as much or as little as you like.you will be spoilt for choice at your evening meal-the roast dinners are superb.if you like puddings... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and will be delighted to pass your comments on to all of our staff. Kind regards Sandra Cheshire Hotel Supervisor More

barrow-in-furness, england
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here in a nice clean room for £68.00 for accomodation, a weeks parking & return transfer. We will stay again as it gives a nice relaxing start to the Holiday. We live 2 hours away, so it take all the drama out of travelling down. We had a couple of pints & an Indian in Northenden in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel which I will pass on to all of the staff whom I am sure will be delighted to read them. Kind regards Sandra Cheshire Hotel Supervisor More

Warwickshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here as part of a tour and was very disappointed with the room. It was very dark dingy and dirty.I had to put all the lights on the room as it was so dark due to only having one very tiny window which was so filthy you couldnt see out of it! Looked like it hadnt been cleaned... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel. I am sincerely sorry that you were disappointed with your stay. I have passed your comments on the cleanliness of the hotel to my head housekeeper to ensure all of these issues are rectified immediately. I am sorry that you did... More

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

stayed overnight on Saturday. Hotel very busy, staff friendly. Room was clean, downside the tables in restaurant are very close together, you could not have a private conversation. Dinner and breakfast was okay. It was not noisy at night. I can see it would be good value for people flying out from Manchester airport. Have stayed in better but have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel. I was pleased to read that you found your room to be clean and the staff friendly. Unfortunately we are a large hotel and at times our restaurant can become extremely busy and I am sorry that you were upset by this. It... More

Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at this hotel due to flying from manchester as we have stayed a few times this is exc value for money we had 15 nights car parking ;comfortable room for the night and a great breakfast all for £88 and then the mini bus picked us up to take us to the airport a few mins away and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel. It is always great to receive positive comments and I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you felt the hotel offered an excellent service. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near... More

Manchester
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed at this hotel just for a night away with my partner.it is in a great location as there is lots to do/places to go in the surrounding area,lots of restaurants etc. the room itself was perfectly fine,very clean and a nice modern bathroom.i stayed in a double room and the only thing I would say is that it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments following your recent stay with us. Some of our standard rooms are small however it is possible to upgrade to an executive room at our reception. I look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards Sandra Cheshire Hotel Supervisor More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Britannia Country House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Britannia Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Country House Hotel

Address: Palatine Road | Didsbury, Manchester M20 2WG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester > Didsbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Country House Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Otel, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Britannia Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Country Manchester
Britannia Country Hotel

248 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (239)
Viewed
Room/suite (75)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (52)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
View from room (10)
Viewed
Other (72)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
255

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer