We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Britannia Country House Hotel

Palatine Road | Didsbury, Manchester M20 2WG, England
Hotel amenities
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Britannia Country House Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

2,031 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Have stayed here plenty of times (mainly just a place to lay my head after going to an event in Manchester- Football or Boxing events mainly) Great place to Stay, rooms are tidy, staff are generally accomodating, Swimming Pool and Spa were great for a morning dip before the car journey back! Booked this place due to proximity to MEN... More 

Helpful?
Thank Paul J
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I was transfered here yesterday due to an issue with a sister hotel. By the time i arrived everything had been sorted and they gave me an upgrade due to the mix up at the other hotel 9which was not their doing). I had 1 issue with the power sockets not working on the tv but the duty manager was... More 

Helpful?
Thank AndyW1208
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed here for the night prior to flying out from Manchester for 5 days, during which time hotel car park facilities are available free of charge! Hotel is also conveniently located a 10 minute drive from the airport. Hotel was clean, staff were friendly and welcoming, bar prices were reasonable, spa on site too. Have no complaints, would definitely... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank JaqueBlack
Wythenshawe, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Stayed here for one night and I don't understand what all these people are complaining about. You get what you pay for. Friendly staff. Comfortable. Good food. I had no problems whatsoever. Also want to say Julie on the front desk was such a great help! Would do anything I asked. Very accommodating!

Helpful?
Thank mygrey
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Ok the hotel was very dated, I could accept that, but my room was like Harry Potters cupboard under the stairs! It was the smallest room I had ever stayed in. There where stains all over the carpet, the shower and toilet looked in a bad state, the floor had all cuts in it, just terrible. The decor was very... More 

Helpful?
Thank Piers B
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel. I am sorry that you were unhappy with the room you were allocated and that you were disturbed by noise from other guests. We do ask guests to be quiet however some guests can be inconsiderate. I do wish that you... More 

Travelers are raving about these Manchester hotels

Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

When i first arrived their were a lack of signs showing you towards the vast car park or entrance. Once i'd navigated through the maze of the car park, i found the reception desk. Due to staying away with business most weeks i get used to check-in's This was a long check in "15mins" once i got my room i... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mark J
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments following your recent stay at the Britannia Country House Hotel. We do have more than 600 car park spaces on our car park and I am sorry that you felt it was like a maze. I am sorry that you were unhappy with the room that you were allocated and the menu in our pizzeria... More 

Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Booked this hotel as a last minute night away due to seeing a show in the city centre. Booked through laterooms.com, the room rate was £49 when we arrived but ended up having to pay £59 as we made the reservation online. We were on the 4th floor in one of the smallest rooms looking out onto the back car... More 

Helpful?
Thank Zoeadz
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel. I am sincerely sorry that you were not completely happy with your stay, should you wish to stay with us again, please contact me at the Hotel directly to enable me to arrange your booking for you. Once again thank you for your... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at the Britannia Country House Hotel as a group of 6 (3 rooms) for 1 night before flying out of Manchester. This was my second stay at the hotel, I had used it previously for an overnight stay before flying out of Manchester. On arrival we was advised that we had all been upgraded as the hotel was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rachw208
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel. It is so easy for people to tell us when things go wrong but it is always great to receive positive comments and I would like to thank you for adding your comments to Trip Advisor. I was pleased to read... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Manchester and coronation street break away one of the most amazing hotel I have stayed at staff where amazing food was lovely and rooms where lovely would definitely go again and have a longer stay and recommend it to anyone who want to have a lovely stay

Helpful?
Thank Wendy N
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments following your stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel. I was delighted to read that you really enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Manchester. Kind regards Sandra Cheshire Operations Manager More 

Leek, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We chose this hotel for our overnight stay, prior to flying overseas, as it included 'free' parking for the duration of the holiday. Our room was OK & the food was pretty reasonable given that we were there on Christmas eve. They had a couple of hours for "Happy Hour" which made the drink prices quite reasonable and the shuttle... More 

Helpful?
Thank Peter T
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments following your stay with us at Country House. I was pleased to read that you found that the hotel matched your needs well, and I look forward to welcoming you back in the soon. Kind regards Sandra Cheshire Operations Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

382 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (371)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (43)
Viewed
Room/suite (126)
Viewed
View from room (16)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (64)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (111)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester West Didsbury Hotel
1.5 mi away
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
#84 of 117 in Manchester
3.0 of 5 stars 401 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel Ibis Budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Chancellors Hotel
Chancellors Hotel
#74 of 117 in Manchester
3.5 of 5 stars 376 reviews
3.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Manchester Airport
3.3 mi away
Etrop Grange
Etrop Grange
#64 of 117 in Manchester
3.5 of 5 stars 899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay