We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 118 Manchester hotels

Britannia Country House Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Palatine Road | Didsbury, Manchester M20 2WG, England (Didsbury)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Britannia Country House Hotel to your Saves list
Britannia Country House Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
40%
Ranked #73 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
pebs44 Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Write a Review

1,531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    395
    290
    194
    463
See reviews for
286
596
59
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Absouluty terrible no air conditioning in family room, room at front of hotel with drunks shouting outside waking my son up!! So not one wink of sleep, and to top it off we had a drunk trying to get in our room!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Ok having been shocked by its sister hotel we arrived here after changing hotels. Check in was good and the overall appearance settled us both after the nightmare start to our soon to be holiday flying from Manchester. The reception staff were very helpful and very friendly too. I will admit to the room given to us in need of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This hotel is defiantly overdue a refurbishment. The room was dated and grubby. The bath had black cracks on the bottom and a collection of hair samples decorated the sides. Made the error of going to their Pizza restaurant for dinner and joined several other diners in wasting our entire evening attempting to get served and fed. There was just... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Redditch
2 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This hotel is cheap for a reason!! The light didn't work in our room when we arrived but this was sorted quite quickly. I then went to get the spare pillow from the wardrobe to find it had a big stain on which looked like blood!! The rooms are ok for a one night stay and shower good. Breakfast was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel. Please accept my most sincere apologies for any inconvenience that may have been caused and thank you for bringing these matters to my attention. Kind regards Sandra Cheshire Hotel Supervisor More

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We booked this with holiday extra and when turned up was told we had to go to the sister hotel, which has terrible reviews, due to the country house being over booked!!! Which was disappointing after a 5 1/2 hour drive. The couple before us was discussing this with the duty manager and I was appalled that he was smirking... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. Unfortunately we did have to out book some of our guests recently and I am sorry that you were upset by this. The Britannia Airport Hotel is a short distance away from the Country House Hotel and is of the same standard, the only difference being is the Airport Hotel does not have a Health... More

Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

On arrival to the hotel we were unsure where to park as there was no indication of which of the many car parks to use. We were fortunate enough to find a gentleman who was leaving the car park and he assured us, as he was a previous guest, that we could use his parking space. It turns out there... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel, responded to this review

We have over 600 spaces at the Hotel. We do not have different areas for residents or for guests that are leaving their car whilst they are away on holiday and I am sorry that you found it difficult to find a parking space, we are extremely busy at the moment and I am sorry for any inconvenience that this... More

Leeds
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

We stayed at hotel for one night on Wednesday of this week. For £65 for dinner with a bottle of wine and bed and breakfast for 2 it is an absolute steal. The hotel is set in lovely grounds, the food is reasonable, the rooms are excellent (well the executive room we were in was anyway) and the bar is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel. It is always great to receive positive comments and I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you felt the hotel offered fantastic value for money. I look forward to welcoming you back in the... More

Gourock, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We went to this hotel as part of a coach trip through Caledonian Travel. It was booked as a wee honeymoon after our wedding, just a break for the 2 of us to get away. We had asked if possible to have a nice room as it was our honeymoon. When we got there the hotel looked nice, it is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments following your recent stay t the Britannia Country House Hotel. Unfortunately we were unable to offer you a complimentary upgrade as the hotel was extremely busy and for this I offer my most sincere apologies. We have over 600 spaces on our car park and it is extremely busy at the moment as we have... More

Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed overnight at this hotel, as part of a coach tour so was very pleasantly surprised to be able to go down to dinner and to breakfast at a time which suited me - no regimented dining by group! The dinner was very good indeed with a choice of soup (home made) or salad, the four main courses to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel which I will pass on to all of the staff. We do think it works well to allow our guests to dine at their leisure as not all guests wish to dine at the same time. All our food is freshly... More

Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked it through holiday extras for 58 quid for stayover and parking,booked 3 course meal and breakie next day for a little more,good deal,food was good,room large and clean and enjoyed leisure facilities,only slight problem was directons from agent were hard to follow and resulted in me getting lost for a bit,have to get a sat nav I think

Was this review helpful? Yes
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel which I will pass on to all of the staff who I am sure will be delighted to read them. Kind regards Sandra Cheshire Hotel Supervisor More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Britannia Country House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Britannia Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Country House Hotel

Address: Palatine Road | Didsbury, Manchester M20 2WG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester > Didsbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Country House Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Venere so you can book your Britannia Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Country Manchester
Britannia Country Hotel

302 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (293)
Viewed
Room/suite (75)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (52)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
View from room (10)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (125)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Manchester with
any amenities