We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 117 Manchester hotels

Britannia Country House Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Palatine Road | Didsbury, Manchester M20 2WG, England (Didsbury)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Britannia Country House Hotel to your Saves list
Britannia Country House Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
40%
Ranked #73 of 117 hotels in Manchester
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
gladwinwales yorkshire
  • Overview
  • Reviews (1,484)
  • Photos (249)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (344)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

1,484 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    186
    382
    277
    186
    453
See reviews for
270
582
58
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Our party of 7 arrived after a long flight and waiting a further 40 minutes on the free shuttle service only to find that the hotel had failed to have the rooms we had booked months in advance, we did have a booking reference which was totally ignored by the utterly useless manager (July 7th at 1.00am - just in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments following your stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel. I am sorry that we had no record of your booking on your arrival at the Hotel. Our reception staff followed the correct procedure by ringing our central reservation as they would deal with all bookings, including those booked through a 3rd party travel... More

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

One night stay for an airport transfer. air con was broken in restaurant, school dinners had to take my beer back. Don't usually do negative reviews but unfortunately this was not good. I would look elsewhere before coming here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments following your recent stay with us. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your meal in our restaurant and had to take your beer back to the bar. Thank you for your constructive criticism, your comments will be taken on board. Kind Regards Sandra Cheshire Hotel Supervisor More

Cannock, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed at this hotel for one night on Saturday 19th July, 2014. I e mailed them a week before and requested a quiet, non-smoking room, Having received no reply from them I called them the day before arrival and was assured that my request would be met. On arrival, they had no knowledge of this and their attitude was well... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Firstly I would like to apologise for any inconvenience that may have been caused during your stay at the Britannia Country House Hotel. We do our best to honour all guests request however on some occasions this is not possible and I am sorry that you were unhappy with the room that you were allocated. We offer a hot and... More

yorkshire
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

hotel is lovely and bargain price however, if the weathers warm outside be prepared to boil in the bag in your room. No air con or fans - we had to sleep with cold wet towels on - bad nights sleep, shame though as it is a nice convenient hotel - only 5 min drive to airport

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Firstly I would like to apologise for any inconvenience that may have been caused during your stay at the Britannia Country House Hotel. We have been experiencing very hot weather over the last few weeks and unfortunately the bedrooms are very warm, we do leave the windows open to cool the rooms down. We do have fans for our guests... More

Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed here before and this time before going away we decided to stay 2 nights on may 24th. This hotel gets bad reviews but I have to disagree. This hotel offers budget prices and is always busy so surely cant be that bad. On arrival we headed to reception, where they were pleasant and helpful infact I used reception... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments following your recent stay with us. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to welcoming you back in September. Kind regards Sandra Cheshire Hotel Supervisor More

Lytham St Annes
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We have stayed at this hotel quite a few times now and every stay is lovely. We recently stayed on a fri/sat nite as a treat for my husband and I. We did the bed, breakfast and dinner deal and enjoyed everything. The weather was lovely both evenings and we sat in the lovely beer garden. The staff are always... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel. It is always great to receive positive comments and I would like to thank you for adding your comments to Trip Advisor. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the staff helpful and very... More

Scotland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed here as part of a coach trip to Manchester. Reading reviews here beforehand I thought it was going to be some sort of hellhole but it was very good - for a 3 star hotel and on what we paid for it. Our room was clean, of adequate size and "hotel-type" furniture. Yes, a bit hot, but it is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel. It is so easy for people to tell us when things go wrong but it is always great to receive positive comments and I would like to thank you for adding your comments to Trip Advisor for other guests to read.... More

Preston, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We had actually booked a room with parking for 8 days for our recent holiday to Skiathos at what was the Holiday Inn at Wilmslow which has now been taken over by the Britannia Group and re-named the Airport Inn. When we arrived at the Hotel they told us our booking did not include parking and they were going to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel. I am sorry for the problems that you encountered at the Airport Inn. I was pleased to read that when you arrived at the Britannia Country House Hotel that your problems were resolved and you enjoyed your stay with us. I... More

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked hotel and parking for going away, we thought it was best to stay after our holiday, arrived at reception the assistant was very helpful the room we booked wasn't available so we where upgraded to a suite! Walked in to the room and thought this is rather nice. Four poster bed and a jacuzzi bath! We got up and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel, responded to this review

I was pleased to read that you really enjoyed your stay with us. I can only apologise for the problem you encountered with your transfer to the airport and I have today sent a copy of your comments on to the transfer company to look into. Once again thank you from all the team at the Britannia Country House Hotel.... More

Birmingham
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Dated rooms Awful uncomfortable bed Stinks of cigarettes and vomit Bathroom door didn't shut Sticky bathroom floor Won't be stopping there again The only good thing about this place is the jolly Cypriot bus driver taking us to the airport the following morning!

Was this review helpful? Yes
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel. I do wish that you had brought these issues to our attention during your stay to enable us to rectify them for you. Thank you for your constructive criticism, your comments will be taken on board. Kind regards Sandra Cheshire Hotel Supervisor More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Britannia Country House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Britannia Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Country House Hotel

Address: Palatine Road | Didsbury, Manchester M20 2WG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester > Didsbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Country House Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Tingo, Hotels.com, Otel, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Britannia Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Country Manchester
Britannia Country Hotel

249 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (240)
Viewed
Room/suite (75)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (52)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
View from room (10)
Viewed
Other (73)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
255

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer