We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 118 Manchester hotels

Britannia Country House Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Palatine Road | Didsbury, Manchester M20 2WG, England (Didsbury)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Britannia Country House Hotel to your Saves list
Britannia Country House Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
40%
Ranked #74 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
LeedsPearl Leeds, United Kingdom
Write a Review

1,536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    397
    291
    195
    464
See reviews for
287
598
60
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (357)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed in this park and stay hotel the night before we flew to Cape Verdi. What a pleasure it was from the moment we arrived. There was a happy hour on drinks so we relaxed in the bar. included in the price was a three course meal which was excellent. if you want a good value park and stay... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your positive comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and will be delighted to pass your comments to all of the staff at the hotel. I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for placing... More

Croydon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I must warn you now, people! If you have a car, be prepared to suffer in order to find a parking space within half a mile of this hotel! We arrived, tired and ready for a quick shower before meeting friends for dinner - we drove through the gates into what seems to be an airport car park - HUGE... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments following your recent stay with us. We have over 600 spaces on our car park and I am sorry that you found it difficult to park. We are a popular hotel for guests that are travelling from Manchester Airport and at times the hotel can be extremely busy. I was pleased to read that you... More

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Not the cleanest place I have ever been in. Got exactly what I paid for; a small, neat-ish room for a low price... DO NOT take the breakfast offer at check-in - seriously the worst brekky I have had in years! (and all for 7.95 GBP). Parking is a nightmare; took me at least 5-10 minutes to find a spot,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments following your recent stay with us. We have over 600 spaces on our car park and I am sorry that you found it difficult to park. I was surprised to read that you did not enjoy the breakfast in our restaurant. Thank you for your constructive criticism your comments will be taken on board. Kind... More

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Absouluty terrible no air conditioning in family room, room at front of hotel with drunks shouting outside waking my son up!! So not one wink of sleep, and to top it off we had a drunk trying to get in our room!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel, responded to this review

I was disturbed to read your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel. We do not have air conditioning in all rooms at the hotel and I am sorry that you were upset by this. We have 255 bedrooms and extensive conference and banqueting facilities and at times the hotel can be extremely busy... More

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Ok having been shocked by its sister hotel we arrived here after changing hotels. Check in was good and the overall appearance settled us both after the nightmare start to our soon to be holiday flying from Manchester. The reception staff were very helpful and very friendly too. I will admit to the room given to us in need of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments following your stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards Sandra Cheshire Hotel Supervisor More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This hotel is defiantly overdue a refurbishment. The room was dated and grubby. The bath had black cracks on the bottom and a collection of hair samples decorated the sides. Made the error of going to their Pizza restaurant for dinner and joined several other diners in wasting our entire evening attempting to get served and fed. There was just... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry that you were unhappy with your recent stay at the Britannia Country House Hotel. We have over 600 spaces on our car park and at times our car park can become very busy. I do not understand your comment that the member of staff in our Pizzeria restaurant looked “terrified” as our waiters have worked for a... More

Redditch
2 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is cheap for a reason!! The light didn't work in our room when we arrived but this was sorted quite quickly. I then went to get the spare pillow from the wardrobe to find it had a big stain on which looked like blood!! The rooms are ok for a one night stay and shower good. Breakfast was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel. Please accept my most sincere apologies for any inconvenience that may have been caused and thank you for bringing these matters to my attention. Kind regards Sandra Cheshire Hotel Supervisor More

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked this with holiday extra and when turned up was told we had to go to the sister hotel, which has terrible reviews, due to the country house being over booked!!! Which was disappointing after a 5 1/2 hour drive. The couple before us was discussing this with the duty manager and I was appalled that he was smirking... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. Unfortunately we did have to out book some of our guests recently and I am sorry that you were upset by this. The Britannia Airport Hotel is a short distance away from the Country House Hotel and is of the same standard, the only difference being is the Airport Hotel does not have a Health... More

Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

On arrival to the hotel we were unsure where to park as there was no indication of which of the many car parks to use. We were fortunate enough to find a gentleman who was leaving the car park and he assured us, as he was a previous guest, that we could use his parking space. It turns out there... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel, responded to this review

We have over 600 spaces at the Hotel. We do not have different areas for residents or for guests that are leaving their car whilst they are away on holiday and I am sorry that you found it difficult to find a parking space, we are extremely busy at the moment and I am sorry for any inconvenience that this... More

Leeds
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed at hotel for one night on Wednesday of this week. For £65 for dinner with a bottle of wine and bed and breakfast for 2 it is an absolute steal. The hotel is set in lovely grounds, the food is reasonable, the rooms are excellent (well the executive room we were in was anyway) and the bar is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel. It is always great to receive positive comments and I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you felt the hotel offered fantastic value for money. I look forward to welcoming you back in the... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Britannia Country House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Britannia Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Country House Hotel

Address: Palatine Road | Didsbury, Manchester M20 2WG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester > Didsbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Country House Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Agoda, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotel.de and Venere so you can book your Britannia Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Country Manchester
Britannia Country Hotel

302 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (293)
Viewed
Room/suite (75)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (52)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
View from room (10)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (125)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Manchester with
any amenities