We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Britannia Country House Hotel

Palatine Road | Didsbury, Manchester M20 2WG, England
Hotel amenities
Britannia Country House Hotel
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ranked #77 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Gourlaybarry10
Add Photo Write a Review

1,818 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    236
    467
    356
    229
    530
See reviews for
351
691
72
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (433)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1818)
  • Mar-May only
    (435)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (514)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (453)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (416)
All months
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The Hotel is ok. It is dated and could do with a refresh. For the price you pay for parking and the hotel for the night it it good value. The food in the Italian resturant was excellent. My only isuue is that there is no air conditioning which made our stay very uncomfortable. The heat was unbearable. If youa... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
213 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We arrived on a night flight and our connecting flight was not unti the evening. We booked a family room that was hot with no aircon. It did have a jucuzzi bath which the kids loved. Resteraunt was good for breaking but full English was not included and we had to pay . Facilities were good. We would stay again... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

3 night stay on business. Pleasant, clean and tidy room, even if a bit dated. Food in restaurant was plentiful, with lots of choice. Reasonable gym facilities and a pool, (although I didn't use this). Staff were helpful. Noisy neighbours, but I complained to reception the next morning and they were 'spoken to'. No complaints and would stay there again... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed at this hotel last year and were impressed so decided to stay again this year ,the food and service was excellent ,the only drawback was that there was a wedding so was very noisy but will stay again and ask for quiet room

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Lovely hotel. Can't complain about the food my granddaughter loved it service great would go again room was clean no complaints there keep up the good work britannia happy hour which my son in law liked shame we didn't get more time to look round the ground's

Was this review helpful? Yes
Market Drayton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
211 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Due to a major aircraft problem my flight delayed by 27 hours we were taken from the airport to the Britannia Country House Hotel. My first impressions remain as they were and that is that this hotel needs to be brought into the 21st century. The room I was allocated was small and was reminiscent of Blackpool B and B... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Room stank of damp, black up walls. Requested move as daughter has asthma, no rooms available at all other than single. Asked how old children were. Regardless how old I would never let them sleep alone in a hotel in single rooms. General manager came to room to wash and bleach black damp off walls and give us can of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments following your stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel. I am sorry that you were unhappy with the room that you were allocated and felt the standards of cleanliness were not up to our usual high standards. Unfortunately we were unable to offer you an alternative room as the hotel was full. Should... More 

Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had booked the 'stay and park' package at this hotel for our short break away in Athens and unfortunately this hotel / package provided a poor start and end to what was a very enjoyable city break. The hotel room was incredibly hot with only a small window for ventilation and no air conditioning which led to a poor... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments following your recent visit to the Britannia Country House Hotel. I am sorry that you were unhappy with the room that you were allocated and the food that was served in our restaurant. Our transfers run to a timetable and should a guest miss a pick up they would then have to wait for the... More 

Preston, United Kingdom
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

awfull hotel cant comment on room because we didnt stay, , couldnt get a taxi with the agred price,,,, got to hotel and assistant manageress was very nice,took our bags and told us she wouls sort things for us,we went for a meal, and thats all it was... the food was cold, yorkshire puddings tasted of fish????? and looked like... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments following your recent stay at the Britannia Country House Hotel. I am sorry that you were unhappy with your stay. On your arrival you were concerned that you would not be able to have dinner as you did not arrive until 8.30pm and our restaurant closes at 9.00pm. Our reception manager did take your cases... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A last minute requirement for a hotel in Manchester saw me booking this at past 8pm on then evening of my arrival, with a three hour drive required to reach it. I got it for £40 off Laterooms, booking a single en-suite. I didn't expect much, but basically needed a bed for the night and a shower before heading off... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel. I was pleased to read that you really enjoyed your stay with us and I will be delighted to pass on your kind comments to all of our staff. Once again thank you from all the team at the Britannia Country... More 

Hotel Review Summarization

What travelers say

  • Very good(23)
  • Evening meals(20)
  • Executive room(16)
  • Car park(16)
  • Next morning(5)
  • Buffet style(5)
  • Fire alarm(5)
  • Double beds(5)
  • Bar area(3)
  • Free bottle(3)
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

333 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (322)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (31)
Viewed
Room/suite (123)
Viewed
Bathroom (64)
Viewed
View from room (15)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (80)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manchester
1.5 mi away
The Waterside Hotel & Leisure Club
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester - West Didsbury
2.4 mi away
Chancellors Hotel
Chancellors Hotel
#74 of 116 in Manchester
3.5 of 5 stars 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Didsbury House
Didsbury House
#11 of 116 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 stars 405 reviews
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester East
3.3 mi away
Etrop Grange
Etrop Grange
#63 of 116 in Manchester
3.5 of 5 stars 788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay