We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Britannia Country House Hotel

Palatine Road | Didsbury, Manchester M20 2WG, England
Hotel amenities
Britannia Country House Hotel
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ranked #78 of 119 Hotels in Manchester
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
dan_cunni
Write a Review

1,704 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    437
    336
    215
    506
See reviews for
321
656
67
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (405)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1704)
  • Mar-May only
    (387)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (447)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (453)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (417)
All months
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed here for one night and had a really good experience. Some of the bad reviews almost made us book somewhere else but I'm glad we didn't. Like anything in life you get what you pay for - it is basic but the main thing is it was comfortable and clean. The room was large and it had a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel which I will pass on to all of the staff. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for placing your positive feedback on Trip... More 

Manchester
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Had a booking for afternoon tea this afternoon at 2pm. Was the worse experience I have ever had. We sent the sandwiches back as they had gone hard and were curled. The bar girl apologised and said it was because they had been made in the morning and stored in the fridge (it was 2.15pm!). In relation to the cakes,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments following your recent visit to the Britannia Country House Hotel for Afternoon tea. I have spoken to my Head Chef who has confirmed that the sandwiches for your afternoon tea were made freshly that morning and had been put into the fridge. On your arrival you said that you were unhappy with the sandwiches and... More 

2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Hi all please be aware before using this hotel for secure car parking for Manchester Airport, as I advise you to please think again. I parked my car at the Britannia Country House Hotel for two weeks and my car was broken into. A member of staff informed me the break in happened days before my return. As a result... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel, responded to this review

I would like to immediately apologise for the unfortunate experience that was suffered with your car and wish to assure you that in addition to our existing security measures, we are constantly looking at ways of further improving what we have in place. Please accept my most sincere apologies for any inconvenience that may have been caused. Kind regards Sandra... More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I am not one to write reviews but seeing as the hotel has failed to reply to my email to address my concerns (Within the 28 days stated on the website??) I will now post my review here of what I sent to the hotel without reply Me and my partner stayed on the 19.01.15 for the night before flying... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel. I can confirm that all guest emails are responded to as soon as they are received at the Hotel and I cannot explain why your email has not been answered. I would be grateful if you could forward your email directly to me... More 

Newcastle upon Tyne
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Firstly the positive. The staff we dealt with could not have tried any harder. After that it all downhill. To access the standard rooms at the rear there are three of the smallest lifts I have ever seen. One person with small case was all they would take. Not for the feint hearted. As we complained we were upgraded to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel. I was sorry to read that you were unhappy with cleanliness of your room, and I have passed your comments on to my Head Housekeeper to ensure that this does not happen again. I do wish that you had returned to our reception... More 

tayside
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

stayed at this hotel the day before travel yes its a bit old fashioned but clean ,the food is good and not expensive ,the bar is great especially monday to thursday is happy hour 5pm to 8 pm transfers are reliable and good

Was this review helpful? Yes
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel. It is so easy for people to tell us when things go wrong but it is always great to receive positive comments and I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back. Kind... More 

Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
12 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We used to stay at Bewleys when we went on our holidays but our car would do be taken and stored elsewhere ,this hotel is a bit dated but has large rooms,we get the superior room,the beds are comfortable,the bathroom is large and we generally have a whirlpool bath(our last stay we had a double bed) all for £49 ...we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel. It is so easy for people to tell us when things go wrong but it is always great to receive positive comments and I was pleased to read that you have enjoyed many stay with us. I look forward to welcoming... More 

Tadcaster, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My wife and I stayed on 25th March with a party of 20 people visiting the Coronation Street Tour in Manchester. We did not know which hotel we were assigned to until the morning of the trip. After reading some negative reviews I was a bit apprehensive but was pleasantly surprised by how well our visit went. The check-in process... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and I will be delighted to pass your comments on to all of the staff. I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for placing your positive... More 

Leeds
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

a pleasant pet friendly hotel, staff very friendly our room was ok, huge bath, but sadly the shower didnt work. the room service despite not being sent the right drink, the food was good value and arrived promplty - good place if going on hols as very close to the airport

Was this review helpful? Yes
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel. I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for posting your comments on trip advisor. Kind regards Sandra Cheshire Hotel Supervisor More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

I came to this hotel with friends and family for a St Patrick's event for one night. Staff were pleasant, room was pleasant, good was pleasant and the bar was reasonably rices! We have no complaints except nobody told us our mobile phone would de-code our room key...Nevertheless this was no problem to the reception staff and they took us... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards Sandra Cheshire Operations Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

313 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (302)
Viewed
Room/suite (120)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (30)
Viewed
Bathroom (62)
Viewed
View from room (15)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (66)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question