We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 118 Manchester hotels

Britannia Country House Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Palatine Road | Didsbury, Manchester M20 2WG, England (Didsbury)
Hotel amenities
Britannia Country House Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Britannia Country House Hotel to your Saves list
40%
Ranked #76 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Traci A
Write a Review

1,572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    409
    300
    199
    471
See reviews for
291
613
63
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (372)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1572)
  • Mar-May only
    (358)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (447)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (421)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (346)
All months
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Pretty good hotel ..stayed for four nights on a organised coach trip. .only concerns were ..it seemed it was more like a hostel for asylum seekers . Young men sitting around all areas if the hotel which was a bit daunting ..

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chester-le-Street
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Arrived at this hotel as part of a coach tour. Upon entry the hotel looked ok and the check in staff were quick, polite and helpful. The hotel room was small but fine however was exceptionally cold. No heating at all was put on and no heaters supplied. This made the room uncomfortable. Bathroom was also bad with no curtain... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BEDFORD
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Due to a problem with booking by Newmarket Holidays we spend a weekend break at the above Hotel. Having had to wait at reception for some time without acknowledgement, a surly faced individual reluctantly attended to our coach party and we were allocated our rooms. None of our party were actually shown to their room, just given brief directions. Some... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel. I am sorry that you were disturbed by noise from other guests; we do ask our guests to be quiet however some guests can be inconsiderate. It is not against the law to smoke in hotel bedrooms; we do have both non smoking... More

Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

We stayed here for one night, and wasn't too hopeful regarding our stay having read reviews on Trip Advisor. We were pleasantly surprised! We only waited 5-6 mins to check in, and given that two coaches had just disgorged 80 passengers didn't think that was bad at all. Our room was nice and roomy, clean linen, big bed and what... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel. I was pleased to read that even though you had read some negative reviews on Trip Advisor that you decided to come and stay with us to make up your own mind and enjoyed your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back... More

Burnley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

we stayed one night prior to flying out of manchester the following morning and took advantage of the fifteen nights parking .stopped at brittania hotels before so didnt expect much but it was cheap for the parking. we had a good stay we were unexpectedly upgraded to a four poster room which was great and had a comfortable nights sleep... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the Hotel to be brilliant value for money. Thank you for recommending Britannia Hotels to your friends and family and I look forward to welcoming you back... More

Chester
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The hotel was chosen as the venue for a party and my family and I opted to stay overnight at a discounted room rate of £65 for a family room which we thought to be reasonable. Last time we visited, the car park was flooded and chaotic. This time, it was still very busy and cars do seem to park... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel. Unfortunately in the past when we have experienced extremely heavy rainfall some areas of our car park have in the past become flooded. Our car park has over 600 spaces and can be extremely busy at peak times. We do ask... More

Darlington, England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

we parked our car here and stayed for one night before flying off on our hols, on the last day of our holiday we left our cameras in the case with money ipad and most importantly car keys in the taxi, before flying home. All I can say is a lovely girl called Lauren and other staff went out off... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel. I will be delighted to pass your comments to all of the staff at the hotel. I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for placing your positive feedback Trip Advisor. I look forward to welcoming you back in... More

2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Clearly, this a transit hotel where, before flying you stay for a night, leaving your car whilst you are away. Consequently the first thing a guest notices are the thousands of cars, parked haphazardly anywhere and everywhere. Then you see the coaches. At this point both the penny and the heart dropped. Booking-in was chaotic - one flustered girl on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments following your stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel. We have over 600 spaces on our car park and at times it can be extremely busy. We do ask our guests to park carefully however some guests can be inconsiderate. I am sorry that you had to wait to check in, unfortunately we... More

Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We used the stay and fly package and was pleasantly suprised how smoothly it went with the transfers. The hotel was very nice and clean although the room could do with an update. The food that was included was average but overall had a very nice time. Would definitely stay again if flying from Manchester.

Was this review helpful? Yes
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel. It is so easy for people to tell us when things go wrong but it is always great to receive positive comments. Kind regards Sandra Cheshire Hotel Supervisor More

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here one night as part of a National Holidays trip to Coronation Street. I have to say that one night is probably enough for most people. Check in was efficient. The room was small but clean with tea and coffee facilities but very cold. I enquired at reception saying we could not turn on the radiator and the receptionist... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
countryhmanager, Manager at Britannia Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us at the Britannia Country House Hotel. I am sorry that your room was not warm enough for you, our heating is switched on when the weather is cold and I have passed your comments on to our maintenance team to investigate. I was pleased to read that... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Britannia Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Country House Hotel

Address: Palatine Road | Didsbury, Manchester M20 2WG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester > Didsbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 255
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotel.de, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Britannia Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Country Manchester
Britannia Country Hotel

302 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (293)
Viewed
Room/suite (75)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (52)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
View from room (10)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (125)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay