We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Red Lion Inn

Lower High St, Chipping Campden GL55 6AS, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Red Lion Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Red Lion Inn
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    35
    11
    4
    4
See reviews for
7
59
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (97)
  • Mar-May only
    (22)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (24)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (32)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (19)
All months
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed for three nights just before the bank holiday and used as a base for sightseeing the local areas. Good size room which has been recently refurbished a good breakfast. Staff are really friendly and make you feel at home. Chipping Camden is not the place to be if you're on EE network, couldn't get 2g let alone 4g!!! Luckily... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
tracylloyd, Owner at Red Lion Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive comments - we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the future. Tracy More 

Rhondda Cynon Taff
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My partner and I stayed for one night in this beautiful pub, full of character. Our newly refurbished room was stunning. The bedroom, with four poster bed was delightful and the bathroom was amazing! Wexate in the pub restaurant that night and the food was delicious, the staff and owners were extremely helpful and friendly, all in all a brilliant... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

What an amazing room! The bedroom was stunning as was the bathroom! The staff were friendly and helpful and the meal in the evening, as was the breakfast, we'll definitely be returning. Beautiful walks from the town too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Epsom, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
22 hotel reviews
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

We stayed for just one night in this old and characterful pub. In terms of food we only had a quick snack in the bar (excellent ham) when we arrived, which was OK and we had breakfast which was good. Our room was good with a decent amount of wardrobe space and all spotlessly clean. We had two issues with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
tracylloyd, Owner at Red Lion Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments we hope you enjoyed your stay with us - I am sorry the shower did not work correctly for you and have now had this checked out and could not find a fault - however we were told it could have been due to the water pressure. Wifi is now available in our bar areas... More 

Northampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2015

Lovely b&b. We were a little disappointed that our 'double room with en suite bathroom with shower' didn't have a bath. Its advertised as this on the website so did expect it to have one. I didn't mention this to staff as i knew it was fully booked so a room change wouldn't have been possible. We ate in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
tracylloyd, Owner at Red Lion Inn, responded to this review

Hello Thank you for your comments - I have checked our web site and the only room that mentions a bath is the 4 poster room - all our doubles state showers are available. Sorry for any confusion. We are glad you enjoyed the food that you had with us and hope to see you again in the future More 

MK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

We stayed for two nights to attend a wedding. We had the four posted bed, which was really lovely and very spacious. Loved the oldy woldy feel to the pub and we had a lovely breakfast and evening meal there. The location is brilliant and we had some amazing cocktails in Huxleys which is just across from the Red Lion.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
tracylloyd, Owner at Red Lion Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments following your stay with us - we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us while attending the Wedding and enjoyed the food we provided. We hope we can be of service again in the future. Regards Tracy More 

Tipperary, Ireland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2015

The red lion is a nice pub with good food. To get to the rooms you must go around the side of the building so you have access from the street. The rooms are very clean and there is WiFi access in each room however it was very slow and kept dropping. This isn't ideal on a business trip when... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
tracylloyd, Owner at Red Lion Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments- we are sorry to hear you had problems with the WiFi - no one has reported any issues since we had it installed recently - we will look in to this now. We are currently installing secondary glazing in all of the rooms and this will help with the traffic noise. Thank you for your... More 

2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2015

Spent an excellent two nights in the four poster room. Very comfortable bed. Very large bathroom with roll top bath and walk in shower. Room very clean with excellent facilities including free WiFi and high quality toiletries. Tracy and her staff were very friendly and always ready to offer help and advice about the area and throw an extra log... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
tracylloyd, Owner at Red Lion Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your very positive comments following your stay with us. We really appreciate feed back from our guests. Rooms have recently been refurbished and we recently added WIFI to the rooms following requests from guests. We try our hardest to meet individual requirements. We hope to see you again in the future Regards Tracy More 

Evesham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2014

We arrived for Christmas Dinner to see a lovely warm atmosphere with open fires and and friendly staff. The meal was enjoyed by all of us and we spent 3 very pleasant hours in nice company. Will return at later date to sample more.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
tracylloyd, Owner at Red Lion Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review following your stay at Christmas. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the near future. Tracy More 

Oldham
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2014

Rooms are found at the side of the lovely oldy worldy pub. Tracy was very chatty and friendly. Rooms recently renovated to a high spec, shower in room. No noise from other rooms, evening meal was very nice would recommend in a heartbeat.

Was this review helpful? Yes
tracylloyd, Owner at Red Lion Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for you positive review following your stay with us. We are glad we could have been of service to you and hope to see you again in the future tracy More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

41 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (36)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question