We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Red Lion Inn

Lower High St, Chipping Campden GL55 6AS, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Red Lion Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Red Lion Inn
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    35
    12
    5
    4
See reviews for
7
63
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (101)
  • Mar-May only
    (26)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (24)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (32)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (19)
All months
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
21 hotel reviews
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We enjoyed our stay in the quaint little market town of Chipping Campden, and it makes for a great location to explore the surrounding area of the Cotswolds. Which I highly recommend that you do- I am amazed that it has taken me this long to venture to this part of the world, and already can't wait to visit again.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

After our third stay in this wonderful place ,all that can be said is it really is a gem .the rooms are beautiful ,exceptionaly clean, tastefully decorated. The welcome at The Red Lion is second to none. Lovely people, we will be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
tracylloyd, Owner at Red Lion Inn, responded to this review

We are glad you enjoyed your 3rd stay with us . As always we are here to be of service to you and hope to see you again soon. More 

Scotland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
38 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for one night in the downstairs Jethro Room. Like other reviewers said it was spotlessly clean with a lovely large bathroom. Food was also fine although we thought breakfast could have been better - tepid tea and poor quality hot food items and nobody asking if we wanted re-fill or more toast. Biggest moan was the noise from the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
tracylloyd, Owner at Red Lion Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments - I am sorry that you got disturbed by the guests above - we do have some early risers who are walking the Cotswold way - as you have said if you do not want any room above you, you may want to sat in the Eves rooms if you stay with us again -... More 

Kent, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have just spent a most enjoyable three night break at the Red Lion. The whole place is just so full of character and the staff great. Had the "Jethro" room with the four poster bed, it was most comfortable. The bathroom was enormous! The room has been refurbished, and although on the ground floor was silent at night, and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
tracylloyd, Owner at Red Lion Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review - we are glad we could have been of service to you and that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed the food you had with us - we try to keep it the menu to good, home cooked English food that is value for money.... More 

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2015

Stayed for three nights just before the bank holiday and used as a base for sightseeing the local areas. Good size room which has been recently refurbished a good breakfast. Staff are really friendly and make you feel at home. Chipping Camden is not the place to be if you're on EE network, couldn't get 2g let alone 4g!!! Luckily... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
tracylloyd, Owner at Red Lion Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive comments - we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the future. Tracy More 

Rhondda Cynon Taff
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015

My partner and I stayed for one night in this beautiful pub, full of character. Our newly refurbished room was stunning. The bedroom, with four poster bed was delightful and the bathroom was amazing! Wexate in the pub restaurant that night and the food was delicious, the staff and owners were extremely helpful and friendly, all in all a brilliant... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
tracylloyd, Owner at Red Lion Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your stay with us - we are glad you enjoyed your stay. Please do not hesitate to contact us if you wish to book a room with us in the future More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015

What an amazing room! The bedroom was stunning as was the bathroom! The staff were friendly and helpful and the meal in the evening, as was the breakfast, we'll definitely be returning. Beautiful walks from the town too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
tracylloyd, Owner at Red Lion Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for you positive comments - we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and our 4 poster room was up to expectations. We are glad you would like to make a further visit to us in the future - do not hesitate to contact us. More 

Epsom, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
23 hotel reviews
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

We stayed for just one night in this old and characterful pub. In terms of food we only had a quick snack in the bar (excellent ham) when we arrived, which was OK and we had breakfast which was good. Our room was good with a decent amount of wardrobe space and all spotlessly clean. We had two issues with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
tracylloyd, Owner at Red Lion Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments we hope you enjoyed your stay with us - I am sorry the shower did not work correctly for you and have now had this checked out and could not find a fault - however we were told it could have been due to the water pressure. Wifi is now available in our bar areas... More 

Northampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2015

Lovely b&b. We were a little disappointed that our 'double room with en suite bathroom with shower' didn't have a bath. Its advertised as this on the website so did expect it to have one. I didn't mention this to staff as i knew it was fully booked so a room change wouldn't have been possible. We ate in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
tracylloyd, Owner at Red Lion Inn, responded to this review

Hello Thank you for your comments - I have checked our web site and the only room that mentions a bath is the 4 poster room - all our doubles state showers are available. Sorry for any confusion. We are glad you enjoyed the food that you had with us and hope to see you again in the future More 

MK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

We stayed for two nights to attend a wedding. We had the four posted bed, which was really lovely and very spacious. Loved the oldy woldy feel to the pub and we had a lovely breakfast and evening meal there. The location is brilliant and we had some amazing cocktails in Huxleys which is just across from the Red Lion.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
tracylloyd, Owner at Red Lion Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments following your stay with us - we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us while attending the Wedding and enjoyed the food we provided. We hope we can be of service again in the future. Regards Tracy More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

41 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (36)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities