We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Angel Inn & Lodge

Certificate of Excellence
Dame Lane | Misson Nr Doncaster, Doncaster DN10 6EB, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with LateRooms to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Angel Inn & Lodge
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Angel Inn & Lodge
Add Photo Write a Review

135 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    105
    16
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
30
63
5
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (135)
  • Mar-May only
    (35)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (41)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (35)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (24)
All months
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

we had a 1 night stay at the angel and found it very nice and comfy, the staff are very friendly especially the cleaner & donna the cleaner told us of a walk which was lovely by the river, the food in the inn was fab very well presented I put a pic on facebook, we will return for another... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sheffield
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed overnight and had a fabulous meal in the conservatory. The breakfast was excellent quality and the hosts were friendly and helpful. The twin room was comfortably furnished and was larger than we expected having seen photos. There was no noise at all from the pub, even though it was Saturday night and would definitely take another trip there for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Poulton
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here with our daughter and husband with their dog and ours. We were made to feel very welcome as soon as we walked through the doors to book in at this lovely Inn in a beautiful village. Lisa, the landlady, took us over to the lodges which were just across the car park. We had rooms next to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cramlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

cant fault it , lovely hosts ,good food, cheap too, outside chalet was very good and clean. Will definately be staying again, and maybe for no reason at all ! Walk in shower is fab and lots of free parking too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2015 via mobile

Having booked 2 nights b and b through groupon I then read the reviews on Trip Advisor! Any doubts I had were soon forgotten. On arrival the landlord welcomed us, booked us in, then explained the breakfast times and the need to pre arrange a time. He then showed us to our room which was across the car park well... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lisa H, Owner at Angel Inn & Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time for reviewing us on Groupon. I will pass on your comments to the team. It is always nice to hear that our efforts are appreciated. Best Regards More 

Goole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2015

we booked a table at the angel inn, we arrived and at he bar found a choice of 2 real ales which were both very nice, we were taken through to our table which was I a cold conservatory but this soon warmed up after around 10 minutes, we ordered our starters which was a anti pasti sharing board which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lisa H, Owner at Angel Inn & Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for placing your review on trip advisor and I am pleased to hear that all in all you enjoyed your meal with us. We change the cheese board all the time and another night you may well have had your brie and mature cheddar. Could you possibly e mail me a copy of your bill if you still... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2015 via mobile

We visited today and the pub itself is a lovely friendly pub but the food was what can only be described as well below average and really wished we'd stayed home and cooked our own dinner. The beef was over cooked and dry. The Yorkshire puddings were like pancakes and inedible, the roast potato had a pool of fat around... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Lisa H, Owner at Angel Inn & Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your very frank review of which I did follow up and can only apologise. We had a very busy service that day where excellent food was produced and delivered but clearly not in your case. I agree that the Yorkshires you were served were poor but would like to point out that our roast potatoes are oven... More 

Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2015

Arrived on sat, checked in, owners couldn't find reservation, put me down as a different surname, weird, but sorted. Owner showed us to our room but nothing was explained about breakfast etc. Room was nice, comfy bed, nice bathroom etc, only niggle was cobwebs behind the tv and on the ceiling. Read in welcome book breakfast was served 7.30 till... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Lisa H, Owner at Angel Inn & Lodge, responded to this review

On reading your review I must firstly say that I thought it to be somewhat harsh. There was no question that we had your reservation your name had simply been misheard over the phone. I am pleased that you were happy with your room and indeed it was my error that I did not go over the breakfast details with... More 

Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2015

When I arrived the pub was nice & well presented on the outside. The landlady (didn't catch her name) showed me to my room for the night which was a row of buildings separate to the pub. I was in room 3, the room itself was very large with lots of space! The bed was well presented with the bathroom... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Lisa H, Owner at Angel Inn & Lodge, responded to this review

Firstly, I apologise for the delay in responding to your kind comments. I did pass these on to the team at the time and as new team gave us encouragement moving forwards. As you say if you are in our area again it would be a pleasure to welcome you once again to the Angel. Thank you and regards More 

Carlton in Lindrick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2015

We had seen all the advertising and excellent reviews, so booked to go on Saturday 11 April. In the event the experience did not come near our expectations. The bar area was shabby and the selection of ales was poor, compared to what was advertised. Service and food was only just about average. We paid £18.00 for a starter to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Lisa H, Owner at Angel Inn & Lodge, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations on your recent visit. The starter is actually for 2 people and can only apologise for the whitebait being missed which we acted on immediately. You are correct that The Angel has recently been taken over. We took over the day before your visit. Even Rome wasn't built... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

24 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay