We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
High Street, Doncaster DN1 1DN, England
Hotel amenities
Danum Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Danum Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #19 of 19 Hotels in Doncaster
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    21
    29
    37
    79
See reviews for
19
39
17
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (182)
  • Mar-May only
    (36)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (47)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (53)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (46)
All months
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Absolutly discusting.we had my daughters wedding here and i was awful.ti start with the function room we chose 10 months before was in a poor state.plaster was hangin off the walls and black damp marks on the ceiling.the manager told us it would all be done up before the wedding.( it wasnt). We then gave them the wedding cake and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Kent
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2014

Great location in the centre of Doncaster, very convenient for the great shops and bars nearby. The hotel itself shows its age, and although the room was ok - the rest of the acommodation is in urgent need of improvement. Having said this, having stayed here a number of times over the years the rooms have always been perfectly clean.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
DoncasterDanum, Manager at Danum Hotel, responded to this review

Dear HillKent, Many thanks for sharing your feedback on tripadvisor, we are really pleased you enjoyed yet another stay with us and found your room to be perfectly clean and benefitted from our central location. We note your comments regarding the need for some rooms to be updated and we are pleased to make you aware that we currently have... More 

Blackwood, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2014

I stayed in the Danum in Doncaster for two nights in October, with a party of men when we went to Doncaster Races, we were checked in, and were allocated our rooms very efficiently,my pal and I had a twin room on the first floor,the room was clean but could have done with refurbishment, the beds were also clean and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DoncasterDanum, Manager at Danum Hotel, responded to this review

Dear graham j, Thank you for reviewing your recent two night break at the Danum Hotel, We trust you had an enjoyable/successful visit to the races. We are delighted to learn that you had an enjoyable stay and found the team to be friendly and welcoming and you found the hotel to be good value. We all look forward to... More 

Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2014

I was disappointed to read all the recent harsh reviews of the place. I stayed here three weeks ago. I wasn't expecting the Ritz, but the staff were helpful, the room was comfortable, and there was an exellent breakfast which was served from the buffet at banf on 7,00pm. There was a bit of noise outside in the small hours,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DoncasterDanum, Manager at Danum Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Peter C, Thank you for reveieing your recent stay at the Danum Hotel, the team were really pleased you had enjoyed your stay. We were particularly delighted to read that you found the team to be welcoming and you had a comfortable stay followed by an excellent breakfast before departing. Being the most centrally located hotel in Doncaste some... More 

1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2014

This place is an absolute pig sty! The first room I was given had brown stains all over the carpet and wait for it.........mushrooms growing out of it ! Not being a fan of either of these I asked to move rooms. The next room was a slight improvement until I was woken up for the first time around 11pm... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
UK
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2014

Arrived at this hotel, firstly car park was full so had to park on street. When we arrived in reception we were greeted with a friendly girl it was when I started to venture towards my room that I became aware of the fact that the hotel was tired and needed some TLC. The bedroom was tired, it made the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2014

We went to a Madonna tribute meal and disco at £30 per head. There was 35 of us on one long table in an undecorated room, no sign of a Christmas tree. The bar was manned by 1 person who really didn't want to be there! The food was cold and bland. One person asked for a vegetarian options and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014 via mobile

The night I arrived the staff was very friendly, my room was tidy and clean, nice big TV for a hotel. Service was always great eventually made friends with some of the staff. I would recommend this hotel. Local night life is great and the hotel is located perfect for it!

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Northumberland, England
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2014

I booked this hotel for its convenience to the station and town centre and it was perfect for both. It was obviously a Grand Hotel in its day but even after a few refurbishments it is a little shabby. However it was very cheap week-day and you get what you pay for in the end. It was clean and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2014

This is the second time we've stayed here. There is no way I would reccomend this hotel; the rooms are really dated and basic. The common areas are vile. The was no hot water to shower on the day of departure. This is a basic necessity. I find this unacceptable. The staff, I found we're only one inch deep Stay... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Danum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Danum Hotel

Address: High Street, Doncaster DN1 1DN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Doncaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Danum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Danum Hotel Doncaster
Danum Doncaster Hotel

32 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay