We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Red Lion Epworth

Market Place, Epworth, Doncaster DN9 1EU, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Red Lion Epworth
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

107 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Pershore, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We arrived Saturday early evening following a telephone booking, assuming a comfortable double room in the Hotel. Somewhat surprised, and disappointed to be escorted out of the Hotel, a walk down the street and then into some random unconnected building that had been converted to provide additional letting rooms. We were unaware that our accommodation was to be remote and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Richard H
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is sited centrally in the pleasant town of Epworth. Wide range of food on menu, and one very pleasant and helpful waitress. Food was all good, but don,t go here if in a hurry- 45 minute wait for food to arrive, and the two course meal took 21/2 hours.

Helpful?
Thank 1949etwall
redlionepworth, Manager at Red Lion Epworth, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We will certainly send our waitress your compliments. We are however sorry to hear you had a wait for your food. Please could you let me know what it is you ordered so we can sort any issues out with the kitchen? More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We went to the Red Lion on a Monday evening to celebrate my partners birthday. The bar was quite and we were the only diners there ( apart from a few gentlemen at the bar) but we did not feel awkward by any means. The staff were friendly and the atmosphere was very relaxing. The steaks and lamb were lovely,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Geornorr01
redlionepworth, Owner at Red Lion Epworth, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your meals and hope to see you again in the near future! More 

Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We and four friends had a most enjoyable evening at the Red Lion. The food was cooked to perfection and the service was spot on. We each had a double or twin room which were warm clean with very comfortable beds. We had an enjoyable time in their "Funkins" cocktail bar dancing the night away and seeing in the new... More 

Helpful?
Thank Pete L
redlionepworth, Owner at Red Lion Epworth, responded to this review

We are pleased you enjoyed the New Years Eve disco. Thank you for your kind review and we hope to see you again soon! More 

Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here over New Years Eve for a meal with friends. Absolutely loved the area, the Hotel and Bar were friendly, cosy, well decorated, a real pleasure, traditionally set out and furnished and the food outstanding. The Hotel rooms were well appointed and comfortable, very clean and nicely decorated. Breakfast was very good standard with cereals, toast, fruit juice and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Shirley L
redlionepworth, Owner at Red Lion Epworth, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review, we are pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay. We look forward to welcoming you back soon! More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2015

actually felt sorry for the lovely lady behind the bar , she was busy trying to find staff to cover ... Service was long and drawn out , we had booked to eat in the restaurant,thinking the pub would be busy due to it being Christmas, but it was quite dead ... You have to pay extra to eat in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hellodoll123
redlionepworth, Owner at Red Lion Epworth, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are sorry you had some issues on your visit, although I can assure you there is and never has been an extra charge to eat in the restaurant. Please don't let that put you off visiting again. We are glad you enjoyed the food and hope to see you... More 

suffolk
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2015 via mobile

Stayed in room 15, which has the gym next door, so if like me you need to sleep during the day as you've got a night shift, you're knackered as people are chucking great weights down which make the whole room shake, and their grunting and groaning is quite comical at times, but this soon becomes annoying, loud music from... More 

Helpful?
Thank d b
redlionepworth, Manager at Red Lion Epworth, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are very sorry that you were disappointed with certain aspects of your stay. Had we known you were to be resting during they day we could certainly have allocated a different room. If you do stay with us again, please let us know upon booking and we will make... More 

Haxey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2015

A warm and welcoming hotel with big log fires. Food is good quality and plentiful and serves in either bar or restaurant. Food needs attention to presentation but this does not demean from the experience. Staff generally pleasant. Unfortunately since change of management there seems to be a reduced choice of drinks which is disappointing. I would expect more of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Harvey139
redlionepworth, Manager at Red Lion Epworth, responded to this review

Thank you for you review, we have noted your comments and hope to see you again in the near future More 

doncaster
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2015 via mobile

Red lion serves great food had a Sunday roast and a cooked breakfast. Staff were polite and friendly the poor score was solely for the room. Stayed in the wessly was very dusty and also even had cobwebs couldn't have stayed more than the one night. Would visit the red lion again for a drink or food but wouldn't book... More 

Helpful?
Thank neil s

Travelers are raving about these Doncaster hotels

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2015

Stayed at the red lion as was attending my cousins wedding . room was very clean (and I checked everywhere believe me . the bed was very comfy and the pillows were like sleeping on clouds. Neva slept that good in a good few months . I can't say how much I enjoyed my breakfast best sausages and bacon ever.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nettie D
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

32 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Doncaster
9.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Mount Pleasant Hotel
12.1 mi away
Premier Inn Doncaster (Lakeside) Hotel
12.9 mi away
Premier Inn Doncaster Central (High Fishergate) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Ramada Encore Doncaster
Ramada Encore Doncaster
#16 of 19 in Doncaster
3.5 of 5 stars 379 reviews
12.5 mi away
The Caribbean
The Caribbean
#1 of 19 in Doncaster
5.0 of 5 stars 411 reviews
12.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Doncaster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay