We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Station Hotel

2.0 of 5 Castle Hill, Dudley DY1 4RA, England
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Station Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Station Hotel
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    27
    24
    15
    18
See reviews for
15
37
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (107)
  • Mar-May only
    (22)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (28)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (40)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (17)
All months
Lancashire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

We stayed one night Sat 20th December at The Station Hotel to visit family in Dudley. Plenty of free car parking even though a function was in full swing when we booked in. Booking in was a joy and staff were really friendly without being OTT. We were in room 106 at the front of the hotel on the main... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
UK
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We visited for an organised evening with Christmas meal included. It's not the most modern building, nor does it have the latest decor and furniture, but this just adds to its charm. We had a reasonably priced and good meal served by a friendly team headed by a manger that seemed to be doing just that, manage. It's the anthtisethis... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dudley, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We went to the Station Hotel for the breakfast buffet yesterday-and we were disappointed with the buffet provided! We got there just after 10-and were followed into the dining room by a party of 4 girls-we had the cereals-fine-then went up for the cooked breakfast-and that's -where it went wrong-companion had the last piece of bacon-and there were no fried... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I had been planning a trip to Birmingham for bridesmaid dress shopping but no where was suitable, so we decided to give Dudley a go. The Station hotel seemed like a good choice. It was reasonable and close to the shopping centre. After finally finding the reception (our fault for not seeing it on the way in) we were greeted... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stationhotel, Manager at Station Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you kindly for reviewing our hotel. Your feedback is greatly appreciated. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Many guests return to us for our excellent location, local attractions, excellent food, comfortable rooms, friendly staff and competitive rates. Hopefully that ticks all those boxes for guests' needs. Thank you once again and we're looking forward... More 

Bingley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It as an old Hotel, situated within easy walking distance of Dudley Zoo and Dudley Town Centre. Good value for money, the staff were very friendly and helpful, clean room, comfortable bed. No problems with the TV. Breakfast was very good, great choice Excellent place to stay for visits to Black Country Breweries.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stationhotel, Manager at Station Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Plaantman Sam, Thank you for your lovely review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and everything met your expectations. Hopefully we will have the pleasure to welcome you here once again. Yours sincerely, Jason Lewis-Young Deputy Manager More 

Birmingham
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Me & my husband stayed here overnight on 31st October as we attend a Halloween Special with supper in the cellar. Checked into the hotel just after 2pm, had a problem getting the TV channels to work but a quick call to reception & had someone fix it within 5 minutes. Enjoyed a carvery in the cellar which was excellent,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stationhotel, Manager at Station Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ivory1, Thank you so much for your review. I never tire of reading when our guests enjoy themselves on our events. I'm thrilled that you loved the Supper in the Cellar and our Medium was "spot on with everything" These events are regularly promoted on Facebook...if you go ahead and like our page 'Station Hotel Dudley' sometimes special offers... More 

West Bromwich, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Shabby, neglected, worn, terrible, would never stay there, not what I expected at all, wee stains on the carpet in toilet, dirty windows, stains in the bed, looked like it had been kitted out from a charity shop, I wouldn't let my dog sleep there!!..checked in & checked out just as quick!?

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stationhotel, Manager at Station Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sarah R, Firstly thank you for your review. I apologise if our hotel was not what you were looking for. We are not a 5 star hotel and have never pretended to be, we offer 2 star accommodation and that is reflected in our pricing. Our bedrooms have all the amenities one would expect including, and not limited to...... More 

London
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

Yes it is dated decor wise but the staff are friendly. Bar Meals.and Breakfast is great. Also close to Dudley Zoo and Black Country Museum. Great value for money and worth taking the bus ride from Birmingham to stay in. Did not meet any ghosts by the way !!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Stationhotel, Manager at Station Hotel, responded to this review

We would like to thank you for your lovely review on Trip Advisor. We are delighted with your high rating. It's great that you really enjoyed your stay with us and we're excited about welcoming you back in the future. Best regards Jason Lewis-Young Deputy Manager More 

Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014

This is an old hotel. I love old hotels - i.e. solid, quiet and comfortable. This was that about 20 years ago and it hasn't been touched since. Great location and cheap, but you do get what you pay for - not a lot. Spend a few thousand primarily on NEW MATTRESSES (We could feel the springs) and duvets and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Stationhotel, Manager at Station Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. We really appreciate your repeat custom. It maybe worth touching on a few of your comments. The hotel has developed over the last 20 years since your last stay. Mattresses are upgraded often as are carpets, décor and duvets, If you felt that your mattress wasn't to your comfort liking, we would... More 

Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014

There is a saying you cant please everyone.. and judging by this forum what cant speak cant lie, all to often people are quick enough to pick out the faults and bad points of a venue without much thought .... so to all of you who have picked the station apart, our visit was nothing short of excellent . from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Stationhotel, Manager at Station Hotel, responded to this review

I've never been called "professional, but sarcastic" before - I love a good compliment, I have been called worse in my time. I was delighted that you recognised me when you checked in. It's always good to meet my fans ;-) I am delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. I'm very proud of our hotel, and even... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Station Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Station Hotel

Address: Castle Hill, Dudley DY1 4RA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Dudley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Station Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Station Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Station Hotel Dudley, United Kingdom

40 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (35)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay