We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Station Hotel

Castle Hill, Dudley DY1 4RA, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Station Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Station Hotel
Rate this Hotel

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    31
    25
    15
    20
See reviews for
18
39
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (119)
  • Mar-May only
    (25)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (28)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (40)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (26)
All months
Dudley, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I visited the Station Hotel today with my family ( my partner, my two children and my parents ) for a special lunch for Mother's Day and it was FABULOUS!!!! :) :) The service, the staff THE FOOD were all excellent. We were told the hotel has a new head Chef and judging by the taste,quality and presentation of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stationhotel, Manager at Station Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jenny H, Thank you so much for joining us for Mothers' Day Lunch last Sunday. I am delighted you enjoyed your meal. We are very proud of our new Head Chef and his excellent team of Chefs. All the staff did a splendid job on Sunday and we had nothing but positive feedback which is wonderful to listen to.... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here while we were down for crufts.the staff are really friendly towards both humans and dogs.my 8 year old daughter is gluten intollerant and the hotel catered for her by ordering in bread and cooking her breakfast and dinner seperately,they couldnt have done any more for her.we are down twice a year for dog shows and will definately... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Stationhotel, Manager at Station Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jill L, Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We enjoyed having you all here at the Station Hotel. I feel it is worth mentioning that we are delighted to listen to peoples dietary requirements and allergies and provide alternatives as necessary. Our Chefs and Staff are highly trained and are knowledgeable on every... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Real value for money with a friendly welcome from the lady at Reception which was replicated by other staff we met in the bar and dining area. It may be an old hotel but staff keep the hotel looking clean and tidy. Our room on the first floor was in good condition and very clean with toileteries provided in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stationhotel, Manager at Station Hotel, responded to this review

Dear John F, Thank you for the review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience at our hotel. We do pride ourselves on offering value for money. As we are totally independent and family run, our staff thoroughly are thought of and respected by the management and not just a 'number' we feel that as a result our staff... More 

UK
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here by myself in a single room 101 on 19th , 20th Feb to visit museum. Room clean and tidy, drinks, biscuits, towels and shampoo replenished. Lovely all you can eat breakfast. Chicken curry, rice and chips and naan was the best I had for long time, so much so I had another next evening and beers were cheap.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Stationhotel, Manager at Station Hotel, responded to this review

Dear George R, Thank you for your fantastic review. We are happy that we meet your expectations regarding price, service, staff, food, facilities, and amenities. From your review you seem to have experienced more than you expected. We hope that the 'unexplained' hasn't put you off returning to the Station in the future, because ALL of us here would love... More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I booked this room as a last minute thing for a visit to Dudley Zoo with my son, the entrance is just across the road by the way. The price was very good at £45 for a last minute booking. The room was a nice enough size for me and a six year old. I was going to get a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Stationhotel, Manager at Station Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ChewBoo, Thank you for your recent review. I am delighted that you found our room rates reasonable and enjoyed your visit. Our heating system is regulated by the outside temperature, as the temperature drops during the night, this kick starts the boilers and keeps the building at a cosy constant 18 degrees. Your shower temperature can be regulated, the... More 

Stafford, Great Britain
Top Contributor
304 reviews 304 reviews
65 hotel reviews
244 helpful votes 244 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2015

I visited the hotel for breakfast, after seeing the poster advertising it as I drove past. I was warmly welcomed at reception, and was directed to the breakfast room, where an excellent buffet was available. This included the usual hot food, plus fruits and cereals, and an unlimited refill of orange juice for an additional £1 on the £3.99 initial... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stationhotel, Manager at Station Hotel, responded to this review

Dear WilliamRead, Thank you for reviewing our Breakfast Buffet this week. We are very proud of what we offer, we believe in going the extra mile for our customers. We offer the Full English Buffet, plus complimentary assorted cereals, fresh fruit and yoghurt. Tea, coffee, juice is priced extra should anyone wish and everything is unlimited. Thank you again for... More 

2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2015

I stopped here with 2 mates on the 7th February for a bit of ghost hunting fun, we stopped in the haunted room 214. First off, we happened to be staying on the same day the EDL decided to do a march through Dudley town centre... But decided it wasn't going to put us off, and actually it was a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stationhotel, Manager at Station Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Beardedcrusader, We are delighted that you have chosen to review our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Apologies that our normal service wasn't in operation due to the EDL march in Dudley. We hope you come again and see everything in its full glory. Your Chilli-Chocolate caused one of my staff members to dip his tongue in... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2015

After a member of the family holding their wedding reception at the station hotel in December 2014, myself and my partner decided to stay the night. We both agree the price for the room was good (room 110 I think it was), we were right at the front above the bar enterence with the big station hotel sign outside the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stationhotel, Manager at Station Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tammy2303, Thank you sincerely for your lovely review, it certainly made my day reading that my staff are recognised for doing such a sterling job. They will also be delighted to read such lovely things. We are certainly proud at the Station. Proud of what we do and how we do it. I am happy that you enjoyed your... More 

Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2015

Stayed here for two nights, we were going to the zoo which is across the road. Didn't want to stay here but my husband booked it, all I can say is give it a go its a lovely hotel, all the staff are very friendly and welcoming. We had a very nice room with jacuzzi bath. We were near a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Stationhotel, Manager at Station Hotel, responded to this review

Dear liliandra, Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We pride ourselves on our staff and service. Thank you again for highlighting this. We wish you a safe onward journey. Jason Lewis-Young Deputy Manager More 

Stourbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2015 via mobile

No sleep very cold food was shocking room service slow staff need new clothes very poor area and common cant understand why people rate this place over a 1 i would never stay at such a dirty scruffy place like the station

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stationhotel, Manager at Station Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Gemma b, We have received your review you uploaded to Trip Advisor. We have tried to locate your booking to no avail. You have said that our staff need new clothes. We feel our staff are impeccably dressed as one would expect as they work with the public. By reading your review I feel that you believe we didn't... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

41 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (35)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question