We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Station Hotel

Castle Hill, Dudley DY1 4RA, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Station Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Station Hotel
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    31
    25
    16
    22
See reviews for
19
39
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (123)
  • Mar-May only
    (29)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (28)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (40)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (26)
All months
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Went for a family meal .would never set foot in here again .food disgusting and the staff need some customer service training .they had on a terrible cd which must have been repeated 4 times ,which included garage music (not appropriate for a family Sunday lunch ) vile

Was this review helpful? Yes
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked through Late Rooms with promise that nothing would be taken from my credit card till arrival, but found they debited immediately. Booked a twin room for my 12 year old son and I and got a double bedded room. Hotel huge and characterless. Rooms very faded. Would not recommend it to be honest. We only wanted it for an... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stationhotel, Manager at Station Hotel, responded to this review

Dear StephenOs, Thank you for review, we are truly sorry that you feel disappointed, Firstly in response to your comments, I like to clarify that reservations made through a third party such as Late Rooms etc state clearly in their Terms and Conditions that the first nights payment will be taken. Full details on their terms and conditions are available... More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay in Dudley or surrounding area. Fantastic breakfast with plenty of options and friendly staff. The room I stayed in was very comfortable and had a great mix of modern facilities with "old world charm". 24th reception and a great nights sleep made me really pleased I booked. I think you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stationhotel, Manager at Station Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Martin G, We are delighted with your review, thank you for taking the time to make it public. We are very proud of our hotel and pride ourselves on offering good old fashioned customer service, which is often considered a thing of the past in some establishments. Our customers come first and that is reflected in our service standards.... More 

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I think I'm a very fair reviewer and this is one of the worst hotels I have had the displeasure to stay in. The hotel has no resemblance to the website whatsoever! I suppose you get what you pay for. My room although large was alongside a very busy noisy road which resulted in very little sleep that night. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stationhotel, Manager at Station Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Maljinks, Thank you for taking the time to write your review on our hotel. We appreciate both positive and negative reviews and they help us improve our standards. You have mentioned the noise from the busy road. The traffic unfortunately we can do little about, however we are exploring secondary glazing, so thank you for including this in your... More 

Dudley, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

I visited the Station Hotel today with my family ( my partner, my two children and my parents ) for a special lunch for Mother's Day and it was FABULOUS!!!! :) :) The service, the staff THE FOOD were all excellent. We were told the hotel has a new head Chef and judging by the taste,quality and presentation of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Stationhotel, Manager at Station Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jenny H, Thank you so much for joining us for Mothers' Day Lunch last Sunday. I am delighted you enjoyed your meal. We are very proud of our new Head Chef and his excellent team of Chefs. All the staff did a splendid job on Sunday and we had nothing but positive feedback which is wonderful to listen to.... More 

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2015

We stayed here while we were down for crufts.the staff are really friendly towards both humans and dogs.my 8 year old daughter is gluten intollerant and the hotel catered for her by ordering in bread and cooking her breakfast and dinner seperately,they couldnt have done any more for her.we are down twice a year for dog shows and will definately... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Stationhotel, Manager at Station Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jill L, Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We enjoyed having you all here at the Station Hotel. I feel it is worth mentioning that we are delighted to listen to peoples dietary requirements and allergies and provide alternatives as necessary. Our Chefs and Staff are highly trained and are knowledgeable on every... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2015

Real value for money with a friendly welcome from the lady at Reception which was replicated by other staff we met in the bar and dining area. It may be an old hotel but staff keep the hotel looking clean and tidy. Our room on the first floor was in good condition and very clean with toileteries provided in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stationhotel, Manager at Station Hotel, responded to this review

Dear John F, Thank you for the review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience at our hotel. We do pride ourselves on offering value for money. As we are totally independent and family run, our staff thoroughly are thought of and respected by the management and not just a 'number' we feel that as a result our staff... More 

UK
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

Stayed here by myself in a single room 101 on 19th , 20th Feb to visit museum. Room clean and tidy, drinks, biscuits, towels and shampoo replenished. Lovely all you can eat breakfast. Chicken curry, rice and chips and naan was the best I had for long time, so much so I had another next evening and beers were cheap.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Stationhotel, Manager at Station Hotel, responded to this review

Dear George R, Thank you for your fantastic review. We are happy that we meet your expectations regarding price, service, staff, food, facilities, and amenities. From your review you seem to have experienced more than you expected. We hope that the 'unexplained' hasn't put you off returning to the Station in the future, because ALL of us here would love... More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015

I booked this room as a last minute thing for a visit to Dudley Zoo with my son, the entrance is just across the road by the way. The price was very good at £45 for a last minute booking. The room was a nice enough size for me and a six year old. I was going to get a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Stationhotel, Manager at Station Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ChewBoo, Thank you for your recent review. I am delighted that you found our room rates reasonable and enjoyed your visit. Our heating system is regulated by the outside temperature, as the temperature drops during the night, this kick starts the boilers and keeps the building at a cosy constant 18 degrees. Your shower temperature can be regulated, the... More 

Stafford, Great Britain
Top Contributor
310 reviews 310 reviews
66 hotel reviews
249 helpful votes 249 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2015

I visited the hotel for breakfast, after seeing the poster advertising it as I drove past. I was warmly welcomed at reception, and was directed to the breakfast room, where an excellent buffet was available. This included the usual hot food, plus fruits and cereals, and an unlimited refill of orange juice for an additional £1 on the £3.99 initial... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stationhotel, Manager at Station Hotel, responded to this review

Dear WilliamRead, Thank you for reviewing our Breakfast Buffet this week. We are very proud of what we offer, we believe in going the extra mile for our customers. We offer the Full English Buffet, plus complimentary assorted cereals, fresh fruit and yoghurt. Tea, coffee, juice is priced extra should anyone wish and everything is unlimited. Thank you again for... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

41 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (35)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question