We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Penny Street Bridge

4.0 of 5 Penny Street, Lancaster LA1 1XT, England
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Penny Street Bridge
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Penny Street Bridge
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    135
    31
    8
    3
See reviews for
44
146
19
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (327)
  • Mar-May only
    (83)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (96)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (75)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (73)
All months
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for one night, lovely clean, modern and spacious bedroom (number 9). Large bathroom with bath and modern, super efficient power shower. Our room overlooked a main road and was directly above the bar, but noise wasn't really a problem, even though it was Saturday night. Very central location, five mins stroll to shops and bars. Breakfast was good and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Spent two nights in the hotel on an impulse to see Lancaster. Booked as a result of good reviews and was not disappointed. The staff were very attentive (e.g. offering fresh milk for the room's tea-making facilities) and knowledgable of the area. The room was good, beds very comfortable although the air condition unit had a mind of its own... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
48 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We spent two nights at the Penny Street Bridge Hotel when visiting the University of Lancaster, which is a couple of miles out of town. The hotel is well placed for seeing city - a 15 minutes walk from the Castle. Rooms are reasonably spacious and nicely kitted out. Wi-fi works well. TV was stuck about 10 feet up near... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lima, Peru
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
40 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at the Penny Street Bridge hotel on our way back to Gloucester from Edinburgh. Since we were travelling with a baby, we thought best stop over in Lancaster for a night. We were happy to stay here because it was quite conveniently located. There is a Sainsbury´s local right opposite the hotel and it is in a convenient... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Joe R, General Manager at Penny Street Bridge, responded to this review

Hello, I'm very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and it's nice to get good feedback from someone as well travelled as yourself! Your point about the mini fridge is a good one - we try to offer the best possible service within our budget but this is an area that has been mentioned before and certainly warrants careful... More 

Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very nice bistro-pub-hotel in the centre of Lancaster by the canal. Good location for the castle and shopping. Dinner in the bar was excellent and good value. Room was ok but small things such as the grouting round the bath could do with some attention (why do so many hotels not replace the waterproof grouting in their bathrooms..? It's such... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Joe R, General Manager at Penny Street Bridge, responded to this review

Hi there, Thanks for your feedback. Firstly I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us, we take great pride in offering quality local food and ales. My apologies that the room wasn't completely up the standards we strive to provide, I have noted it and will attend to it promptly. Regards, Joe More 

Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Spent four nights here recently, what a great hotel....very friendly staff throughout and knowledgeable bar staff when it came to trying out the marvellous ales they had on! Quiet and comfortable rooms well decorated, triple glazing on the street facing windows guarantees a quiet night!

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Joe R, General Manager at Penny Street Bridge, responded to this review

Thanks Ste, I'm chuffed to bits you really enjoyed your stay with us - hope to see you again soon! More 

Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2015

great location nice place but really small rooms not worth the price tag attached,you are paying for the location,i would not stay again. Bar and food was nice if you are going to stay here look for a deal.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joe R, General Manager at Penny Street Bridge, responded to this review

Thanks you for the feedback regarding your stay. I'm sorry you weren't totally satisfied with your room - unfortunately the down side to being in a characterful listed building is that rooms differ in shape and size. As a general rule we do try and allocate our more spacious rooms to guests, only using the slightly smaller ones when we... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2015

Me & my partner stayed New Years Eve. The room & bathroom were modern & clean. The lady who checked us in was really friendly as was the gentleman who checked us out. The only negatives of our stay was firsty there was no milk with the tea & coffee facilities in the room - which seemed deliberate, as when... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Joe R, Manager at Penny Street Bridge, responded to this review

Thanks very much for the feedback and I'm glad that generally you were very happy with your stay. We make a point of trying to provide fresh milk as opposed to the UHT cartons a lot of places have and we make sure the guests get this on arrival - sorry that on this occasion you didn't receive yours. With... More 

Cumbria, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2015

A very enjoyable stay. Lovely food from a wide ranging menu, helpful and friendly staff and my room was very comfortable. Good value for money. I booked my car parking space a week early as they only have four! Perfect place for my requirements. I shall be back

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Joe R, Manager at Penny Street Bridge, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and your food with us, hope to welcome you back soon! More 

Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2014

Stayed again for a couple of nights whilst visiting family just after just Christmas. Once again I cannot fault the rooms and service. Staff are always friendly and helpful. Being able to have fresh milk in the room is a great touch. Dined in the hotel on Boxing Day and as usual the food was up to its excellent standard.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nick R, Manager at Penny Street Bridge, responded to this review

Hello. Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your stay. I'm very pleased to know you enjoyed your stay and hope you can make it back to see us again soon. All of us here at Penny Street Bridge are looking forward to the refurbishment. Thank you More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Penny Street Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penny Street Bridge

Address: Penny Street, Lancaster LA1 1XT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Penny Street Bridge 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Penny Street Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penny Street Bridge Hotel Lancaster
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lancaster
#3 Family Hotel in Lancaster

56 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (26)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (30)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (29)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay